DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-6, and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4-5, 11-12, and 15-17 of copending Application No. 18/820,946 (reference application; US 20240423003 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application teach the limitations of the above claims, via the underlined elements below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Additionally, claims 4 and 7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 7, 11-12, 15, 17, and 19 of copending Application No. 18/820,946 (reference application; US 20240423003 A1) in view of the disclosure thereof. See below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Instant Application (18/890,047)
Reference Application (US 20240423003 A1)
1. A detection device comprising: a substrate; a photodiode that is provided on the substrate and in which a lower electrode, a lower buffer layer, an active layer, an upper buffer layer, and an upper electrode are stacked on the substrate in the order as listed; a signal line that is provided between the substrate and the photodiode in a direction orthogonal to the substrate and is electrically coupled to the lower electrode of the photodiode; a detection circuit electrically coupled to the photodiode via the signal line; and a shield layer that is provided between the signal line and the lower buffer layer in the direction orthogonal to the substrate and is configured to be supplied with a reference voltage.
1. A detection device comprising: a substrate; a plurality of photodiodes that are arranged on the substrate and each comprise a lower electrode, a lower buffer layer, an active layer, an upper buffer layer, and an upper electrode that are stacked on the substrate in the order as listed; a plurality of signal lines electrically coupled to the respective lower electrodes of the photodiodes; a detection circuit electrically coupled to the photodiodes through the signal lines; and a shield layer disposed between the signal lines in plan view.
11. The detection device according to claim 1, wherein the signal lines, the shield layer, and the photodiodes are stacked in the order as listed, in a direction orthogonal to the substrate, the shield layer is continuously provided extending across an area of the signal lines and the photodiodes, and the lower electrode of the photodiode is electrically coupled to a corresponding one of the signal lines through an opening provided in the shield layer.
4. The detection device according to claim 1, wherein a reference voltage supplied to the shield layer is equal to a sensor voltage supplied to the upper electrode.
5. The detection device according to claim 1, wherein a reference voltage supplied to the shield layer is equal to a sensor reference voltage supplied to the lower electrode.
Or
15. A detection device comprising: a substrate; a plurality of photodiodes that are arranged on the substrate and each comprise a lower electrode, a lower buffer layer, an active layer, an upper buffer layer, and an upper electrode that are stacked on the substrate in the order as listed; a plurality of signal lines electrically coupled to the lower electrodes of the photodiodes; a detection circuit electrically coupled to the photodiodes through the signal lines; and a shield layer disposed between the signal lines and the lower electrodes in plan view.
16. The detection device according to claim 15, comprising a power supply wiring line configured to supply a reference voltage to the shield layer, wherein the shield layer is provided in the same layer as the lower electrode, and the power supply wiring line is provided between the substrate and the shield layer and between the substrate and the lower electrode, in a direction orthogonal to the substrate, and is electrically coupled to the shield layer through a contact hole provided in an insulating film that covers the power supply wiring line.
17. The detection device according to claim 15, wherein the shield layer is provided in a layer between the substrate and the lower electrode in a direction orthogonal to the substrate.
2. The detection device according to claim 1, wherein the lower buffer layer comprises one of a hole transport layer and an electron transport layer, and the upper buffer layer comprises the other of the hole transport layer and the electron transport layer.
2. The detection device according to claim 1, wherein the lower buffer layer comprises one of a hole transport layer and an electron transport layer, and the upper buffer layer comprises the other of the hole transport layer and the electron transport layer.
3. The detection device according to claim 1, wherein the shield layer is provided in the same layer as the lower electrode, and the lower buffer layer, the active layer, and the upper buffer layer are provided so as to cover the lower electrode and cover a portion of the shield layer.
1. A detection device comprising: a substrate; a plurality of photodiodes that are arranged on the substrate and each comprise a lower electrode, a lower buffer layer, an active layer, an upper buffer layer, and an upper electrode that are stacked on the substrate in the order as listed; a plurality of signal lines electrically coupled to the respective lower electrodes of the photodiodes; a detection circuit electrically coupled to the photodiodes through the signal lines; and a shield layer disposed between the signal lines in plan view.
Elements stacked on top of additional elements ‘cover’ the elements below, under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI).
15. A detection device comprising: a substrate; a plurality of photodiodes that are arranged on the substrate and each comprise a lower electrode, a lower buffer layer, an active layer, an upper buffer layer, and an upper electrode that are stacked on the substrate in the order as listed; a plurality of signal lines electrically coupled to the lower electrodes of the photodiodes; a detection circuit electrically coupled to the photodiodes through the signal lines; and a shield layer disposed between the signal lines and the lower electrodes in plan view.
