DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
Claims 1-21, filed 09/20/2024, are currently pending and are under examination.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the “communication unit” in claim 21. The communication unit is being understood as any wired or wireless communication module, as explained in par. [0086] of the published application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite a method and server for monitoring diseases of a user. To determine whether a claim satisfies the criteria for subject matter eligibility, the claim is evaluated according to a stepwise process as described in MPEP 2106(III) and 2106.03-2106.04. The instant claims are evaluated according to such analysis.
Step 1: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Claims 1 and 11 are directed towards a method, and claim 21 is directed towards a server, and thus meets the requirements for step 1.
Step 2A (Prong 1): Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Claims 1, 11, and 21 recite a method and server for monitoring diseases of a user based on heart rate information, comprising obtaining type information of a wearable device and heart rate information, generating disease monitoring information, generating standardized heart rate information, generating disease monitoring information using the standardized heart rate information, and outputting the disease monitoring information. The limitation of a method and server for monitoring diseases of a user based on heart rate information as drafted in claims 1, 11, and 21, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, but for the recitation of a wearable device, communication unit, storage, a controller, and a processor.
For example, monitoring diseases of a user in the context of this claim encompasses a human obtaining type information of a wearable device and heart rate information, generating disease monitoring information, generating standardized heart rate information, generating disease monitoring information using the standardized heart rate information, and outputting the disease monitoring information. Nothing in the elements of the claim precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind or using generic computing components.
Step 2A (Prong 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
The additional elements of a wearable device, communication unit, storage, a controller, and a processor are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as generic computer components to acquire, process, analyze, and display data; See MPEP 2106.05(h)) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. The wearable device provides generic structure for the insignificant, extra-solution activity of data gathering.
Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C).
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
The additional elements when considered individually and in combination are not enough to qualify as significantly more than the abstract idea. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of a wearable device, communication unit, storage, a controller, and a processor amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Furthermore, the additional elements do not amount to more than generically linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (see MPEP 2106.05(h)). Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
Claims 2-10 and 12-20 depend on claims 1 and 11 and recite the same abstract idea as claims 1 and 11 from which they depend. Further, these claims only contain recitations that further limit the abstract idea (that is, the claims only recite limitations that further limit the mental process). For example, the additional limitations recited in claims 2-10 and 12-20 (i.e. providing additional details about the data analysis performed) is further describing the data analysis performed. The additional elements individually do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception explained above (the abstract idea). Looking at the limitations as a whole adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves any technology or includes a particular solution to a computer-based problem or a particular way to achieve a computer-based outcome. Rather, the collective functions of the claimed invention merely provides a conventional computer implementation, i.e. the computer (processor) is simply a tool to perform the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 10, 11, 16, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Capodilupo et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0079530), hereinafter Capodilupo, further in view of Park (US Patent Application Publication 2014/0243154).
Regarding claim 1, Capodilupo discloses a method of monitoring diseases of a user on the basis of heart rate information obtained by a wearable device (e.g. Abstract), the method comprising: obtaining the heart rate information (e.g. Par. [0028]: monitoring heart rate); generating disease monitoring information using the heart rate information through a disease monitoring module (e.g. Par. [0075]: sensing conditions related to heart rate); generating heart rate information using the heart rate information through a heart rate information module and generating the disease monitoring information using the heart rate information through the disease monitoring module (e.g. Par. [0028]; Par. [0075]); and outputting the disease monitoring information (e.g. Par. [0029]: device includes a display).
However, Capodilupo fails to specifically disclose obtaining type information of the wearable device and generating standardized heart rate information. Park is directed towards exercise equipment. Park discloses obtaining type information of the device and generating a standardized heart rate information (e.g. Par. [0024]: heart beat measuring signals; Par. [0079]: model number of the device is used; Par. [0081]: heartbeat parameter standardizes).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Capodilupo to include obtaining the type information and generating standardized heart rate information as taught by Park because doing so would allow calibration of the data for clearer data analysis.
Regarding claim 11, Capodilupo discloses a method of monitoring diseases of a user on the basis of heart rate information obtained by a wearable device (e.g. Abstract), the method comprising: obtaining the heart rate information (e.g. Par. [0028]: monitoring heart rate); generating heart rate information using the heart rate information through a heart rate information module (e.g. Par. [0028]; Par. [0075]); generating disease monitoring information using the heart rate information through a disease monitoring module (e.g. Par. [0075]: sensing conditions related to heart rate); and outputting the disease monitoring information (e.g. Par. [0029]: device includes a display).
