DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan (US 2021/0020664) hereinafter “Tan” in view of and Hsieh et al. (US 2019/0206953) hereinafter “Hsieh” and in further view of Jia (US 2019/0373166) hereinafter “Jia”.
Regarding claim 1, Figs. 1 and 16 of Tan teach an image signal processing method of a display device (Paragraph 0002) including a main display area (Item H), a first component area (Left Item 4), a second component area (Right Item 4), the method comprising: obtaining a first image signal from light receiving pixels of an image sensor (Paragraph 0049 where Left Item 4 is a camera) disposed corresponding to the first component area (Left Item 4) of the display device; obtaining a second image signal from the light receiving pixels of an image sensor (Paragraph 0049 where Right Item 4 is a camera) disposed corresponding to the second component area (Right Item 4) of the display device.
However, should the Applicant disagree with the Examiner’s understanding that the Tan reference teaches two cameras the Examiner turns to the teaching in Hsieh.
Hsieh et al teaches where more than one camera (Paragraph 0057) may be present in an image acquiring region (Item B).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a first camera corresponding to the first component area and a second camera corresponding to the second component area because the number of cameras can be set according to the design requirements of the display to achieve full camera function (Hsieh Paragraph 0057).
Tan does not explicitly teach generating a synthesis image signal by synthesizing the first image signal and the second image signal from the second camera.
Jia teaches a driver that generates a synthesis image signal by synthesizing a first image signal from a first camera position and a second image signal from a second camera position (Paragraph 0086).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to generate a synthesis image signal by synthesizing the first image signal and a second image signal because this results in the acquisition of a clear and complete picture (Jia Paragraph 0086).
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan (US 2021/0020664) hereinafter “Tan” in view of and Hsieh et al. (US 2019/0206953) hereinafter “Hsieh” and Jia (US 2019/0373166) hereinafter “Jia” and in further view of Tsujio (US 2021/0134868) hereinafter “Tsujio”.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Tan, Hsieh and Jia teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Tan further teaches where wherein the obtaining of the first image signal includes obtaining an image signal from a first camera (Left Item 4) corresponding to the first component area (Left Item 4), and the obtaining of the second image signal includes obtaining an image signal from a second camera (Right Item 4) corresponding to the second component area (Right Item 4).
Tan does not explicitly teach where the first camera and the second camera each comprise light receiving pixels.
Tsujio teaches where a camera module 1D comprises light receiving pixels (Paragraph 0196).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first camera and the second camera comprise light receiving pixels because this allows the respective cameras to capture images (Tsujio Paragraph 0196).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Tan, Hsieh and Jia teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Tan does not teach where the obtaining of the second image signal includes moving a camera comprising light receiving pixels disposed corresponding to the first component area to the second component area.
Jia further teaches where a second image signal is obtained by moving an image sensor from a first position to a second position (Paragraph 0006).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the obtaining of the second image signal include moving a camera corresponding to the first component area to the second component area because this allows for the synthesizing of a target picture free from the pixels of the first display region (Jia Paragraph 0006).
Tan does not explicitly teach where the camera comprises light receiving pixels.
Tsujio teaches where a camera module 1D comprises light receiving pixels (Paragraph 0196).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the camera comprise light receiving pixels because this allows the camera to capture images (Tsujio Paragraph 0196).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan (US 2021/0020664) hereinafter “Tan” in view of Hsieh et al. (US 2019/0206953) hereinafter “Hsieh” and Jia (US 2019/0373166) hereinafter “Jia” and in further view of Kobayashi et al. (US 2007/0223900) hereinafter “Kobayashi”.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Tan, Hsieh and Jia teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above except where the generating of the synthesis image signal includes replacing deterioration data of the first image signal with pixel data of a corresponding location in the second image signal.
Kobayashi teaches where missing portions (having no brightness) of a first image are compensated for by a second image (having brightness in locations that in the first image have no brightness) captured separate from the first captured image (Paragraph 0027) as compared to a reference brightness value (brightness of captured pixels in the first image).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the generating of the synthesis image signal include replacing deterioration data of the first image signal with pixel data of a corresponding location in the second image signal because this allows for a composition intended by the user to be obtained while definition is maintained (Kobayashi Paragraph 0027).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan (US 2021/0020664) hereinafter “Tan” in view of Hsieh et al. (US 2019/0206953) hereinafter “Hsieh” and Jia (US 2019/0373166) hereinafter “Jia” and in further view of Jeffrey (US 2007/0040849) hereinafter “Jeffrey”.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Tan, Hsieh and Jia teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above except where the generating of the synthesis image signal includes synthesizing pixel data corresponding to a foreground of the first image signal and pixel data corresponding to a background of the second image signal.
Jeffrey teaches generating of a synthesis image signal includes synthesizing pixel data corresponding to a foreground of the first image signal and pixel data corresponding to a background of the second image signal (Paragraph 0036).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the generating of the synthesis image signal includes synthesizing pixel data corresponding to a foreground of the first image signal and pixel data corresponding to a background of the second image signal because the combination of the background and the foreground results in a complete frame [image] (Jeffrey Paragraph 0036).
Conclusion
/ERIC K ASHBAHIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891