Detailed Action
Office Action is in response to the reply filed by Applicant on 7/1/2026. Claims 68, 78 and 88 have been cancelled. Claims 61-67, 69-77, 79-87, 89 and 90 are pending. This Office Action is Final.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS)s, submitted on 4/8/2026, 4/29/2026, 5/29/2026 and 7/20/2026, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
A) Applicant’s argue Herrod fails to disclose, teach or even suggest in combination “obtaining platform performance information concerning operation of the computing platform including: obtaining consolidated platform information to identify current security-relevant capabilities for the computing platform; determining possible security-relevant capabilities for the computing platform; and generating comparison information that compares the current security-relevant capabilities of the computing platform to the possible security-relevant capabilities of the computing platform to identify security-relevant deficiencies,” as recited in claim 61 and similarly recited in claims 71 and 81. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Examiner submits that Herrod teaches the above limitations. Applicant is arguing about comparing current capabilities to the possible capabilities of a computing platform. Herrod, Paragraph 0111 recites “The set of Settings Objects 225-1 . . . 225-n having an expected overall device security rating (ODSR) 350, the particular security interaction template 320 and the overall security test cases 360 are generated using the systems and processing described above with respect to FIGS. 2 and 3, and are deployed to the device 120.” Herrod Paragraphs 0029-0031, goes into further details about how the ODSR works, and recites “As used herein, the term "expected ODSR" refers to an ODSR that is "hypothetically determined or predicted" for an entire group of SOs. The expected ODSR for an entire group of Settings Objects (SOs) can be computed at a server, for example, using a SIT and SRTs that correspond to that entire group of SOs. The expected ODSR is hypothetical since it is not based SOs actually deployed and applied to a wireless computing device. In other words, the expected ODSR is calculated under the assumption that all Settings Objects in a group will be deployed and applied a wireless computing device and that the SIT and SRTs can accurately predict the security that the entire group of SOs would produce at the wireless computing device. As such, the expected ODSR can tell a user, such as a network administrator, the expected security if an entire group of SOs were to be applied to the wireless computing device. With the expected ODSR there is no guarantee that the expected security will necessarily be achieved, but it is useful for planning and prediction purposes without ever deploying anything to a wireless computing device. [0030] The server can also generate, based on the security test scripts, a set of overall security test cases that could be run on subsystems of the first wireless computing device to measure the actual overall or aggregate security exhibited by the first wireless computing device if the particular group of Settings Objects are used together and actually deployed and applied as a group to the first wireless computing device. [0031] The first expected ODSR is an aggregate rating that is determined based on individual security ratings of the particular group of Settings Objects when actually deployed and applied as a group to the first wireless computing device, using the security interaction template and taking into account the security impacts of the applied Settings Objects when interacting together. The first expected ODSR reflects resultant overall device security that the particular combination of Settings Objects would be expected to provide when subsystems of the first wireless computing device are configured in accordance with the particular group of Settings Objects. The first expected ODSR can be displayed to the user on the display of the computer to provide the user with an indication of the overall device security. In addition, the first expected ODSR can be stored in memory at the server along with a time to indicate when the first expected ODSR was generated.” Examiner’s application of the art is that the ODSR has an actual and expected scores, these can be individual ratings in a group, and the values are compared to determine if they meet the expected security scores. Examiner feels that in the broadest reasonable interpretation, the security score of would read on the “security-relevant capabilities,” of the recited limitations. As a result, Examiner feels Herrod teaches the limitations argued above.
Double Patenting
Claims 61, 71 and 81 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9 and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,588,838. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the limitations of claims 61, 71 and 81 of the instant Application, with regards to a threat mitigation system with the use of a holistic/comprehensive report and limitations therein are being met and are anticipated by the limitations recited in 11, 9 and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,588,838.
Regarding claims 62-67, 69, 70, 72-77, 79, 80, 82-87, 89 and 90; claims 62-67, 69, 70, 72-77, 79, 80, 82-87, 89 and 90 are also rejected under Double Patenting for similar reasons respectively and are dependent on claims 61, 71 and 81 and therefore inherit the rejection from issues of the independent claims.
Claims 61, 71 and 81 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,687,659. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the limitations of claims 61, 71 and 81 of the instant Application, with regards to a threat mitigation system with the use of a holistic/comprehensive report and limitations therein are being met and are anticipated by the limitations recited in 1, 10 and 19 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,687,659.
