DETAILED ACTION
1. This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 09/20/2024.
2 The IDS filed on 09/20/2024 is considered and entered into the application file.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments, see REMARKS, filed 07/27/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under Kong (2008/0309617) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Bianco et al (US 20110029420 A1).
Double Patenting
5. Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US Pat. No 11,740,775 .
The examiner highlighted the independent claims limitations of current invention that correspond to the claimed limitations of the above patents. Side by side comparisons reveals the current application claims are obvious variants of each patent claims.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they recite only obvious differences which would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention such as simply omitting/adding steps or elements along with their functions, and implementing a system and having a computer program for performing the method steps.
US App. No. 18/891,426
US Pat. No 11,740,775
1. (Currently Amended) A computer-implemented method for enabling communication between a user and a first entity, comprising:
receiving, via user interaction with a user interface of a client device, a selection of a distinct area within an image captured using the client device;
receiving, from the client device, (i) an indication of the selection, (ii) a set of technical capabilities of the client device indicating one or more available communication channels from a set of communication channels, and (iii) a geographic location of the client device;
responsive to receiving the indication, retrieving, by one or more processors, contact information indicating a plurality of contact methods for contacting a plurality of branches of the first entity represented by the image, wherein each branch of the plurality of branches of the first entity is located at a different geographic location;
identifying, by the one or more processors, a proximate branch of the plurality of branches of the first entity that is proximate to the geographic location of the client device;
determining, by the one or more processors, a first contact method for contacting the proximate branch based on the set of technical capabilities of the client device, the first contact method being one of the plurality of contact methods for contacting the plurality of branches of the first entity; and
causing, by the one or more processors, the client device to display an interface allowing the user to contact theproximate branch according to the first contact method.
2. (Original) The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
capturing, by the client device, the image including the distinct area;
detecting, by one or more processors, the distinct area within the image, including one or more detected features of the distinct area;
responsive to receiving the selection of the distinct area, comparing, by the one or more processors, the one or more detected features to one or more reference features corresponding to a reference image; and
determining, by the one or more processors, that the reference image matches the distinct area based on the comparing of the one or more detected features to the one or more reference features.
3. (Original) The computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the one or more detected features includes one or more first detected features and one or more second detected features that are different than one another, the reference image includes a plurality of stored reference images, and the computer-implemented method further comprises:
identifying, by the one or more processors, which of the plurality of stored reference images has one or more first reference features matching the one or more first detected features to provide a narrowed subset of the plurality of stored reference images; and
determining, by the one or more processors, that the reference image has one or more second reference features that match the one or more second detected features.
4. (Original) The computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein determining that the reference image matches the distinct area includes sequentially comparing the one or more detected features of the distinct area to the one or more reference features corresponding to each reference image from a plurality of stored reference images until it is determined that the one or more detected features of the detected distinct area match one or more reference features of the reference image.
5. (Original) The computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein determining that the reference image matches the distinct area includes simultaneously comparing the one or more detected features of the distinct area to the one or more reference features corresponding to each of two or more images, respectively, from a plurality of stored reference images.
6. (Original) The computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein determining that the reference image matches the distinct area includes comparing a detected color within the distinct area to a reference color within each reference image from a plurality of stored reference images.
7. (Original) The computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein determining that the reference image matches the distinct area includes comparing a detected edge within the distinct area to a reference edge within a reference image from a plurality of stored reference images.
8. (Original) The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein retrieving the contact information includes retrieving the contact information indicating a plurality of methods of contacting the first entity including the first contact method, and
wherein causing the client device to display the interface includes causing the client device to display the interface allowing the user to selectively contact the first entity according to one of the plurality of methods of contacting the first entity.
9. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, from the client device, a geographic location of the client device; and
determining, by the one or more processors, the first contact method for contacting the first entity based on the set of technical capabilities of the client device and the geographic location of the client device.
10. (Original) The computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the one or more detected features include one or more of: colors; shapes; a number of edges; texture; and image entropy.
11. (Currently Amended) A system for enabling communication between a user and a first entity, the system comprising:
one or more processors; and
one or more non-transitory memories coupled to the one or more processors,
wherein the one or more non-transitory memories include computer executable instructions configuring a client device such that, when executed by the one or more processors, the computer executable instructions cause the one or more processors to:
receive, via interaction with a user interface of the client device, a selection of a distinct area within an image captured using the client device,
receive (i) an indication of the selection, (ii) a set of technical capabilities of the client device indicating one or more available communication channels from a set of communication channels, and (iii) a geographic location of the client device,
responsive to receiving the indication, retrieve contact information indicating a plurality of contact methods for contacting a plurality of branches of the first entity represented by the image, wherein each branch of the plurality of branches of the first entity is located at a different geographic location,
identify a proximate branch of the plurality of branches of the first entity that is proximate to the geographic location of the client device,
determine a first contact method for contacting the proximate branch based on the set of technical capabilities of the client device, the first contact method being one of the plurality of contact methods for contacting the plurality of branches of the first entity, and
cause the client device to display an interface allowing the user to contact the proximate branch according to the first contact method.
