DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Terahara (US Pub. No. 2001/0017960 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Terahara teaches a bi-directional optical controller, shown on Fig. 1, comprising:
an upstream optical interface (50a) (para [0048]; “A WDM transmission system 100 shown in FIG. 1 is constructed such that an optical fiber pair 7 (trunk system transmission line) as a bi-directional optical signal transmission means connects optical transmit/receive terminal stations 50a and 50b to transmit and receive wavelength division multiplexed signals. The wavelength demultiplexing/multiplexing device 1 is positioned between the optical transmit/receive terminal stations 50a and 50b”);
a downstream optical interface (50b) (para [0048]; “A WDM transmission system 100 shown in FIG. 1 is constructed such that an optical fiber pair 7 (trunk system transmission line) as a bi-directional optical signal transmission means connects optical transmit/receive terminal stations 50a and 50b to transmit and receive wavelength division multiplexed signals. The wavelength demultiplexing/multiplexing device 1 is positioned between the optical transmit/receive terminal stations 50a and 50b”); and
an optical circuit coupling said upstream with said downstream interface such that optical signals received at either interface is routed to the other interface, said optical circuit adapted to allow a first set of prespecified optical services to be provided in at least one of the upstream or downstream direction on an optical signal received at the respective downstream or upstream interface (para [0052]; “The AOTF 30 (equivalent to the AOTF 30' in FIG. 24) is a device in which the acousto-optic effect is applied, and is able to control the output optical signals based on the RF signal supplied to a control port 30-7. The AOTF 30 executes a switch control so as to output the optical signals at terminals 01, 02, 01', 02', from a desired one of terminals 01, 02, 01', 02'. The following Table 1 illustrates the switch control of the input/output signals by the AOTF 30.”).
Regarding claim 2, Terahara teaches wherein said optical circuit comprises:
a first optical circulator (11) coupled with said upstream interface adapted to route a first optical signal received at said upstream port via a first optical path to said downstream interface (para [0062]; “The first switching circuit 10 has an optical circulator connected to one of the terminals (02') of the AOTF 30. The switching unit 10 switches the input/output line from the AOTF 30 to the bi-directional optical transmission lines 8, 9.”); and
a second optical circulator (21) coupled with said downstream interface adapted to route a second optical signal received at said downstream port via a second optical path to said upstream interface (para [0063]; “On the other hand, the second switching circuit 20 is connected to the other input/output pair of the AOTF 30. That is, switching circuit 20 is connected to terminals 01 and 02 of AOTF 30. The switching circuit 20 has an optical circulator 21 which switches the input/output line from terminal 02 to the -optical fibers 8 and 9.”).
Regarding claim 3, Terahara teaches wherein said first optical path comprises one or more first optical components adapted to enable or disable the first set of prespecified optical services to be provided in the downstream direction on said first optical signal (para [0052]; “The AOTF 30 (equivalent to the AOTF 30' in FIG. 24) is a device in which the acousto-optic effect is applied, and is able to control the output optical signals based on the RF signal supplied to a control port 30-7. The AOTF 30 executes a switch control so as to output the optical signals at terminals 01, 02, 01', 02', from a desired one of terminals 01, 02, 01', 02'.”).
Claims 1-6, 10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Feuer et al (US Pub. No. 2007/0003283 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Feuer et al teaches a bi-directional optical controller, shown on Fig. 5, comprising:
an upstream optical interface (communication component coupled to fiber 52 for transmitting and receiving optical signals; para [0032]; “…bidirectional optical communications system 51 has a programmable optical component 54 coupled to a bidirectional optical fiber 52 and a bidirectional optical fiber 53. Bidirectional optical fiber 52 is operable to transmit a set of available wavelengths λ1 . . . n to and from a West direction, and bidirectional optical fiber 53 is operable to transmit a set of available wavelengths λ1 . . . n to and from an East direction.”);
a downstream optical interface (communication component coupled to fiber 53 for transmitting and receiving optical signals; para [0032]; “…bidirectional optical communications system 51 has a programmable optical component 54 coupled to a bidirectional optical fiber 52 and a bidirectional optical fiber 53. Bidirectional optical fiber 52 is operable to transmit a set of available wavelengths λ1 . . . n to and from a West direction, and bidirectional optical fiber 53 is operable to transmit a set of available wavelengths λ1 . . . n to and from an East direction.”); and
an optical circuit (54) coupling said upstream with said downstream interface such that optical signals received at either interface is routed to the other interface, said optical circuit adapted to allow a first set of prespecified optical services to be provided in at least one of the upstream or downstream direction on an optical signal received at the respective downstream or upstream interface (para [0032]; “Programmable optical component 54 has optical circulators 55 and 59, 1x2 wavelength selective switches 57 and 61, and optical couplers 58 and 62, and gain blocks 56 and 60, all of which are known in the art. Gain blocks 56 and 60 may be an erbium doped fiber amplifier or any other amplifier known in the art.”).
