DETAILED ACTION
Examiner has received and accepted the amended claims and remarks filed on 23 June 2026. These amended claims and remarks are the claims and remarks being referred to in the instant Office Action. Examiner acknowledges Claim 4 has been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the Drawings have been fully considered and are persuasive-in-part. The Objection to the Drawings has been withdrawn-in-part.
The objection with respect to the jacket of the glass container is maintained as element 2a does not appear to illustrate any features which could be considered a “jacket”. Claim 2 specifically recites the glass container is jacketed i.e. the glass container is not the jacket, however element 2a appears to simply indicate some lower portion of the glass container (2) itself. As such, the drawing objection is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1 – 3 and 5 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112(a) Rejection of Claims 1 – 3 and 5 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1 – 3 and 5 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112(b) Rejection of Claims 1 – 3 and 5 has been withdrawn.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
jacket of the glass container Claim 2
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Swan et al. (US 5090617).
Regarding Claim 1, Swan discloses an apparatus, in at least Figures 1 and 5, comprising, a plurality of internal compartments configured to receive a rock sample (compartments formed by element 38 which are inherently capable of receiving a rock sample) (Figure 5); and an external component (component bounding 36) configured to receive the plurality of compartments (Figure 5), wherein the external component comprises a glass container (22 forming a portion of the component bounding 36) (Col 2, lines 60 – 65) (Figure 5).
Regarding Claim 2, Swan discloses the glass container is jacketed to allow for circulation of water (Col 3, lines 15 – 19).
Regarding Claim 3, Swan discloses the circulation of water maintains a temperature of the apparatus from about 40 °C to about 80 °C (Col 14, lines 13 - 21).
Regarding Claim 5, Swan discloses the apparatus is configured to remove hydrocarbons and salts from the rock sample (as Swan teaches all of the claimed structural limitations, Swan is configured to remove hydrocarbons and salts from a rock sample).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALEXANDER A. MERCADO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2855
/ALEXANDER A MERCADO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855