12. (Original) The system of claim 11, wherein the computer executable instructions further cause the one or more processors to cause the one or more processors to:
capture an image including a distinct area;
detect the distinct area within the image, including one or more detected features of the distinct area;
responsive to receiving the selection of the distinct area, compare the one or more detected features to one or more reference features corresponding to a reference image; and
determine that the reference image matches the distinct area based on the comparing of the one or more detected features to the one or more reference features.
13. (Currently Amended) The system of claim 12, wherein the one or more detected features includes one or more first detected features and one or more second detected features that are different than one another, the reference image includes a plurality of stored reference images, and the computer executable instructions further cause the one or more processors to cause the one or more processors to:
identify which of the plurality of stored reference images has one or more first reference features matching the one or more first detected features to provide a narrowed subset of the plurality of stored reference images; and
determine that the reference image has one or more second reference features that match the one or more second detected features.
14. (Original) The system of claim 12, wherein the first entity is a business, the reference image depicts a logo of the business, and the computer executable instructions further cause the one or more processors to:
receive a geographic location of the client device.
15. (Currently Amended) The system of claim 14, wherein the contact information indicates a phone number of the proximate branch of the business, and
wherein the computer executable instructions further cause the one or more processors to cause the client device to display the interface allowing the user to contact the proximate branch of the business by displaying the interface allowing the user to call the phone number of the proximate branch of the business.
16. (Currently Amended) The system of claim 14, wherein the contact information indicates a website of the business, and
wherein the computer executable instructions further the one or more processors to cause the client device to display the interface allowing the user to contact the proximate branch of the business by displaying the interface allowing the user to visit the website of the business via a web browser application.
17. (Currently Amended) The system of claim 14, wherein the contact information indicates an email address of the proximate branch of the business, and
wherein the computer executable instructions further cause the one or more processors to cause the client device to display the interface allowing the user to contact the proximate branch by displaying the interface allowing the user to email the email address of the proximate branch.
18. (Original) The system of claim 11, wherein the computer executable instructions further cause the one or more processors to cause the client device to:
display the image to the user along with an indication of the distinct area within the image, and
receive the indication that the user has selected the distinct area within the image by receiving the indication that the user has selected the distinct area on the displayed image.
19. (Original) The system of claim 11, wherein the computer executable instructions further cause the one or more processors to cause the client device to:
display the interface allowing the user to selectively contact a proximate branch of the first entity by displaying one or more of the plurality of contact methods for contacting the proximate branch of the first entity.
20. (Original) The system of claim 12, wherein the one or more detected features include one or more of: colors; shapes; a number of edges; texture; and image entropy. 7
1. A computer-implemented method for enabling communication between a user and a first entity, comprising:
capturing, by a client device, an image including a distinct area; detecting, by one or more processors, the distinct area within the image, including one or more detected features of the distinct area that include at least a detected edge within the distinct area;
receiving, via interaction with a user interface of the client device, a selection of the distinct area from a user;
responsive to receiving the selection of the distinct area, comparing, by the one or more processors, the one or more detected features to one or more reference features corresponding to a reference image, the one or more reference features including a reference edge within the reference image;
determining, by the one or more processors, that the reference image matches the distinct area based on the comparison of the one or more detected features to the one or more reference features;
receiving, from the client device, (i) an indication of the selection, (ii) a geographic location of the client device, and (iii) a set of technical capabilities of the client device indicating one or more available communication channels from a set of communication channels;
responsive to receiving the indication, retrieving, by the one or more processors, contact information indicating a plurality of contact methods for contacting a plurality of branches of the first entity represented by the reference image, wherein each branch of the first entity is located at a different geographic location;
identifying, by the one or more processors, a proximate branch of the plurality of branches of the first entity that is proximate to the geographic location of the client device;
determining, by the one or more processors, a first contact method for contacting the proximate branch based on the set of technical capabilities of the client device, the first contact method being one of the plurality of contact methods for contacting the plurality of branches of the first entity; and
causing, by the one or more processors, the client device to display an interface allowing the user to contact the proximate branch according to the first contact method.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more features includes one or more first detected features and one or more second detected features that are different than one another, the reference image includes a plurality of stored reference images, and the method further comprises:
identifying, by the one or more processors, which of the plurality of stored reference images has one or more first reference features matching the one or more first detected features to provide a narrowed subset of the plurality of stored reference images; and
determining, by the one or more processors, that the reference image has one or more second reference features that match the one or more second detected features.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the act of determining whether the reference image matches the distinct area includes sequentially comparing the one or more detected features of the distinct area to the one or more reference features corresponding to each reference image from a plurality of stored reference images until it is determined that the one or more detected features of the detected distinct area match one or more reference features of the reference image.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the act of determining whether the reference image matches the distinct area includes simultaneously comparing the one or more detected features of the distinct area to the one or more reference features corresponding to each of two or more images, respectively, from a plurality of stored reference images.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the act of determining whether the reference image matches the distinct area includes comparing a detected color within the distinct area to a reference color within each reference image from a plurality of stored reference images.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the act of determining whether the reference image matches the distinct area includes comparing the detected edge within the distinct area to the reference edge within the reference image from a plurality of stored reference images.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the act of causing the client device to display the interface includes causing the client device to display the interface allowing the user to selectively contact the first entity according to one of the plurality of contact methods.
