DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
1. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/21/2026 and is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. According, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Status of Claims
2. This Office Action is in response to Amendment filed on date: 7/07/2026.
Claims 1-16 are currently pending.
Claims 1 and 11 have been amended.
Claims 13-16 are newly added.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments in the submitted Remarks, filed on 7/07/2026, with respect to the rejection on claims 1-12 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claim 13-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Regarding claim 13, it appears to be a hindsight attempted to overcome the previous rejection by introduction of a new language, i.e., at least a portion of the detection device is inserted into the rotating member, however, nowhere in the original disclosure has sufficiently suggested, at least a portion of the detection device is inserted into the rotating member. The disclosure, in fact, is totally silent on the detection device which is inserted into the rotating member. This limitation adds new matter to the disclosure. Paragraphs [0248-249] (publication version US2025/0012605) and Fig. 19B disclose: the displacement detection device 10K includes the first fixed member 16D, the bearing 164, the magnet 170, the rotating member 14D, and the detection device 18K. The detection device 18K is disposed on the first fixed member 16D, and the magnet 170 is disposed on the rotating member 14D. Therefore, it appears that the detection device is fixed on the fixed member, so that detects the rotation angle (amount of rotation) of the magnet which is fixed on the rotating member.
The examiner respectfully requests the applicant to point out a portion of the original disclosure contains a clear and concise language that supports for the amended claim limitation “at least a portion of the detection device is inserted into the rotating member”.
Regarding claim 14, it appears to be a hindsight attempted to overcome the previous rejection by introduction of a new language, i.e., at least a portion of the detection device is inserted into the rotating member along the central axis of the coil spring, however, nowhere in the original disclosure has sufficiently suggested, at least a portion of the detection device is inserted into the rotating member. The disclosure, in fact, is totally silent on the detection device which is inserted into the rotating member. This limitation adds new matter to the disclosure. Paragraphs [0248-249] (publication version US2025/0012605) and Fig. 19B disclose: the displacement detection device 10K includes the first fixed member 16D, the bearing 164, the magnet 170, the rotating member 14D, and the detection device 18K. The detection device 18K is disposed on the first fixed member 16D, and the magnet 170 is disposed on the rotating member 14D. Therefore, it appears that the detection device is fixed on the fixed member, so that detects the rotation angle (amount of rotation) of the magnet which is fixed on the rotating member. The examiner respectfully requests the applicant to point out a portion of the original disclosure contains a clear and concise language that supports for the amended claim limitation “at least a portion of the detection device is inserted into the rotating member along the central axis of the coil spring”.
Regarding claim 16, it appears to be a hindsight attempted to overcome the previous rejection by introduction of a new language, i.e., at least a portion of the detection device is arranged inside the rotating member, however, nowhere in the original disclosure has sufficiently suggested, at least a portion of the detection device is inserted into the rotating member. The disclosure, in fact, is totally silent on the detection device which is inserted into the rotating member. This limitation adds new matter to the disclosure. Paragraphs [0248-249] (publication version US2025/0012605) and Fig. 19B disclose: the displacement detection device 10K includes the first fixed member 16D, the bearing 164, the magnet 170, the rotating member 14D, and the detection device 18K. The detection device 18K is disposed on the first fixed member 16D, and the magnet 170 is disposed on the rotating member 14D. Therefore, it appears that the detection device is fixed on the fixed member, so that detects the rotation angle (amount of rotation) of the magnet which is fixed on the rotating member. The examiner respectfully requests the applicant to point out a portion of the original disclosure contains a clear and concise language that supports for the amended claim limitation “at least a portion of the detection device is arranged inside the rotating member”.
7. Claims 13-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 13-14 and 16, it is not clear to the reader on how the applicant archived for the amended limitation “at least a portion of the detection device is inserted into the rotating member”, since the original disclosure does not define or support for this limitation. Clarification is requested.
For purposes of the art examination, the claims 13-14 and 16 are interpreted with their broadest and reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure.
Examiner Notes
8. Examiner cites particular paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
10. Claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Someda et al. (US Pat. 6332374; hereinafter “Someda”).
Regarding claim 1, Someda discloses a displacement detection device (a position sensor in Fig. 1) comprising:
a first fixed member (a top part 1a of a fixed member 1); a coil spring (3) including a first end turn portion and a second end turn portion (see Fig. 1); a rotating member (2, 6) in contact with the first end turn portion (see Fig. 1); a second fixed member (a base part of a fixed member 1) in contact with the second end turn portion (see Fig. 1); and a detection device (4) capable of detecting an amount of rotation of the rotating member (“a sensor unit 4 as sensing means for detecting the angle of rotation of the rotary member 2 relative to the fixed member 1.” See at least in column 4, lines 10-15 ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claims 1-5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng (CN108534728; hereinafter “Feng”) in view of Nicot et al. (US. Pub. 2004/0104552; hereinafter “Nicot”).
