DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II, Figs. 101 and 102 in the reply filed on 05/11/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-6, 8, 11, 14, 16-20 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to the nonelected species I, III, IV and VIII there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Specifically, claims 1-6 and 11 are drawn to species IV, Fig. 104. Claim 8, drawn to species III, Fig. 103. Claim 14 is drawn to species VIII, Figs. 108A and 108B. Claim 8, drawn to species III, Fig. 103. Claims 16-20 are drawn to species VII, Figs. 107A-107B and species VIII, Figs. 108A-08B. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/1/2026.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: paragraph [0277], line 6, before “connector 783”, “inlet” should be changed to --line--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 9-10, 12-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuo (5,673,439) in view of Boodaghian et al. (2015/0188171).
Kuo discloses a toilet comprising: a toilet tank 11; a toilet bow 10; a flow bead container 1; an inlet line 13 configured to connect a water supply to the flow bead container 1; and at least one outlet line 12 configured to connect the flow bead container 1 to transfer water altered by a solid detergent or tablet 60 out of the flow bead container. Kuo does not teach the flow bead container including a plurality of template assisted crystallization (TAC) beads. Attention is directed to Boodaghian et al. which teaches a water treating system comprising a water treatment unit 325 utilizing Template Assisted Crystallization (TAC) beads for treating the water before sending to flush toilets ([0029]) to prevent formation of deposits and scales. Burt teaches a sanitary/cleaning device for a toilet comprising a container having a plurality of beads 40 of chemical agents or compositions (Fig. 5, [0032]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to employ Template Assist Crystallization (TAC) bead with Kuo bead container in views of the teaching of Boodaghian et al. and Burt for preventing formation of deposits and scales on a toilet.
Regarding claim 9, the flow beads taught by Boodaghian et al. are configured to change minerals in the water from ionic form to crystalline form.
Regarding claim 10, the flow beads are configured to attach to urine scale.
Regarding claim 12, he flow bead container 1 is external to the toilet tank 11.
Regarding claim 13, the flow bead container 1 is connected to a water supply for the toilet tank 11.
Regarding claim 15, the toilet comprises: a cover or the flow bead container 1 configured to provide access to remove the TAC beads from the flow bead container 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Saylor et al. and Mercer teach a toilet sanitary device comprising a chemical container, an inlet connected to a water supply and an outlet connected to a toilet bowl.
HUYEN D. LE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3754
/HUYEN D LE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754