DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the irregular geometry must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 31, 33, 36, 39, 44, 46, and 48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Roudy (FR 2631835).
With regard to claims 31 and 33, Roudy teaches an access sleeve comprising: a sleeve body extending along a longitudinal axis of the access sleeve, the sleeve body having first and second open ends, wherein the sleeve body comprises an inner surface including at least one recess extending between the first and second open ends of the sleeve body (Fig. 1 member 2 open ends on either side of L, recess 6); a first lumen extending along the longitudinal axis between the first and second open ends of the sleeve body (Figs. 1 and 2 lumen within 2); and a lateral opening in the sleeve body connecting the first lumen to an outer surface of the sleeve body, the lateral opening extending from the first open end to the second open end, wherein the lateral opening is expandable and configured to enable attachment of the access sleeve to a medical device between a first end and a second end of the medical device such that the medical device becomes housed within the first lumen (Fig. 2 opening 3, Fig. 4 shows 2 around a medical device).
With regard to claim 35, the recess receives 5 (Fig. 6A).
With regard to claims 36 and 39, there is necessarily a tip, the inner diameter is constant.
With regard to claims 44 and 46, Roudy teaches an access system comprising: a medical device configured for insertion into an arteriotomy of a patient, the medical device having a first end and a second end (Fig. 3 member 8, see translation Pgs. 4 and 6 may be used in an artery); and an access sleeve comprising: a sleeve body extending along a longitudinal axis of the access sleeve, the sleeve body having first and second open ends, wherein the sleeve body comprises an inner surface including at least one recess extending between the first and second open ends of the sleeve body (Fig. 1 member 2 open ends on either side of L, recess 6), a first lumen extending along the longitudinal axis between the first and second open ends of the sleeve body (Figs. 1 and 2 lumen within 2), and a lateral opening in the sleeve body connecting the first lumen to an outer surface of the sleeve body, the lateral opening extending from the first open end to the second open end, wherein the lateral opening is expandable and configured to enable attachment of the access sleeve to the medical device between the first end and the second end of the medical device such that the medical device becomes housed within the first lumen (Fig. 2 opening 3, Fig. 4 shows 2 around a medical device).
With regard to claim 48, the recess receives 5 (Fig. 6A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 32 and 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roudy (FR 2631835) as applied to claims 31 and 44 above, and further in view of Jelle et al. (US 2017/0281907 A1).
With regard to claims 32 and 45, Roudy teaches a device substantially as claimed but does not teach an irregular geometry to minimize contact. However. Jelle et al. teach using ridges on the inner surface of a sheath to minimize surface contact and reduce friction ([0036]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use irregular geometry in Roudy as Jelle et al. teach it is beneficial to reduce friction.
Claim(s) 34 and 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roudy (FR 2631835) as applied to claims 31 and 44 above, and further in view of Lampropoulos et al. (US 5,817,072).
With regard to claims 34 and 47, Roundy teaches two arms on either side of the opening (Fig. 2) but does not specifically show rounded edges. However, Lampropoulos et al. teach a slit with tapered rounded edges so that the sleeve has les trauma and may seal better around an instrument (Fig. 8 and 69 and 69’, Col. 10 lines 19-24). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use rounded edges in Roundy as Lampropoulos et al. teach this is beneficial for sealing and reducing trauma.
Claim(s) 37 and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roudy (FR 2631835) as applied to claims 31 above, and further in view of Little et al. (US 2014/0275795 A1).
With regard to claims 37 and 38, Roudy teaches a device substantially as claimed but does not disclose a tapered tip. However, Little et al. teach an introducer in which the inner diameter may be constant or tapered and the tip may be tapered to reduce trauma and vessel damage and allow for easy withdrawal ([0101], Figs. 21-24). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to taper the tip of Roudy as Little et al. teach such to be an art effective equivalent and beneficial for reducing damage and allowing for withdrawal.
Claim(s) 40-43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roudy (FR 2631835) and Little et al. (US 2014/0275795 A1) as applied to claim 31 above, and further in view of Horrigan et al. (US 5,792,124).
With regard to claims 40-43, Roudy teaches a device substantially as claimed. Roudy as combined with Little et al. do not disclose the materials of the body and tip as recited. However, Little et al. teach tubing inserted into the vasculature in which the tip is softer than the body so that it does not damage the body while still being able to be controlled (Col. 1 lines 13-25). The body many be made of a harder Pebax while the tip is a softer elastomer (Col. 4 lines 30-40). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use materials as recited for the body and tip of Roudy as combined with Little et al. as Horrigan et al. teach this is beneficial for preventing damage while still maintaining control.
Claim(s) 49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roudy (FR 2631835) as applied to claim 44 above, and further in view of Horrigan et al. (US 5,792,124).
With regard to claim 49, Roudy teaches a device substantially as claimed. Roudy does not disclose the material of the body as listed. However, Little et al. teach tubing inserted into the vasculature in which the tip is softer than the body so that it does not damage the body while still being able to be controlled (Col. 1 lines 13-25). The body many be made of a harder Pebax while the tip is a softer elastomer (Col. 4 lines 30-40). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use materials as recited for the body and tip of Roudy as Horrigan et al. teach this is beneficial for preventing damage while still maintaining control.
Claim(s) 50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roudy (FR 2631835) as applied to claim 44 above, and further in view of Corbett et al. (US 2017/0049947 A1).
With regard to claim 50, Roudy teaches the device may be one of various cardiac implements (Pg. 6 4th full paragraph) but do not disclose a heart pump. However, Corbett et al. teach a percutaneous pump is inserted in the vasculature via an introducer sheath ([0005]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the device of Roudy with a percutaneous pump as in Corbett et al. as Roudy is for delivering various devices into the vasculature and Corbett et al. teach such is an art effective treatment device delivered through a sheath.
Conclusion
/EMILY L SCHMIDT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783