DETAILED ACTION
33Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Priority
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cruger et al (20230217218).
Regarding claim 1, Cruger et al et al discloses, a communication terminal device (102/302, fig. 5-8) comprising
a radio (102, fig. 5); and
a portable terminal device (302 fig. 5) that is connected (506/512 fig. 5) to the radio (102, fig. 5),
wherein the radio (102, fig. 5) includes a radio-side storage unit (204, fig. 2) that stores setting information that is set for performing radio communication with another radio (¶ 0036-0037, 0043, the configuration information may be stored locally in the LMR device 102, the LMR device 102 may be connected to an LMR network 616, for example via the LMR network antenna 208 shown in FIG. 2. The LMR network 616 may be a network for providing LMR communication capability between multiple devices); and
a radio-side communication unit that executes group communication with the other radio based on the setting information (¶ 0031, 0036-0037, the LMR device 102 may be connected to an LMR network 616, for example via the LMR network antenna 208 shown in FIG. 2. The LMR network 616 may be a network for providing LMR communication capability between multiple devices), and
the portable terminal device (302 fig. 5) includes an information exchange unit that acquires, from a portable terminal device of another communication terminal device, setting information on a radio that is connected to the portable terminal device of the other communication terminal device (¶ 0033-0034, 0045, the cellular device 302 may then transmit the second audio signal 508 to the POC network 516, along with an indication of the selected channel. The second audio signal 508 may then be received by other devices connected to the POC network 516 and tuned to the selected channel. the cellular device 302 may receive a third audio signal 510 from the POC network 516 over the selected channel. The third audio signal 510 may correspond to a message transmitted from another user connected to the POC network 516. After receiving the third audio signal 510, the cellular device 302 may convert the third audio signal 510 into a fourth audio signal 512 suitable for transmission between the cellular local communication interface 406 of the cellular device 302 and the LMR local communication interface 206 of the LMR device 102. The cellular device 302 may then transmit the fourth audio signal 512 to the LMR device 102. The LMR device 102 may in turn receive the fourth audio signal 512 and convert the fourth audio signal 512 into a second sound wave 514 to be played by the LMR audio device 112 of the LMR device 102. In this way, the user 502 may leverage the connection between the LMR device 102 and the cellular device 302 to receive the message from the POC network 516 over the selected channel via the cellular network antenna 408, yet play the message over the LMR audio device 112 of the LMR device 102);
a portable-terminal-device-side storage unit (404, fig. 4) that stores the setting information on the radio of the other communication terminal device that is acquired by the information exchange unit (¶ 0027, 0033-0034, 0045, the cellular device 302 may then transmit the second audio signal 508 to the POC network 516, along with an indication of the selected channel. The second audio signal 508 may then be received by other devices connected to the POC network 516 and tuned to the selected channel. the cellular device 302 may receive a third audio signal 510 from the POC network 516 over the selected channel. The third audio signal 510 may correspond to a message transmitted from another user connected to the POC network 516. After receiving the third audio signal 510, the cellular device 302 may convert the third audio signal 510 into a fourth audio signal 512 suitable for transmission between the cellular local communication interface 406 of the cellular device 302 and the LMR local communication interface 206 of the LMR device 102. The cellular device 302 may then transmit the fourth audio signal 512 to the LMR device 102. The LMR device 102 may in turn receive the fourth audio signal 512 and convert the fourth audio signal 512 into a second sound wave 514 to be played by the LMR audio device 112 of the LMR device 102. In this way, the user 502 may leverage the connection between the LMR device 102 and the cellular device 302 to receive the message from the POC network 516 over the selected channel via the cellular network antenna 408, yet play the message over the LMR audio device 112 of the LMR device 102);
a setting information generator that generates new setting information based on the setting information stored in the radio-side storage unit and the setting information stored in the portable-terminal-device-side storage unit when the setting information stored in the portable-terminal-device-side storage unit satisfies a given condition (¶ 0027, 0033-0034, 0037, 0045, The cellular memory 404 may be a non-transitory memory that stores computer-executable instructions. The computer-executable instructions, when executed by the cellular processor 402, may cause the cellular display 304 to display a PTT user interface. The PTT user interface may include a cellular channel control configured to select a channel for communication over a push-to-talk-over-cellular (POC) network. In an exemplary embodiment, the cellular channel control may be represented