However, Capodilupo fails to specifically disclose obtaining type information of the wearable device and generating standardized heart rate information. Park is directed towards exercise equipment. Park discloses obtaining type information of the device and generating a standardized heart rate information (e.g. Par. [0024]: heart beat measuring signals; Par. [0079]: model number of the device is used; Par. [0081]: heartbeat parameter standardized).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Capodilupo to include obtaining the type information and generating standardized heart rate information as taught by Park because doing so would allow calibration of the data for clearer data analysis.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Capodilupo further discloses wherein the heart rate information includes a plurality of heart rates corresponding to different points in time (e.g. Par. [0081]: heart rate data is time series). However, However, Capodilupo fails to specifically disclose generating standardized heart rate information. Park is directed towards exercise equipment. Park discloses generating a standardized heart rate information (e.g. Par. [0024]: heart beat measuring signals; Par. [0081]: heartbeat parameter standardized).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Capodilupo in view of Park to include generating standardized heart rate information as taught by Park because doing so would allow calibration of the data for clearer data analysis.
Regarding claim 10, Capodilupo further discloses using a sleep model or a non-sleep model, the heart rate information is generated using heart rate information obtained in sleep and the sleep model when the heart rate information is the heart rate information obtained in sleep (e.g. Par. [0043]; Fig. 6: steps 602, 604, and 606; Par. [0107]; Par. [0112]), and the heart rate information is generated using heart rate information obtained in non-sleep and the non-sleep model when the heart rate information is the heart rate information obtained in non-sleep (e.g. Fig. 5: step 502; Par. [0103]).
However, However, Capodilupo fails to specifically disclose generating standardized heart rate information. Park is directed towards exercise equipment. Park discloses generating a standardized heart rate information (e.g. Par. [0024]: heart beat measuring signals; Par. [0081]: heartbeat parameter standardized).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Capodilupo in view of Park to include generating standardized heart rate information as taught by Park because doing so would allow calibration of the data for clearer data analysis.
Regarding claim 20, Capodilupo further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium that stores one or more instructions, wherein when the one or more instructions are executed by one or more processors of a device/server, the one or more instructions make the device/server perform the method of claim 1 (e.g. Par. [0034]).
Regarding claim 21, Capodilupo discloses a server for monitoring diseases of a user on the basis of heart rate information obtained by a wearable device (e.g. Abstract), the server comprising: a communication unit (e.g. Par. [0031]); a storage configured to store one or more instructions (e.g. Par. [0034]); and a controller configured to execute the one or more instructions stored in the storage, wherein the controller executes the one or more instructions (e.g. Par. [0034]), thereby obtaining the heart rate information (e.g. Par. [0028]: monitoring heart rate); generating disease monitoring information using the heart rate information through a disease monitoring module (e.g. Par. [0075]: sensing conditions related to heart rate); generating heart rate information using the heart rate information through a heart rate information module and generating the disease monitoring information using the heart rate information through the disease monitoring module (e.g. Par. [0028]; Par. [0075]); and outputting the disease monitoring information (e.g. Par. [0029]: device includes a display).
However, Capodilupo fails to specifically disclose obtaining type information of the wearable device and generating standardized heart rate information. Park is directed towards exercise equipment. Park discloses obtaining type information of the device and generating a standardized heart rate information (e.g. Par. [0024]: heart beat measuring signals; Par. [0079]: model number of the device is used; Par. [0081]: heartbeat parameter standardizes).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Capodilupo to include obtaining the type information and generating standardized heart rate information as taught by Park because doing so would allow calibration of the data for clearer data analysis.
Claims 2-5, 7-9, 12-15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Capodilupo et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0079530), hereinafter Capodilupo, further in view of Park (US Patent Application Publication 2014/0243154), as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Saripalli et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0337648), hereinafter Saripalli.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Capodilupo further discloses the training heart rate information is heart rate information obtained by a wearable device for a first time (e.g. Par. [0028]: monitoring heart rate; Par. [0190]: training the machine learning model). However, Capodilupo fails to disclose the heart rate information standardization model is a model trained using training heart rate information and reference heart rate information corresponding to the training heart rate information.
Saripalli, in a similar field of endeavor, is directed towards medical data processing. Saripalli discloses a model trained using training heart rate information and reference heart rate information corresponding to the training heart rate information (e.g. Pars. [0164], [0168], [0174]: one or more models are used and trained on time series medical data such as heart rate).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Capodilupo in view of Park to include the trained models as taught by Saripalli because doing so would result in accurate data analysis.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Capodilupo fails to disclose wherein the disease monitoring module is implemented using a first disease monitoring model, the generating of the disease monitoring information using the heart rate information includes generating the disease monitoring information by inputting the heart rate information into the first disease monitoring model, and the generating of the disease monitoring information using the standardized heart rate information includes generating the disease monitoring information by inputting the standardized heart rate information into the first disease monitoring model.
