DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant’s Communication received 09/19/24 for application number 18/890115. The Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Specification, Drawings, Abstract, Oath/Declaration, and Claims.
The present application, filed on or after March 22, 2024, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Objections
Regarding claim 8, the claim is objected to because the claim recites the phrase “receive site data” in line 5, and it is ambiguous as to whether “site data” refers to the “historical site data” in line 1. For purposes of examination, the Examiner construes the phrase to mean “historical site data.”
Regarding claim 9, the claim recites similar phrasing as corresponding claim 8 and is objected to for similar reasons as claim 8 using similar rationale. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the claim recites the phrase “the power reduction command.” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, the examiner construes the phrase “the power reduction command” to mean “the power adjustment command.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 10, 12, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Nguyen (US 2022/0327890 A1), hereafter Nguyen.
Regarding claim 1, Nguyen teaches:
“A system for power consumption management for an electronic gaming environment, the system comprising:” (Nguyen [0005] teaches an apparatus, system, and method for reducing power consumption in gaming devices);
“At least one memory device with instructions stored thereon,” (Nguyen [0006] teaches a memory having a plurality of power management rules);
“The at least one memory device further storing a plurality of energy profiles,” (Nguyen [0059] teaches the power management module and rules database 246 may store various power states);
“Each of the energy profiles defining a set of control operations for at least one electronic gaming device,” (Nguyen [0070] teaches power states may include, for example, an “On” or “Awake”, “Off”, “Light Sleep”, and/or “Hibernate” power states. Additionally, Nguyen [0071] teaches an example in which configured to operate in an “On” power state, power may be supplied to substantially all gaming components and peripherals of the gaming device);
“At least one processor in communication with the at least one memory device, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to:” (Nguyen [0006] teaches that in one embodiment, a gaming device may have a memory having a plurality of power management rules and a processor configured to receive a power status from at least one secondary gaming device);
“Receive a power adjustment command;” (Nguyen [0057] teaches the processor 242 may be configured to manage power supply to the gaming device based on the power management rules set forth in the power management module and rules database 246);
“Select, based on the power adjustment command, a first energy profile of the plurality of energy profiles;” (Nguyen [0066] teaches that based on the power management rules contained in the database triggering event 264, the gaming device may be configured to assume a particular power state 266, and may assume a plurality of power states. Furthermore, Nguyen [0065] teaches triggering events 264 may be stored in the power management module and rules database);
“And control the at least one electronic gaming device to adjust power consumption based on the first energy profile” (Nguyen [0069] teaches an embodiment of a method for reducing power consumption in a network of gaming devices. The method 300 initially provides for a primary gaming device to receive power status information from a secondary gaming device at 302. The power status information may include any pertinent information such as triggering events, power state, power reconfiguration instruction, detected activity in the gaming environment and the like; [0079] If it is determined that the primary gaming device should adjust its power state at 306, the power state of the primary gaming device may be changed or configured at 308. The determination to adjust its power state may be based upon, for example, the current power state of the primary gaming device.)
Regarding claim 2, Nguyen also teaches:
“The system of Claim 1, wherein the power adjustment command specifies an amount of reduction in power” (Nguyen [109] teaches when configured to operate in a “Hibernate” power state, more power may be supplied to the lighting device than when operating in the “Off” power state, but less power than operating in the “Light Sleep” power state. In one embodiment, the lighting device may be provided with ¼ of the amount of power than operating in the “On” power state to conserve energy.)
Regarding claim 3:
“The system of Claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of energy profiles corresponds to a respective amount reduction in power” (Nguyen [0059] teaches the power management module and rules database 246 may store various power states 266. The power states 266 may include, for example, an “On” or “Awake”, “Off”, “Light Sleep”, and/or “Hibernate” power states. Each power state may be defined, for example, by the number of peripherals or components to which power is supplied or denied, the allocation of power to each peripheral or component, and any other criteria; [0109] in one embodiment, the lighting device may be provided with ¼ of the amount of power than operating in the “On” power state to conserve energy);
“And wherein the first energy profile is selected based on the amount of reduction in power specified by the power reduction command.” (Nguyen [0028] teaches if the current power state of gaming device 102a is an “On” power state, but it must now be configured to operate in a “Hibernate” power state based on the power reconfiguration instructions received from gaming device 102b in the transmitted power status information, gaming device 102a may configure itself to operate in the “Hibernate” power state.)
