DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 1428 in Fig 14. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract is objected to due to use of an implied phrase, i.e. “A captive fastener system and methods of installing captive fasteners are presented.”
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Selinko (US3561075A), hereinafter "Selinko".
Regarding claim 1, Selinko teaches a captive fastener system (see Figs 1-2) comprising:
an expandable opening (see Fig 1, Col 3, lines 16-30, Examiner notes an opening of member 10 adjacent ledge 18 as an expandable opening) with an initial diameter (see Fig 1, Col 3, lines 16-30, Examiner notes a diameter of the opening of member 10 adjacent ledge 18 and return to its original shape as with an initial diameter) connected (see Fig 1) to a channel (see Fig 1, Col 2, line 69 - Col 3, line 15, Examiner notes the chamber defined by the side wall 12 as a channel); and
the channel (see Fig 1), wherein the channel (see Fig 1) has an internal diameter (see Fig 1, Examiner notes an inner diameter of the chamber defined by the side wall 12 as has an internal diameter) larger (see Figs 1-2, Col 3, lines 16-30) than the initial diameter (see Fig 1) and an exit diameter (see Fig 1, Examiner notes an inner diameter defined by wall 11 as an exit diameter) configured to retain (see Fig 2) a head (see Fig 2, Examiner notes a head of screw 16 as a head) of a fastener (Fig 2, screw 16) inside (see Fig 2) the channel (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 2, Selinko teaches the captive fastener system (see Figs 1-2) of claim 1 and teaches further comprising:
an edge blend (see Fig 1, Examiner notes edges of ledge 18 between slots 19, 20 as an edge blend) within (see Fig 1) the channel (see Fig 1) leading towards (see Fig 1) the expandable opening (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 3, Selinko teaches the captive fastener system (see Figs 1-2) of claim 1 and teaches further comprising:
a chamfer (see Fig 1, Col 2, line 69 - Col 3, line 15, Examiner notes an upper angled surface of ledge 18 as a chamfer) on the expandable opening (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 4, Selinko teaches the captive fastener system (see Figs 1-2) of claim 1 and teaches further comprising:
a slot (Fig 2, slots 19, 20) extending (see Fig 1) from the expandable opening (see Fig 1) towards (see Fig 1) the channel (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 5, Selinko teaches the captive fastener system (see Figs 1-2) of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the exit diameter (see Fig 1) is defined by a flange (see Fig 2, Examiner notes a flange formed from wall 12 adjacent surface 17 as is defined by a flange) extending inwardly (see Fig 1) in the channel (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 6, Selinko teaches the captive fastener system (see Figs 1-2) of claim 1 and further teaches wherein edges (see Fig 1) of the expandable opening (see Fig 1) and walls (see Fig 1) of the channel (see Fig 1) are formed by a polymeric material (Col 2, lines 37-48, Selinko indicates rigid plastic).
Regarding claim 14, Selinko teaches a captive fastener system (see Figs 1-2) comprising:
a fastener (Fig 2, screw 16) with a head (see Fig 2, Examiner notes a head of screw 16 as a head) positioned (see Fig 2) within a channel (see Fig 1, Col 2, line 69 - Col 3, line 15, Examiner notes the chamber defined by the side wall 12 as a channel); and
the channel (see Fig 1), wherein the channel (see Fig 1) has an expandable opening (see Fig 1, Col 3, lines 16-30, Examiner notes an opening of member 10 adjacent ledge 18 as has an expandable opening) configured to allow (see Fig 2) entry (Col 3, lines 16-30) of the head (see Fig 2) of the fastener (16) and limit exit (Col 3, lines 16-30) of the head (see Fig 2) of the fastener (16) and an exit diameter (see Fig 1, Examiner notes an inner diameter defined by wall 11 as an exit diameter) configured to allow (see Fig 2) a shaft (see Fig 2, Examiner notes a shaft of screw 16 as a shaft) of the fastener (16) to extend (see Fig 2) through the exit diameter (see Fig 1) and prevent exit (see Fig 2) of the head (see Fig 2) of the fastener (16).
Regarding claim 15, Selinko teaches the captive fastener system (see Figs 1-2) of claim 14 and teaches further comprising:
an edge blend (see Fig 1, Examiner notes edges of ledge 18 between slots 19, 20 as an edge blend) within (see Fig 1) the channel (see Fig 1) on an opposite end (see Fig 1) from the exit diameter (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 16, Selinko teaches the captive fastener system (see Figs 1-2) of claim 14 and teaches further comprising:
a chamfer (see Fig 1, Col 2, line 69 - Col 3, line 15, Examiner notes an upper angled surface of ledge 18 as a chamfer) on the expandable opening (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 17, Selinko teaches the captive fastener system (see Figs 1-2) of claim 14 and teaches further comprising:
a slot (Fig 2, slots 19, 20) extending (see Fig 1) from the expandable opening (see Fig 1) into the channel (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 18, Selinko teaches the captive fastener system (see Figs 1-2) of claim 14 and further teaches wherein the exit diameter (see Fig 1) is defined by a flange (see Fig 2, Examiner notes a flange formed from wall 12 adjacent surface 17 as is defined by a flange) extending inwardly (see Fig 1) in the channel (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 19, Selinko teaches the captive fastener system (see Figs 1-2) of claim 14 and further teaches wherein an internal diameter (see Fig 1, Examiner notes an inner diameter of the chamber defined by the side wall 12 as has an internal diameter) of the channel (see Fig 1) is configured to allow (Col 3, lines 16-30) movement of the head (see Fig 2) within the channel (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 20, Selinko teaches the captive fastener system (see Figs 1-2) of claim 14 and further teaches wherein edges (see Fig 1) of the expandable opening (see Fig 1) and walls (see Fig 1) of the channel (see Fig 1) are formed by a polymeric material (Col 2, lines 37-48, Selinko indicates rigid plastic).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selinko.
Regarding claims 7-13, Examiner notes that the instant method step limitations are considered obvious over the prior art in view of rejections of the structural limitations previously set forth. Although the prior art does not explicitly set forth the method steps as claimed when the method steps essentially set forth the provision and use of an apparatus, as intended by its structure, then such method steps are considered obvious when the structure of the apparatus has been demonstrated as obvious or anticipated by the prior art.
Concerning claims 7-13, given the structure of a captive fastener system, the structural elements of the threaded fastener captivating device of Selinko (as rejected in claims 1-6 and 14-20 above) would render the claimed method steps obvious since such would be a logical manner of using the combination.
Conclusion
/J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3675 /KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675