Saripalli, in a similar field of endeavor, is directed towards medical data processing. Saripalli discloses wherein the disease monitoring module is implemented using a first disease monitoring model, the generating of the disease monitoring information using the heart rate information includes generating the disease monitoring information by inputting the heart rate information into the first disease monitoring model, and the generating of the disease monitoring information using the standardized heart rate information includes generating the disease monitoring information by inputting the standardized heart rate information into the first disease monitoring model (e.g. Pars. [0164], [0168], [0174]: one or more models are used and trained on time series medical data such as heart rate).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Capodilupo in view of Park to include the multiple trained models as taught by Saripalli because doing so would result in accurate data analysis.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Capodilupo further discloses wherein the disease monitoring module is implemented using a disease monitoring model (e.g. Par. [0075]), the generating of the disease monitoring information using the heart rate information includes: generating a first rest period heart rate from the heart rate information (e.g. Par. [0081]: resting heart rate); generating a second rest period heart rate from the heart rate information (e.g. Par. [0081]: resting heart rate). However, Capodilupo fails to disclose generating the disease monitoring information by inputting the first and second rest period heart rate into the second disease monitoring model.
Saripalli, in a similar field of endeavor, is directed towards medical data processing. Saripalli discloses generating the disease monitoring information by inputting the first and second heart rate into a disease monitoring model (e.g. Pars. [0164], [0168], [0174]: one or more models are used and trained on time series medical data such as heart rate; Par. [0169]: models are used to determine events).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Capodilupo in view of Park to include generating the disease monitoring information by inputting the first and second heart rate into a disease monitoring model as taught by Saripalli because doing so would result in the detection of medical events.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Capodilupo further discloses wherein the disease monitoring module is implemented further using a rest period heart rate generation model, and the first rest period heart rate and the second rest period heart rate are generated by inputting the heart rate information and the standardized heart rate information into the rest period heart rate generation model, respectively (e.g. Par. [0081]: resting heart rate is determined).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Capodilupo fails to disclose generating one or more heart rate missing value from the plurality of heart rates, thereby generating missing value estimation heart rate information including the plurality of heart rates and the heart rate missing value, wherein the standardized heart rate information is generated through the heart rate information standardization module using the missing value estimation heart rate information. Saripalli, in a similar field of endeavor, is directed towards medical data processing. Saripalli discloses extrapolating data to complete medical records (e.g. Par. [0034]: acquired medical data can be extrapolated to complete the data).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Capodilupo in view of Park to include generating the disease monitoring information by inputting the first and second heart rate into a disease monitoring model as taught by Saripalli because doing so would result in a complete data ser that can be used in the detection of medical events.
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Capodilupo wherein the heart rate information standardization module is implemented using a heart rate information standardization model, and the standardized heart rate information is generated by inputting the heart rate information into the heart rate information standardization model. Saripalli, in a similar field of endeavor, is directed towards medical data processing. Saripalli discloses wherein the heart rate information standardization module is implemented using a heart rate information standardization model, and the standardized heart rate information is generated by inputting the heart rate information into the heart rate information standardization model (e.g. Pars. [0164], [0168], [0174]: one or more models are used and trained on time series medical data such as heart rate).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Capodilupo in view of Park to include wherein the heart rate information standardization module is implemented using a heart rate information standardization model, and the standardized heart rate information is generated by inputting the heart rate information into the heart rate information standardization model as taught by Saripalli because doing so would result in accurate data analysis.
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Capodilupo in view of Park further discloses obtaining type information of the device and generating standardized heart rate information (e.g. Park, Par. [0024]: heart beat measuring signals; Par. [0079]: model number of the device is used; Par. [0081]: heartbeat parameter standardized). However, Capodilupo in view of Park fails to specifically disclose wherein the heart rate information standardization module is implemented using a first type model and a second type model, the standardized heart rate information is generated using the heart rate information and the first type model when the type information corresponds to a first type that is not the reference type, and the standardized heart rate information is generated using the heart rate information and the second type model when the type information corresponds to a second type that is not the reference type.
Saripalli, in a similar field of endeavor, is directed towards medical data processing. Saripalli discloses using multiple models to generate standardized heart rate information (e.g. Pars. [0164], [0168], [0174]: one or more models are used and trained on time series medical data such as heart rate).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Capodilupo in view of Park to include the multiple models as taught by Saripalli because doing so would result in accurate data analysis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Eldardiry et al. (US 2017/0049374) is directed towards remote patient monitoring.
Lee (US 2020/0005944) is directed towards a health information prediction device.
Zhang et al. (US 2019/0178980) is directed towards vital signs monitoring.
/SHREYA ANJARIA/Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/ALLEN PORTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796