DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over US20140367633A1; Bibl et al.; (hereinafter “Bibl”).
Regarding Claim 1, Bibl teaches an electronic device ([0053]), comprising:
a substrate (#201, Figure 13A of Bibl annotated);
a driving circuit (#210, see also Figure 1C, [0060]) disposed on the substrate (#102);
a diode (#400) disposed on the substrate (#102) and electrically connected to the driving circuit (#210, see also Figure 1D);
an optical layer (#310) disposed on the diode (#400) and comprising a first curved surface (#S1),
a light shielding element (#202) disposed on the substrate (#102) and adjacent to the optical layer (#202); and
an inorganic layer (#324, [0102]) disposed on the substrate (#102),
wherein the inorganic layer (#324) overlaps the optical layer (#310) and the light shielding element (#202), and the inorganic layer (#324) comprises a second curved surface (#S2) overlapping the first curved surface (#S1).
Regarding Claim 2, Bibl teaches the electronic device as described in claim 1, wherein Bibl further teaches a surface of the light shielding element has a first width, a horizontal cross-section of a portion of the light shielding element has a second width, the second width is greater than the first width in a cross-sectional view, and the surface is closer to the substrate than the horizontal cross-section of the portion.
Regarding Claim 3, Bibl teaches the electronic device as described in claim 1, wherein Bibl further teaches the optical layer comprises quantum dot materials ([0102], layer #310 comprises quantum dots).
Regarding Claim 4, Bibl teaches the electronic device as described in claim 1, wherein Bibl further teaches the driving circuit comprises a first thin-film transistor and a second thin-film transistor (Figure 1C-D, [0060], underlying TFT substrate #102 comprises circuitries #T1-T2).
Regarding Claim 5, Bibl teaches the electronic device as described in claim 4, wherein Bibl further teaches the diode (#400,) overlaps a channel region of the first thin-film transistor (Figure 1C-D, micro LED #400 vertically overlaps active region of TFT circuit #T2).
Regarding Claim 6, Bibl teaches the electronic device as described in claim 1, wherein Bibl further teaches the optical layer (#310, Figure 13A) overlaps the diode (#400).
Regarding Claim 7, Bibl teaches the electronic device as described in claim 1, wherein Bibl further teaches an organic layer (#126, Figure 13A, [0062]), wherein a portion of the organic layer (#126) is disposed between the driving circuit (#210) and the light shielding element (#202).
Regarding Claim 8, Bibl teaches the electronic device as described in claim 7, wherein Bibl further teaches an another portion of the organic layer (#126, Figure 13A) is disposed between the driving circuit (#210) and the optical layer (#310).
Regarding Claim 9, Bibl teaches the electronic device as described in claim 1, wherein Bibl further teaches the light shielding element comprises a black matrix material ([0109], black matrix layer #202).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US20140159043A1 – Figures 6B-7B
US9472734A1 – Figures 5-6
/TIEN TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2812 /CHRISTINE S. KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812