Regarding claims 62-67, 69, 70, 72-77, 79, 80, 82-87, 89 and 90; claims 62-67, 69, 70, 72-77, 79, 80, 82-87, 89 and 90 are also rejected under Double Patenting for similar reasons respectively and are dependent on claims 61, 71 and 81 and therefore inherit the rejection from issues of the independent claims
Claims 61, 71 and 81 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 11 and 21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,229,276. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the limitations of claims 61, 71 and 81 of the instant Application, with regards to a threat mitigation system with the use of a holistic/comprehensive report and limitations therein are being met and are anticipated by the limitations recited in 1, 11 and 21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,229,276.
Regarding claims 62-67, 69, 70, 72-77, 79, 80, 82-87, 89 and 90; claims 62-67, 69, 70, 72-77, 79, 80, 82-87, 89 and 90 are also rejected under Double Patenting for similar reasons respectively and are dependent on claims 61, 71 and 81 and therefore inherit the rejection from issues of the independent claims
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 61, 63-65, 69-71, 73-75, 79-81, 83-85, 89 and 90 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herrod (US 2010/0333168) in view of Patnail et al. (US 2017/0329701).
As per claim 61, Herrod teaches a computer-implemented method, executed on a computing device, comprising: obtaining system-defined consolidated platform information for a computing platform from an independent information source, the system-defined consolidated platform information defining one or more security-relevant subsystems present on the computing platform (Herrod, Paragraph 0109 recites “The system 400 includes a Settings Objects application module 410, a settings log 420, a Settings Objects verification module 440, platform and application subsystems 450, an automated security assessment module 470 and a security assessment log 490. In one implementation, modules 410, 440, 470 are executable code that might be deployed as part of a single or multiple Control Modules, depending on how the functionality is partitioned for deployment.”);
obtaining consolidated platform information to identify current security-relevant
capabilities for the computing platform; determining possible security-relevant capabilities for the computing platform; generating comparison information that compares the current security-relevant capabilities of the computing platform to the possible security-relevant capabilities of the computing platform to identify security-relevant deficiencies (Herrod, Paragraph 0111 recites “The set of Settings Objects 225-1 . . . 225-n having an expected overall device security rating (ODSR) 350, the particular security interaction template 320 and the overall security test cases 360 are generated using the systems and processing described above with respect to FIGS. 2 and 3, and are deployed to the device 120. It is assumed that the set of Settings Objects 225-1 . . . 225-n have an expected ODSR 350 that has been determined to be acceptable by the user of computer 130. The device 120 can use the SIT 320 to calculate an Actual ODSR based on the Settings Objects that are actually applied on the device 120. If the Actual ODSR is sent to the control server, it can be compared with the expected ODSR 350 to see how well actual security of the device 120 compares to the expected security.” And Paragraphs 0029-0031, goes into further details about how the ODSR works, and recites “As used herein, the term "expected ODSR" refers to an ODSR that is "hypothetically determined or predicted" for an entire group of SOs. The expected ODSR for an entire group of Settings Objects (SOs) can be computed at a server, for example, using a SIT and SRTs that correspond to that entire group of SOs. The expected ODSR is hypothetical since it is not based SOs actually deployed and applied to a wireless computing device. In other words, the expected ODSR is calculated under the assumption that all Settings Objects in a group will be deployed and applied a wireless computing device and that the SIT and SRTs can accurately predict the security that the entire group of SOs would produce at the wireless computing device. As such, the expected ODSR can tell a user, such as a network administrator, the expected security if an entire group of SOs were to be applied to the wireless computing device. With the expected ODSR there is no guarantee that the expected security will necessarily be achieved, but it is useful for planning and prediction purposes without ever deploying anything to a wireless computing device. [0030] The server can also generate, based on the security test scripts, a set of overall security test cases that could be run on subsystems of the first wireless computing device to measure the actual overall or aggregate security exhibited by the first wireless computing device if the particular group of Settings Objects are used together and actually deployed and applied as a group to the first wireless computing device. [0031] The first expected ODSR is an aggregate rating that is determined based on individual security ratings of the particular group of Settings Objects when actually deployed and applied as a group to the first wireless computing device, using the security interaction template and taking into account the security impacts of the applied Settings Objects when interacting together. The first expected ODSR reflects resultant overall device security that the particular combination of Settings Objects would be expected to provide when subsystems of the first wireless computing device are configured in accordance with the particular group of Settings Objects. The first expected ODSR can be displayed to the user on the display of the computer to provide the user with an indication of the overall device security. In addition, the first expected ODSR can be stored in memory at the server along with a time to indicate when the first expected ODSR was generated.”).
