DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on September 20, 2024. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on September 20, 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Request for priority to Provisional App. No. 63/107,806 is acknowledged. Examiner notes Applicant may be requested to perfect one or more of the claims in the situation where applied prior art has priority falling between the filing date of the non-provisional application the date of the provisional application. No action by Applicant is requested at this time.
Additionally, Applicant’s request for priority to U.S. App. No. 17/515,923 filed November 1, 2021 is acknowledged.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 6, 7, 8, and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 2, 15, and 19, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12,124,269. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each of claims 1, 6, 7, 8, and 15 is fully encompassed by claims 1, 2, 2, 15, and 19, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12,124,269.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner notes that the updating of the vehicle trajectory, found in the final limitation of each of the independent claims 1, 8, and 15, is being interpreted as an update to the movement of a vehicle and is considered a practical application.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a. a plurality of asynchronous image devices… in claim 15. Structure for this limitation may be found at least at [0038] of the instant original specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S Pub. No. 2022/0121847 (hereinafter, “Sibley”).
Regarding claim 1, Sibley discloses A computer-implemented method (see at least Fig. 1, [0044], [0076], [0080], and the publication generally; the method may be computer-implemented), the method comprising:
identifying a reference image frame that at least partially overlaps a field of view of an image frame (see at least [0005] and [0105]; the identified images (i.e., one or more reference image frames) may at least partially overlap the field of view of the captured images (i.e., image frames));
determining an association between the image frame and at least one three-dimensional map point of a plurality of three-dimensional map points, wherein the plurality of three-dimensional map points are representative of an environment of an autonomous vehicle (see at least [0069], [0075]-[0078], [0105], [0109], [0113], and [0125]; each identified image (i.e., one or more reference image frames) may include corresponding 2D or 3D coordinates (i.e., one or more 3D map points) corresponding to the geographical position of the identified objects within the identified image (i.e., one or more reference image frames) within an environment of an autonomous vehicle);
generating, based on the association between the image frame and the at least one three-dimensional map point, an estimated pose for the autonomous vehicle relative to the environment (see at least [0061]-[0063], [0069], [0075]-[0078], [0080], [0105], [0109], [0113], and [0123]; the autonomous vehicle carrying the treatment system may generate an estimated pose of the vehicle relative to the environment as it moves along a path while collecting real-time captured image data (i.e., input image frames) based on the determined coordinates and/or features/patches (i.e., 3D map points) associated with the identified images (i.e., one or more reference image frames) and based on the comparison between the captured image data (i.e., input image frames) and the identified images (i.e., one or more reference image frames)); and
updating, based on the estimated pose, a trajectory of the autonomous vehicle, wherein the trajectory of the autonomous vehicle is associated with a continuous-time motion model associated with the reference image frame ((see at least [0061]-[0063], [0069], [0075]-[0078], [0080], [0105], [0109], [0113], and [0123]; the pose estimation may be utilized for navigational purposes and updated as additional information is added while the vehicle carrying the treatment system moves along a path (i.e., a continuous-time motion model)).
Claims 8 and 15 are rejected under essentially the same reasoning as claim 1. Additionally, Sibley discloses an autonomous vehicle (see at least Sibley at [0080] and [0147]), processors (see at least Sibley at [0004]), and a non-transitory computer-readable medium (see at least Sibley at [0004]).
Regarding claim 2, Sibley discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Sibley discloses wherein the reference image frame comprises a previous image frame captured at a reference time that is prior to a time at which the image frame is received (see at least [0005] and [0105]; the identified images (i.e., one or more reference image frames) may at least partially overlap the field of view of the captured images (i.e., respective input image frames), and the identified images (i.e., one or more reference image frames) may correspond to images captured prior to the captured images (i.e., respective input image frames)).
Claims 9 and 16 are rejected under essentially the same reasoning as claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, Sibley discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Sibley discloses comprising:
generating a comparison between the estimated pose for the autonomous vehicle relative to the environment to an estimated pose associated with the reference image frame (see at least [0005], [0075], [0105]; a comparison is performed between the estimated autonomous vehicle pose and an estimated pose associated with the reference image frame); and
determining, based on the comparison, at least one of a translation or a rotation of the estimated pose for the autonomous vehicle (see at least [0109]; optical flow (i.e., translation and rotation of image features) may be used during comparison of keyframes and captured images).
Claims 10 and 17 are rejected under essentially the same reasoning as claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, Sibley discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Sibley discloses comprising:
generating a comparison between the at least one three-dimensional map point to a reobservation threshold, wherein the reobservation threshold is indicative of a level of three-dimensional map points associated with the reference image frame(see at least [0005], [0075], [0105]; a comparison is performed between the estimated autonomous vehicle pose and an estimated pose associated with the reference image frame); and
based on the comparison, identifying an updated reference image frame (see at least [0079] and [0109]; once captured and processed, the images are put into, for example, a database or crop plot repository and become the reference images for future processing).
Claims 11 and 18 are rejected under essentially the same reasoning as claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, Sibley discloses all of the limitations of claim 4. Additionally, Sibley discloses comprising:
in response to identifying an updated reference image frame, updating the trajectory of the autonomous vehicle (see at least Fig. 9 and [0105]; the spraying vehicle trajectory may be updated based on updated images for reference by the vehicle).
Claims 12 and 19 are rejected under essentially the same reasoning as claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, Sibley discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Sibley discloses comprising:
identifying one or more matching two-dimensional points of interest for the reference image frame that correspond to at least one two-dimensional point of interest for the image frame (see at least [0062], [0066], [0072], and [0109]; features or patches (i.e., points of interest within the image frames) of 2D images may be identified and matched).
Claims 13 and 17 are rejected under essentially the same reasoning as claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, Sibley discloses all of the limitations of claim 6. Additionally, Sibley discloses comprising:
determining, based on the one or more matching two-dimensional points of interest, the at least one three-dimensional map point (see at least [0082]; the map may be 2D or 3D and may be based on 2D and/or 3D images).
Claim 14 is rejected under essentially the same reasoning as claim 7.
Additional Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and may be found on the accompanying PTO-892 Notice of References Cited:
U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0003404 which relates to the use of reference frames for the purpose of SLAM and real-time navigation of autonomous vehicles using an HD map which is continuously updated over time including recomputing when a sensed change exceeds a threshold; and
U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0103236 which relates to modification of map data based on sensed data, and updating an autonomous vehicle trajectory based on the modifications.
Conclusion
TIFFANY YOUNG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3666
/TIFFANY P YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3666