DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-7, in the reply filed on 8/20/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-14 are pending with claims 8-14 being withdrawn from consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 3/18/2025 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
The listed Saudi Arabian Office Action has not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 5 does not appear to be supported by the disclosure. It is not clear what engagement points are and it is not clear how the number of such points is determined.
Claim 7 recites “an operating intensity”. The disclosure does not identify or define an operating intensity.
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “a number of engagement points” in line 1. This recitation is indefinite as it is not clear what engagement points are, where they are located, and how they function.
Claim 7 recites “an operating intensity”. This recitation is indefinite as it is not clear what an operating intensity is.
It should be noted that claims 5 and 7 are not currently rejected under art. However, this does not indicate allowable subject matter. Claims 5 and 7 cannot be properly examined until the claims are clear and the metes and bounds can be ascertained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MacDougall (US 20200173258).
Regarding claim 1: MacDougall discloses a stuck object retrieval method (abstr.; [0035]). MacDougall discloses conveying a downhole vibration tool 200 222 to a point of interest in a wellbore (Figs. 2, 3; [0041]). MacDougall discloses deploying an engagement system 234, 232 to anchor the downhole vibration tool and determine a position and orientation of the downhole vibration tool relative to the wellbore ([0031], [0036]). MacDougall discloses activating the downhole vibration tool, having at least one vibration module, according to a configuration and iteratively and repetitively ([0041]). MacDougall discloses measuring data using a sensor module, determining a position and an orientation change of the downhole vibration tool relative to the wellbore ([0031]). MacDougall discloses adjusting an operational parameter of the vibration module ([0041], [0042]), vibrating the downhole vibration tool continuously or in pulses ([0041]), exerting a pulling or pushing force through a wireline or a tractor section until the stuck object is freed ([0043]) and retrieving the stuck object engaged with the downhole vibration tool ([0044] – the examiner finds that “move” or “dislodge” would disclose “retrieving” as there is no specific limitation as to where the object is retried to).
Regarding claim 3: MacDougall discloses that the downhole vibration tool is conveyed downhole on the wireline ([0028]).
Regarding claim 4: MacDougall discloses that the position of interest for deploying the engagement system is predetermined based, at least in part, on a depth at a sticking point and a distance between the sticking point and a free end of the stuck object ([0007, [0031], [0034]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MacDougall (US 20200173258) in view of Li (US 20190301258).
MacDougall discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above.
Regarding claim 2: MacDougal does not explicitly disclose that the stuck object comprises a drill pipe. Li discloses that a drill pipe can become a stuck object and can be retrieved with a downhole retrieval tool ([0024]). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art and the benefit of the cited art to have configured the tool of MacDougal so as to retrieve a stuck drill pipe as taught by Li. As MacDougal and Li both disclose retrieving a stuck object and as Li explicitly teaches that drill pipes can become stuck and can be retrieved, it would have been within routine skill to have selected a specific retrieval device capable of retrieving a desired stuck object (i.e. a drill pipe) from a finite list of retrieval devices. Such a simple substitution/addition would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art and such a simple substitution/addition would have been predictable with a reasonable expectation for success and with no unexpected results.
Regarding claim 6: MacDougal, as modified by Li, discloses that engaging the stuck object comprises attaching a fishing attachment to a leading tractor section configured to engage the stuck object (Li - Fig. 1; [0033]).
Conclusion
/Taras P Bemko/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672
9/3/2025