DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to claim amendments and remarks filed by Applicant’s representative on April 7, 2026. Claims 1-20 are pending, no claims have been canceled, and no new claims have been added.
Response to Amendments and Remarks
Applicant’s latest filed claim amendments and corresponding remarks dated April 7, 2026 have been received and fully considered. Applicant’s remarks and/or comments are generally directed to the current claim amendment(s), and accordingly deemed moot in light of the new grounds of rejection provided with this action.
With regards to Applicant’s latest amendments and remarks, Applicant firstly notes and remarks that the independent claim(s), and particularly independent claim 1, has been further amended to now expressly recite
“One or more processors comprising processing circuitry to:
instantiate a virtual participant (VP) to a conference session hosted using a video conferencing platform;
generate a query to a microservices server based at least on communication channel data received during the conference session through a communication channel established with the video conferencing platform;
generate audio-visual data based at least on query response data received from the microservices server in response to the query; and
control the video conferencing platform to present the audio-visual data as a simulated participant video feed of the virtual participant, the audio-visual data sent to the conference session”.
With respect to the above, Applicant notes and remarks that none of the prior art reference(s) applied in rejecting independent claim 1 [Vieyra et al], either individually or in combination with other prior art, expressly and properly discloses or suggests the above amended claim feature(s) or limitation(s) of generate audio-visual data based at least on query response data received from the microservices server in response to the query; and control the video conferencing platform to present the audio-visual data as a simulated participant video feed of the virtual participant, the audio-visual data sent to the conference session -- as currently recited by amended independent claim 1 above (and similarly in independent claims 16 and 20).
In particular, and in support of his position, Applicant states or remarks that nothing in Vieyra teaches or suggests “generating ‘audio-visual data’ based at least on query response received from the microservices server in response to the query”, because while Vieyra in Fig. 40 discloses an ‘AI entity’ (i.e., Meeting / Moderator Bot, Survey Bot, Advertisement Bot, etc.) ‘audibly’ reading out text and ‘speaking’ to a meeting attendee of a video conference in a preferred language during the conference, the voice translation panel 4040 of Vieyra generates ‘audio data’ but does not generate ‘audio-visual data’. In addition Applicant remarks that Vieyra fails to teach or suggest “controlling a video conferencing platform to present the audio-visual data as a simulated participant video feed of the virtual participant, the audio-visual data as a simulated participant video feed of the virtual participant, the audio-visual data sent to the conference session”, because while Vieyra in Fig. 40 discloses a Conference View 4000 comprising several ‘panels’ that include the meeting screen panel 4020 displaying (images) of the ‘meeting participants’, including participating ‘Meeting Agents’ such as the AI Meeting / Moderator Bots, Chat Bots, Survey Bot, etc.}, the ‘meeting agents’ are listed in the meeting panel 4020 alongside documents and other digital content as supplementary interface elements, but are not presented as a ‘simulated participant’ video feeds of a virtual participant [Applicant Remarks: par 1, pg. 14 – par 3, pg. 15]. Accordingly, Applicant remarks that the independent claims are distinguishable from the applied prior art and/or prior art combination(s) used to reject the claims, and that the respective dependent claims are also distinguishable by virtue of their dependency on their respective parent independent claims.
The Office respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s position or assessment regarding the above claim features / limitations, and quickly / generally notes that, contrary to Applicant’s remarks, the ‘meeting agents’ {Meeting Bot, Survey Bot, Chat Bot, etc.} are ‘active’ participants of the conference along with the human conference participants, as illustrated by the Conference / Meeting UI of Vieyra in Fig. 40, and their ‘images’ representative of the AI entities or virtual participants are ‘presented’ / displayed as such (e.g., a participating conference ‘virtual participant’) in the Conference interface, view or window, alongside the ‘human’ meeting participants (i.e. Person No. 1, Person No. 2, etc.) -- and this constitutes ‘visual data’ as the AI entity / virtual participant can be ‘seen’ interacting with the human participants during the ‘video conference’ session. Applicant has also acknowledged that the AI entity ‘reads’ out text and ‘speaks’ to a human participant of the conference during the meeting / session, and hence also generates ‘audio data’. Accordingly, the Office notes that Vieyra sufficiently and reasonably discloses at least one embodiment (i.e., Conference View / Screen) wherein participation or ‘interaction’ by the AI entity (‘virtual’ participant or Meeting Not) with ‘human’ users of the ‘video conference’ are presented or displayed in the form of both ‘audio’ (speaking to human meeting participants) and ‘visual’ data (image representation of the Meeting AI / Bot entity in the video conference), consistent with the language of the claim recitation.
