DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of updating the first paragraph of the Specification with US Patent No. 12,125,709 issued from the parent application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kiehbauch et al. (US20090275205).
Regarding claim 1, Kiehbauch discloses a method of dry-etching silicon oxide (abstract), comprising reacting silicon oxide in a non-plasma state (paragraph 0015), wherein the reaction comprises: contacting a treatment gas including an organic amine compound with silicon oxide (paragraph 0015); and contacting a treatment gas including a hydrogen fluoride with the silicon oxide (paragraph 0015).
Regarding claim 3, Kiehbauch discloses wherein the organic amine compound is represented by formula (1) as recited in the instant claim (methylamine, dimethylamine or trimethylamine, paragraph 0015).
Regarding claim 4, Kiehbauch discloses wherein the organic amine compound is a secondary amine or a tertiary amine (dimethylamine or trimethylamine, paragraph 0015).
Regarding claim 5, Kiehbauch discloses wherein the secondary amine is dimethylamine (paragraph 0015).
Regarding claim 6, Kiehbauch discloses wherein the tertiary amine is trimethylamine (paragraph 0015).
Regarding claim 10, Kiehbauch discloses selectively etching a silicon oxide film on a substrate to be treated where both the silicon oxide film and a polycrystalline silicon film are exposed (paragraphs 0037-0038 and Fig. 3C, wherein layer 14” is silicon oxide, layer 106 is polycrystalline silicon, as evidenced by paragraph 0016 and Fig. 1C of US20080171438 (application Ser. No. 11/652,218) incorporated by reference in paragraph 0037 of Kiehbauch).
Regarding claim 12, Kiehbauch discloses method of producing a semiconductor device, comprising etching a silicon oxide film on a semiconductor substrate including the silicon oxide film using the method of dry-etching silicon oxide according to claim 1 (paragraph 0043).
Claims 1-3 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (KR100870914, a machine-translated English version is used).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a method of dry-etching silicon oxide (abstract), comprising reacting silicon oxide in a non-plasma state (lines 115-123), wherein the reaction comprises: contacting a treatment gas including an organic amine compound with silicon oxide (lines 84-89 and 115-123); and contacting a treatment gas including a hydrogen fluoride with the silicon oxide (lines 84-89 and 115-123).
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses wherein a temperature of the silicon oxide upon the reaction is lower than 200°C (line 121).
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses wherein the organic amine compound is represented by formula (1), wherein N represents a nitrogen atom, R1 represents a C1 hydrocarbon group, and R2 and R3 each represents a hydrogen atom (CH3NH2, lines 118-119).
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses sublimating a reaction product which is obtained by the reacting of claim 1, wherein the sublimating is performed without supplying either the treatment gas including an organic amine compound or the treatment gas including a hydrogen fluoride (lines 153-157).
Regarding claim 12, Lee discloses method of producing a semiconductor device, comprising etching a silicon oxide film on a semiconductor substrate including the silicon oxide film using the method of dry-etching silicon oxide according to claim 1 (lines 16-19).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over over Lee (KR100870914, a machine-translated English version is used) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Ma (US20190244828).
Regarding claim 7, Lee is silent about selectively etching a silicon oxide film on a substrate to be treated where both the silicon oxide film and a silicon nitride film are exposed. However, Lee discloses that the method uses a mixture of hydrogen fluoride and IPA for removing silicon oxide film (lines 138-152). In addition, Ma teaches that an etching process using a mixture of hydrogen fluoride and IPA can be used to selectively etching a silicon oxide film on a substrate to be treated where both the silicon oxide film and a silicon nitride film are exposed (claims 12 and 14). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the method of Lee in the application of Ma, with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do modification because Lee discloses that the method provides improved wafer throughput (lines 31-37).
Regarding claim 8, the limitation in the wherein clause in the method claim simply expresses the intended result of the recited process; therefore, it is not accorded patentability weight. See MPEP 2111.04.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Lee (KR100870914, a machine-translated English version is used) as applied to claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses wherein a temperature of the silicon oxide upon the reaction is 20°C or higher and 50°C or lower (line 121), which overlaps with the range recited in the instant claim. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05(I).
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 and 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 1, 1, 1, 5, 6, 7, 8, 1 and 9, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 11,715,641. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims are generally directed to processes that are fully encompassed by the more broadly recited process claims of the instant application.
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 and 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 5, 1, 6, 7, 8, 9 and 10, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12,125,709. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims are generally directed to processes that are fully encompassed by the more broadly recited process claims of the instant application.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JIONG-PING LU whose telephone number is (571) 270-1135. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F: 9:00am – 5:00pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joshua L Allen, can be reached at telephone number (571)270-3176. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JIONG-PING LU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713