DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7 - 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barry (US PGPUB 2022/0152377 – in IDS).
Regarding claim 7, Barry discloses a system (e.g. Fig 7) comprising: a blood pump (e.g. 600, Fig. 7; ¶ 47): and a delivery system (e.g. Fig. 7; ¶ 49) configured to deliver an oxygenated fluid to at least one of the blood pump (e.g. ¶ 50) and a ventricle of a patient (e.g. ¶ 50-51), the delivery system including a fluid line having a first lumen (e.g. 626, Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 8, Barry discloses the first lumen is configured to be insulated to maintain a temperature of the oxygenated fluid along a length of the first lumen (e.g. ¶ 49-50).
Regarding claim 9, Barry discloses the fluid line includes a purge fluid line (e.g. ¶ 47) operably coupled to a motor section of the blood pump (e.g. ¶ 36).
Regarding claim 10, Barry discloses the oxygenated fluid is configured to pass through the motor section of the blood pump (e.g. ¶ 36, 48).
Regarding claim 11¸ Barry discloses the oxygenated fluid is configured to exit the motor section into a ventricle of a patient (e.g. ¶ 36, 50-51).
It is noted that the oxygenated fluid is not positively recited. The device of Barry is capable of delivering an oxygenated fluid.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 6, 12 – 19, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barry in view of Creech et al. (WO 2023/173080 – in IDS).
Regarding claims 1 and 21, Barry discloses a system and method, comprising: a blood pump (e.g. ¶ 47); a catheter (e.g. 605, Fig. 7) operably coupled to the blood pump (e.g. ¶ 47); and a purge fluid line (e.g. 626) including a first lumen configured to deliver a purge fluid to a motor section (e.g. ¶ 47) of the blood pump, at least a portion of the purge fluid line extending along the catheter (Fig. 7), but fails to teach the purge fluid is an oxygenated purge fluid.
Creech teaches it is known to use a pump configured to pump oxygenated fluid to a patient (e.g. ¶ 5, 7, 119). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the fluid as taught by Barry with an oxygenated fluid as taught by Creech, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of increasing oxygen in the blood of the patient to better treat the patient.
Regarding claims 2 – 4 and 6¸ Barry discloses the purge fluid line as claimed and previously discussed and described above (e.g. ¶ 48-51).
Regarding claim 5, Barry discloses a controller configured to control delivery of the purge fluid (e.g. ¶ 49).
Regarding claims 12 – 19, Barry discloses the claimed invention as previously described. Creech teaches it is known to use a pump configured to pump oxygenated fluid to a patient (e.g. ¶ 5, 7, 119). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the fluid as taught by Barry with an oxygenated fluid as taught by Creech, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of increasing oxygen in the blood of the patient to better treat the patient.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH M DIETRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796