Nonetheless – without acquiescing to Applicant’s remarks, and in the interest of advancing prosecution of the application claims -- the Office asserts and notes that the amended / argued feature(s) of the independent claims are now expressly taught or disclosed in view of teachings and/or disclosures by at least Huang et al, as discussed / cited below in a new grounds of rejection with this action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 14, 15, 16, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being disclosed by Vieyra et al (hereinafter Vieyra), US Patent Publication US 20220366459 A1 (publication date November 2022) in view of Huang et al (hereinafter Huang), US Patent Publication 20250022200 A1 (filing date July 2024).
As per claim{s} 1, 16, 20, Vieyra discloses a method comprising: one or more processors comprising processing circuitry (Vieyra: e.g., a Host device includes a ‘processor’, database and a non-transitory processor readable storage medium) [0052] (e.g., a ‘computing device’ {i.e., general purpose computer, workstation, portable device, PDA, laptop or desktop computer, etc.} comprising a ‘multi-processor system’) [0078] to:
instantiate a virtual participant (VP) to a conference session hosted using a
video conferencing platform (Vieyra: e.g., As described herein, a “bot” “intelligent agent” “AI bot” “AI agent” is descriptive of computer systems, software, application, component or module that uses the professional services marketplace. A ‘bot’ can represent software that is ‘enabled’, ‘embedded’, ‘included’, ‘imported’, ‘activated’ or ‘provisioned’ in the professional services marketplace. For example, an artificial intelligent or “AI” bot can be used to expedite communication between one and many users of the professional services marketplace by automatically responding to inbox messages through features that detect, translate, interpret and process inbox messages on behalf of a user. In another example, an ‘AI agent’ can be used during a ‘virtual meeting’ to moderate comments, administrate attendees, poll or survey attendees, translate conversations, advertise, up-sell, cross-sell, promote, and perform other actions) [0077] (e.g., for example, an ‘intelligent agent’ (artificial intelligent software that acts as a ‘non-biological user’) may suggest services to a requestor of services based on specific behavioral patterns, historical ‘search queries’ and categories of interest of the requestor of services) [0148] (e.g., Chat Bot_3360 / Survey Bot_3365 / Moderator Bot_3370) [0312-0313; Fig. 33] [0337; Fig. 40]; as well as the feature or limitation of
generate a query (Vieyra: e.g., the real-time on-demand service delivery system may include “service delivery method that specifically makes use of ‘virtual meeting software’ to enable real-time, on-demand voice and video communication between service providers and service requestors”, as well as “the use of intelligent agents (for example bots) with human-to-human, ‘human-to-bot’ and bot-to-bot communication, and “components that enable users to utilize an ‘auto-response bot’ in their inbox to answer ‘frequently asked questions’ from other users who use bots to auto-request quotes for services” {equivalent to a ‘query’}) [0107-0112] (e.g., for example, a Service Requestor may navigate to the Website 710 in order to utilize the ‘search’ user interface (i.e., ‘clicking on a search box’, ‘typing a search term’ and pressing a button to ‘conduct a search’) {equivalent to a ‘query’} which enables search functionality to be accessible on the website 710) [0189] to a microservices server based at least on communication channel data received during the conference session through a communication channel established between the microservices server and the VP (Vieyra: e.g., the use of Servers_1720 in the cloud 1710 may extend to operations that require one or more ‘Microservices’_1745. For example, when a user schedules a ‘virtual meeting’, the professional services marketplace 1740 may utilize ‘Microservices’_1745) [0248; Fig. 17].