Regarding claim 2, Feuer et al teaches wherein said optical circuit comprises:
a first optical circulator (55) coupled with said upstream interface adapted to route a first optical signal received at said upstream port via a first optical path to said downstream interface (para [0032]; “Programmable optical component 54 has optical circulators 55 and 59”); and
a second optical circulator (59) coupled with said downstream interface adapted to route a second optical signal received at said downstream port via a second optical path to said upstream interface (para [0032]; “Programmable optical component 54 has optical circulators 55 and 59).
Regarding claim 3, Feuer et al teaches wherein said first optical path comprises one or more first optical components adapted to enable or disable the first set of prespecified optical services to be provided in the downstream direction on said first optical signal (para [0033]; “…, 1x2 wavelength selective switch 57 is programmed to dynamically change the set of wavelengths that will be forwarded from its input port 1 to its output port 2, and the set of wavelengths that will be dropped through port 3. Thus, initially, 1x2 wavelength selective switch 57 will output wavelengths λEast-express to optical circulator 59 which, in turn, will forward wavelengths λEast-express to bidirectional optical fiber 53 for transmission in the East direction.”).
Regarding claim 4, Feuer et al teaches wherein said second optical path comprises one or more second optical components adapted to allow a second set of prespecified optical services to be provided in the upstream direction on said second optical signal (para [0033]; “…, 1x2 wavelength selective switch 57 is programmed to dynamically change the set of wavelengths that will be forwarded from its input port 1 to its output port 2, and the set of wavelengths that will be dropped through port 3. Thus, initially, 1x2 wavelength selective switch 57 will output wavelengths λEast-express to optical circulator 59 which, in turn, will forward wavelengths λEast-express to bidirectional optical fiber 53 for transmission in the East direction.”).
Regarding claim 5, Feuer et al teaches wherein said one or more first optical components comprises one or more first wavelength selective switches (para [0033]; “…, 1x2 wavelength selective switch 57 is programmed to dynamically change the set of wavelengths that will be forwarded from its input port 1 to its output port 2, and the set of wavelengths that will be dropped through port 3. Thus, initially, 1x2 wavelength selective switch 57 will output wavelengths λEast-express to optical circulator 59 which, in turn, will forward wavelengths λEast-express to bidirectional optical fiber 53 for transmission in the East direction.”).
Regarding claim 6, Feuer et al teaches controller, wherein said one or more second optical components comprises one or more second wavelength selective switches para [0033]; “…, 1x2 wavelength selective switch 57 is programmed to dynamically change the set of wavelengths that will be forwarded from its input port 1 to its output port 2, and the set of wavelengths that will be dropped through port 3. Thus, initially, 1x2 wavelength selective switch 57 will output wavelengths λEast-express to optical circulator 59 which, in turn, will forward wavelengths λEast-express to bidirectional optical fiber 53 for transmission in the East direction.”).
Regarding claim 10, shown on Fig. 5, Feuer et al teaches wherein said optical circuit further comprises:
one or more subpaths in the upstream or downstream direction, at least one of said subpaths comprising at least one of an optical filter and an optical shutter, such that one or more of the first set of prespecified optical services may be enabled or disabled (shown on Fig. 5, subpath is shown to carry optical signal from EAST to WEST; optical shutter 61 enabled optical signals by passing it thru from EAST to WEST).