as a dial, slide icon, or buttons to be manipulated by touch on the cellular display 304, but it will be understood that the disclosure is not limited to these embodiments. The PTT user interface may further include a cellular PTT input configured to mimic the function of the PTT input 104, i.e., a user may actuate the cellular PTT input when intending to transmit a message and the cellular device 302 may then transmit the second audio signal 508 to the POC network 516, along with an indication of the selected channel. The second audio signal 508 may then be received by other devices connected to the POC network 516 and tuned to the selected channel. the cellular device 302 may receive a third audio signal 510 from the POC network 516 over the selected channel. The third audio signal 510 may correspond to a message transmitted from another user connected to the POC network 516. After receiving the third audio signal 510, the cellular device 302 may convert the third audio signal 510 into a fourth audio signal 512 suitable for transmission between the cellular local communication interface 406 of the cellular device 302 and the LMR local communication interface 206 of the LMR device 102. The cellular device 302 may then transmit the fourth audio signal 512 to the LMR device 102. The LMR device 102 may in turn receive the fourth audio signal 512 and convert the fourth audio signal 512 into a second sound wave 514 to be played by the LMR audio device 112 of the LMR device 102. In this way, the user 502 may leverage the connection between the LMR device 102 and the cellular device 302 to receive the message from the POC network 516 over the selected channel via the cellular network antenna 408, yet play the message over the LMR audio device 112 of the LMR device 102); and
an information setting unit that updates the setting information stored in the radio-side-storage unit of the radio based on the new setting information that is generated by the setting information generator (¶ 0032-0034, 0038-0039, the LMR device 102 may in turn convert the first audio signal 606 into a second audio signal 608 for example, the first audio signal 606 and the second audio signal 608 may differ in frequency, modulation, encoding, or other type of signal parameter. The LMR device 102 may then transmit the second audio signal 608 to the LMR network 616 over the selected channel. The second audio signal 608 may then be received by other devices connected to the LMR network 616 and tuned to the selected channel. In this way, the user 602 may use the PTT user interface of the cellular device 302 to select a channel and speak while leveraging the connection between the cellular device 302 and the LMR device 102 to transmit the message to the LMR network 616 over the selected channel via the LMR network antenna 208 of the LMR device 102).
Regarding claim 2, Cruger et al et al discloses in claim 1, further, Cruger et al et al discloses, wherein the setting information contains frequency information that is used by the radio for radio communication, and the setting information generator generates the new setting information containing the frequency information for performing group communication based on the setting information stored in the radio-side storage unit and the portable-terminal-device-side storage unit (¶ 0033-0034, 0039, 0043-0045, 0048-50, The cellular device 302 may in turn convert the first audio signal 506 into a second audio signal 508 for example, the first audio signal 506 and the second audio signal 508 may differ in frequency, modulation, encoding, or other type of signal parameter. The cellular device 302 may then transmit the second audio signal 508 to the POC network 516, along with an indication of the selected channel. The second audio signal 508 may then be received by other devices connected to the POC network 516 and tuned to the selected channel. In this way, the user 502 may use the controls of the LMR device 102 to select a channel and speak while leveraging the connection between the LMR device 102 and the cellular device 302 to transmit the message to the POC network 516 over the selected channel via the cellular network antenna 408 of the cellular device 302.).
Regarding claim 3, Cruger et al et al discloses in claim 1, further, Cruger et al et al discloses, wherein the portable terminal device further includes a portable-terminal-device-side communication unit that transmits the new setting information generated by the setting information generator to the portable terminal device of the other communication terminal device (¶ 0032-0034, 0038-0039The cellular device 302 may in turn convert the first audio signal 506 into a second audio signal 508 (for example, the first audio signal 506 and the second audio signal 508 may differ in frequency, modulation, encoding, or other type of signal parameter). The cellular device 302 may then transmit the second audio signal 508 to the POC network 516, along with an indication of the selected channel. The second audio signal 508 may then be received by other devices connected to the POC network 516 and tuned to the selected channel. In this way, the user 502 may use the controls of the LMR device 102 to select a channel and speak while leveraging the connection between the LMR device 102 and the cellular device 302 to transmit the message to the POC network 516 over the selected channel via the cellular network antenna 408 of the cellular device 302.).