But while Vieyra discloses substantial features of the invention as above in claim 1, he does not expressly disclose the additional recited feature(s) or limitation(s) of the one or more processors further comprising generate audio-visual data based at least on query response data received from the microservices server in response to the query; and control the video conferencing platform to present the audio-visual data as a simulated participant video feed of the virtual participant, the audio-visual data sent to the conference session.
However, in a related endeavor, Huang particularly discloses the additional recited feature(s) or limitation(s) of the one or more processors further comprising generate audio-visual data based at least on query response data received from the microservices server in response to the query; and control the video conferencing platform to present the audio-visual data as a simulated participant video feed of the virtual participant, the audio-visual data sent to the conference session (Huang: e.g., expressly discloses as his invention a method for controlling an artificial intelligence (AI) device for implementing a ‘Digital Avatar’ can include receiving an audio signal corresponding to a user query, converting, by a speech-to-text neural network model, the audio signal into a text query, inputting the text query into a large language gesture instruction model to generate high level ‘movement’ instructions, inputting the text query and the high level movement instructions into an information retrieval model to generate a text response including at least one sentence and ‘digital avatar control information’, and inputting the text response into a ‘text-to-speech’ neural network model to generate an ‘audio response’…Also, the method can include inputting the audio response into an ‘audio-to-facial animation’ model and an ‘audio-to-conversational gesture’ model to generate ‘updated digital avatar control information’ including gesture information, and outputting the ‘audio response’ and the ‘updated digital avatar control information’ for controlling the digital Avatar) [Abstract; Fig. 5 & 7-9] (e.g., A ‘digital avatar’ is a virtual representation of a ‘person or character’, existing in digital spaces such as online games, virtual worlds, or social media. These avatars can range from simple 2D icons or profile pictures to complex, ‘customizable 3D models’ that can “interact with the environment and other users”. ‘Digital avatars’ can be used for various purposes, including entertainment, social interaction, communication, and even business applications such as customer service or ‘virtual meetings’ ) [0004] (e.g., the system can allow a User to ‘communicate’ with the digital Avatar using a microphone in the client device, and the Avatar can respond with contextually appropriate ‘speech’, ‘facial animations’ and ‘gestures’ {audio-visual feed} ) [0149] (e.g., According to an embodiment, the generated audio response can then be utilized in an ‘audio-to-facial animation’ generation pipeline to generate synchronized face animations for the Avatar, and simultaneously, the audio can be played back within the digital avatar environment. In other words, the Avatar's ‘face and mouth movements’ can be generated directly from an ‘audio sentence’ generated for the response {audio-visual feed}) [0153].
It would thus be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify and/or combine Vieyra’s invention with the above said additional feature, as expressly disclosed by Huang, for the motivation of providing a method and system for creating and controlling a ‘digital avatar’ with 3D interaction capabilities that can communicate with (human) users in the AI field, and for implementation or application in entertainment, social interaction, and/or business applications such as customer service or ‘virtual meeting’ / conference [Huang: Abstract, 0004].
Claim(s) 16, 20 recite(s) substantially the same limitations / features as claim 1, except for the additional recited feature of generating / presenting data or a data channel comprising an ‘avatar’ or ‘virtual avatar’, respectively, associated with the virtual participant, which is nonetheless also expressly disclosed by Vieyra (e.g., Chat Bot_3360 / Survey Bot_3365 / Moderator Bot_3370 included / displayed / presented as a ‘virtual / simulated participant’ of the conference) [0312-0313; Fig. 33] [0337-0338; Fig. 40]. The claim(s) is/are also distinguishable by its/their statutory category (system, method), and accordingly rejected on the same basis.