16. The detection device according to claim 15, comprising a power supply wiring line configured to supply a reference voltage to the shield layer, wherein the shield layer is provided in the same layer as the lower electrode, and the power supply wiring line is provided between the substrate and the shield layer and between the substrate and the lower electrode, in a direction orthogonal to the substrate, and is electrically coupled to the shield layer through a contact hole provided in an insulating film that covers the power supply wiring line.
4. The detection device according to claim 1, comprising a first insulating film and a second insulating film that are stacked on the substrate so as to cover the signal line, wherein the shield layer is provided between the first insulating film and the second insulating film in the direction orthogonal to the substrate.
7. The detection device according to claim 1, comprising an insulating film provided on the substrate so as to cover the signal lines, wherein the shield layer is provided on the insulating film.
While a plurality is not claimed, such limitations are reasonably disclosed in [0059] of the disclosure, which would render obvious the second insulating film on top of the shield layer.
5. The detection device according to claim 1, wherein the reference voltage supplied to the shield layer is equal to a sensor voltage supplied to the upper electrode.
4. The detection device according to claim 1, wherein a reference voltage supplied to the shield layer is equal to a sensor voltage supplied to the upper electrode.
6. The detection device according to claim 1, wherein the reference voltage supplied to the shield layer is equal to a sensor reference voltage supplied to the lower electrode.
5. The detection device according to claim 1, wherein a reference voltage supplied to the shield layer is equal to a sensor reference voltage supplied to the lower electrode.
7. The detection device according to claim 1, wherein the shield layer comprises a first shield and a second shield, the first shield is disposed between the signal line and the lower buffer layer in the direction orthogonal to the substrate, and the second shield surrounds the lower electrode in plan view, and the lower buffer layer, the active layer, and the upper buffer layer are provided so as to cover the lower electrode and cover a portion of the first shield and the second shield.
3. The detection device according to claim 1, wherein the shield layer comprises: a first shield portion that is disposed between the signal lines and extends along the signal lines; and a second shield portion that extends between a plurality of the lower electrodes.
11. The detection device according to claim 1, wherein the signal lines, the shield layer, and the photodiodes are stacked in the order as listed, in a direction orthogonal to the substrate, the shield layer is continuously provided extending across an area of the signal lines and the photodiodes, and the lower electrode of the photodiode is electrically coupled to a corresponding one of the signal lines through an opening provided in the shield layer.
12. A detection device comprising: a substrate; a plurality of photodiodes that are arranged on the substrate and each comprise a lower electrode, a lower buffer layer, an active layer, an upper buffer layer, and an upper electrode that are stacked on the substrate in the order as listed; a plurality of signal lines electrically coupled to the respective lower electrodes of the photodiodes; a detection circuit electrically coupled to the photodiodes through the signal lines; and a shield layer disposed between a plurality of the lower electrodes in plan view.
17. The detection device according to claim 15, wherein the shield layer is provided in a layer between the substrate and the lower electrode in a direction orthogonal to the substrate.
19. The detection device according to claim 15, comprising a plurality of gate lines that extend in a direction intersecting the signal lines, wherein the shield layer is provided in the same layer as the lower electrode, and the shield layer is provided in a grid pattern overlapping the signal lines and the gate lines.
While a plurality of shields in the combination of the instant application is not claimed, separate claims are directed toward a plurality of types of shields, and such limitations are reasonably disclosed in [0039]-[0041] of the disclosure (among various other locations for alternative embodiments, several of which have plural types of shields in combination; see also [0143]), which would render obvious the limitations.
8. The detection device according to claim 1, comprising a plurality of the photodiodes, wherein the signal line and the shield layer are provided for each of the photodiodes, and the shield layers for the photodiodes are coupled to a common power supply wiring line.
15. A detection device comprising: a substrate; a plurality of photodiodes that are arranged on the substrate and each comprise a lower electrode, a lower buffer layer, an active layer, an upper buffer layer, and an upper electrode that are stacked on the substrate in the order as listed; a plurality of signal lines electrically coupled to the lower electrodes of the photodiodes; a detection circuit electrically coupled to the photodiodes through the signal lines; and a shield layer disposed between the signal lines and the lower electrodes in plan view.