8. The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining, by the one or more processors, the first contact method for contacting the proximate branch based on the retrieved contact information and the property of the client device, wherein the property includes the geographic location of the client device.
9. The method of claim 1, further comprising: detecting, by the one or more processors executing a supervised learning algorithm trained to detect and compare distinct areas and features within images, the distinct area within the image, including the one or more detected features of the distinct area, wherein the one or more detected features include one or more of: colors; shapes; a number of edges; texture; and image entropy.
10. A system for enabling communication between a user and a first entity, the system comprising:
one or more processors; and
one or more non-transitory memories coupled to the one or more processors,
wherein the one or more non-transitory memories include computer executable instructions configuring a client device such that, when executed by the one or more processors, the computer executable instructions cause the one or more processors to:
receive, from the client device, an image including a distinct area captured by the client device, detect one or more features of the distinct area that include at least a detected edge within the distinct area,
receive an indication that a user has selected, via interaction with a user interface of the client device, the distinct area within the image,
responsive to receiving the indication, compare the one or more detected features to one or more reference features corresponding to a reference image, the one or more reference features including a reference edge within the reference image,
determine that the reference image matches the distinct area based on the comparison of the one or more detected features to the one or more reference features,
receive (i) a geographic location of the client device and (ii) a set of technical capabilities of the client device indicating one or more available communication channels from a set of communication channels,
responsive to receiving the indication, retrieve contact information indicating a plurality of contact methods for contacting a plurality of branches of the first entity represented by the reference image, wherein each branch of the plurality of branches of the first entity is located at a different geographic location, identify a proximate branch of the plurality of branches of the first entity that is proximate to the geographic location of the client device,
determine a first contact method for contacting the proximate branch based on the set of technical capabilities of the client device, the first contact method being one of the plurality of contact methods for contacting the plurality of branches of the first entity, and
display an interface allowing the user to contact the proximate branch according to the first contact method.
11. The system of claim 10, wherein the one or more features includes one or more first detected features and one or more second detected features that are different than one another, the reference image includes a plurality of stored reference images, and the computer executable instructions further cause the one or more processors to cause the client device to: identify which of the plurality of stored reference images has one or more first reference features matching the one or more first detected features to provide a narrowed subset of the plurality of stored reference images; and determine that the reference image has one or more second reference features that match the one or more second detected features.
12. The system of claim 11, wherein the reference image depicts a logo of the business.
13. The system of claim 11, wherein the contact information indicates a phone number of the proximate branch of the business, and wherein the computer executable instructions further cause the one or more processors to cause the client device to display the interface allowing the user to contact the proximate branch by displaying the interface allowing the user to call the phone number of the proximate branch.
14. The system of claim 11, wherein the contact information indicates the website of the business, and wherein the computer executable instructions further the one or more processors to cause the client device to display the interface allowing the user to contact the proximate branch by displaying the interface allowing the interface allowing the user to visit the website of the business via a web browser application.
15. The system of claim 11, wherein the contact information indicates an email address of the proximate branch of the business, and wherein the executable computer cause the one or more processors to cause the client device to display the interface allowing the user to contact the proximate branch by displaying the interface allowing the user to email the email address of the proximate branch.
16. The system of claim 10, wherein the interface includes a first user-customizable icon that is associated with the first entity and a second user-customizable icon that is associated with a second entity that is different from the first entity, the first entity is a first business, and the second entity is at least one of (i) an emergency contact, (ii) a family member of the user, or (iii) a second business that is different from the first business.
17. The system of claim 10, wherein the image depicts a website.
18. The system of claim 10, wherein the computer executable instructions further cause the one or more processors to cause the client device to: display the image to the user along with an indication of the distinct area within the image, and receive the indication that the user has selected the distinct area within the image by receiving the indication that the user has selected the distinct area on the displayed image.
19. The system of claim 10, wherein the computer executable instructions further cause the one or more processors to cause the client device to: display the interface allowing the user to selectively contact the proximate branch of the first entity by displaying one or more of the plurality of contact methods.
20. The system of claim 10, wherein the computer executable instructions further cause the one or more processors to cause the client device to: detect, by executing a supervised learning algorithm trained to detect and compare distinct areas and features within images, the distinct area within the image, including the one or more detected features of the distinct area, and wherein the one or more detected features include one or more of: colors; shapes; a number of edges; texture; and image entropy.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-5, 8-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong (2008/0309617) in view of Bianco et al (US 20110029420 A1).
