DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 16/626909, filed on 12/27/2019.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-15 and 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Besier et al (US# 2019/0031165).
Besier et al disclose a device comprising: at least one pressure supply unit 28 driven by an electric motor drive 36; a valve arrangement with at least one solenoid valve 100/112/116/130/134/360 and hydraulic connections for two 6/8 or four wheel brakes 6/8/10/12; and a control unit 250 configured to control the at least one solenoid valve 100/112/116/130/134 and the pressure supply unit 28; wherein the pressure supply unit 28, the valve arrangement 100/112/116/130/134, and the control unit 250 are combined in a first housing to form a main module 20, which is adapted to be arranged remote from a bulkhead of the vehicle [0045]; wherein the device further comprises an actuation unit 260 with a brake pedal, the actuation unit being arranged in a second housing and adapted to be mounted on the bulkhead of the vehicle [0044]; wherein the main module is electrically and not hydraulically connected to the actuation unit (note hydraulic disconnection provided by valves 96/104 or the embodiment of figure 7) and/or a central control unit.
Regarding claim 2, the main module has two hydraulic output lines 272/274 via which pressure feedback control is performed in two separate wheel brakes 6/8 or two hydraulic circuits 304/308.
Regarding claim 3, the pressure feedback control for a brake force boosting is performed via the output lines [0068]and/or, in a case of blending feedback control with recuperation by means of at least one electric motor operated in a generator mode, a braking action is performed with assisting action via the output lines [0007][0058].
Regarding claim 4, the recuperation and the blending feedback control (the hydraulic compensating control [0058]) are performed by the control unit 250 of the main module.
Regarding claim 5, the device has more than one main module 20/24, wherein each main module respectively has a pressure supply unit 28/32, solenoid valves and a control unit 250/254.
Regarding claim 6, each main module 20/24 serves for pressure feedback control in one hydraulic circuit 304 or 308 or two hydraulic circuits 304/308 or brake circuit(s), wherein in each case at least one hydraulic consumer 6/8/10/12 is arranged in each hydraulic circuit.
Regarding claim 7, the main modules serve for pressure feedback control for brake force boosting (by-wire braking), blending [0058], ABS/ESP [0024], and driver assistance functions (highly automated driving [0072]).
Regarding claim 8, wherein, in the case of two or more hydraulic consumers, at least one main module 20, in a multiplex mode, performs pressure feedback control simultaneously and/or in time-offset fashion. [0059]
Regarding claim 9, in addition to the solenoid valves of a given main module at least one outlet valve is also provided in the main module to enable a pressure dissipation in at least one hydraulic consumer.
Regarding claim 11, the device has only one main module 16, which has four hydraulic output lines, and wherein, via each output line, pressure feedback control is performed in one of four wheel brakes, wherein the main module performs functions for brake force boosting, blending [0058], ABS/ESP [0024], and/or driver assistance (highly automated driving [0072]).
Regarding claim 12, in cases of only one or two main modules being present, the main module(s) is/are fed redundantly by means of two separate electrical circuits [0072], or wherein the redundant feed of energy is performed by means of two batteries with different voltages.
Regarding claim 13, signal transmission between/among various components is implemented redundantly. [0048][0049][0072]
Regarding claim 14, wherein two main modules 20/24 are provided, wherein each main module is connected via a hydraulic output line 274/278 thereof to a respective brake circuit.
Regarding claim 15, the brake circuits are selectively connectable to one another by means of a connecting line 296, which is enabled to be shut off by means of at least one connecting valve 108/360.
Regarding claim 19, an electric motor 36 of the pressure supply unit of one module has only a level of drive power sufficient for an ABS and/or ESP feedback control function [0024].
Regarding claim 20, each main module is enabled to be utilized for pressure change in each brake circuit.
Regarding claim 21, the actuating unit 160 of the separate module is connectable via at least one hydraulic line 242/300 to one or both brake circuits, wherein the at least one hydraulic line is enabled to be shut off by means of a normally open valve 96/104.
Regarding claim 22, redundant signal lines to further system modules 27 are provided [0049].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 11-15 and 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmermann et al (US# 2019/0344769) in view of Murayama et al (US# 2013/0333376).
Zimmermann et al disclose a device comprising at least on pressure supply unit 5 driven by an electric motor drive 35/39 a valve arrangement with at least one solenoid valve 6/7 and hydraulic connections for two or four wheel brakes 8; and a control unit 12 configured to control the at least one solenoid valve and the pressure supply unit 5; wherein the pressure supply unit 5, the valve arrangement 6/7, and the control unit 12 are combined in a first housing to form a main module HCU1; wherein the device further comprises an actuation unit 200 with a brake pedal 1, the actuation unit being arranged in a second housing and adapted to be mounted on the bulkhead of the vehicle [0152]; wherein the main module is electrically and not hydraulically connected to the actuation unit (note hydraulic disconnection provided by valves 81/82 or the embodiment of figure 3) and/or a central control unit. Zimmermann et al further lack the clear disclosure of the main module being configured to be arranged remote from a bulkhead of the vehicle. Zimmermann et al show the units a separate modules. Murayama et al disclose a similar brake system and further teach an actuating unit 14 mounted to a vehicle bulkhead and a main module 18 remote of the actuating unit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the main module of Zimmermann et al to mount remote the bulkhead, as taught by Murayama et al to provide a greater degree of mounting freedom, thereby increasing flexibility of installation.