Regarding claim 1, Feng discloses, in Fig. 1, a displacement detection device (a suspension spring external dimension detection device, see Fig. 1) comprising:
a first fixed member (an upper torsion disc 14); a coil spring (a coil spring in Fig. 1) including a first end turn portion and a second end turn portion (the coil spring is rotatable, it has both end portions such as a top end portion and a bottom end portion, see Fig. 1); a rotating member (an upper platen 13 is rotatable as it is connected to a rotary motor 11) in contact with the first end turn portion (see Fig. 1); a second fixed member (a lower torsion disc 17) in contact with the second end turn portion (see Fig. 1); and a detection device (an angle sensor and radial displacement sensor 9, see Fig. 1 and paragraphs [0045-47]) capable of detecting an amount of rotation of the the suspension spring external dimension detection device is characterized in that the spring parameter measuring component includes: a spring rotation sub-component for driving the spring to rotate, an angle sensor for measuring the spring rotation angle, a radial displacement sensor for measuring the spring outer diameter when the spring rotates, a radial measuring rod, and a measuring rod support…” from claim 2. Also see claim 10 and paragraphs [0045-47] ).
Feng discloses a displacement and angle sensor for measuring a rotation angle of the spring. However, Feng does not specify that the sensor capable of detecting an amount of rotation of the rotating member. Nicot discloses, in Figs. 1-14, a suspension spring (4) the vehicle chassis (1) comprising a rotating member be fixed to the suspension spring so as to be rotationally moved under the effect of the forces exerted by the said spring, in other words, the vertical forces cause a variation in the compression of the spring and therefore a coiling of its turns on themselves, which gives rise to a rotation of the rotating member with respect to the fixed member, a sensor (12) configured to detect an angular position of the rotating member (equivalent to detecting an amount of rotation of the rotating member)(see abstract and claim 1 of Nicot).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the suspension spring detecting system of Feng by having the sensor capable of detecting an amount of rotation of the rotating member as taught by Nicot for purpose of providing the sensor which accurately measures the rotation of the suspension spring which may be used with other data to determine the vertical wheel force.
Regarding claim 2, Feng and Nicot disclose the displacement detection device according to claim 1, Feng further teaches wherein the rotating member is rotatably supported using a bearing (a bearing spring, in abstract and [0004]), and the bearing is in contact with the first fixed member (such as an upper torsion disc 14) and the rotating member (11-12).
Regarding claim 3, Feng and Nicot disclose the displacement detection device according to claim 1, Feng further teaches wherein the detection device (9) is disposed on a side opposite to a side on which the rotating member is disposed with respect to the first fixed member (the sensor 9 is positioned on the middle of the spring, therefor the sensor is disposed on a side opposite to a side on which the rotating member is disposed. Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Feng and Nicot disclose the displacement detection device according to claim 1, Feng further teaches wherein the detection device is disposed on the same side as a side on which the rotating member is disposed with respect to the first fixed member (the sensor 9 is positioned on the middle of the spring, therefor the sensor is disposed on the same side as a side on which the rotating member is disposed. Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Feng and Nicot disclose the displacement detection device according to claim 2, Feng further teaches wherein the detection device, the bearing, and the rotating member are integrated (see Fig. 1, abstract and [0004]).
Regarding claim 9, Feng and Nicot disclose a displacement detection system (see Fig. 1 and abstract of Feng) Feng further teaches comprising: the displacement detection device according to claim 1; and an arithmetic circuit (a control system 1 comprises a data processing unit for calculating spring rotation and displacement values) connected to the detection device and configured to be able to calculate a stroke of the coil spring using the amount of rotation (see [0044-47] and claims 1-1 and 10).13. Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng in view of Nicot and further in view of Utermoehlen et al. (US. Pub. 2017/0089730; hereinafter “Utermoehlen”).
Regarding claim 6, Feng and Nicot disclose the displacement detection device according to claim 2, except for specifying that further comprising a damper having a third end and a fourth end, wherein the third end is inserted into the first fixed member, the fourth end is inserted into the second fixed member, and a part of a periphery of the damper is fixed to the second fixed member.