But fails to teach obtaining application performance information concerning one or more applications deployed within the computing platform; generating a holistic platform report concerning the computing platform based, wherein the holistic platform report identifies one or more known conditions concerning the computer platform; and
effectuating one or more remedial operations concerning the one or more known conditions.
However, in an analogous art Patnaik teaches obtaining application performance information concerning one or more applications deployed within the computing platform; generating a holistic platform report concerning the computing platform based (Patnaik, Paragraph 0024 recites “In operation, when an application developer develops an application, such as a mobile app, the application can be uploaded to the server 102 for analysis by the pre-release analysis tool 112. Upon completion of the application analysis, the report 114 is generated and can be made available for the application developer. The report is accessed through a robust, informative, and rich user interface that provides comprehensive and detailed information regarding such things as application crashes, performance, security, usability, statistics, code warnings, localization issues, network issues, and the like. In addition, the report provides actionable information that can be used by developer to ensure that their application is more secure, reliable, efficient, and performant.”),
wherein the holistic platform report identifies one or more known conditions concerning the computer platform (Patnaik, Paragraph 0031 recites “Dynamic analysis can also test applications for malicious behavior. Vulnerability scanning can be used to detect things such as the use of bad libraries, exposed private keys, and improper SSL. JavaScript injection and penetration tests can also be performed during dynamic analysis, as well as analysis of various data storage parameter issues such as unsafe local data storage, unencrypted storage, whether external storage is used, and the like. Dynamic analysis can also be used to check advertising ID policies, detect API violations, blacklisted advertising SDKs, advertising SDKs that violate particular policies, malformed files such as manifest XML files, transmission of unauthorized data over unencrypted connections, and the like. Dynamic analysis can also test for malware running on the device, check various compliances, whether certificates are valid and being used properly.”);
And effectuating one or more remedial operations concerning the one or more known conditions (Patnaik, Paragraph 0022 recites “Actionable feedback can include feedback that suggests various remedial measures that an application developer may put in place in order to improve their applications.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the earliest effective filing date to use Patnaik’s Application Pre-Release Report with Herrod’s
Methods and apparatus for rating device security and automatically assessing security compliance because it offers the advantage of making a comprehensive analysis of applications before being launched.
As per claim 63, Herrod in combination with Patnaik teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 61, Patnaik further teaches obtaining hardware performance information concerning operation and/or functionality of one or more hardware systems deployed within the computing platform (Patnaik, Paragraph 0024 recites “In operation, when an application developer develops an application, such as a mobile app, the application can be uploaded to the server 102 for analysis by the pre-release analysis tool 112. Upon completion of the application analysis, the report 114 is generated and can be made available for the application developer. The report is accessed through a robust, informative, and rich user interface that provides comprehensive and detailed information regarding such things as application crashes, performance, security, usability, statistics, code warnings, localization issues, network issues, and the like. In addition, the report provides actionable information that can be used by developer to ensure that their application is more secure, reliable, efficient, and performant.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the earliest effective filing date to use Patnaik’s Application Pre-Release Report with Herrod’s Methods and apparatus for rating device security and automatically assessing security compliance because it offers the advantage of making a comprehensive analysis of applications before being launched.
As per claim 64, Herrod in combination with Patnaik teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 61, Patnaik further teaches obtaining platform performance information concerning operation and/or functionality of the computing platform (Patnaik, Paragraph 0024 recites “In operation, when an application developer develops an application, such as a mobile app, the application can be uploaded to the server 102 for analysis by the pre-release analysis tool 112. Upon completion of the application analysis, the report 114 is generated and can be made available for the application developer. The report is accessed through a robust, informative, and rich user interface that provides comprehensive and detailed information regarding such things as application crashes, performance, security, usability, statistics, code warnings, localization issues, network issues, and the like. In addition, the report provides actionable information that can be used by developer to ensure that their application is more secure, reliable, efficient, and performant.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the earliest effective filing date to use Patnaik’s Application Pre-Release Report with Herrod’s Methods and apparatus for rating device security and automatically assessing security compliance because it offers the advantage of making a comprehensive analysis of applications before being launched.