Regarding claim 2, the main module has two hydraulic output lines via which pressure feedback control is performed in two separate wheel brakes 8a/8c or two hydraulic circuits I/II.
Regarding claim 3, the pressure feedback control for a brake force boosting is performed via the output lines [0100] and/or, in a case of blending feedback control with recuperation by means of at least one electric motor operated in a generator mode, a braking action is performed with assisting action via the output lines.
Regarding claim 11, the device has only one main module HCU1 which has four hydraulic output lines, and wherein, via each output line, pressure feedback control is performed in one of four wheel brakes, wherein the main module performs functions for brake force boosting [0100], blending, ABS/ESP [0089], and/or driver assistance.
Regarding claim 12, in cases of only one or two main modules being present, the main module(s) is/are fed redundantly by means of two separate electrical circuits [0014], or wherein the redundant feed of energy is performed by means of two batteries with different voltages.
Regarding claim 13, signal transmission between/among various components is implemented redundantly. Figure 3.
Regarding claim 14, wherein two main modules 5/6c/6d/7c/7d and 2/6a/6b/7a/7b are provided, wherein each main module is connected via a hydraulic output line thereof to a respective brake circuit.
Regarding claim 15, the brake circuits are selectively connectable to one another by means of a connecting line, which is enabled to be shut off by means of at least one connecting valve 40/140.
Regarding claim 19, an electric motor 35 of the pressure supply unit of one module has only a level of drive power sufficient for an ABS and/or ESP feedback control function [0089].
Regarding claim 20, each main module is enabled to be utilized for pressure change in each brake circuit.
Regarding claim 21, the actuating unit 200 of the separate module is connectable via at least one hydraulic line 85 to one or both brake circuits, wherein the at least one hydraulic line is enabled to be shut off by means of a normally open valve 81/81.
Regarding claim 22, redundant signal lines 58/68 to further system modules are provided.
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmermann et al (US# 2019/0344769) and Murayama et al (US# 2013/0333376), as applied to claim 14 above, in further view of Bareiss (US# 2015/0283987).
Regarding claim 16, Zimmermann et al, as modified above, further disclose that the brake circuits can be connected to one another by means of a connecting line and open connecting valves 40/140 arranged in the connecting line, but lack the disclosure of, in a case of a need for fast build-up of brake pressure, both modules are used for the pressure build-up. Bareiss disclose a similar brake system and further teach the use of two pressure sources only when high pressures are required such as emergency braking. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use both the pressure sources of Zimmermann et al during emergency braking, such as taught by Bareiss, as it allows a reduction in size of the primary pressure device which improves economy, and facilitates installation.
Regarding claim 17, as modified, for high pressure build-up of pressure in both brake circuits, the connecting valves are opened, and both modules simultaneously adjust, or apply force to, pistons.
Regarding claim 18, at least one of the connecting valves 40/140 is closed, separate pressure changes are enabled to be performed in the brake circuits, wherein a pressure dissipation is enabled to be performed in a first one of the brake circuits and a simultaneous or time-offset pressure build-up is enabled to be performed in a second one of the brake circuits [0092].
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmermann et al (US# 2019/0344769) and Murayama et al (US# 2013/0333376), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Semsey et al (US# 2012/0130581)
Zimmermann et al disclose all the limitations of the instant claim with exception to the control of the device being performed by a superordinate control unit, and wherein the main module performs only pressure actuating functions, wherein driving dynamics feedback control is calculated and performed in the superordinate control unit. Semsey et al disclose a vehicle control system and further teach at least one superordinate control device 9, and wherein a main module 12 performs only pressure actuating functions, wherein driving dynamics feedback control is calculated and performed in the superordinate control unit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the brake and slip controller configuration and control taught by Semsey et al with the brake system of Zimmermann et al to provide energy efficiency by allowing regenerative braking and improve dynamic stability and reduce friction abrasion, thereby improving performance.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Besier et al (US# 2019/0031165) in view of Semsey et al (US# 2012/0130581)
Besier et al disclose all the limitations of the instant claim with exception to the control of the device being performed by a superordinate control unit, and wherein the main module performs only pressure actuating functions, wherein driving dynamics feedback control is calculated and performed in the superordinate control unit. Besier et al suggests receiving pressure setpoints from outside via a communication connection [0056]. Semsey et al disclose a vehicle control system and further teach at least one superordinate control device 9, and wherein a main module 12 performs only pressure actuating functions, wherein driving dynamics feedback control is calculated and performed in the superordinate control unit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the brake and slip controller configuration and control taught by Semsey et al with the brake system of Besier et al to provide energy efficiency by allowing regenerative braking and improve dynamic stability and reduce friction abrasion, thereby improving performance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/BRADLEY T KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
BTK