Regarding claim 10:
“The system of Claim 1, wherein to control the at least one electronic gaming device to adjust power consumption based on the first energy profile, the at least one processor is configured to cause the electronic gaming device to deactivate, dim, or adjust a duty cycle of lighting of the electronic gaming device.” (Nguyen [0106] teaches an establishment server 706 may have a memory 708 including a power management database 710; Although illustrated with the power management database 710 stored in the establishment server 706, the power management database 710 may also be stored in the lighting devices 702a-702n (not shown). The power management database 710 may store various power states. The power states may include, for example, an “On” or “Awake”, “Off”, “Light Sleep”, and/or “Hibernate” power states. Each power state may be defined, for example, by triggering events, allocation of power to each lighting device (e.g. power management rules), and any other criteria.)
Regarding claim 12:
“The system of Claim 1, wherein to control the at least one electronic gaming device to adjust power consumption based on the first energy profile, the at least one processor is configured to cause at least one peripheral device of the electronic gaming device to deactivate or operate in a low-power mode.” (Nguyen [0028] if the current power state of gaming device 102 a is an “On” power state, but it must now be configured to operate in a “Hibernate” power state based on the power reconfiguration instructions received from gaming device 102 b in the transmitted power status information, gaming device 102 a, may configure itself to operate in the “Hibernate” power state.)
Regarding claim 17:
“A non-transitory computer-readable medium, readable by a processor and comprising instructions stored thereon that, when executed (a gaming device may have a memory having a plurality of power management rules and a processor configured to receive a power status from at least one secondary gaming device, Nguyen [0006], cause the processor to:
receive a power adjustment command; and control the at least one electronic gaming device to adjust power consumption based on the first energy profile.” (Nguyen [0006] teaches in one embodiment, a gaming device may have a memory having a plurality of power management rules and a processor configured to receive a power status from at least one secondary gaming device, retrieve at least one power management rule from the memory, and adjust a power operating state of the primary and/or secondary gaming device based on the power status information received from the at least one secondary gaming device and the at least one power management rule.)
“Select, based on the power adjustment command, a first energy profile of a plurality of energy profiles stored on the medium, each of the energy profiles defining a set of control operations for at least one electronic gaming device” (Nguyen [0066] teaches that based on the power management rules contained in the database triggering event 264, the gaming device may be configured to assume a particular power state 266, and may assume a plurality of power states. Furthermore, Nguyen [0065] teaches power management rules contained in database 264 may be stored in the power management module and rules database.)
Regarding Claim 18, with the limitation of:
“The non-transitory computer-readable medium of Claim 17, Wherein the power adjustment command specifies an amount of reduction in power.” (Nguyen [0006] teaches in one embodiment, a gaming device may have a memory having a plurality of power management rules. Additionally, Nguyen [109] teaches when configured to operate in a “Hibernate” power state, more power may be supplied to the lighting device than when operating in the “Off” power state, but less power than operating in the “Light Sleep” power state. In one embodiment, the lighting device may be provided with ¼ of the amount of power than operating in the “On” power state to conserve energy.)
Regarding claim 19, with the further limitations of:
“Wherein each of the plurality of energy profiles corresponds to a respective amount of reduction in power,” (Nguyen [0059] teaches the power management module and rules database 246 may store various power states 266. The power states 266 may include, for example, an “On” or “Awake”, “Off”, “Light Sleep”, and/or “Hibernate” power states. Each power state may be defined, for example, by the number of peripherals or components to which power is supplied or denied, the allocation of power to each peripheral or component, and any other criteria; [0109] in one embodiment, the lighting device may be provided with ¼ of the amount of power than operating in the “On” power state to conserve energy):
“And wherein the first energy profile is selected based on the amount of reduction in power specified by the power reduction command.” (Nguyen [0028] teaches if the current power state of gaming device 102a is an “On” power state, but it must now be configured to operate in a “Hibernate” power state based on the power reconfiguration instructions received from gaming device 102b in the transmitted power status information, gaming device 102a may configure itself to operate in the “Hibernate” power state.)
