DETAILED ACTION
The following is a first action on the merits of application serial no. 18/891265 filed 9/20/2024.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 9/20/24 has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the input shaft and output shaft as recited in claim 5; the spur gears and transmission belts as recited in claim 7; the bevel gears as recited in claim 9; load platform having a number of auxiliary load volumes equal to number of independent suspension pairs; and a plane supporting passengers near independent suspension with a lying width substantially equal to a width or extension of the auxiliary volume as recited in claim 12; must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
-Headings are missing from specification per MPEP 608.01 (i.e., Summary of Invention; Brief Description of Drawings; Background of the Invention; etc.).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
-“a transmission system, to set the hub of the wheel in rotation by means of said electric motor (structure)” in claim 5.
-said output shaft is connected to said hub and to said speed reducer by means of respective joining elements made in the form of constant-velocity joints (structure)” in claim 6.
-at least said input shaft and said reducer are provided with spur gears meshed to each other or create a motion transmission by means of transmission belts (structure)” in claim 7.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
-Claim 1, recites the phrase "in particular for" in line 1. This phrase renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
-Claim 1 recites the limitation "the wheel" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
-Claim 1 recites the limitation “said electric motor developing along its own development axis that is parallel to the rotation axis of the hub, wherein the electric motor develops towards the hub, or along its own development axis perpendicular to the rotation axis of the hub” in lines 5-8. Applicant seems to be attempting to recite an “alternative embodiment”; however, due to the claim reciting that the motor axis “S” is parallel to the rotation axis “R”, which isn’t recited as part of the alternative embodiment, it is unclear as to how the “S” axis can be “parallel” and “perpendicular” to the rotation axis “R”. Examiner is assuming that applicant meant to recite that the motor axis “S” is parallel to the rotation axis “R” or motor axis “S” is perpendicular to the rotation axis “R”. Please clarify or amend accordingly.
-Claims 1, 7 and 9 recite the term “development” when reciting the motor axis “S”, please clarify what this term is referring to (why is the term being used).
-Regarding claim 1, the phrase "for example (i.e.)" in line 11 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
-Regarding claim 4, the phrase "for example (i.e.)" in line 5 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
-Claim 8 recites the limitation “multiple-speed type”, the addition of the word “type” to an otherwise definite expression extends the scope of the expression so as to render it indefinite. See MPEP § 2173.05(b)(E).
-Claim 12 recites the limitation “with a lying width substantially equal to a width or extension of the auxiliary volume. It is unclear as to what the “lying width” is referring to and therefore, the term “substantially” is unclear based on the “general guidelines” for determining what the term covers in scope being unclear at this time, please clarify and/or amend accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Note: the use of the term “or” indicates that the limitations preceding or following the term doesn’t need to be met entirely and the recitations are in the form of “alternative” embodiments.
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bonera et al 20210309098. As to claim 1, Bonera discloses an independent suspension (1) for vehicles, in particular for transporting people and/or materials ([0003]), comprising: a hub (2) defining a rotation axis (R) of the wheel (3) of the vehicle; an electric motor (4), operatively connected to the hub (2) and configured to set said hub (2) in rotation, said electric motor (4) developing along its own development axis (S) that is parallel to the rotation axis (R) of the hub (as shown in Figures 3), wherein the electric motor (4) develops towards the hub (as shown in Figures 3), or along its own development axis (S) perpendicular to the rotation axis (R) of the hub (alternative embodiment not required to be met by Bonera due to term “or” as stated above); a multi-arm support element (12) operatively connected to the hub (2) and comprising a plurality of arms (12a, 12b), each arm of said plurality of arms being angularly adjustable with respect to said rotation axis of the wheel of the vehicle, i.e. with respect to a connection portion (10) connecting the multi-arm support element with the hub.
As to claim 2, wherein each arm (12) of the plurality of arms has a first end connected to said connection portion (via 11a, 11b) and a second end configured to make a connection to a vehicle chassis (via non referenced portions at ends of 12).
As to claim 3, wherein each arm of the plurality of arms has a first end defining an articulated connection with said connection portion ([0057]) and a second end defining an articulated connection with a vehicle chassis (via non referenced portions at ends of 12).
As to claim 4, wherein said multi-arm support element comprises at least one spring (14) or damper connected or connectable to an upper portion of said connection portion and a shock absorber ([0062]) angularly adjustable with respect to said rotation axis of the wheel i.e. with respect to said connection portion of said multi-arm support element.
As to claim 5, further comprising a transmission system (5), to set the hub (2) of the wheel (3) in rotation by means of said electric motor (4), comprising a speed reducer (6), an input shaft (7a) between the electric motor (4) and the speed reducer and an output shaft (7b) between the speed reducer and the hub.
As to claim 6, wherein said output shaft (7b) is connected to said hub (2) and to said speed reducer by means of respective joining elements (9) made in the form of constant-velocity joints.