16. The detection device according to claim 15, comprising a power supply wiring line configured to supply a reference voltage to the shield layer, wherein the shield layer is provided in the same layer as the lower electrode, and the power supply wiring line is provided between the substrate and the shield layer and between the substrate and the lower electrode, in a direction orthogonal to the substrate, and is electrically coupled to the shield layer through a contact hole provided in an insulating film that covers the power supply wiring line.
Accordingly, the above claims are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable the cited claims of copending Application No. 18/820,946.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “wherein the reference voltage supplied to the shield layer is equal to a sensor voltage supplied to the upper electrode”, which is vague and indefinite because the claim does not provide a discernable boundary on what performs the function. The recited function does not follow from the structure recited in the claim, i.e., claims 1 and 5 do not require any structure capable of applying a reference voltage, so it is unclear whether the function requires some other structure or is simply a result of operating the device in a certain manner. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to draw a clear boundary between what is and is not covered by the claim. See MPEP 2173.05(g) for more information. Examiner notes that, under the BRI, this limitation is a limitation on the shield layer itself, and the capabilities thereof. A shield layer that is ‘configured to be supplied with a reference voltage’ would be understood by an ordinarily skilled artisan as any such layer that is physically capable of being supplied with such a voltage (i.e., made out a material allowing such a reference voltage to be applied). As such, it is not possible to adequately determine the metes and bounds of the claim, rendering it indefinite. For purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as ‘wherein the shield layer is configured to be supplied with the reference voltage equal to a sensor voltage that the upper electrode is configured to be supplied with’, which, under the BRI, requires only a shield layer capable of having such an equal voltage.
Claim 6 is indefinite for similar reasons to claim 5 and is interpreted similarly.
Claim 8 recites “comprising a plurality of the photodiodes, wherein the signal line and the shield layer are provided for each of the photodiodes, and the shield layers for the photodiodes are coupled to a common power supply wiring line”, however claim 1 requires only a single photodiode, and thus, “the photodiodes” lacks antecedent basis. Additionally, due to the present wording, it is unclear whether ‘the signal line and the shield layer are provided for each of the photodiodes’ is intended to require that a single signal line and shield layer be provided for each of the photodiodes or whether a respective signal line and shield layer are provided for each of the photodiodes, which would result in a wholly different number of required elements. Furthermore, it is unclear what is required by ‘provided for’, as it does not indicate any particular positional or structural relationship. The term ‘the shield layers for the photodiodes’ has a similar issue. As such, it is not possible to adequately determine the metes and bounds of the claim, rendering it indefinite. For purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as ‘wherein the photodiode further comprises a plurality of photodiodes, wherein a respective signal line is coupled to each photodiode, and wherein a respective shield layer is provided between the respective signal line and the respective lower buffer layer in the direction orthogonal to the substrate for each of the plurality of photodiodes, and the respective shield layers of the plurality of photodiodes are coupled to a common power supply wiring line’.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brauers (USPN US 6363135 B1), in view of Himoto (U.S. PGPub. No. US 20230165019 A1).
Examiner notes that Brauers and Himoto are Applicant provided prior art via the IDS dated 09/19/2024.
Regarding claim 1, Brauers teaches a detection device (Title; Abstract) comprising:
a substrate (See Figs. 2-3, item 8; Col. 3, lines 31-45);
a photodiode that is provided on the substrate and in which a lower electrode, (See Figs. 1-3, items 21, 22, and in particular, items 3, 6, 2, stacked on substrate 8 in order required; Col. 3, lines 31-58);
a signal line that is provided between the substrate and the photodiode in a direction orthogonal to the substrate and is electrically coupled to the lower electrode of the photodiode (See Figs. 2-3, item 5, between items 21 and 8, coupled to item 3; Col. 3, lines 31-45);
a detection circuit electrically coupled to the photodiode via the signal line (See Figs. 1-3, and in particular Fig. 1, items 4, 5, 24, 27, 25, which shows connectivity from signal lines 5 connected to photodiode 21/22 through amplifier and multiplexer to readout/processing; Col. 3, lines 6-30); and
a shield layer that is provided between the signal line and [ above the lower electrode] in the direction orthogonal to the substrate and is configured to be supplied with a reference voltage (See Fig. 2, item 9, between signal line 5 and layer above lower electrode 3; Col. 3, line 59 – Col. 4, line 9).
Brauers does not teach a lower buffer layer and an upper buffer layer, respectively between a lower electrode and an active layer, and an active layer and an upper electrode, specifically.