Regarding Claim 20:
“A method for managing power consumption of a gaming device,” (Nguyen [0005] teaches the present disclosure relates to an apparatus, system, and method for reducing power consumption in gaming devices.);
“Said method comprising: Receiving a power adjustment command; selecting, based on the power adjustment command, a first energy profile of a plurality of energy profiles,” (Nguyen [0057] teaches the processor 242 may be configured to manage power supply to the gaming device based on the power management rules set forth in the power management module and rules database 246) and further teaches, ([0066] that based on the power management rules contained in the database 264, the gaming device may be configured to assume a particular power state 266, and may assume a plurality of power states. Furthermore, Nguyen [0065] teaches triggering events 264 may be stored in the power management module and rules database);
“Wherein each of the energy profiles defines a set of control operations for the gaming device; and controlling the gaming device to adjust power consumption based on the first energy profile.” (Nguyen [0070] teaches power states may include, for example, an “On” or “Awake”, “Off”, “Light Sleep”, and/or “Hibernate” power states. Nguyen [0071] teaches an example in which configured to operate in an “On” power state, power may be supplied to substantially all gaming components and peripherals of the gaming device.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen in view of Pettersson (US 2020/0039377 A1), hereafter Pettersson.
Regarding claim 4, Nguyen teaches the system of claim 1.
“Wherein the power adjustment command is received” (Nguyen [0057] teaches the processor 242 may be configured to manage power supply to the gaming device based on the power management rules set forth in the power management module and rules database 246);
Nguyen does not appear to explicitly teach “the power adjustment command received from a smart grid system.”
However, in the analogous art of power distribution utilizing a power grid, Pettersson teaches “the power adjustment command received from a smart grid system." ([0077] The energy distribution plan 55 (i.e. power adjustment command), may be optimized to meet the needs of all devices, thereby reducing peaks in the overall energy consumption. Fig. 5 depicts how the power grid information 3 updates the energy distribution plan 55, by way of the computing unit 22.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Nguyen and Pettersson before him, the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Pettersson’s power network management system by means of a power grid in Nguyen’s system performing power management rules set forth in the power management module and rules database to more efficiently manage the provision of power to different consumers across a power grid (Pettersson [0006]).
Regarding claim 5, Nguyen teaches the system of claim 1.
“The at least one electronic gaming device,” (Nguyen [0006] teaches that in one embodiment, a gaming device may have a memory having a plurality of power management rules and a processor…);
Nguyen does not teach:
“Wherein the memory further stores a predictive model, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: ”
“Receive, from the at least one electronic device, user engagement data, the user engagement data indicating user engagement… when operating according to one or more energy profiles of the plurality of energy profiles;”
“Update the predictive model based on the user engagement data;”
“And execute the predictive model, wherein selection of the first energy profile is based on the execution of the predictive model.”
However, Pettersson teaches the following limitations of claim 5:
“Wherein the memory further stores a predictive model, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: ” ([0044] a power network management system that comprises a convergence unit having a computing unit, a memory unit and at least one machine-learning algorithm (i.e. predictive model);
“Receive, from at least one electronic device, user engagement data, the user engagement data indicating user engagement… when operating according to one or more energy profiles of the plurality of energy profiles;” ([0076] Consumption-related information 5 (i.e. user engagement data), is requested and received from the connected consumer devices via the software agents. This consumption-related information 5 particularly comprises wattage, user settings, past energy consumption, and/or a consumption prognosis associated with the respective consumer device. Furthermore, [0049] generating consumption plan data for each of the consumers, the consumption plan data (i.e. energy profiles), comprising instructions for the consumers when to consume electric energy);
“Update the predictive model based on the user engagement data;” ([0047] estimation, based on the consumption-related data and using at least one machine-learning algorithm, energy consumption needs of each of the consumers within a defined time period);
“And execute the predictive model, wherein selection of the first energy profile is based on the execution of the predictive model.” ([0048] generating, by means of an algorithm and based on the estimated consumption needs, an optimized energy distribution plan for distributing available electric energy among the consumers.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Nguyen and Pettersson before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Pettersson’s machine-learning algorithm utilized in obtaining and informing user-consumption data related to power consumption in Nguyen’s system performing power management rules set forth in the power management module and rules database to more efficiently manage the provision of power to different consumers across a power grid (Pettersson [0006]).
