DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 11-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 5 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12124905. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are obvious variants.
Claim 1 of the instant Application recites “A transaction instrument… body… aperture… cover… magnetic stripe… ribbon… graspable member… transmit at least a portion… destructively yield… wherein claim 5 of the ‘905 Patent recites “A transaction instrument… body… aperture… cover… graspable member… destructively yield… magnetic stripe… ribbon… graspable member… transmit at least a portion…”
Re claims 11-12, metal bodies/ heat sensitive components are routine and conventional in the art for expected results of durability and physical limitations of materials, and thus would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for such results.
Re claim 13, the limitations are drawn to matters of design choice/ variation wherein specifying designs to coordinate/ blend are within the ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 14 of the instant Application recites “A method of manufacturing… forming a body… forming an aperture… forming a cover… graspable member… destructively yield… magnetic stripe… forming a ribbon… destructively yield…” wherein claim 5 of the ‘905 Patent recites “… body… aperture… cover… graspable member… destructively yield… magnetic stripe… ribbon… graspable member… transmit at least a portion…”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 12- 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maiman et al. (US 10891531) in view of Hanus (US 20050220377).
Re claim 1,
Maiman et al. teaches a transaction instrument comprising:
a body that defines a first face and a second face, wherein the first face and the second face are on opposing sides of the body (FIG. 2+ and the 2 sides of the card);
an aperture in the body that provides access to a portion of an interior of the body (FIG. 5 shows an opening); and
a magnetic stripe disposed on the second face (stripe 103); and
a ribbon traversing under a portion of the magnetic stripe (magnetic stripe 103 is part of a separate component or layer disposed atop or beneath the second exterior layer 122),
wherein the ribbon is connected at a first end to the graspable member, such that when the graspable member is acted on by a pulling force, the graspable member applies a corresponding second force to the ribbon (FIG.4 describes that the free end 144 of the tear element can have a sticker or tab, interpreted as a graspable member),
wherein the ribbon is configured to transmit at least a portion of the second force applied to the ribbon to the magnetic stripe (tear element is used to tear/ break the stripe); and
wherein the portion of the magnetic stripe under which the ribbon traverses is configured to destructively yield in response to the portion of the second force applied to the ribbon (stripe is torn through the ribbon being used with force applied thereto).
Maiman et al. is silent to a cover over the aperture, wherein the cover is configured to destructively yield in response to a first force applied to the cover, and wherein the cover is configured to provide access to a graspable member when the cover destructively yields to the first force.
Hanus teaches a cover over an aperture (portion of top of 11) that destructively yields in response to a first force applied to provide access to a graspable member when the cover yields (FIG. 4 at 60).
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings to have an alternative way to rip/ tear via a graspable member, such as one that does not stick out from the surfaces or does not require a sticker/ tab but that is unitary to the structure).
Re claim 12, Maiman et al. teaches plastic (col 1, lines 525+) which weaken when heated, as known in the art with plastics and other card materials.
Re claim 13, though silent to designs of a cover, the Examiner notes that limitations drawn to aesthetics or design variation are well within the ordinary skill in the art. One would have been motivated for a cover to match would be to provide a way to make the card look like a traditional look and feel (preserving card appearance) for expected aesthetic results.
Re claim 14, the limitations have been discussed above re claim 1.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maiman et al./ Hanus, as discussed above, in view of Maiman et al. (US 11062191).
The teachings of Maiman et al./ Hanus, have been discussed above but are silent to metal.
Maiman et al. ‘191 teaches such limitations (col 1, lines 25+).
Prior to the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings to use with known material cards for acceptance and compatibility with existing cards.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fails to teach the limitation of at least the chip assembly, attachment mechanism, structural weaknesses per claim 2, and the edge, chip assembly, structural weakness per claim 6.
Conclusion
/DANIEL I WALSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876