Kong et al (“Kong”) is directed to Graphical Communication User Interface.
Bianco et al ( “Bianco”) provides systems and methods for a manager toolkit for human capital management.
As per claim 1, Kong discloses a computer-implemented method (flowchart of Fig. 2) for enabling communication between a user and a first entity ([0019] the contact images, and potentially a video feed between communication device 10 and a contact's device, may also serve as a graphical front end interface for other applications or input mechanisms, such as mutual access to text-related applications, such as a shared whiteboard or mutually editable documents, for example), comprising:
receiving, via user interaction with a user interface of a client device, a selection of a distinct area within an image captured using the client device (Kong, [0015] Contact images 19 may also be displayed in different modes to indicate information about the contacts. For example, some of the contact images 19 in FIG. 1, including contact images 19B, are highlighted or indicated in bold. This may represent, for example, that those contacts are currently available to communicate with. For example, it may indicate that those people currently have their cellphones on, or that those people currently have an "available" status selected on their cellphones, or that those people are currently logged on and active with an instant messenger account, for example. [0025] In this illustrative embodiment, communication device 10 again includes a touchscreen mechanism associated with monitor 11. In the configuration depicted, the user has touched one of the contact images 19 as depicted in FIG. 1, now appearing as lone contact image 49);
receiving, from the client device, (i) an indication of the selection and (ii) a set of technical capabilities of the client device indicating one or more available communication channels from a set of communication channels (Kong, [0013] User selection of one of category icons 17 may trigger the communication device 10 to display thumbnail contact images 19 of specific contacts belonging to the selected category. [0026] For example, in the case of the contact person associated with contact image 49, communication device 10 has a cellphone number, a home landline phone number, an office landline phone number, an email address, an instant messenger username, and a text message number, stored in association with the selected contact person, Fig. 4), and (III) a geographic location of the client device ).
Kong clearly describes communications between users but Kong falls short to mention communication between the user and another entity or branch office that is proximate to the client device. As a result Kong does not seem to teach the following limitations:
responsive to receiving the indication, retrieving, by one or more processors, contact information indicating a plurality of contact methods for contacting a plurality of branches of the first entity represented by the image, wherein each branch of the plurality of branches of the first entity is located at a different geographic location; identifying, by the one or more processors, a proximate branch of the plurality of branches of the first entity that is proximate to the geographic location of the client device; determining, by the one or more processors, a first contact method for contacting the proximate branch based on the set of technical capabilities of the client device, the first contact method being one of the plurality of contact methods for contacting the plurality of branches of the first entity; and causing, by the one or more processors, the client device to display an interface allowing the user to contact the proximate branch according to the first contact method.
Bianco, on the other hand, discloses the above limitations, that is, responsive to receiving the indication, retrieving, by one or more processors, contact information indicating a plurality of contact methods for contacting a plurality of branches of the first entity represented by the image, wherein each branch of the plurality of branches of the first entity is located at a different geographic location ([0140] The contact card view may also display a contact detail region 606, 622. The contact detail region may display a contact name with additional information about the contact. The contact detail region may include more information or detail than the contact displayed in the contact list region of the company roster view. For example, the contact detail region may include information, such as the contact's identification number, the contact's title, the contact's employment status, the type of salaried employee that the contact is, the contact's telephone numbers, the contact's address or location, the contact's email, an image of the contact 624 (e.g., a photo on records), access to a map 626, the distance of the contact from the selected location, a list of the contact's skills (which may or may not be correlated to pay rates), the contact's base location, the contact's department (branch, location, group, office, or center), or the contact's manager or superior with the manager or superior's contact information. [0141] The information provided in the contact detail region may also provide the user with access to more detail or to other views. For example, selecting the map access may provide a view of a map with location information about the selected contact. Or selecting the contact's email 628 may provide linked access that may open a window to email the contact);
Bianco further discloses causing, by the one or more processors, the client device to display an interface allowing the user to contact the proximate branch according to the first contact method ([0124] A selected location may be reflected in the contact summary, and/or contact list region. For example, the selected location may be displayed in the contact summary. Furthermore, the selected location may cause the contacts to include distances of each contact from the selected location. In some embodiments, the contacts may be sorted according to a criteria. For example, the contacts may be displayed in order, based on which contact is closest to the selected location. also see [0125, 0140]).