As per claim{s} 5, Vieyra discloses the recited feature(s) or limitation(s) of the one or more processors wherein the one or more processors are further to: control the microservices server based at least on the query (Vieyra: e.g., the use of Servers_1720 in the cloud 1710 may extend to operations that require one or more ‘Microservices’_1745. For example, when a user schedules a ‘virtual meeting’, the professional services marketplace 1740 may utilize ‘Microservices’_1745) [0248; Fig. 17] to generate a summarization in response to the communication channel data received during the conference session and from the communication channel, wherein the summarization comprises at least one of:
a document summary of one or more documents submitted to the microservices server; a meeting summary of audio communications between user participants of the conference session based at least on the communication channel data; a whiteboard content summary of a whiteboard presentation represented by the communication channel data; an image summary based at least on one or more images shared between user participants of the conference session through the communication channel; and a video summary based at least on one or more videos shared between user participants of the conference session through the communication channel (Vieyra: e.g., a typical meeting note 3960 may include details about the service item(s) 3920, details about the service provider(s), a ‘Summary of the Conference Meeting’_3940 {for example, total meeting time, total transcriptions, total comments, total documents, total interactions}) [0335; Fig. 39].
As per claim{s} 14, Vieyra discloses the recited feature(s) or limitation(s) of the one or more processors wherein the one or more processors are further to: generate a user interface for display by the video conferencing platform (Vieyra: e.g., Conference View_4000) [0037; Fig. 40]; and adjust a configuration of microservices exposed by the microservices server based at least on one or more user inputs to the user interface (Vieyra: e.g., the use of Servers_1720 in the cloud 1710 may extend to operations that require one or more ‘Microservices’_1745. For example, when a user schedules a ‘virtual meeting’, the professional services marketplace 1740 may utilize ‘Microservices’_1745) [0248; Fig. 17]
.
As per claim{s} 15, 19, Vieyra discloses the recited feature(s) or limitation(s) of the one or more processors wherein the processing circuitry is comprised in at least one of: a control system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine; a perception system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine; a system for performing simulation operations; a system for performing digital twin operations; a system for performing light transport simulation; a system for performing collaborative content creation for three-dimensional assets; a system for performing deep learning operations; a system for performing remote operations; a system for performing real-time streaming; a system for generating or presenting one or more of augmented reality content, virtual reality content, or mixed reality content; a system implemented using an edge device; a system implemented using a robot; a system for performing conversational AI operations; a system implementing one or more language models; a system implementing one or more large language models (LLMs); a system implementing one or more vision language models (VLMs); a system for generating synthetic data; a system for generating synthetic data using AI; a system incorporating one or more virtual machines (VMs); a system implemented at least partially in a data center; or a system implemented at least partially using cloud computing resources (Vieyra: e.g., The present examples uses ‘real-time on-demand service’ delivery which include, among others [0104]: a service delivery method that specifically makes use of ‘virtual meeting’ software to enable real-time, on-demand voice and video communication between Service Providers and Service Requestors [0107]; support of ‘virtual events’ (for example, webinars, web conferences, etc.) in a group-oriented service model [0109]; the use of ‘intelligent agents’ (for example ‘bots’) with human-to-human, ‘human-to-bot’ and bot-to-bot communication [0111]; components that enable users to utilize an ‘auto-response bot’ in their inbox to answer frequently asked questions from other users who use bots to auto-request quotes for services [0112]; components that enable the use of ‘semi-automated intelligent agents’ {for example, a ‘chat bot’ is configured by a user and deployed to a network} where users of a network have the capability of communicating with other users with a semi-automated intelligent agent; and components that enable users to employ intelligent agents to assist with ‘asking or answering questions’ (for example, one user has a list of questions and follow up questions that is communicated to another user in a chat session)) [0113-0114]) [Figs. 3, 9, 17, 33, 40].
Claim(s) 19 recite(s) substantially the same limitations / features as claim 15, is/are distinguishable only by its/their statutory category (system), and accordingly rejected on the same basis.
Claim(s) 2, 3, 4, 6-9, 11-13, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being disclosed by Vieyra in view of Huang and in further view of Fan et al (hereinafter Fan), US Patent Publication 20250298791 A1 (filing date July 2024).
As per claim{s} 2, 17, while the combination of Vieyra and Huang discloses substantial features of the invention as above in claim 1, the combination does not expressly disclose the additional recited feature(s) or limitation(s) of the one or more processors wherein the one or more processors are further to: generate one or more prompts that represent at least the query based at least on voice data received as input during the conference session; and access one or more machine learning model-based services of the microservices server using the one or more prompts, wherein the query response data comprises a response generated based at least on the one or more machine learning model-based services.
