DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-16) in the reply filed on 03/09/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 17-20 of Group II are cancelled. Claims 21-24 are newly added aligned with the election of Group I. Accordingly, claims 1-16 and 21-24 are currently pending.
Drawings
Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
The drawings submitted on 09/20/2024 were filed as drawings-other than black and white line drawings. After further review, it appears that some of the drawings like Fig.1, Fig.2, and Fig.9 are blurry and hard to read. Accordingly, the examiner recommends submitting replacement drawings and confirm that it wasn’t not applicant’s intent to file color photographs and color drawings.
Claim Objections
Claims 6, 14, 23, and 24 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims recite AI-based detecting. The applicant needs to spell out the term AI in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a controller in claims 21-24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16, and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 1, the applicant claims “landmark objects” in line 2, the “landmark objects” in line 4, and later claims “a sliding window of landmark objects” in line 8. It is not clear to the examiner if “landmark objects” of line 8 are the same “landmark objects” of lines 2 and 4 or different landmark objects. The metes and bounds of the claimed limitation are vague and ill-defined rendering the claim indefinite. According to the examiner’s best knowledge, the claim limitation will be treated as the same landmarks objects of lines 2 and 4 and recommends changing the limitation to “a sliding window of landmark objects” in line 8. The same rational applies to claims 16 and 21.
Claims 2-15 and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being dependent on rejected independent claims 1 and 21 respectively, and for failing to cure the deficiencies listed above.
With respect to claim 3, the applicant claims wherein the object features comprise an indoor/outdoor type. It is not clear to the examiner what the applicant is trying to convey with said limitation. The metes and bounds of the claimed limitation are vague and ill-defined rendering the claim indefinite. According to the examiner’s best knowledge, the claim limitation will be treated as indoor/outdoor usage.
With respect to claims 6 and 23, the applicant claims “the fusing comprises: detecting tracked objects comprising:”. It is not clear to the examiner how to perform or interpret the claim limitations. Should the claim be interpreted as the fusing comprises detecting tracked objects, and said tracked objects are tracked based on the classical detecting, or should the claim read as fusing comprises detecting objects wherein tracking is performed on detected objects using classical detecting. The metes and bounds of the claimed limitation are vague and ill-defined rendering the claim indefinite. According to the examiner’s best knowledge, the claim limitation will be treated as fusing comprises detecting tracked objects.
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being dependent on rejected claim 6 and for failing to cure the deficiencies listed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-16 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) detect landmark objects based on distinct object features of the landmark objects, fusing the object features, tracking the fused object features overtime, comparing the object features to a reference map.
The limitations of “detecting landmark objects based on distinct object features of the landmark objects, fusing the object features, tracking the fused object features overtime, comparing the object features to a reference map, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components (claim 21). That is, other than reciting “a controller” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “a controller” language, detecting, fusing, tracking and comparing, in the context of the claim, encompasses the user observing the landmark objects, fusing object features mentally through cognitive processes like mental simulation and imagination, and mentally tracking and comparing object features using observation, evaluation, judgment, and opinion. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claim 21 recites the additional elements of using a controller to perform the recited steps. The controller is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer functions) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Furthermore, the claims recite a vehicle comprising two different onboard sensors. The examiner submits that this limitation is insignificant extra-solution activities. In particular, the vehicle comprising the two different onboard sensors are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of gathering data for use in the detecting step), and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP § 2106.05). Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a controller in claim 21 to perform the recited steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Further, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if they are more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The additional limitation of using a vehicle comprising two different onboard sensors is well-understood, routine, and conventional activities because the background recites a general method for position determination for a transportation vehicle may use a light detection and ranging or laser imaging, detection, and ranging sensor (LiDAR sensor) mounted on the vehicle (Paragraph 0002). Accordingly, the claims are ineligible.
Dependent claim(s) 2-15 and 22-24 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claim(s) to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Claims 2-5 and 22 describe the landmark objects and features and do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Claims 6-15, and 23-24 recite additional steps that fall under the mental process. Therefore, dependent claims 2-15 and 22-24 are not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of independent claims 1 and 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 10-13, 16 and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kälberer et al US 2021/0094595 A1 (hence Kälberer).