Bianco further discloses identifying, by the one or more processors, a proximate branch of the plurality of branches of the first entity that is proximate to the geographic location of the client device ([0130] The map may plot the selected location and surrounding areas. A map may also plot the location of contacts with the contact list after it has been filtered to meet one or more criteria. For example, if four contacts have the requisite skill set, the map may plot the location of each of the four contacts. The selected location in relation to the four contacts may also be plotted. In some embodiments, only a maximum number of contacts may be plotted. For example, if the contact list includes ten contacts, it may be determined that only the top five contacts are plotted. The top five contacts may be based on proximity, skills, or any other criteria that may rank the contacts);
Bianco further discloses determining, by the one or more processors, a first contact method for contacting the proximate branch based on the set of technical capabilities of the client device, the first contact method being one of the plurality of contact methods for contacting the plurality of branches of the first entity ([0140] The contact card view may also display a contact detail region 606, 622. The contact detail region may display a contact name with additional information about the contact. The contact detail region may include more information or detail than the contact displayed in the contact list region of the company roster view. For example, the contact detail region may include information, such as the contact's identification number, the contact's title, the contact's employment status, the type of salaried employee that the contact is, the contact's telephone numbers, the contact's address or location, the contact's email, an image of the contact 624 (e.g., a photo on records), access to a map 626, the distance of the contact from the selected location, a list of the contact's skills (which may or may not be correlated to pay rates), the contact's base location, the contact's department (branch, location, group, office, or center), or the contact's manager or superior with the manager or superior's contact information. [0141] The information provided in the contact detail region may also provide the user with access to more detail or to other views. For example, selecting the map access may provide a view of a map with location information about the selected contact. Or selecting the contact's email 628 may provide linked access that may open a window to email the contact);
causing, by the one or more processors, the client device to display an interface allowing the user to contact the proximate branch according to the first contact method ([0119] Selecting a contact category may cause the contact list to display only the contacts that match the contact category. For example, if the contact category is a skill, the contact list may only display employees with the selected skill. In another example, if the contact category is a location or location range, the contact list may only display employees that fall within the selected employee range. Other examples of contact categories may include a branch, department, group, seniority, employee pay scale, type of employee, etc. Any contact category may be provided which may enable a user to filter the contact list by selected categories. [0124] A selected location may be reflected in the contact summary, and/or contact list region. For example, the selected location may be displayed in the contact summary. Furthermore, the selected location may cause the contacts to include distances of each contact from the selected location. In some embodiments, the contacts may be sorted according to a criteria. For example, the contacts may be displayed in order, based on which contact is closest to the selected location).
Before the effective filling date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Bianco with Kong.
The suggestion /motivation for doing so would have been to provide a desired information to the user. For example Selecting a contact category may cause the contact list to display only the contacts that match the contact category. For example, if the contact category is a skill, the contact list may only display employees with the selected skill. In another example, if the contact category is a location or location range, the contact list may only display employees that fall within the selected employee range. Other examples of contact categories may include a branch, department, group, seniority, employee pay scale, type of employee, etc. Any contact category may be provided which may enable a user to filter the contact list by selected categories.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Bianco with Kong to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
As per claim 2, Kong in view of Bianco further discloses that the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
capturing, by the client device, the image including the distinct area (Kong, [0032] Such face recognition mechanisms may also be used for identifying a particular contact within an image that includes depictions of several different people, and mapping the coordinates of the portion of the image that coincides with the depiction of that particular contact person, as in FIG. 3. Face recognition mechanisms may also be used actively with images of the user of communication device 10 captured by the camera 13, and used for a user login or security mechanism, in an illustrative embodiment. See captured face 49, Fig. 4).
detecting, by one or more processors, the distinct area within the image, including one or more detected features of the distinct area (Kong, [0022] FIG. 3 depicts the same communication device 10 in a different mode of displaying contact images, indicated as 10B, where multiple contacts are depicted within image portions 39 within a single image 37. [0023] As in FIG. 1, image 37 may also indicate different image portions 39 depicting different contact people in different modes, depending on changing aspects of status related to those contact people. See detected faces in Fig. 1);
responsive to receiving the selection of the distinct area, comparing, by the one or more processors, the one or more detected features to one or more reference features corresponding to a reference image (Kong, [0032] face recognition mechanisms may also be used actively with images of the user of communication device 10 captured by the camera 13, and used for a user login or security mechanism, in an illustrative embodiment. A device with multiple user accounts may detect a new user accessing the device, apply a face recognition mechanism to images of the new user being recorded by camera 13, compare the parameters of the user's face as generated by the face recognition mechanism with previously stored face recognition parameters associated with different user accounts, and automatically log into the user account that matches the parameters, or prevent any user account from being accessed if the parameters do not correspond to any user account. The device may then default to a password login mode in an illustrative embodiment, for example); and
determining, by the one or more processors, that the reference image matches the distinct area based on the comparing of the one or more detected features to the one or more reference features (Kong, [0032] compare the parameters of the user's face as generated by the face recognition mechanism with previously stored face recognition parameters associated with different user accounts, and automatically log into the user account that matches the parameters, or prevent any user account from being accessed if the parameters do not correspond to any user account. The device may then default to a password login mode in an illustrative embodiment, for example. Also see claim 17).