Regarding claim 14, Feuer et al teaches wherein said optical circuit further comprises an optical amplifier adapted to compensate for device or line losses in the upstream or downstream direction (para [0032]; “Programmable optical component 54 has optical circulators 55 and 59, 1x2 wavelength selective switches 57 and 61, and optical couplers 58 and 62, and gain blocks 56 and 60, all of which are known in the art. Gain blocks 56 and 60 may be an erbium doped fiber amplifier or any other amplifier known in the art.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feuer et al (US Pub. No. 2007/0003283 A1) in view of Badar et al (US Pub. No. 2024/0063935 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Feuer et al teaches bi-directional optical comprising optical filter (Fig. 1 and para [0003]; “Fixed optical filter 17…”) and differs from the claimed invention in that Feuer et al does not specifically teach wherein said first optical path comprises one or more first optical filters, each first optical filter adapted to allow a selected wavelength of light to pass to the downstream interface. Badar et al teaches bi-directional optical communication system comprising one or more first optical filters, each first optical filter adapted to allow a selected wavelength of light to pass to the downstream interface (para [0038]; “…the filter array 302 operates as a wavelength division multiplexer that separates (or combines) an inbound wavelength onto separate “channels” that include both C-Band and L-Band wavelengths.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the bi-directional optical communication system of Feuer et al by providing one or more first optical filters, each first optical filter adapted to allow a selected wavelength of light to pass to the downstream interface, as taught by Badar et al, in order to improves signal-to-noise ratio by preventing crosstalk between upstream and downstream data and hence optimizing signal quality of multi-wavelength signals on a single fiber.
Regarding claim 8, Feuer et al teaches bi-directional optical comprising optical filter (Fig. 1 and para [0003]; “Fixed optical filter 17…”) and differs from the claimed invention in that Feuer et al does not specifically teach wherein said second optical path comprises one or more second optical filters, each second optical filter adapted to allow a selected wavelength of light to pass to the upstream interface. Badar et al teaches bi-directional optical communication system comprising one or more second optical filters, each second optical filter adapted to allow a selected wavelength of light to pass to the upstream interface (para [0038]; “…the filter array 302 operates as a wavelength division multiplexer that separates (or combines) an inbound wavelength onto separate “channels” that include both C-Band and L-Band wavelengths.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the bi-directional optical communication system of Feuer et al by providing one or more second optical filters, each second optical filter adapted to allow a selected wavelength of light to pass to the upstream interface, as taught by Badar et al, in order to improves signal-to-noise ratio by preventing crosstalk between upstream and downstream data and hence optimizing signal quality of multi-wavelength signals on a single fiber.
Regarding claim 9, Feuer et al teaches bi-directional optical comprising optical filter (Fig. 1 and para [0003]; “Fixed optical filter 17…”) and differs from the claimed invention in that Feuer et al does not specifically teach a first optical filter that filters an optical signal in the downstream direction to allow first one or more PON generation bands to pass in the downstream direction. Badar et al teaches bi-directional optical communication system comprising a first optical filter that filters an optical signal in the downstream direction to allow first one or more PON generation bands to pass in the downstream direction (para [0038]; “… WDM-PON signals … … the filter array 302 operates as a wavelength division multiplexer that separates (or combines) an inbound wavelength onto separate “channels” that include both C-Band and L-Band wavelengths.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the bi-directional optical communication system of Feuer et al by providing a first optical filter that filters an optical signal in the downstream direction to allow first one or more PON generation bands to pass in the downstream direction, as taught by Badar et al, in order to improves signal-to-noise ratio by preventing crosstalk between upstream and downstream data and hence optimizing signal quality of multi-wavelength signals on a single fiber.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feuer et al (US Pub. No. 2007/0003283 A1) in view of Wei et al (US Pub. No. 2023/0412278 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Feuer et al teaches bi-directional optical controller, as discussed above, and differs from the claimed invention in that Feuer et al does not specifically teach one or more polarization scramblers adapted to scramble an optical signal such to prevent state of polarization sensing of said optical signal. Wei et al teaches optical communication system comprising polarization scrambler (para [0098]; “…the polarization scrambler of the central node transceiver 112 is used to mitigate polarization related impairments of the reference signal.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the bi-directional optical communication system of Feuer et al by providing polarization scrambler, as taught by Wei et al, in order to eliminates polarization fading and prevents polarization-dependent measurement errors.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Giorgi et al (US Patent No. 9,634,767 B2) is cited to show power control in birectional WDM optical link.
Nakamura (US Pub. No. 2020/0119812 A1) is cited to show bidirectional optical transmission system.
Meli et al (US Pub. No. 2005/0047789 A1) is cited to show bidirectional multichannel optical telecommunication system.
Mizrahi (US Patent No. 5,812,306) is cited to show bi-directional optical amplifier for WDM optical communication system has two circulators with three circulator ports each and each communicating with separate sets of optical channels with two optical selectors positioned in optical paths.
/DALZID E. SINGH/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2635
/DALZID E SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635