Regarding claim 4, Cruger et al et al discloses in claim 1, further, Cruger et al et al discloses, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a setting information editing program that is executed by a portable terminal device connected to a radio and that is for editing setting information set to perform radio communication with another radio, the program causing the portable terminal device to execute (¶ 0027, 0033-0034, 0045, 0039, the cellular memory 404 may be a non-transitory memory that stores computer-executable instructions. The computer-executable instructions, when executed by the cellular processor 402 and the cellular device 302 may then transmit the second audio signal 508 to the POC network 516, along with an indication of the selected channel. The second audio signal 508 may then be received by other devices connected to the POC network 516 and tuned to the selected channel. the cellular device 302 may receive a third audio signal 510 from the POC network 516 over the selected channel. The third audio signal 510 may correspond to a message transmitted from another user connected to the POC network 516. After receiving the third audio signal 510, the cellular device 302 may convert the third audio signal 510 into a fourth audio signal 512 suitable for transmission between the cellular local communication interface 406 of the cellular device 302 and the LMR local communication interface 206 of the LMR device 102. The cellular device 302 may then transmit the fourth audio signal 512 to the LMR device 102. The LMR device 102 may in turn receive the fourth audio signal 512 and convert the fourth audio signal 512 into a second sound wave 514 to be played by the LMR audio device 112 of the LMR device 102. In this way, the user 502 may leverage the connection between the LMR device 102 and the cellular device 302 to receive the message from the POC network 516 over the selected channel via the cellular network antenna 408, yet play the message over the LMR audio device 112 of the LMR device 102):
acquiring, from a portable terminal device of another communication terminal device, setting information on a radio that is connected to the portable terminal device of the other communication terminal device (¶ 0027, 0031-0034, 0037, 0045, the cellular device 302 may then transmit the second audio signal 508 to the POC network 516, along with an indication of the selected channel. The second audio signal 508 may then be received by other devices connected to the POC network 516 and tuned to the selected channel. the cellular device 302 may receive a third audio signal 510 from the POC network 516 over the selected channel. The third audio signal 510 may correspond to a message transmitted from another user connected to the POC network 516. After receiving the third audio signal 510, the cellular device 302 may convert the third audio signal 510 into a fourth audio signal 512 suitable for transmission between the cellular local communication interface 406 of the cellular device 302 and the LMR local communication interface 206 of the LMR device 102. The cellular device 302 may then transmit the fourth audio signal 512 to the LMR device 102. The LMR device 102 may in turn receive the fourth audio signal 512 and convert the fourth audio signal 512 into a second sound wave 514 to be played by the LMR audio device 112 of the LMR device 102. In this way, the user 502 may leverage the connection between the LMR device 102 and the cellular device 302 to receive the message from the POC network 516 over the selected channel via the cellular network antenna 408, yet play the message over the LMR audio device 112 of the LMR device 102 and the cellular local communication interface 406 of the cellular device 302 may communicate with the LMR local communication interface 206 in order to retrieve channel configuration information from the LMR device 102. The channel configuration information may define one or more LMR channels for communicating via the LMR network 616. The channel configuration information may then be stored in the cellular memory 404 of the cellular device 302. Once the cellular device 302 has retrieved the channel configuration information, the cellular channel control displayed on the cellular display 304 of the cellular device 302 may be used to select a selected channel from among the one or more LMR channels defined by the channel configuration information. The selected channel may be communicated from the cellular device 302 to the LMR device 102 via the cellular local communication interface 406 and the LMR local communication interface 206.);