Regarding claim 8, Nguyen in view of Pettersson teaches the elements of claim 1
outlined above. “The at least one electronic gaming device,” (Nguyen [0006] teaches that in one embodiment, a gaming device may have a memory having a plurality of power management rules and a processor…).
Nguyen does not teach:
“Wherein the memory further stores a predictive model trained based on historical site data and historical energy usage data,”
“And wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to:
receive site data relating to the electronic device...”
“And execute the predictive model using the received site data,”
“Wherein the first energy profile is selected based on the execution of the predictive model.”
However, Pettersson teaches:
“Wherein the memory further stores a predictive model trained based on historical site data and historical energy usage data,” ([0042] another embodiment of the system, the memory unit comprises a database comprising information of past energy consumption, and the at least one machine learning algorithm is adapted to access the data stored in the database and to base an estimation of the energy consumption needs on the information of past energy consumption.);
“And wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to:
receive site data relating to the electronic device;” ([0012] The convergence unit is adapted [0013] to request and receive from the plurality of agents’ consumption-related data);
“And execute the predictive model using the received site data,” ([0014] to estimate, based on the consumption-related data and using the at least one machine-learning algorithm);
“Wherein the first energy profile is selected based on the execution of the predictive model.” ([0014] based on the consumption-related data and using the at least one machine-learning algorithm, energy consumption needs of each of the consumers within a defined time period, [0015] to generate, based on the estimated consumption needs, an optimized energy distribution plan.);
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Nguyen and Pettersson before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Pettersson’s memory unit comprising past energy consumption and the machine-learning algorithm used to base the estimation for future energy consumption needs in Nguyen’s system performing power management rules set forth in the power management module and rules database to more efficiently manage the provision of power to different consumers across a power grid. (Pettersson [0006]).
Regarding claim 9, Nguyen in view of Pettersson teaches the elements of claim 8
outlined above. “The electronic gaming environment,” (Nguyen [0006] teaches that in one embodiment, a gaming device may have a memory having a plurality of power management rules and a processor…).
Nguyen does not teach “Wherein the site data includes at least two or more of time, weather, occupancy, and event schedules.”
However, Pettersson further teaches “Wherein the site data includes at least two or more of time, weather, occupancy, and event schedules.” ([0042] information of past energy consumption comprises consumption-related data of one or more consumers interrelated to at least a subset of time of the day, time of the year, and weather information, e.g. comprising a temperature.)
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen in view of Pettersson as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Brunet de Courssou.
Regarding claim 6, Nguyen in view of Pettersson teaches the elements of claim 5 as outlined above. Nguyen in view of Pettersson does not appear to teach:
“Wherein the user engagement data includes at least one of total bet amounts received at the at least one electronic gaming device,”
“A number of game plays at the at least one gaming device, and a time of game play at the at least one gaming device.”
However, Brunet de Courssou teaches the limitations:
“Wherein the user engagement data includes at least one of total bet amounts received at the at least one electronic gaming device,” ([0006] a gaming machine, comprising a game controller and an interactivity apparatus to accept wagers from a player and to provide random outcomes while playing a game.);
“A number of game plays at the at least one gaming device, and a time of game play at the at least one gaming device.” ([0059] a play timeline 702 is provided for a TES enabled gaming machine 704. On the timeline, periods of player occupancy (i.e. periods during which the player is engaged in actual play) on the depicted gaming machine are marked in black as shown at 706 and periods of player vacancy (i.e., periods of time in which the gaming machine is not being used) are marked in white, as shown at 708.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Nguyen, Pettersson and Brunet de Courssou before him, to include Brunet de Courrsou’s tracking of player history for utilizing occupancy metrics in Nguyen and Pettersson’s system performing the execution of a prediction model to inform energy profiles for an electronic gaming device. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to more efficiently implement Trusted Energy Saving (TES) methods, allowing casino operators to significantly reduce energy bills (see Brunet de Courssou [Abstract]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen in view of Pettersson as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Serven (US 2020/0349484 A1), hereafter Serven.