However, in a related endeavor, Fan particularly discloses the additional recited feature{s} / limitation{s} of wherein the one or more processors are further to generate one or more prompts that represent at least the query based at least on voice data received as input during the conference session (Fan: e.g., ‘spoken / audio queries’) [0095; Fig. 5]; and access one or more machine learning model-based services of the microservices server using the one or more prompts, wherein the query response data comprises a response generated based at least on the one or more machine learning model-based services (Fan: e.g., the ReAct parsing component 620 can use LLM 530 to parse the query to break down the query into manageable ‘parts’ that can be accomplished using the available Agents 540 or services 550. The manageable parts may be categorized broadly as ‘reasoning’ or ‘acting’ parts. In some cases, ‘reasoning parts’ may be well-suited for ‘responding to’ {queries} using LLM 530 while the ‘acting part’ may be well-suited for execution by one or more Services 550. However, ‘reasoning parts’ may sometimes be performed by Services 550 (i.e., a {Machine Learning} ML model service) while acting parts may be performed by an LLM 530 {i.e., a LLM fine-tuned for summarization}). The determined parts can then be prioritized by the Orchestrator agent 520 and output to the agents 540 or services 550 as ‘prompts or ‘commands’) [0116; Fig. 6].
It would thus be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the combination with the above said additional feature, as expressly disclosed by Fan, for the motivation of providing a method and system for chat-based querying of multiple data sources using a multi-agent infrastructure for application or implementation in a virtual meeting / conference {i.e., a video conference} [Fan: Abstract, 0002, 0005, 0013; Figs. 1, 2, 10].
Claim(s) 17 recite(s) substantially the same limitations / features as claim 2, is/are distinguishable only by its/their statutory category (system), and accordingly rejected on the same basis.
As per claim{s} 3, Vieyra in view of Huan in view of Fan, and Fan in particular, discloses the additional recited feature(s) or limitation(s) of the one or more processors wherein the one or more processors are further to generate one or more prompts that represent at least the query based at least on text data received as input during the conference session (Fan: e.g., FIG. 14 shows an example of a Chat application UI 1400 that may be shown or interacted with on some client devices configured for ‘chat-based querying’ of multiple data sources using a multi-agent infrastructure, wherein the UI of the chat application may be provided by a Video Conference client software to access the corresponding service provided by the video conference provider 402…The example UI 1400 includes several elements of a typical ‘chat application’ including chat channel listing 1402 along with a selected chat channel 1404. The ‘chat conversation’, including contributions from one or more participants, is shown in the main chat window 1408. ‘Chat messages’ {text messages} can be ‘input’ using the suite of UI controls provided at the chat input window 1406…For example, at 1416, the User has ‘input’ a {text} query requesting a ‘summary’ of a particular chat channel 1418 {i.e., ‘text’ query / request [Wingdings font/0xE0] “Summarize #Acme Buyer Program Chat” }) [0171-0173; Fig. 14]; and
access one or more machine learning model-based services of the
microservices server using the one or more prompts, wherein the query response
data comprises a response generated based at least on the one or more machine
learning model-based services (Fan: e.g., the ReAct parsing component 620 can use LLM 530 to parse the query to break down the query into manageable ‘parts’ that can be accomplished using the available Agents 540 or services 550. The manageable parts may be categorized broadly as ‘reasoning’ or ‘acting’ parts. In some cases, ‘reasoning parts’ may be well-suited for ‘responding to’ {queries} using LLM 530 while the ‘acting part’ may be well-suited for execution by one or more Services 550. However, ‘reasoning parts’ may sometimes be performed by Services 550 (i.e., a {Machine Learning} ‘ML model service’) while ‘acting parts’ may be performed by an LLM 530 {i.e., a LLM fine-tuned for summarization}). The determined parts can then be prioritized by the Orchestrator agent 520 and output to the Agents 540 or Services 550 as ‘prompts or ‘commands’) [0116; Fig. 6].
The motivation for combining Vieyra with Fan is similar to that given for claim 2 above.