As to claim 7, wherein, if said electric motor (4) develops along its own development axis (S) parallel to said rotation axis (R) of the hub (2), at least said input shaft (7a) and said reducer (6) are provided with spur gears meshed to each other or create a motion transmission by means of transmission belts ([0050]).
As to claim 8, wherein said transmission system (5) is of the single-speed or multiple-speed type ([0052]-[0053]).
As to claim 10, Bonera discloses a vehicle for transporting people and/or materials comprising an independent suspension (1) according to one or more of the preceding claims claim1 for each wheel (3) of the vehicle, said independent suspensions (1) coupled to each other having a corridor defining an auxiliary load volume having an extension ([0070]-[0072]).
As to claim 11, further comprising a load platform for loading luggage or other materials having a main load volume and a number of auxiliary load volumes equal to the number of independent suspension pairs present in the vehicle ([0070]-[0073]).
As to claim 12, further comprising a plane configured for supporting passengers that is provided, near said independent suspension (1), with a lying width substantially equal to a width or extension of the auxiliary volume ([0071]-[0078]).
As to claim 13, further comprising a tailgate for loading people and/or materials ([0073]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonera in view of Ruppert et al 5924504 (IDS cited art). As to claim 1, Bonera discloses an independent suspension (1) for vehicles, in particular for transporting people and/or materials ([0003]), comprising: a hub (2) defining a rotation axis (R) of the wheel (3) of the vehicle; an electric motor (4), operatively connected to the hub (2) and configured to set said hub (2) in rotation, said electric motor (4) developing along its own development axis (S) that is parallel to the rotation axis (R) of the hub (as shown in Figures 3), wherein the electric motor (4) develops towards the hub (as shown in Figures 3), a multi-arm support element (12) operatively connected to the hub (2) and comprising a plurality of arms (12a, 12b), each arm of said plurality of arms being angularly adjustable with respect to said rotation axis of the wheel of the vehicle, i.e. with respect to a connection portion (10) connecting the multi-arm support element with the hub. However, Bonera doesn’t disclose the alternative of the electric motor develop along its own development axis (S) perpendicular to the rotation axis (R) of the hub.
Ruppert discloses an independent suspension for vehicles having a hub (28) defining a rotation axis (26) of the wheel (as shown in Figures 1 and 2) of the vehicle; an electric motor (30), operatively connected to the hub and configured to set said hub in rotation, and shows that it is well known in the art to have the electric motor develop along its own development axis (32) perpendicular to the rotation axis (26) of the hub.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Bonera with the electric motor development axis perpendicular alternative in view of Ruppert to reduce the axial length of components within and/or near hub area enhancing compact design and improve torque distribution capabilities to wheel especially in challenging driving conditions.
As to claim 2, Bonera discloses wherein each arm (12) of the plurality of arms has a first end connected to said connection portion (via 11a, 11b) and a second end configured to make a connection to a vehicle chassis (via non referenced portions at ends of 12).
As to claim 3, Bonera discloses wherein each arm of the plurality of arms has a first end defining an articulated connection with said connection portion ([0057]) and a second end defining an articulated connection with a vehicle chassis (via non referenced portions at ends of 12).
As to claim 4, Bonera discloses wherein said multi-arm support element comprises at least one spring (14) or damper connected or connectable to an upper portion of said connection portion and a shock absorber ([0062]) angularly adjustable with respect to said rotation axis of the wheel i.e. with respect to said connection portion of said multi-arm support element.
As to claim 5, Bonera in view of Ruppert discloses further comprising a transmission system (5 in Bonera), to set the hub (2 in Bonera) of the wheel (3 in Bonera) in rotation by means of said electric motor (4 in Bonera and 30 in Ruppert), comprising a speed reducer (6 in Bonera and 34 in Ruppert), an input shaft (7a in Bonera and 42 in Ruppert) between the electric motor and the speed reducer and an output shaft (7b in Bonera and 24 in Ruppert) between the speed reducer and the hub.
As to claim 6, Bonera discloses wherein said output shaft (7b) is connected to said hub (2) and to said speed reducer by means of respective joining elements (9) made in the form of constant-velocity joints.
As to claim 7, Bonera discloses wherein, if said electric motor (4) develops along its own development axis (S) parallel to said rotation axis (R) of the hub (2), at least said input shaft (7a) and said reducer (6) are provided with spur gears meshed to each other or create a motion transmission by means of transmission belts ([0050]).
As to claim 8, Bonera discloses wherein said transmission system (5) is of the single-speed or multiple-speed type ([0052]-[0053]).
As to claim 9, Bonera in view of Ruppert discloses if said electric motor (30 in Ruppert) develops along its own development axis (32 in Ruppert) perpendicular to said rotation axis (26 in Ruppert) of the hub (28 in Ruppert), said input shaft (42 in Ruppert) and said speed reducer (34 in Ruppert) are provided with respective bevel gears (36, 38 in Ruppert) meshed to each other.
