DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-20 of the amended claim set received 8/04/2026 are pending. Claims 1-10 stand withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the case is deposed within” should be written “the case is disposed within”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 11 has been amended to include “wherein the case is deposed within an engine of an aircraft”. Examiner has to assume “deposed” is a typo in place of “disposed” because deposed does not make sense in the context. A case disposed within an aircraft engine is not explicitly recited in the specification, implied by the schematic figures, or inherent. Applicant has cited paras. 0019-0021 of the specification as showing support for the claim amendment. A review of these paragraphs reveals the desired location of the cases, “System 100 comprises one or more cases 105 a and 105 b disposed at locations (for example, nacelle 110) exposed to the ambient air pressure of an aircraft. In some cases, first and second cases 105 a and 105 b may be disposed within the fan case of nacelle 110,” i.e., describing the case 105 a or 105 b as disposed within the nacelle 110 which is shown in Figs. 1A and 1B. Paragraph 0022 recites, “In the explanatory example of FIG. 1A, the compressed air source can include the bleed 125 from the compressor 120 of the turbofan engine disposed within nacelle 110,” making it clear that the engine is within and distinct from the nacelle 110. The figures do not clearly show either case 105a or 105b within the engine which comprises the compressor 120, combustor, and turbine 161, and contrarily show each case outside of the engine. Figs. 1A and 1B show case 105b partially overlapping the compressor 120 of the engine but not within the engine and the figures are schematic such that one cannot tell if the case 105b extends into the compressor 120, lies on top of the compressor, or simply overlaps the compressor when viewed in a particular direction. In conclusion, the cited subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention of claim 11.
Claims 12-20 are rejected as dependent on claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnett (US 2014/0077507) in view of Munsell (US 2013/0192238).
Regarding Claim 11, Barnett discloses a method of pressurizing electronic systems at altitude, comprising:
obtaining, at a system comprising a compressed air source 14 (Figs. 1 and 2), pressurized air (fluid flow of Fig. 2) from the compressed air source;
determining whether one or more threshold conditions for pressurizing a case (i.e. housing) containing an electronic system (a generator 30 as read at para. 0017) is met (steps 405 and 410 of Fig. 3), wherein the case is deposed within an engine of an aircraft (see position of 30 within the aircraft engine 10 in Fig. 1); and
responsive to determining that the one or more threshold conditions for pressurizing the case containing the electronic system is met (step 415 of Fig. 3), pressurizing the case to a higher-than-ambient pressure by providing a flow of the pressurized air from the compressed air source 14 to the case (read paras. 0017-0018);
wherein the case (housing) comprises a pressurizable vessel (pressurizable as read at para. 0017) and a vent hole (vent hole necessarily present to enable depressurization as read in para. 0017); and
wherein the compressed air source 14 is connected to the case (housing of 30; as shown in Fig. 3).
Barnett does not explicitly disclose the compressed air source connected to the case via a manifold.
Munsell discloses in Fig. 3, a compressed air source 52 which provides pressurized air 62 to various components BC-1 to BC-5 for the purpose of pressurization. Munsell teaches in the same figure, the compressed air source 14 is connected to the pressurized components BC-1 to BC-5 via a manifold (the lines carrying the pressurized air 62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Barnett such that the compressed air source is connected to the case (i.e. the component intended to be pressurized) via a manifold as taught by Munsell in order to provide pressurized air to other components which require the air (Munsell para. 0042).
Regarding Claim 18, Barnett in view of Munsell teaches the claimed invention as discussed above. Barnett additionally discloses wherein the engine 10 is a turbofan engine (see Fig. 1), and wherein the compressed air source 14 comprises at least one of a low-pressure compressor (LPC) bleed) an inter-compressor (IC) bleed, or a high-pressure bleed of the turbofan engine (a high-pressure bleed from 14 as can be seen looking at Figs. 1 and 2).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnett (US 2014/0077507) in view of Munsell (US 2013/0192238) as applied to claim 11 and further in view of Niggemann (US 6,182,435).