As per claim{s} 4, Vieyra in view of Huan in view of Fan, and Fan in particular, discloses the additional recited feature(s) or limitation(s) of the one or more processors wherein the one or more processors are further to generate one or more prompts that represent at least the query based at least on image data received as input during the conference session (Fan: e.g., The query input window 1040 includes input field 1041 and send control 1046 for entering and outputting queries to the video conference provider 402 using an input device connected to the client device 410 such as a keyboard. The query input window 1040 includes an attachment control 1042 that can be used to provide supplemental context for generating the query response to the query response subsystem 420. For example, a particular document or ‘image’ can be attached to the query which can then itself be a subject of the query) [0155; Fig. 10]; and access one or more machine learning model-based services of the
microservices server using the one or more prompts, wherein the query response
data comprises a response generated based at least on the one or more machine
learning model-based services (Fan: e.g., the ReAct parsing component 620 can use LLM 530 to parse the query to break down the query into manageable ‘parts’ that can be accomplished using the available Agents 540 or services 550. The manageable parts may be categorized broadly as ‘reasoning’ or ‘acting’ parts. In some cases, ‘reasoning parts’ may be well-suited for ‘responding to’ {queries} using LLM 530 while the ‘acting part’ may be well-suited for execution by one or more Services 550. However, ‘reasoning parts’ may sometimes be performed by Services 550 (i.e., a {Machine Learning} ‘ML model service’) while ‘acting parts’ may be performed by an LLM 530 {i.e., a LLM fine-tuned for summarization}). The determined parts can then be prioritized by the Orchestrator agent 520 and output to the Agents 540 or Services 550 as ‘prompts or ‘commands’) [0116; Fig. 6].
The motivation for combining Vieyra with Fan is similar to that given for claim 2 above.
As per claim{s} 6, Vieyra in view of Huan in view of Fan, and Fan in particular, discloses the additional recited feature(s) or limitation(s) of the one or more processors wherein the one or more processors are further to control the microservices server to generate the query response data based at least on submitting a representation of the query as a prompt to a large language model (LLM) (Fan: e.g., the ReAct parsing component 620 can use LLM 530 to parse the query to break down the query into manageable ‘parts’ that can be accomplished using the available Agents 540 or services 550. The manageable parts may be categorized broadly as ‘reasoning’ or ‘acting’ parts. In some cases, ‘reasoning parts’ may be well-suited for ‘responding to’ {queries} using LLM 530 while the ‘acting part’ may be well-suited for execution by one or more Services 550. However, ‘reasoning parts’ may sometimes be performed by Services 550 (i.e., a {Machine Learning} ‘ML model service’) while ‘acting parts’ may be performed by a {Large Language Model} ‘LLM’_530 {i.e., a LLM fine-tuned for Summarization}). The determined parts can then be prioritized by the Orchestrator agent 520 and output to the Agents 540 or Services 550 as ‘prompts or ‘commands’) [0116; Fig. 6].
The motivation for combining Vieyra with Fan is similar to that given for claim 2 above.
As per claim{s} 7, Vieyra in view of Huan in view of Fan, and Fan in particular, discloses the additional recited feature(s) or limitation(s) of the one or more processors wherein the one or more processors are further to: control the microservices server to generate the query response data based at least on submitting a representation of the query as a prompt to a retrieval-augmented generation (RAG) large language model (LLM) based at least on one or more augmentation data sources associated with the conference session (Fan: e.g., in some examples, ‘Retrieval Augmented Generation (RAG)’ can be used to augment the ‘LLM’ 530 with context-specific, organization-specific, task-specific knowledge. ‘RAG’ may include accessing relevant documents from a suitable data source in the storage system 425 and ‘conditioning’ the LLM 530 response generation on the retrieved context. This can enable the LLM to ‘respond to queries’ in the context of the retrieved knowledge {RAG}, beyond its training data, enabling it to produce more informed and tailored outputs. ) [0099; Fig. 6] (e.g., in some examples, ‘grounding the query’ may use techniques such as retrieval augmented generation (“RAG”) to augment the query with context-specific, organization-specific, or task-specific knowledge. RAG may involve obtaining relevant documents from a suitable data source and conditioning the LLM's response generation on the retrieved context. In other words, the relevant documents can be added to a ‘prompt’ as context for responding to the prompt) [0125].
