Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 9/19/2024 is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a moving mechanism configured to move the chuck table in claim 1. When looking to the specification, the moving mechanism is described to be element 15, comprising the structure disclosed in [0021]. This limitation shall be construed to cover the structure described in the specification and equivalents thereof. D.M.I., Inc. v. Deere & Co., 755 F.2d 1570, 1574, 225 USPQ 236, 238 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
a raising and lowering mechanism configured to bring the polishing pad into contact with the workpiece in claim 1. When looking to the specification, the raising and lowering mechanism is described to be element 39, comprising the structure described in [0018]. This limitation shall be construed to cover the structure described in the specification and equivalents thereof. D.M.I., Inc. v. Deere & Co., 755 F.2d 1570, 1574, 225 USPQ 236, 238 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
a shaping unit configured to shape the polishing pad in claim 1. When looking to the specification, the shaping unit is described to be element 30, comprising the structure disclosed in [0024]. This limitation shall be construed to cover the structure described in the specification and equivalents thereof. D.M.I., Inc. v. Deere & Co., 755 F.2d 1570, 1574, 225 USPQ 236, 238 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
a shaping unit… shaping a polishing surface of a polishing pad by the shaping unit in claim 3. When looking to the specification, the shaping unit is described to be element 30, comprising the structure disclosed in [0024]. This limitation shall be construed to cover the structure described in the specification and equivalents thereof. D.M.I., Inc. v. Deere & Co., 755 F.2d 1570, 1574, 225 USPQ 236, 238 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Watanabe (JP 2016179513A).
Regarding claim 1, Watanabe discloses a polishing apparatus for polishing a workpiece (see [0034]), the polishing apparatus comprising:
a chuck table configured to hold the workpiece (see chuck table 20, Figure 1; see [0018-0020]);
a polishing unit including a rotatable polishing pad configured to polish the workpiece held by the chuck table (see polishing unit 36 comprising a polishing pad 44, contacting and polishing a workpiece as can be seen in Figures 5 and 6);
a moving mechanism configured to move the chuck table to a loading and unloading region for loading and unloading the workpiece onto and from the chuck table and a polishing region for polishing the workpiece by the polishing unit (see x-axis movement mechanism 8, as well as [0016-0018], see also Figure 2; wherein the chuck table 20 is configured for movement via the x-axis movement mechanism, and thus multiple positions are provided, i.e. the device is capable of performing the claimed function of translating the chuck table between positions, including a position in which the workpiece may be polished);
a raising and lowering mechanism configured to bring the polishing pad into contact with the workpiece held by the chuck table or separate the polishing pad from the workpiece by raising or lowering the polishing unit (see z axis movement mechanism 26, [0023-0027], see also Figures 1 and 6; see also [0038-0040]); and
a shaping unit configured to shape the polishing pad (see dressing board 31, Figure 3; see also [0032]),
the shaping unit being configured to come into contact with a polishing surface of the polishing pad and shape the polishing surface into a desired shape (see Figure 5A; see also [0046-0050]).
Regarding claim 2, Watanabe discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Watanabe further discloses wherein
the shaping unit is disposed in such a manner as to be adjacent to the chuck table, and is positioned at a desired position of the polishing surface by the moving mechanism (see [0021]: dressing board 31 is disposed on the upper surface of the support table 18 at a position close to the chuck table, and is movably positioned, see [0018-0022]).
Regarding claim 3, Watanabe discloses a polishing method for polishing a workpiece (see [0034]), the polishing method comprising:
a preparing step of preparing a polishing apparatus including a shaping unit (see dressing board 31, Figure 5A; see also [0011-0012]; see also [0036-0040] and Figure 1);
a dimensional data obtaining step of obtaining dimensional data for finishing an upper surface of the workpiece into a desired shape (wherein [0007-0009] disclose measuring a thickness of a workpiece in order to ensure the workpiece is polished to a uniform thickness; see also [0013]; see also [0042-0045] regarding measuring);
a shaping step of shaping a polishing surface of a polishing pad by the shaping unit on a basis of the dimensional data obtained in the dimensional data obtaining step (see [0007]: wherein after measuring, adjusting a shape of the acting surface of the polishing pad, [0009]: wherein the adjusting step of adjusting the shape of the working surface of the polishing pad is performed based on the measurement result of the measuring step of the workpiece; see also [0037-0040]; wherein [0046] discloses that after the measuring step, and adjusting step is carried out to adjust the shape of the active surface of the polishing pad 44 based on the profile of the workpiece; see also [0047]); and
a polishing step of finishing the upper surface of the workpiece into the desired shape by polishing the workpiece while the polishing surface of the polishing pad is held in contact with the workpiece held by a chuck table (see [0040]: after the initialization step, a polishing of the workpiece 11 is carried out; see also that after the adjusting step, the polishing is also carried out, see [0049-0050]; see also chuck table 20).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shinozaki (US 12,257,666), see Figure 3.
Tanemura (JP 2019141949A), see Figures 1 and 3.
Akita (US 10,022,838), see Figure 2.
Hayashi (US 6,379,230), see Figure 4.
/MAKENA S MARKMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723