As per claim 65, Herrod in combination with Patnaik teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 61, Herrod further teaches obtaining platform performance information including: obtaining client-defined consolidated platform information for the computing platform from a client information source, the client-defined consolidated platform information defining one or more security-relevant subsystems that the client believes are present on the computing platform (Herrod, Paragraph 0109 recites “The system 400 includes a Settings Objects application module 410, a settings log 420, a Settings Objects verification module 440, platform and application subsystems 450, an automated security assessment module 470 and a security assessment log 490. In one implementation, modules 410, 440, 470 are executable code that might be deployed as part of a single or multiple Control Modules, depending on how the functionality is partitioned for deployment.” And Paragraph 0006 recites “Once mobile devices are up and running, MSP includes automated provisioning functionality to keep applications, device settings, operating systems and firmware on all mobile devices up to date with minimal effort or interaction from the end-user. Policy-based provisioning and over-the-air update capabilities can greatly reduce time and cost required to keep devices updated. Network administrators can keep devices updated by setting policies that define when mobile devices should upload their current status information (e.g., a complete inventory of all software on the device including applications as well as operating system information and device settings) to their associated relay server. Devices can be grouped by device type, type of user, operating system and location thereby providing the granular management capabilities needed to achieve maximum efficiency in the provisioning function.”).
As per claim 69, Herrod in combination with Patnaik teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 61, Herrod further teaches obtaining platform performance information concerning operation of the computing platform including: obtaining consolidated platform information to identify current security-relevant capabilities for the computing platform; determining comparative platform information that identifies security-relevant capabilities for a comparative platform; and generating comparison information that compares the current security-relevant capabilities of the computing platform to the comparative platform information of the comparative platform to identify a threat context indicator (Herrod, Paragraph 0111 recites “The set of Settings Objects 225-1 . . . 225-n having an expected overall device security rating (ODSR) 350, the particular security interaction template 320 and the overall security test cases 360 are generated using the systems and processing described above with respect to FIGS. 2 and 3, and are deployed to the device 120. It is assumed that the set of Settings Objects 225-1 . . . 225-n have an expected ODSR 350 that has been determined to be acceptable by the user of computer 130. The device 120 can use the SIT 320 to calculate an Actual ODSR based on the Settings Objects that are actually applied on the device 120. If the Actual ODSR is sent to the control server, it can be compared with the expected ODSR 350 to see how well actual security of the device 120 compares to the expected security.”).
As per claim 70, Herrod in combination with Patnaik teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 61, Herrod further teaches wherein the application performance information concerns operation and/or functionality of one or more software applications deployed within the computing platform (Herrod, Paragraph 0109 recites “The system 400 includes a Settings Objects application module 410, a settings log 420, a Settings Objects verification module 440, platform and application subsystems 450, an automated security assessment module 470 and a security assessment log 490. In one implementation, modules 410, 440, 470 are executable code that might be deployed as part of a single or multiple Control Modules, depending on how the functionality is partitioned for deployment.”).
Regarding claims 71 and 81, claims 71 and 81 are directed to a non-transitory readable medium and a system associated with the method of claim 61. Claims 71 and 81 are of similar scope to claim 61, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claims 73 and 83, claims 73 and 83 are directed to a non-transitory readable medium and a system associated with the method of claim 63. Claims 73 and 83 are of similar scope to claim 63, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claims 74 and 84, claims 74 and 84 are directed to a non-transitory readable medium and a system associated with the method of claim 64. Claims 74 and 84 are of similar scope to claim 64, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claims 75 and 85, claims 75 and 85 are directed to a non-transitory readable medium and a system associated with the method of claim 65. Claims 75 and 85 are of similar scope to claim 65, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claims 79 and 89, claims 79 and 89 are directed to a non-transitory readable medium and a system associated with the method of claim 69. Claims 79 and 89 are of similar scope to claim 69, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claims 80 and 90, claims 80 and 90 are directed to a non-transitory readable medium and a system associated with the method of claim 70. Claims 80 and 90 are of similar scope to claim 70, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 62, 66, 67, 72, 76, 77, 82, 86 and 87 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herrod (US 2010/0333168) and Patnail et al. (US 2017/0329701) and in further view of Kraft (US 2013/0191898).