Regarding claim 7, Nguyen in view of Pettersson teaches the elements of claim 5 as outlined above. “The at least one electronic gaming device,” (Nguyen [0006] teaches that in one embodiment, a gaming device may have a memory having a plurality of power management rules and a processor…);
Pettersson further teaches:
“Generating a predicted user engagement for an electronic device for each energy profile of the plurality of energy profiles;” ([0047] estimating, based on the consumption-related data and using at least one machine-learning algorithm, energy consumption needs of each of the consumers within a defined time period, [0048] generating, by means of an algorithm and based on the estimated consumption needs, an optimized energy distribution plan);
Nguyen in view of Pettersson does not teach:
“determining that the first energy profile has a highest predicted user engagement of the plurality of energy profiles”
However, in the analogous art of systems and methods for forecasting power demands using deep neural networks, Serven teaches:
“determining that the first energy profile has a highest predicted user engagement of the plurality of energy profiles” ([0105] analyze data collected from individual circuits based on detection profiles (i.e. energy profiles) and a set of user thresholds to predict peak events (i.e. highest predicted user engagement); determining parameters for the peak event.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Nguyen, Pettersson, and Serven before them, to include Serven’s machine learning-based energy detection profiles in Nguyen and Pettersson’s system performing the execution of a prediction model to inform energy profiles for an electronic gaming device. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to more efficiently to forecast power demand and initiate response strategies to avoid peak-time price hikes (see Serven [0005]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen in view of Brunet de Courssou (US 2009/0221363 A1), hereafter Brunet de Courssou.
Regarding claim 11, Nguyen teaches the system of claim 1. “Wherein to control the at least one electronic gaming device to adjust power consumption based on the first energy profile,” ([0069] provides for a primary gaming device to receive power status information from a secondary gaming device at 302. The power status information may include any pertinent information such as triggering events, power state, power reconfiguration instruction, detected activity in the gaming environment and the like.)
Nguyen does not teach “the at least one processor is configured to cause a game display of the electronic gaming device to be adjusted.”
However, in the analogous art of Trusted Energy Saving (TES) methods for downloadable gaming, Brunet de Courssou teaches “the at least one processor is configured to cause a game display of the electronic gaming device to be adjusted.” ([0054] the second low power computer 572 may turn the plasma display 526 on and off for saving power according to instructions or rules stored in its memory or upon a command received from the casino management system 514 via the network 524.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Nguyen and Brunet de Courssou before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Brunet de Courssou’s instructions stored on memory for turning the plasma display of the gaming device on/off for power saving in Nguyen’s system performing power management rules set forth in the power management module and rules database to more efficiently manage Trusted Energy Saving (TES) methods applied to server based distributed downloadable gaming for allowing casino operators to significantly reduce their energy bills. (Brunet de Courssou [Abstract:L1-3]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen in view of Presant (US 2013/0159755 A1), hereafter Presant.
Regarding claim 13, Nguyen teaches:
“The system of Claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: receive site data indicating an occupancy event” ([0006] a gaming device may have a memory having a plurality of power management rules and a processor configured to receive a power status from at least one secondary gaming device; [0065] The activity monitoring device 252 may be configured to detect activities proximate to the gaming device in the gaming environment, such as patrons walking in close proximity to the gaming device.)
Nguyen does not teach “an event external to a casino floor of the gaming environment; and change, based on the received site data, control of the at least one electronic gaming device according to a second energy profile of the plurality of energy profiles.”