Himoto teaches a photodiode that is provided on the substrate and in which a lower electrode, a lower buffer layer, an active layer, an upper buffer layer, and an upper electrode are stacked on the substrate in the order as listed (See Fig. 5, items 33 and 32; [0063]; [0068-[0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Brauers to include a photodiode that is provided on the substrate and in which a lower electrode, a lower buffer layer, an active layer, an upper buffer layer, and an upper electrode are stacked on the substrate in the order as listed (Emphasis added by Examiner), as taught by Himoto.
Doing so represents combining known prior art elements according to known methods in order to achieve predictable results, and as both Brauers and Himoto pertain to this film multi-layer photosensors with similar structures, and an ordinarily skilled artisan, in this context having a relatively high level of skill (i.e., likely having an advanced degree in a physical science/ engineering or equivalent experience), could readily apply such prior art elements as disclosed in Himoto to the system of Brauers with a reasonable expectation of success, which would allow for better transport between the active layer and the electrodes, as taught by Himoto.
Regarding claim 2, Brauers, in view of Himoto, teaches the detection device according to claim 1.
Himoto further teaches wherein
the lower buffer layer comprises one of a hole transport layer and an electron transport layer ([0063]; [0068]-[0069]), and
the upper buffer layer comprises the other of the hole transport layer and the electron transport layer ([0063]; [0068]-[0069]).
Regarding claim 3, Brauers, in view of Himoto, teaches the detection device according to claim 1.
Brauers, in view of Himoto, further teaches wherein
the shield layer is provided in the same layer as the lower electrode (Brauers: See Fig. 2, item 9, in same layer as item 3; Col. 3, line 59 – Col. 4, line 9), and
the lower buffer layer, the active layer, and the upper buffer layer are provided so as to cover the lower electrode and cover a portion of the shield layer (Brauers: See Fig. 2, wherein items 6 cover item 3 and a portion of item 9; Col. 3, line 59 – Col. 4, line 9; Himoto: See Fig. 5, items 32, 33 covering item 35; Examiner notes that in the combination including the buffer layers of Himoto, such layers would naturally be disposed similarly relative to the active layer of Brauers).
Regarding claim 4, Brauers, in view of Himoto, teaches the detection device according to claim 1.
Brauers further teaches comprising a first insulating film and a second insulating film that are stacked on the substrate so as to cover the signal line (See Fig. 2, items 7 and 10, stacked on substrate 8, covering signal line 5; Col. 3, lines 31-45; Examiner notes that the passivation layer 7 is disclosed as being formed of glass, which would be understood by an ordinarily skilled artisan to be insulating, and passivation layer 10 as being made of an electrically insulating material such as an insulating polymer or resin), wherein
the shield layer is provided between the first insulating film and the second insulating film in the direction orthogonal to the substrate (See Fig. 2, item 9 between items 7 and 10).
Regarding claim 5, as best understood in view of the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Brauers, in view of Himoto, teaches the detection device according to claim 1.
Brauers further teaches wherein the reference voltage supplied to the shield layer is equal to a sensor voltage supplied to the upper electrode (See above 112(b) interpretation; See Fig. 2; Col. 3, line 59 – Col. 4, line 9; Examiner notes that the shield layer is capable of being applied a voltage, and under the BRI, the claim requires only that the shield layer be structurally capable of being applied a same voltage that the upper electrode is configured to receive; Under the BRI, any such shield layer/electrode that can receive such a voltage reads on the limitation).
For completeness: Examiner notes that the prior art of record Li (US 20050023475 A1), provided via the IDS dated 09/19/2024, also discloses a shield layer having a voltage applied thereto that is equal to a voltage applied to a lower or upper electrode (See Fig. 4, guard ring 64; [0019]-[0020]), which could be reasonably combined with Brauers to teach explicit application of such limitations, that is not presently required under the BRI.
Regarding claim 6, as best understood in view of the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Brauers, in view of Himoto, teaches the detection device according to claim 1.
Brauers further teaches wherein the reference voltage supplied to the shield layer is equal to a sensor reference voltage supplied to the lower electrode (See above 112(b) interpretation; See Fig. 2; Col. 3, line 59 – Col. 4, line 9; Examiner notes that the shield layer is capable of being applied a voltage, and under the BRI, the claim requires only that the shield layer be structurally capable of being applied a same voltage that the upper electrode is configured to receive; Under the BRI, any such shield layer/electrode that can receive such a voltage reads on the limitation).