As per claim 62, Herrod in combination with Patnaik teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 61 but fails to teach providing the holistic report to a third-party.
However, in an analogous art Kraft teaches providing the holistic report to a third-party (Kraft, Paragraph 0025 recites “As described below, a True Online Credential (TOC) may be generated, which may serve as a comprehensive report or body of data summarizing the information stored in first/second/third-party data sources and which may otherwise be available to others about the subject.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the earliest effective filing date to use Kraft’s Identity verification credential with continuous verification and intention-based authentication systems and methods with Herrod’s
Methods and apparatus for rating device security and automatically assessing security compliance because it offers the advantage of storing the report in a secure location.
As per claim 66, Herrod in combination with Patnaik teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 65, Herrod further teaches wherein obtaining platform performance information concerning operation of the computing platform includes:
obtaining the system-defined consolidated platform information for the computing platform from the independent information source; obtaining the client-defined consolidated platform information for the computing platform from the client information source (Herrod, Paragraph 0109 recites “The system 400 includes a Settings Objects application module 410, a settings log 420, a Settings Objects verification module 440, platform and application subsystems 450, an automated security assessment module 470 and a security assessment log 490. In one implementation, modules 410, 440, 470 are executable code that might be deployed as part of a single or multiple Control Modules, depending on how the functionality is partitioned for deployment.”).
But fails to teach presenting differential consolidated platform information for the computing platform to a third-party.
However, in an analogous art Kraft teaches presenting differential consolidated platform information for the computing platform to a third-party (Kraft, Paragraph 0025 recites “As described below, a True Online Credential (TOC) may be generated, which may serve as a comprehensive report or body of data summarizing the information stored in first/second/third-party data sources and which may otherwise be available to others about the subject.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the earliest effective filing date to use Kraft’s Identity verification credential with continuous verification and intention-based authentication systems and methods with Herrod’s
Methods and apparatus for rating device security and automatically assessing security compliance because it offers the advantage of storing the report in a secure location.
As per claim 67, Herrod in combination with Patnaik teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 61, Herrod further teaches obtaining platform performance information concerning operation of the computing platform including:
obtaining consolidated platform information for the computing platform to identify one or more deployed security-relevant subsystems; processing the consolidated platform information to identify one or more non-deployed security-relevant subsystems; generating a list of ranked & recommended security-relevant subsystems that ranks the one or more non-deployed security-relevant subsystems (Herrod, Paragraph 0109 recites “The system 400 includes a Settings Objects application module 410, a settings log 420, a Settings Objects verification module 440, platform and application subsystems 450, an automated security assessment module 470 and a security assessment log 490. In one implementation, modules 410, 440, 470 are executable code that might be deployed as part of a single or multiple Control Modules, depending on how the functionality is partitioned for deployment.”).
But fails to teach providing the list of ranked & recommended security-relevant subsystems to a third-party.
However, in an analogous art Kraft teaches providing the list of ranked & recommended security-relevant subsystems to a third-party (Kraft, Paragraph 0025 recites “As described below, a True Online Credential (TOC) may be generated, which may serve as a comprehensive report or body of data summarizing the information stored in first/second/third-party data sources and which may otherwise be available to others about the subject.”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the earliest effective filing date to use Kraft’s Identity verification credential with continuous verification and intention-based authentication systems and methods with Herrod’s
Methods and apparatus for rating device security and automatically assessing security compliance because it offers the advantage of storing the report in a secure location.
Regarding claims 72 and 82, claims 72 and 82 are directed to a non-transitory readable medium and a system associated with the method of claim 62. Claims 72 and 82 are of similar scope to claim 62, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claims 76 and 86, claims 76 and 86 are directed to a non-transitory readable medium and a system associated with the method of claim 66. Claims 76 and 86 are of similar scope to claim 66, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claims 77 and 87, claims 77 and 87 are directed to a non-transitory readable medium and a system associated with the method of claim 67. Claims 77 and 87 are of similar scope to claim 67, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RODERICK . TOLENTINO
Examiner
Art Unit 2439
/RODERICK TOLENTINO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439