storing the setting information acquired from the radio connected to the portable terminal device of the other communication terminal device (¶ 0027, 0031-0034, 0037, 0045, the cellular device 302 may then transmit the second audio signal 508 to the POC network 516, along with an indication of the selected channel. The second audio signal 508 may then be received by other devices connected to the POC network 516 and tuned to the selected channel. the cellular device 302 may receive a third audio signal 510 from the POC network 516 over the selected channel. The third audio signal 510 may correspond to a message transmitted from another user connected to the POC network 516. After receiving the third audio signal 510, the cellular device 302 may convert the third audio signal 510 into a fourth audio signal 512 suitable for transmission between the cellular local communication interface 406 of the cellular device 302 and the LMR local communication interface 206 of the LMR device 102. The cellular device 302 may then transmit the fourth audio signal 512 to the LMR device 102. The LMR device 102 may in turn receive the fourth audio signal 512 and convert the fourth audio signal 512 into a second sound wave 514 to be played by the LMR audio device 112 of the LMR device 102. In this way, the user 502 may leverage the connection between the LMR device 102 and the cellular device 302 to receive the message from the POC network 516 over the selected channel via the cellular network antenna 408, yet play the message over the LMR audio device 112 of the LMR device 102 and the cellular local communication interface 406 of the cellular device 302 may communicate with the LMR local communication interface 206 in order to retrieve channel configuration information from the LMR device 102. The channel configuration information may define one or more LMR channels for communicating via the LMR network 616. The channel configuration information may then be stored in the cellular memory 404 of the cellular device 302. Once the cellular device 302 has retrieved the channel configuration information, the cellular channel control displayed on the cellular display 304 of the cellular device 302 may be used to select a selected channel from among the one or more LMR channels defined by the channel configuration information. The selected channel may be communicated from the cellular device 302 to the LMR device 102 via the cellular local communication interface 406 and the LMR local communication interface 206.);
generating new setting information based on the setting information on the radio and the stored setting information when the stored setting information satisfies a given condition (¶ 0027, 0033-0034, 0037, 0045, The cellular memory 404 may be a non-transitory memory that stores computer-executable instructions. The computer-executable instructions, when executed by the cellular processor 402, may cause the cellular display 304 to display a PTT user interface. The PTT user interface may include a cellular channel control configured to select a channel for communication over a push-to-talk-over-cellular (POC) network. In an exemplary embodiment, the cellular channel control may be represented as a dial, slide icon, or buttons to be manipulated by touch on the cellular display 304, but it will be understood that the disclosure is not limited to these embodiments. The PTT user interface may further include a cellular PTT input configured to mimic the function of the PTT input 104, i.e., a user may actuate the cellular PTT input when intending to transmit a message and the cellular device 302 may then transmit the second audio signal 508 to the POC network 516, along with an indication of the selected channel. The second audio signal 508 may then be received by other devices connected to the POC network 516 and tuned to the selected channel. the cellular device 302 may receive a third audio signal 510 from the POC network 516 over the selected channel. The third audio signal 510 may correspond to a message transmitted from another user connected to the POC network 516. After receiving the third audio signal 510, the cellular device 302 may convert the third audio signal 510 into a fourth audio signal 512 suitable for transmission between the cellular local communication interface 406 of the cellular device 302 and the LMR local communication interface 206 of the LMR device 102. The cellular device 302 may then transmit the fourth audio signal 512 to the LMR device 102. The LMR device 102 may in turn receive the fourth audio signal 512 and convert the fourth audio signal 512 into a second sound wave 514 to be played by the LMR audio device 112 of the LMR device 102. In this way, the user 502 may leverage the connection between the LMR device 102 and the cellular device 302 to receive the message from the POC network 516 over the selected channel via the cellular network antenna 408, yet play the message over the LMR audio device 112 of the LMR device 102), and
updating the setting information on the radio based on the generated new setting information (¶ 0032-0034, 0038-0039, the LMR device 102 may in turn convert the first audio signal 606 into a second audio signal 608 for example, the first audio signal 606 and the second audio signal 608 may differ in frequency, modulation, encoding, or other type of signal parameter. The LMR device 102 may then transmit the second audio signal 608 to the LMR network 616 over the selected channel. The second audio signal 608 may then be received by other devices connected to the LMR network 616 and tuned to the selected channel. In this way, the user 602 may use the PTT user interface of the cellular device 302 to select a channel and speak while leveraging the connection between the cellular device 302 and the LMR device 102 to transmit the message to the LMR network 616 over the selected channel via the LMR network antenna 208 of the LMR device 102).
Conclusion
/KHAWAR IQBAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643