Utermoehlen discloses, in Fig. 1, a spring unit (3) having a linear travel measurement apparatus (5), comprising a damper (34) having a third end and a fourth end (the damper 34 has upper and lower end portions, preferred as a third end and fourth end), wherein the third end (the upper end portion of the spring) is inserted into the first fixed member (a mounting cap 22), the fourth end (the lower end portion of the spring) is inserted into the second fixed member (a mounting cap 24), and a part of a periphery of the damper (34) is fixed to the second fixed member (see Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the suspension spring external dimension detection device of Feng and Nicot by having a damper with a third end and a fourth end, wherein the third end is inserted into the first fixed member, the fourth end is inserted into the second fixed member, and a part of a periphery of the damper is fixed to the second fixed member, as taught by Utermoehlen in order to meet the system design and specification requirement.
Regarding claim 7, Feng and Nicot and Utermoehlen disclose the displacement detection device according to claim 6, except for explicitly specifying wherein the first fixed member and the second fixed member have members configured using one or more of metal, plastic, or an elastic member.
However it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the suspension spring external dimension detection device of Feng and Nicot and Utermoehlen by using one or more of metal, plastic, or an elastic member for the first and second fixed members, in order to meet the system design and specification requirement, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 8, Feng and Nicot and Utermoehlen disclose the displacement detection device according to claim 7, wherein in the case where the first fixed member includes the elastic member, the detection device is covered by the elastic member (see Fig. 1 of Feng).14. Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng in view of Nicot and further in view of Osada (US. Pub. 2023/0020212; hereinafter “Osada”).
Regarding claim 10, Feng and Nicot disclose the displacement detection system according to claim 9, except for explicitly specifying wherein the arithmetic circuit includes a memory circuit, and the memory circuit includes a table in which the amount of rotation is linked with the stroke.
Osada discloses the arithmetic circuit includes a memory circuit, and the memory circuit includes a table in which the amount of rotation is linked with the stroke (see [0129 and Fig. 20). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the suspension spring external dimension detection device of Feng and Nicot by having the arithmetic circuit includes a memory circuit and the memory circuit includes a table in which the amount of rotation is linked with the stroke, as taught by Osada for purpose of the detection accuracy on the rotation measurement is improved.
Regarding claim 11, Feng and Nicot and Osada disclose industrial equipment comprising: the displacement detection system according to claim 10; a machine body in contact with the first fixed member; and a wheel in contact with the second fixed member (“Suspension springs are elastic elements in automobile suspensions that provide an elastic connection between the axle and the frame, bear and transmit vertical loads, and mitigate and suppress the impact caused by uneven road surfaces…” in [0004] of Feng).
Regarding claim 12, Feng and Nicot and Osada disclose the industrial equipment according to claim 11, Feng further teaches wherein the industrial equipment is a vehicle, and the machine body is a car body (see [0004]).15. Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Someda in view of Osada (US. Pub. 2016/0169705; hereinafter “Osada”). Regarding claim 13, Someda discloses the displacement detection device according to claim 1, Someda does not explicitly specify that wherein at least a portion of the detection device is inserted into the rotating member.
Osada discloses, in Fig. 1-11, a rotation angle detection device (30 in Fig. 1) comprising a magnet (25), a magnetic sensing element, a rotating member (22A), and a fixing member(29), wherein at least a portion (the magnet 22A is a part of the rotation detection device 30) of the detection device is inserted into the rotating member (the magnet 30 is inserted into the rotating member 22A, see Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the position sensor of Someda by having at least a portion of the detection device is inserted into the rotating member as taught by Osada for purpose of the position shift of the magnetic sensing element with respect to the magnet is prevented and rotation angle is detected with high precision. Regarding claim 14, Someda discloses the displacement detection device according to claim 1, Someda does not explicitly specify that wherein at least a portion of the detection device is inserted into the rotating member along the central axis of the coil spring.
Osada discloses, in Fig. 1-11, a rotation angle detection device (30 in Fig. 1) comprising a magnet (25), a magnetic sensing element, a rotating member (22A), and a fixing member(29), wherein at least a portion (the magnet 22A is a part of the rotation detection device 30) of the detection device is inserted into the rotating member (the magnet 30 is inserted into the rotating member 22A, see Fig. 1) along the central axis of the coil spring (see Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the position sensor of Someda by having at least a portion of the detection device is inserted into the rotating member along the central axis of the coil spring as taught by Osada for purpose of the position shift of the magnetic sensing element with respect to the magnet is prevented and rotation angle is detected with high precision. Regarding claim 15, Someda and Osada disclose the displacement detection device according to claim 14, wherein at least a portion (25, or 27) of the detection device is arranged between the first fixed member (29) and the rotating member (22A)(see Fig. 1 of Osada).
Regarding claim 16, Someda and Osada disclose the displacement detection device according to claim 14, wherein at least a portion (25, or 27) of the detection device is arranged inside the first fixed member (29) or the rotating member (22A) (see Fig. 1 of Osada).
Conclusion
16. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THANG X LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858
9/16/2026