As to claim 10, Bonera discloses a vehicle for transporting people and/or materials comprising an independent suspension (1) according to one or more of the preceding claims claim1 for each wheel (3) of the vehicle, said independent suspensions (1) coupled to each other having a corridor defining an auxiliary load volume having an extension ([0070]-[0072]).
As to claim 11, Bonera discloses further comprising a load platform for loading luggage or other materials having a main load volume and a number of auxiliary load volumes equal to the number of independent suspension pairs present in the vehicle ([0070]-[0073]).
As to claim 12, Bonera discloses further comprising a plane configured for supporting passengers that is provided, near said independent suspension (1), with a lying width substantially equal to a width or extension of the auxiliary volume ([0071]-[0078]).
As to claim 13, Bonera discloses further comprising a tailgate for loading people and/or materials ([0073]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by DeCesari et al 20240270038 .
The applied reference has a common inventor and applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference (2/15/2023), it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
As to claim 1, DeCesari discloses an independent suspension (1) for vehicles, in particular for transporting people and/or materials ([0003]), comprising: a hub (2) defining a rotation axis (R) of the wheel (3) of the vehicle; an electric motor (4), operatively connected to the hub (2) and configured to set said hub (2) in rotation, said electric motor (4) developing along its own development axis (S) that is parallel to the rotation axis (R) of the hub (as shown in Figures 1), wherein the electric motor (4) develops towards the hub (as shown in Figures 1), or along its own development axis (S) perpendicular to the rotation axis (R) of the hub (as shown in Figure 4); a multi-arm support element (5) operatively connected to the hub (2) and comprising a plurality of arms (not referenced separately, arms on opposite sides of axis A), each arm of said plurality of arms being angularly adjustable with respect to said rotation axis of the wheel of the vehicle, i.e. with respect to a connection portion (5a) connecting the multi-arm support element with the hub.
As to claim 2, wherein each arm (5) of the plurality of arms has a first end connected to said connection portion and a second end configured to make a connection to a vehicle chassis (as shown in Figure 5).
As to claim 3, wherein each arm of the plurality of arms has a first end defining an articulated connection with said connection portion (via hinge point 5a) and a second end defining an articulated connection with a vehicle chassis (as shown in Figure 5).
As to claim 4, wherein said multi-arm support element comprises at least one spring (6) or damper (7) connected or connectable to an upper portion of said connection portion and a shock absorber ([0050]) angularly adjustable with respect to said rotation axis of the wheel i.e. with respect to said connection portion of said multi-arm support element.
As to claim 5, further comprising a transmission system (8), to set the hub (2) of the wheel (3) in rotation by means of said electric motor (4), comprising a speed reducer (9), an input shaft between the electric motor (4) and the speed reducer and an output shaft between the speed reducer and the hub ([0059]-[0060]).
As to claim 6, wherein said output shaft is connected to said hub (2) and to said speed reducer by means of respective joining elements made in the form of constant-velocity joints ([0059]-[0060]).
As to claim 7, wherein, if said electric motor (4) develops along its own development axis (S) parallel to said rotation axis (R) of the hub (2), at least said input shaft and said reducer are provided with spur gears meshed to each other or create a motion transmission by means of transmission belts ([0064]).
As to claim 8, wherein said transmission system (5) is of the single-speed or multiple-speed type ([0065]).
As to claim 9, if said electric motor develops along its own development axis perpendicular to said rotation axis of the hub (as shown in Figure 4), said input shaft and said speed reducer are provided with respective bevel gears meshed to each other ([0063], [0069]).
As to claim 10, DeCesari discloses a vehicle for transporting people and/or materials comprising an independent suspension (1) according to one or more of the preceding claims claim1 for each wheel (3) of the vehicle, said independent suspensions (1) coupled to each other having a corridor defining an auxiliary load volume having an extension ([0074]-[0081]).
As to claim 11, further comprising a load platform for loading luggage or other materials having a main load volume and a number of auxiliary load volumes equal to the number of independent suspension pairs present in the vehicle ([0080]).
As to claim 12, further comprising a plane configured for supporting passengers that is provided, near said independent suspension (1), with a lying width substantially equal to a width or extension of the auxiliary volume ([0081]).
As to claim 13, further comprising a tailgate for loading people and/or materials ([0082]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-The EPO office action has been considered and the examiner agrees that the prior art cited (EP 0931684 and Ruppert ‘504) does meet the limitations of at least claims 1-9.
-Kurbayashi 11584427 (Figures 1 and 2) and Shiino et al 7866434 (Figure 1) both show independent suspensions and also show that it is well known in the art to provide an electric motor axis perpendicular to a hub axis.
Tdl
/TISHA D LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619 June 11, 2026