As per claim 3, Kong in view of Bianco further discloses that the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the one or more detected features includes one or more first detected features and one or more second detected features that are different than one another, the reference image includes a plurality of stored reference images (Kong, [0032] Such face recognition mechanisms may also be used for identifying a particular contact within an image that includes depictions of several different people, and mapping the coordinates of the portion of the image that coincides with the depiction of that particular contact person, as in FIG. 3), and the computer-implemented method further comprises:
identifying, by the one or more processors, which of the plurality of stored reference images has one or more first reference features matching the one or more first detected features to provide a narrowed subset of the plurality of stored reference images (Kong, [0032] Such face recognition mechanisms may also be used for identifying a particular contact within an image that includes depictions of several different people, and mapping the coordinates of the portion of the image that coincides with the depiction of that particular contact person, as in FIG. 3); and
determining, by the one or more processors, that the reference image has one or more second reference features that match the one or more second detected features (Kong, [0032] Such face recognition mechanisms may also be used for identifying a particular contact within an image that includes depictions of several different people, and mapping the coordinates of the portion of the image that coincides with the depiction of that particular contact person, as in FIG. 3. Face recognition mechanisms may also be used actively with images of the user of communication device 10 captured by the camera 13, and used for a user login or security mechanism, in an illustrative embodiment. A device with multiple user accounts may detect a new user accessing the device, apply a face recognition mechanism to images of the new user being recorded by camera 13, compare the parameters of the user's face as generated by the face recognition mechanism with previously stored face recognition parameters associated with different user accounts).
As per claim 4, Kong in view of Bianco further discloses that the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein determining that the reference image matches the distinct area includes sequentially comparing the one or more detected features of the distinct area to the one or more reference features corresponding to each reference image from a plurality of stored reference images until it is determined that the one or more detected features of the detected distinct area match one or more reference features of the reference image (Kong, [0031] If one or more images of a particular contact are already stored on communication device 10, and a new image of the same contact is received by communication device 10, communication device 10 may run the machine learning face recognition classifier to automatically determine that the subject depicted in the new image correlates with, or has similar characteristics with, a subject already depicted in other images already stored on communication device 10. (Kong, [0032] Such face recognition mechanisms may also be used for identifying a particular contact within an image that includes depictions of several different people, and mapping the coordinates of the portion of the image that coincides with the depiction of that particular contact person, as in FIG. 3).
As per claim 5, Kong in view of Bianco further discloses that the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein determining that the reference image matches the distinct area includes simultaneously comparing the one or more detected features of the distinct area to the one or more reference features corresponding to each of two or more images, respectively, from a plurality of stored reference images (Kong, [0031] different components of the machine learning classifier may also be embodied as hardware elements on communication device 10, and/or may be stored on other resources that are accessible to communication device 10. If one or more images of a particular contact are already stored on communication device 10, and a new image of the same contact is received by communication device 10, communication device 10 may run the machine learning face recognition classifier to automatically determine that the subject depicted in the new image correlates with, or has similar characteristics with, a subject already depicted in other images already stored on communication device 10.
Kong further discloses applying a pattern recognition mechanism to an additional image, and matching the additional image to one of the contact information elements selected for being associated with an image indicated by the pattern recognition mechanism to correlate with the additional image. Also see claim 16).
As per claim 8, Kong in view of Bianco further discloses that the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein retrieving the contact information includes retrieving the contact information indicating a plurality of methods of contacting the first entity including the first contact method (Kong, [0026] For example, in the case of the contact person associated with contact image 49, communication device 10 has a cellphone number, a home landline phone number, an office landline phone number, an email address, an instant messenger username, and a text message number, stored in association with the selected contact person, also see Fig. 4); and
wherein causing the client device to display the interface includes causing the client device to display the interface allowing the user to selectively contact the first entity according to one of the plurality of methods of contacting the first entity (Kong, [0027] After the user selects one of the contact information element widgets, the communication device 10 opens the appropriate communication channel. For example, this may be a telephone call, accompanied by a two-way video feed, which is depicted in FIG. 5).
As per claim 9, Kong in view of Bianco further discloses that the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, from the client device, a geographic location of the client device (Kong, [0052] Mobile computing system 200 also includes network 220. Mobile computing device 201 is illustratively in wireless communication with network 220--which may be the Internet, a wide area network, or a local area network, for example--by sending and receiving electromagnetic signals 298 of a suitable protocol between communication interface 208 and wireless interface 222. Naturally, any number of computing devices in any locations may be in communicative connection with network 220. Computing device 201 is enabled to make use of executable instructions stored on the media of memory component 204, such as executable instructions that enable computing device 201 to receive a graphical user interface input selecting an image and opening a communication channel with a contact information element associated with the image, and other tasks, according to various illustrative embodiments); and
determining, by the one or more processors, the first contact method for contacting the first entity based on the set of technical capabilities of the client device and the geographic location of the client device (Kong, [0019] A phone call, instant message, or other communication channel may also include or be combined with video. In this case, camera 13 may record images of the user and transmit them over the communication channel together with the language input, while the other party to the phone call, instant message, or other communication channel may also have a camera that records images of that person, which are displayed on monitor 11).