The motivation for combining Vieyra with Fan is similar to that given for claim 2 above.
As per claim{s} 8, Vieyra in view of Huan in view of Fan, and Fan in particular, discloses the additional recited feature(s) or limitation(s) of the one or more processors wherein the one or more augmentation data sources comprise at least one of: one or more documents uploaded to the RAG LLM through the communication channel, and one or more documents available from a network address provided during the conference session (Fan: e.g., in some examples, ‘Retrieval Augmented Generation (RAG)’ can be used to augment the ‘LLM’ 530 with context-specific, organization-specific, task-specific knowledge. ‘RAG’ may include accessing ‘relevant documents’ from a suitable data source in the storage system 425 and ‘conditioning’ the LLM 530 response generation on the retrieved context. This can enable the LLM to ‘respond to queries’ in the context of the retrieved knowledge {RAG}, beyond its training data, enabling it to produce more informed and tailored outputs. ) [0099; Fig. 6] (e.g., in some examples, ‘grounding the query’ may use techniques such as retrieval augmented generation (“RAG”) to augment the query with context-specific, organization-specific, or task-specific knowledge. RAG may involve obtaining relevant documents from a suitable data source and conditioning the LLM's response generation on the retrieved context. In other words, the relevant documents can be added to a ‘prompt’ as context for responding to the prompt) [0125].
The motivation for combining Vieyra with Fan is similar to that given for claim 2 above.
As per claim{s} 9, Vieyra in view of Huan in view of Fan, and Fan in particular, discloses the additional recited feature(s) or limitation(s) of the one or more processors wherein the one or more processors are further to: aggregate, using a natural language processing (NLP) large language model (LLM), a plurality of responses received in response to the query to form the query response data (Fan: e.g., in some examples, the ‘Agents’_540 may be defined or labeled as “skills”. In this paradigm, each ‘Agent’ includes a ‘collection of components’ for performing a certain action or set of actions. The ‘collection of components’ may include an ‘LLM’ 530 as well as ‘other components’ such as ‘rule-based algorithms’, ‘Natural Language Processing (“NLP”) tools’, ‘ML classifiers’, ‘code generation tools’, ‘database management systems’, and so on. Examples of skills include generating “next steps” following a communication session such as a ‘video conference’, preparing for a video conference or other communication session, or ‘summarizing’ a document or other data [0103; Fig. 6].
The motivation for combining Vieyra with Fan is similar to that given for claim 2 above.
As per claim{s} 11, Vieyra in view of Huan in view of Fan, and Fan in particular, discloses the additional recited feature(s) or limitation(s) of the one or more processors wherein the one or more processors are further to: control a presentation of the audio-visual data transmitted over the communication channel based at least on audio data received during the conference session (Fan: e.g., Video conference provider 110 allows clients to create videoconference meetings (or “meetings”) and invite others to ‘participate’ in those meetings as well as perform other related functionality, such as recording the meetings, generating transcripts ‘from meeting audio’, generating summaries and translations ‘from meeting audio’, manage user functionality in the meetings, enable text messaging during the meetings, create and manage breakout rooms from the virtual meeting, etc.) [0035-0036, 0039, 0058].
The motivation for combining Vieyra with Fan is similar to that given for claim 2 above.
As per claim{s} 12, Vieyra in view of Huan in view of Fan, and Fan in particular, discloses the additional recited feature(s) or limitation(s) of the one or more processors wherein the one or more processors are further to control the video conferencing platform to present at least a portion of the query response data as text data in a chat window user interface (Fan: e.g., expressly discloses / illustrates with respect to Figure 13 where a user asks a ‘query’ {i.e., “What Have I Prepared for the Meeting?” and a ‘text’ response {i.e., “You Have Prepared For This Meeting, Would You Like Me to Bring Up Your SWOT Analysis?” } is given / displayed in the Chat-based Interface 1350) [0165 & 0169-0170; Fig. 13].
The motivation for combining Vieyra with Fan is similar to that given for claim 2 above.