However, in the analogous art of operative communication with power management units, Presant teaches “an event external to a an environment; and change, based on the received site data, control of the at least one electronic device according to a second energy profile of the plurality of energy profiles.” ([0016] at least one power management unit of the plurality of processors receives information from an external events detector. The received information is used to control the power setting of at least one subsystem for the plurality of processors.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Nguyen and Presant before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Presant’s external events detector in Nguyen’s system performing power management rules set forth in the power management module and rules database to more efficiently improve the method and apparatus for controlling power consumption levels of a multi-processor system sharing the same thermal management platform. (Presant [0004]).
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen in view of Presant as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Brunet de Courssou.
Regarding claim 14, Nguyen in view of Presant teaches the system of claim 13.
Nguyen in view of Presant does not teach “wherein changing control of the at least one gaming device according to the second energy profile increases power consumption of the at least one gaming device.”
Brunet de Courssou further teaches “wherein changing control of the at least one gaming device according to the second energy profile increases power consumption of the at least one gaming device.” ([0011] the powering up step may power up all remaining gaming machines of the bank of gaming machines from the reduced power mode to the full power mode. [0054] TES gaming machines may intelligently power up or power down based on activity registered within one or more areas on the gaming floor.)
Regarding claim 15, Nguyen in view of Presant does not teach:
“Wherein the at least one memory stores a predictive model, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the at least one processor to:”
“Determine, using the predictive model, a predicted occupancy of the casino floor based on the site data;”
“And select the second energy profile based on the determined predicted occupancy.”
However, Brunet de Courssou does teach:
“Wherein the at least one memory stores a predictive model, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the at least one processor to:” ([0030] The AMT (Advanced Management Technology) makes use elaborate System-on-a-Chip (SoC) technology mat comprises a CPU, some memory and input/output interface capabilities (I/O); [0059] An intelligent control scheme (i.e. predictive model), within a TES architecture according to embodiments of the present invention may utilize such occupancy metrics.);
“Determine, using the predictive model, a predicted occupancy of the casino floor based on the site data;” ([0059] An intelligent control scheme within a TES architecture according to embodiments of the present invention may utilize such occupancy metrics to regulate the future behavior of the gaming machine.);
“And select the second energy profile based on the determined predicted occupancy.” ([0060 – 0061] For example, an operator may configure the TES gaming machine on his floor to behave as follows: [0060] A. If within the last 30 minutes the gaming machine has less than 15% occupancy, shut it down after 10 minutes of non-occupancy time. [0061] B. If within the last 30 minutes the gaming machine has between 15% and 40% occupancy, shut it down after 20 minutes of non-occupancy time.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Nguyen, Presant, and Brunet de Courssou before them, to include Brunet de Courssou’s casino management system encompassing observation of activity on the casino floor in Nguyen and Presant’s system encompassing an external events detector, utilizing power management rules. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to more efficiently manage Trusted Energy Saving (TES) methods applied for allowing casino operators to significantly reduce their energy bills. (Brunet de Courssou [Abstract:L1-3])
Regarding claim 16: the combination of Nguyen, Presant, and Brunet de Courssou teach the system of claim 15.
Nguyen teaches:
“Wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the at least one processor to:” (Nguyen [0006] teaches that in one embodiment, a gaming device may have a memory having a plurality of power management rules and a processor configured to receive a power status from at least one secondary gaming device)
“Receive additional site data indicating an occupancy of the casino floor;” ([0006] receive a power status from at least one secondary gaming device; [0065] The activity monitoring device 252 may be configured to detect activities proximate to the gaming device in the gaming environment, such as patrons walking in close proximity to the gaming device.)
However, Brunet de Courssou teaches:
“Compare the occupancy of the casino floor to the predicted occupancy of the casino floor;” ([0055] FIG. 6 demonstrates one possible TES gaming model according to an embodiment of the present invention in which gaming machines anticipate play based on current occupancy);
“And update the predictive model based on the comparison.” ([0059] An intelligent control scheme within a TES architecture according to embodiments of the present invention may utilize such occupancy metrics to regulate the future behavior of the gaming machine.)
Conclusion
/J.L.R./
Examiner, Art Unit 2175
/ANDREW J JUNG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2175