As per claim 10, Kong in view of Bianco further discloses that the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the one or more detected features include one or more of: colors; shapes; a number of edges; texture; and image entropy (Kong, [0032] Such face recognition mechanisms may also be used for identifying a particular contact within an image that includes depictions of several different people, and mapping the coordinates of the portion of the image that coincides with the depiction of that particular contact person, as in FIG. 3. [0023] Many other modes of indicating aspects of status for contacts may also be used, such as depicting currently available contacts in full color, and currently unavailable contacts in black and white, or depicting available contacts with a flashing boundary, for example).
As per claim 11, , Kong in view of Bianco further discloses a system (see Kong, System of Figs. 6 and 7) for enabling communication between a user and a first entity (Kong, [0003] New devices, systems and methods are hereby provided that enable a user to open a communication channel by selecting an image on a monitor). The limitations recited in system claim 11 is substantially similar to that of method claim 1. Thus, claim 11 is rejected under similar citations given to method claim 1.
As per claim 12, the limitations recited in system claim 12 is substantially similar to that of method claim 2. Thus, claim 12 is rejected under similar citations given to method claim 2.
As per claim 13, the limitations recited in system claim 13 is substantially similar to that of method claim 3. Thus, claim 13 is rejected under similar citations given to method claim 3.
As per claim 14, Kong in view of Bianco further discloses that the system of claim 12, wherein the first entity is a business, the reference image depicts a logo of the business, and the computer executable instructions further cause the one or more processors to: receive a geographic location of the client device (Bianco, [0132] FIG. 5B shows an example of a company roster page. As discussed previously, an entity logo 532 may be provided, which may overlay the company roster page and any other pages of the manager toolkit. In some embodiments, the logo may appear identical in every toolkit page. In other embodiments, the logo may be smaller or reduced for various pages. For example, the cover page may have a full-sized logo, while subsequent pages may have smaller logos. [0208] For example, if the user is a manager at a particular location, only information relating to that particular location may be displayed. In some embodiments, a location selection from another page, such as a company roster page or resource map page may carry over the timescape view. Also see geographic location of the client device in a map in Fig. 7B-7C).
As per claim 15, Kong in view of Bianco further discloses that the system of claim 14, wherein the contact information indicates a phone number of the proximate branch of the business, and wherein the computer executable instructions further cause the one or more processors to cause the client device to display the interface allowing the user to contact the proximate branch of the business by displaying the interface allowing the user to call the phone number of the proximate branch of the business (Bianco, [0140] For example, the contact detail region may include information, such as the contact's identification number, the contact's title, the contact's employment status, the type of salaried employee that the contact is, the contact's telephone numbers, the contact's address or location, the contact's email, an image of the contact 624 (e.g., a photo on records)). [0143] For example, the contact card view may also display a contact summary 608, 630. In some embodiments, the contact summary for the contact card view may display the same content as the contact summary for the company roster view).
As per claim 18, Kong in view of Bianco further discloses that the system of claim 11, wherein the computer executable instructions further cause the one or more processors to cause the client device to:
display the image to the user along with an indication of the distinct area within the image (Kong, [0020] While FIG. 1 depicts category icons 17 used to sort contact people by category, in other embodiments, the contact images may be sorted in other modes. For example, they may be sorted in alphabetical order of the names associated with the images), and
receive the indication that the user has selected the distinct area within the image by receiving the indication that the user has selected the distinct area on the displayed image (Kong, [0014] Communication device 10 is configured to respond to a user selection of one of thumbnail contact images 19 by opening a communication channel to the contact person depicted in other otherwise indicated by the selected image. Communication device 10 is configured to do this in part by having a stored contact information element associated with each of the images).
As per claim 19, Kong in view of Bianco further discloses that the system of claim 11, wherein the computer executable instructions further cause the one or more processors to cause the client device to:
display the interface allowing the user to selectively contact a proximate branch of the first entity by displaying one or more of the plurality of contact methods for contacting the proximate branch of the first entity (Kong, [0013] Category icons 17 represent different groups of contacts who have been sorted by how the user knows them. An office building to represent contacts who are professional colleagues and acquaintances, in this illustrative embodiment. [0026] communication channel icon 43, for calling the contact's office landline phone; communication channel icon 44, for composing an email addressed to the contact; communication channel icon 45, for sending the contact's username an instant message; and communication channel icon 46, for sending a text message to the contact).