As per claim{s} 13, Vieyra in view of Huan in view of Fan, and Fan in particular, discloses the additional recited feature(s) or limitation(s) of the one or more processors wherein the one or more processors are further to monitor the communication channel data received using the communication channel during the conference session to detect an invocation mechanism; and generate the query to the microservices server in response to detection of the invocation mechanism (Fan: e.g., For example, the Orchestrator agent 520 can output ‘commands’ {invocations} to the Agents 540 or the Services 550 to perform various aspects of the task. The executable instructions can be performed sequentially or in parallel according to the determination of dependencies among the steps by the orchestrator agent 520. The various Agents 540 or the Services 550 ‘receiving commands’ can then output responses back to the ‘invoking Agent’. For instance, the Database Retrieval service may return the ‘document’ and an indication of ‘successful retrieval’ (e.g., a success status code). Each such returned ‘response’ can be a portion of the overall ‘query response’) [0109; Fig. 5].
The motivation for combining Vieyra with Fan is similar to that given for claim 2 above.
Claim(s) 10, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being disclosed by Vieyra in view of Huang in further view of Kwatra et al (hereinafter Kwatra), WIPO Publication WO 2021155140 A1 (pub date August 2021).
As per claim{s} 10, 18, while the combination of Vieyra and Huang discloses substantial features of the invention as above in claim 1, he does not expressly disclose the additional recited feature(s) or limitation(s) of the one or more processors wherein the one or more processors are further to: process the query response data using a text-to-speech (TTS) module to convert the query response data into spoken audio data using an artificial intelligence (AI) model-generated voice; process the spoken audio data using an audio-to-face (A2F) Al model-based module to generate animated avatar data, wherein the animated avatar data comprises animated facial features that correspond at least to the spoken audio data; and convert the animated avatar data into the audio-visual data comprising an animated avatar.
However, in a related endeavor, Kwatra particularly discloses the additional recited feature{s} / limitation{s} of wherein the one or more processors are further to: process the query response data using a text-to-speech (TTS) module to convert the query response data into spoken audio data using an artificial intelligence (AI) model-generated voice (Kwatra: e.g., some implementations of the present disclosure use ‘audio’ as the driving input, which gives the flexibility to use the proposed techniques either with spoken input or synthesized ‘Text-To-Speech (TTS)’ audio.) [0027, 0122]; process the spoken audio data using an audio-to-face (A2F) Al model-based module to generate animated avatar data, wherein the animated avatar data comprises animated facial features that correspond at least to the spoken audio data (Kwatra: e.g., Yet additional example technical effects are an end-to-end framework for training speaker-specific ‘audio-to-face’ models {A2F}, which can learn from a single video of the subject; and alignment, blending and re-rendering techniques for employing them in video editing, translation and 3D environments. The result is a ‘photorealistic video or 3D face’ driven by ‘audio’ only) [0034]; and convert the animated avatar data into the audio-visual data comprising an animated avatar (Kwatra: e.g., Many additional use cases or applications are possible. One additional example is ‘2D or 3D Cartoon talking Avatars’, powered by audio… An example application is video compression for ‘face chat’ and/or “convert Audio calls into ‘Talking Faces’”. For example, a computing system (e.g., a receiving computing system) can reconstruct faces from audio and (if needed) other metadata such as expression, lighting etc. [0126] Another example application is for generating visualizations for a ‘virtual assistant’. For example, a computing system can operate to give a ‘face’ to the assistant which can be shown as a ‘visual display’ such as a Google Home. Expressions can also be added) [0124].
It would thus be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to modify the combination with the above said additional feature, as expressly disclosed by Kwatra, for the motivation of providing a framework and technique for generating ‘photorealistic 3D Talking faces’ conditioned by audio input, and for inserting generated faces into existing video or virtual environments [Kwatra: Abstract, 0002, 0003-0008; Figs. 1a, 2 & 3a].
Claim(s) 18 recite(s) substantially the same limitations / features as claim 10, is/are distinguishable only by its/their statutory category (system), and accordingly rejected on the same basis.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office Action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP 706.06(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GLENFORD J MADAMBA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2451