DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11 & 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yoshiki et al. (US 5,843,236), hereinafter Yoshiki.
Regarding claim 11, Yoshiki discloses, in figure 5, an apparatus for plasma processing, the apparatus comprising:
a plasma chamber (Col. 2, Line 35, “plasma chamber 7”);
a first resonating structure adjacent the plasma chamber (Col. 18, Line 8, “rectangular waveguide 28”…adjacent the plasma chamber 7), the first resonating structure creating a first zone for a first plasma in the plasma chamber influenced by the first resonating structure (Col. 12, Lines 60-64, “the power of the microwave radiated [via rectangular waveguide 28] to the plasma chamber can be made uniform along the longitudinal direction of the window of the plasma chamber, so that a uniform plasma density can be obtained over a wider range or area”…a first plasma in zone 16a influenced via first resonating structure 28); and
a second resonating structure adjacent the first resonating structure (rectangular waveguide 28’ adjacent the first rectangular waveguide 28), the second resonating structure creating a second zone for a second plasma in the plasma chamber influenced by the second resonating structure (Col. 12, Lines 60-64, “the power of the microwave radiated [via rectangular waveguide 28’] to the plasma chamber can be made uniform along the longitudinal direction of the window of the plasma chamber, so that a uniform plasma density can be obtained over a wider range or area”…a second plasma in zone 16a’ influenced via second resonating structure 28’).
Regarding claim 14, Yoshiki discloses the apparatus of claim 11, and continues to disclose, in figure 5, wherein the first resonating structure comprises a first excitation component and the second resonating structure comprises a second excitation component (Col. 18, Lines 8-52, “rectangular waveguides 28 and 28' are respectively arranged so as to be juxtaposed and have long slots 28b and 28b' provided in the E-planes 28a and 28a' of the rectangular waveguides 28 and 28' along the waveguide-axis direction…microwaves radiated from the long slots 28b and 28b'”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13 & 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ranjan et al. (US 2020/0058469 A1), hereinafter Ranjan.
Regarding claim 13, Yoshiki discloses the apparatus of claim 11, but fails to disclose wherein the first resonating structure comprises a first capacitor and the second resonating structure comprises a second capacitor, the second capacitor being in a same plane as the first capacitor.
However, Ranjan discloses, in figure 2, wherein the first resonating structure comprises a first capacitor (Para [0061], “impedance matching network 25…included in a SP generator circuit 240…impedance matching network 35…included in a BP generator circuit 245”) and the second resonating structure comprises a second capacitor, the second capacitor being in a same plane as the first capacitor (Para [0054], “impedance matching network may include a network of…capacitors”…capacitors are included in a same plane in the impedance matching networks of the generator circuits [i.e., resonating structures]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the generator circuit of Ranjan in the apparatus of Yoshiki, to achieve the benefit of ensuring the source power is efficiently coupled to the plasma chamber by matching the impedance of the load to the impedance of the supply (Ranjan, Para [0055]).
Regarding claim 15, Yoshiki discloses the apparatus of claim 14, but fails to disclose wherein the first excitation component and the second excitation component comprise respective inductive drive coils.
However, Ranjan discloses, in figure 2, wherein the first excitation component and the second excitation component (Para [0061], “impedance matching network 25…included in a SP generator circuit 240…impedance matching network 35…included in a BP generator circuit 245”) comprise respective inductive drive coils (Para [0054], “impedance matching network may include a network of inductors”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the generator circuit of Ranjan in the apparatus of Yoshiki, to achieve the benefit of ensuring the source power is efficiently coupled to the plasma chamber by matching the impedance of the load to the impedance of the supply (Ranjan, Para [0055]).
Regarding claim 16, Yoshiki discloses the apparatus of claim 14, but fails to disclose wherein the first excitation component and the second excitation component comprise respective capacitors.
However, Ranjan discloses, in figure 2, wherein the first excitation component and the second excitation component (Para [0061], “impedance matching network 25…included in a SP generator circuit 240…impedance matching network 35…included in a BP generator circuit 245”) comprise respective capacitors (Para [0054], “impedance matching network may include a network of…capacitors”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the generator circuit of Ranjan in the apparatus of Yoshiki, to achieve the benefit of ensuring the source power is efficiently coupled to the plasma chamber by matching the impedance of the load to the impedance of the supply (Ranjan, Para [0055]).
Regarding claim 17, Yoshiki discloses the apparatus of claim 14, but fails to disclose wherein the first excitation component comprises an inductive drive coil and the second excitation component comprises a capacitor.
However, Ranjan discloses, in figure 2, wherein the first excitation component (Para [0061], “impedance matching network 25…included in a SP generator circuit 240…impedance matching network 35…included in a BP generator circuit 245”) comprises an inductive drive coil and the second excitation component comprises a capacitor (Para [0054], “impedance matching network may include a network of inductors, capacitors, and/or variable capacitors”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the generator circuit of Ranjan in the apparatus of Yoshiki, to achieve the benefit of ensuring the source power is efficiently coupled to the plasma chamber by matching the impedance of the load to the impedance of the supply (Ranjan, Para [0055]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 1-10 & 18-20 are allowed.
Claim 1 is allowed because the prior art of record does not disclose nor render obvious the apparatus for plasma processing comprising an outer resonating structure surrounding the inner resonating structure, the outer resonating structure comprising a second radiating structure and a first excitation component configured to exert an influence on a plasma in a plasma chamber adjacent the inner resonating structure and the outer resonating structure.
Claim 18 is allowed because the prior art of record does not disclose nor render obvious the apparatus for plasma processing comprising a second resonating structure having a second resonant frequency, the second resonating structure being surrounded by the first resonating structure.
Conclusion
/TYLER J PERENY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2842