As per claim 20, Kong in view of Bianco further discloses that the system of claim 12, wherein the one or more detected features include one or more of: colors; shapes; a number of edges; texture; and image entropy (Kong, [0032] Such face recognition mechanisms may also be used for identifying a particular contact within an image that includes depictions of several different people, and mapping the coordinates of the portion of the image that coincides with the depiction of that particular contact person, as in FIG. 3. [0023] Many other modes of indicating aspects of status for contacts may also be used, such as depicting currently available contacts in full color, and currently unavailable contacts in black and white, or depicting available contacts with a flashing boundary, for example).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong in view of Bianco and Thorn (US 2012/0163677 A1).
As per claim 6, as shown in Fig. 1 although Kong in view of Bianco discloses images of contact pictures of each individuals but no color image is mentioned. That is, Kong fail to teach determining that the reference image matches the distinct area includes comparing a detected color within the distinct area to a reference color within each reference image from a plurality of stored reference images.
Thorn, on the other hand, discloses [0074] Person identifier 430 may also store image information associated with Bill in database 440 (act 630). For example, person identifier 430 may store an image of Bill's face that is displayed on, for example, display 230 of communication device 110 during the video call with Bill. Alternatively, person identifier 430 may generate image related information associated with Bill's face that may be used to later identify Bill. This image related information may be characteristic information associated with Bill's face, such as distances between various facial features (e.g., eyes, nose, mouth, etc.), the size of various facial features (e.g., eyes, nose, mouth, face), eye color, skin color, etc.
Before effective filling date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Thorn with Kong in view of Bianco so that an image of a person would be easily identified by comparing the color of the contact with previously stored image.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teaching of Thorn with Kong in view of Bianco to obtain the invention as specified in claim 6.
As per claim 7, although Kong in view of Bianco discloses images of contact pictures of each individuals but no edge of the image is mentioned. That is, Kong in view of Bianco fails to teach comparing a detected edge within the distinct area to a reference edge within a reference image from a plurality of stored reference images.
Thorn on the other hand discloses [0089] Matching logic 450 may then tag the picture with information identifying that Jane and Bill are in the picture (act 740). This tag information may include the names Jane and Bill and may be stored with the picture. Person identifier 430 may then insert the tag (e.g., names of the parties in the picture) in the correct position in the picture, such as above the particular person. In such a case, person identifier 430 may, for example, detect edges or sides of the person's face and determine coordinates in the picture of these edges/sides of the face to ensure that the tag does not obscure the person's face in the picture.
Before effective filling date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Thorn with Kong in view of Bianco so that an image of a person would be easily identified by comparing the edge of the contact with previously stored image.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teaching of Thorn with Kong in view of Bianco to obtain the invention as specified in claim 7.
8. Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong in in view of Bianco and further in view of Shroff et al ( US 20090164589 A1).
As per claim 16, Kong in view of Bianco does not seem to clearly disclose that the system of claim 14, wherein the contact information indicates a website of the business.
Shroff, on the other hand, discloses the contact information indicates a website of the business ([0053] The personal electronic card may include one or more of personal contact information, photo image, company logo, website address, email address, and number of links the user is away from another user, number of common linkers, checkbox, actions drop down menu and online status icon. also see Figs. 5a-5D).
Shroff further discloses that wherein the computer executable instructions further the one or more processors to cause the client device to display the interface allowing the user to contact a proximate branch of the business by displaying the interface allowing the user to visit the website of the business via a web browser application ([0006] The user is provided with options to perform the step of exchanging, deleting, forwarding, messaging, inviting, and participating in online meetings with one or more users in the online networking environment using the personal electronic card. In short, the personal electronic card displays personal information and company electronic card displays company information. The user exchanges the virtual electronic cards with one or more of the plurality of users and forms a global business network in the online networking environment. [0053] The personal electronic card may include one or more of personal contact information, photo image, company logo, website address, email address, and number of links the user is away from another user, number of common linkers, checkbox, actions drop down menu and online status icon. Also see Shroff, [0040]).
Before effective filling date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Shroff with the system of Kong in view of Bianco so that at least combined teaching would be able to establish a personal contact network of the user in the online networking environment by exchanging personal electronic cards between the user and said plurality of users. Furthermore the card (interface) allows the user to contact any business listed on the card, that is allowing the user to visit the business website.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teaching of Shroff with Kong in view of Bianco to obtain the invention as specified in claim 16.
As per claim 17, Kong in view of Bianco and further in view of Shroff discloses that the system of claim 14, wherein the contact information indicates an email address of a proximate branch of the business, and wherein the computer executable instructions further cause the one or more processors to cause the client device to display the interface allowing the user to contact the proximate branch by displaying the interface allowing the user to email the email address of the proximate branch (Shroff, [0040] The personal electronic cards may display one or more of a name of the user, a photograph of the user, logo of the company, indicator to show online presence of the user, company name, email address, contact information, degrees of separation between the user and the plurality of users 210, number of common linkers that are of a predefined number of degrees away from the user in the personal contact network, company website address, an action drop down menu, and a checkbox).
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TADESSE HAILU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174