For completeness: Examiner notes that the prior art of record Li (US 20050023475 A1), provided via the IDS dated 09/19/2024, also discloses a shield layer having a voltage applied thereto that is equal to a voltage applied to a lower or upper electrode (See Fig. 4, guard ring 64; [0019]-[0020]), which could be reasonably combined with Brauers to teach explicit application of such limitations, that is not presently required under the BRI.
Regarding claim 7, Brauers, in view of Himoto, teaches the detection device according to claim 1.
Brauers, in view of Himoto, further teaches wherein
the (Brauers: See Fig. 2, item 9, between signal line 5 and layer above lower electrode; Himoto: See Fig. 5, items 33 and 32; [0063]; [0068-[0069]; Examiner notes that in the combination including the buffer layers of Himoto, such layers would naturally be disposed similarly relative to the active layer of Brauers, thus achieving the required arrangement), and the (Brauers: See Figs. 1-2, items 21 and 9; Col. 3, line 31 – Col. 4, line 9; Examiner notes that the disclosed structure has respective guard electrodes on outer edge of peripherical sensor elements, and thus, the guard structure (i.e., if shown in Fig. 1) would surround the lower electrode in plan view), and
the lower buffer layer, the active layer, and the upper buffer layer are provided so as to cover the lower electrode and cover a portion of the (Brauers: See Fig. 2, item 6 covering item 3 and covering a portion of item 9; Himoto: See Fig. 5, items 33 and 32; [0063]; [0068-[0069]; Examiner notes that in the combination including the buffer layers of Himoto, such layers would naturally be disposed similarly relative to the active layer of Brauers, thus achieving the required arrangement).
Brauers, in view of Himoto, does not explicitly teach the shield layer comprises a first shield and a second shield and the first shield is disposed between the signal line and the lower buffer layer in the direction orthogonal to the substrate, and the second shield surrounds the lower electrode in plan view, and the lower buffer layer, the active layer, and the upper buffer layer are provided so as to cover the lower electrode and cover a portion of the first shield and the second shield (Emphasis added by Examiner).
However, Brauers teaches similar disposition of a single shield and merely lacks forming the shield in plural elements.
In other words, Brauers, in view of Himoto, discloses the claimed invention except for forming the shield as two separate shields achieving the same relative disposal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Brauers, in view of Himoto, to achieve the shield layer comprises a first shield and a second shield and the first shield is disposed between the signal line and the lower buffer layer in the direction orthogonal to the substrate, and the second shield surrounds the lower electrode in plan view, and the lower buffer layer, the active layer, and the upper buffer layer are provided so as to cover the lower electrode and cover a portion of the first shield and the second shield (Emphasis added by Examiner), since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
An ordinarily skilled artisan, having the aforementioned high level of ordinary skill, could readily form such a shield/guard electrode of various elements or in an integral element with a reasonable expectation of success in view of the disclosure of Brauers, who discloses such disposal of a guard electrode.
For completeness: Examiner notes that the prior art of record Konno (US 20070280409 A1), provided via the IDS dated 09/19/2024, also discloses a plurality of shield electrodes, including disclosure of surrounding in plan view, and between the equivalent of the signal line and the layer above the lower electrodes (See Fig. 21, guard ring 114-1, 114-2; [0095]-[0096]; See also Figs. 6-9, 14-15, 20, and 24, and related disclosures of upper electrodes 130, lower electrodes 117, active layer 112, and their relative positioning), which could be reasonably combined with Brauers to teach explicit application of plural shields.
Regarding claim 8, as best understood in view of the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Brauers, in view of Himoto, teaches the detection device according to claim 1, comprising a plurality of the photodiodes (See above 112(b) interpretation; See Fig. 1, items 21; Col. 3, lines 6-30), wherein
the signal line and the shield layer are provided for each of the photodiodes (See Figs. 1-2, items 21, 5, and 9; Col. 3, line 31 – Col. 4, line 9), and
the shield layers for the photodiodes are coupled to a common power supply wiring line (See Figs. 1-2, items 21, 5, 25, and 9; Col. 3, line 59 – Col. 4, line 9; Examiner notes that the lead lines all collect to a common wiring line that supplies potential to guard electrode 9).
For completeness: Examiner notes that the prior art of record Kinno (US 6225632 A1), provided via the IDS dated 09/19/2024, also discloses a shield electrode for all of the pixel elements and having a power supply (See Fig. 2, shield 16 and electrode 304; Col 7, lines 32-43), which could be reasonably combined with Brauers to teach an alternative embodiment of such a connectivity.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lee (US 20190302953 A1).
/CHRISTOPHER J GASSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2881
/DAVID E SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 2881