Regarding Claim 12, Barnett in view of Munsell teaches the claimed invention as discussed above but does not disclose wherein the pressurized air passes through one or more of a dust filter, a p-trap, or a water-catching filter disposed between the compressed air source and the manifold.
Niggemann discloses in Fig. 4, a compressed air source 16 which provides pressurized air to multiple components 50 serviced by the air via bleed lines 76, 78, 80, 82, and manifold 83. Niggemann teaches in the same figure, the pressurized air passes through a water catching filter 70 between the compressed air source 16 and the manifold 83.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Barnett in view of Munsell such that the pressurized air passes through the water catching filter between the compressed air source and the manifold as taught by Niggemann in order to remove water in the compressed air (Niggemann col. 5, ll. 33-37).
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnett (US 2014/0077507) in view of Munsell (US 2013/0192238) as applied to claim 11 and further in view of Hayama (US 2018/0128182).
Regarding Claim 15, Barnett in view of Munsell teaches the claimed invention as discussed above. Barnett further discloses the compressed air source 14 is a compressor. Barnett does not disclose the compressor is an electrically powered compressor.
Hayama discloses a similar compressor/air source 112 in Fig. 1. Hayama teaches the compressor is electrically powered by an electric motor 210 (read para. 0032, see Figs. 1-2: the HP shaft 128 driving the compressor 112).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Barnett further to include the electric motor which powers the compressor as taught by Hayama in order to start the associated engine (Hayama para. 0032).
Regarding Claim 16, Barnett in view of Munsell and Hayama teaches the claimed invention as discussed above wherein the compressor is electrically powered and wherein the electrically powered compressor is a compressor for a turbine cooling air boost (the air produced by the compressor is capable of being used to cool a turbine).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13-14, 17, and 19-20 would be allowable if the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) set forth in this Office action is overcome and rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record does not teach the following in combination with the base and intervening claim limitations –
Regarding Claim 13, “further comprising relieving excess pressure between the compressed air source and the manifold by opening an overpressure check valve disposed between the compressed air source and the manifold, wherein the overpressure check valve is configured to reduce the flow of pressurized air to the case.”
Regarding Claim 17, “wherein the system includes: a first switching valve; a second switching valve; and a third modulating valve; wherein the first switching valve is configured to receive gas from a fan intake, direct the received gas to the second switching valve in a first position of the first switching valve, and direct the received gas elsewhere in a second position of the first switching valve; wherein the second switching valve is configured to direct gas to the electrically powered compressor, receive gas from the first switching valve in a first position of the second switching valve, and receive gas from a high-pressure bleed from a compressor stage of a turbofan the engine in a second position of the second switching valve; and wherein the third modulating valve is configured to receive gas from the electrically powered compressor, direct compressed gas to the manifold in a first position of the third modulating valve and direct the pressurized air to the turbine cooling air boost of the turbofan engine in a second position of the third modulating valve; further comprising: responsive to determining that the one or more threshold conditions for pressurizing the case containing the electronic system is met, switching the first switching valve from the second position of the first switching valve to the first position of the first switching valve; switching the second switching valve from the second position of the second switching valve to the first position of the second switching valve; and switching the third modulating valve from the second position of the third modulating valve to the first position of the third modulating valve.”
Regarding Claim 19, “wherein the system includes a shut-off valve disposed between an overpressure check valve and the compressed air source, and comprising: opening the shut-off valve to permit the pressurized air to flow to the manifold in response to determining that the one or more threshold conditions for pressurizing the case is met.”
Claims 14 and 20 are indicated allowable at least by basis on one of the claims discussed above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to potential prior art rejections have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached Notice of References Cited.
Contact Information
/R.D.F/Examiner, Art Unit 3741
/PHUTTHIWAT WONGWIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3741