In re claim 1, Kälberer discloses a method for safely determining a position information of a train on a track (Abstract) and teaches the following:
A localization method (Paragraph 0013 “an autonomous determination of the position information of the train on the track”, and Paragraph 0014 “first localization stage” and “second localization stage”) comprising:
using at least two different on-board sensors (Fig.1, #5, #6, and Paragraph 0047 “a first optical imaging sensor 5 and a second optical imaging sensor 6”) to detect landmark objects of a constellation of landmark objects in a localization region of a guideway, based on distinct object features of the landmark objects (Paragraph 0047 “At least some of the sensors (here the optical imaging sensors 5, 6) search for and measure passive trackside structures 56 ahead of the train 58, in particular with respect to their appearance characteristics (external shape), their distance to the train 58 and their angular position relative to the train 58”, Fig.2a, #60, #61, and Paragraphs 0049 and 0052, and Paragraph 0145 “a feature extraction of the video or LIDAR image identifies relevant attributes in order to characterize an object or a scene”);
subsequently, fusing the object features detected by the at least two different on-board sensors (Fig.2a, #19 and Paragraph 0053 “Finally, the first position information 52 and the second position information 54 undergo a data fusion 19 with respect to position (including location and velocity), resulting in a consolidated position information 55”, and Fig.2b, #19 and Paragraph 0056);
tracking the fused object features over time in a unified local reference frame such that a sliding window of landmark objects is maintained as a local map (Paragraph 0140 “With a Kalman filter supported prediction step the potential object location including the region of interest can be predicted between the last cycle and current cycle”, Paragraph 0145 “Landmarks (or passive trackside structures) are stationary features which can unambiguously be re-observed and distinguished from the environment”, and Paragraph 0146 “As part of the method landmark object classification may be used to identify an object in the scene based on preceding feature extraction”);
and comparing the object features of the constellation of landmark objects in the local map to a reference map in order to uniquely identify a corresponding constellation of landmark objects in the reference map (Paragraph 0064 “Accordingly, the corresponding passive trackside structures 56a-56e identified with the first sensor arrangement may be allocated to the respective entries (registered/stored passive trackside structures) of the map database” and “Identified appearance characteristics of the passive trackside structures measured by the first sensor arrangement have to sufficiently match the stored appearance characteristics in order to allow for a successful allocation”, and Paragraph 0146 “As part of the method landmark object classification may be used to identify an object in the scene based on preceding feature extraction”,
In re claim 16, Kälberer discloses the claimed invention as recited above with respect to claim 1 including:
wherein at least one landmark object of the detected landmark objects is a 3D landmark object being detectable by at least two of a camera, a LiDAR, or a radar, and wherein the 3D landmark object has alphanumeric characters or a QR code detectable by the camera to provide unique identification of the landmark object (Paragraph 0049 “This first sensor arrangement 60 here comprises optical sensors 11 comprising both LIDAR and a VIDEO sensors, as well as a an inertial unit 12”, Paragraph 0083 “passive trackside structures are identified as positioning references containing as minimum information typically including but not limited to point ID”)
In re claim 21, Kälberer discloses the claimed invention as recited above with respect to claim 1 including a vehicle configured to travel along a constrained path (Fig.1, #58 and Paragraph 0045 “a train”)
In re claims 2 and 22, Kälberer teaches the following:
wherein the landmark objects include a for-purpose landmark object (Paragraph 0013 “Passive trackside structures for the inventive method may comprise, for example, rail infrastructure elements, including signals and signs, buildings, in particular train stations, or bridges, in particular bridges spanning over the track, or signal masts, or crossing roads, or traffic signs, or switches”)
In re claim 3, Kälberer teaches the following:
wherein the landmark objects comprise one or more permanent features including one or more of a tunnel mouth, a change in tunnel structure, a tunnel bifurcation, a platform, a building, a sign, a lamp, an electrical box, or a signal (Paragraph 0013 “Passive trackside structures for the inventive method may comprise, for example, rail infrastructure elements, including signals and signs, buildings, in particular train stations, or bridges, in particular bridges spanning over the track, or signal masts, or crossing roads, or traffic signs, or switches”)
In re claim 4, Kälberer teaches the following:
wherein the object features comprise one or more of a height, a width, a length, a size, a texture entropy, a color range, an indoor/outdoor type, a spatial distribution between objects or a texture difference (Paragraph 0064 “appearance characteristics are stored, such as the type of the signal, e.g. main-signal with velocity indication on top, the height above ground and the size of the black octagon and the black triangle”, Paragraph 0083 and 0146)
In re claim 5, Kälberer teaches the following:
wherein the landmark objects comprise a corner location, an inscription location, a window location, and edge distance, a direction, a mesh line, or a mesh face (Paragraph 0088)
In re claim 10, Kälberer teaches the following:
wherein the comparing comprises monitoring a distance metric based on object feature comparison; and generating a constellation match in the reference map if the distance metric is below a defined threshold; or not generating a constellation match in the reference map if the distance metric is not below a defined threshold (Paragraphs 0026, 0077, and 0140)
In re claim 11, Kälberer teaches the following:
generating an error vector based on ranges to landmark objects in the local map in comparison with calculated distances to landmark objects based on hypothesized vehicle position on guideway spline and known landmark object locations in the reference map (Paragraphs 0016 and 0024)
In re claim 12, Kälberer teaches the following:
herein a velocity of a vehicle having the on-board sensors is calculated based on detected tracked object data and compared with an odometry determined velocity data from the vehicle (Paragraph 0019)
In re claim 13, Kälberer teaches the following:
extracting a path of a vehicle having the at least two on-board sensors based on sensor data (Paragraph 0025)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-9, 14-15, and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kälberer in view of Waschulzik US 2024/0118104 A1 (hence Waschulzik).
In re claims 6 and 23, Kälberer discloses the claimed invention as discussed above with respect to claims 1 and 21, but doesn’t explicitly teach the following:
performing AI-based detecting and classical detecting based on sensor data; tracking the detected objects resulting from the classical detecting
Nevertheless, Waschulzik discloses a method and a device for processing sensor data in a vehicle (Abstract) and teaches the following:
performing AI-based detecting and classical detecting based on sensor data; tracking the detected objects resulting from the classical detecting (Paragraph 0012 “mathematical operations and/or pattern recognition. Data processing of sensor data is preferably performed by artificial intelligence, for example by a trained neural network and/or the like” and Paragraph 0017)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the Kälberer reference to include performing mathematical operations and/or pattern recognition, as taught by Waschulzik, in order to assess the object recognition reliability of the result (Waschulzik, Paragraph 0017).
In re claim 7, Kälberer teaches the following:
wherein the detecting tracked objects is performed for each of the at least two different sensors and further comprising: fusing the tracked detected objects among at least two different sensor data (Paragraph 0023)
In re claim 8, Kälberer teaches the following:
wherein the fusing further comprises supervising the detected tracked objects to reject potential moving objects (Paragraph 0026)
In re claim 9, Kälberer teaches the following:
wherein the supervising comprises monitoring a difference between a predicted object position based on a vehicle motion model and a measured position; and outputting a detected tracked object if the difference is below a threshold (Paragraphs 0017 and 0026)
In re claim 14, Waschulzik teaches the following:
wherein the extracting comprises: performing AI-based detecting and classical detecting based on sensor data; tracking the extracted path resulting from the classical detecting (Paragraphs 0012 and 0017, the motivation to combine has been provided supra)
In re claim 15, Kälberer teaches the following:
wherein the extracting is performed for each of the at least two different sensors and further comprising: fusing the extracted paths among at least two different sensor data, and wherein the fusing further comprises supervising the extracted paths to reject extracted paths inconsistent with a reference map track centerline (Paragraphs 0026 and 0086)
In re claim 24, Kälberer teaches the following:
extracting a path of a vehicle having the at least two on-board sensors based on sensor data (Paragraph 0025)
wherein the extracting is performed for each of the at least two different sensors and further comprising: fusing the extracted paths among at least two different sensor data, and wherein the fusing further comprises supervising the extracted paths to reject extracted paths inconsistent with a reference map track centerline (Paragraphs 0026 and 0086)
However, Kälberer doesn’t explicitly teach the following:
wherein the extracting comprises: performing AI-based detecting and classical detecting based on sensor data; tracking the extracted path resulting from the classical detecting
Nevertheless, Waschulzik discloses a method and a device for processing sensor data in a vehicle (Abstract) and teaches the following:
wherein the extracting comprises: performing AI-based detecting and classical detecting based on sensor data; tracking the extracted path resulting from the classical detecting (Paragraphs 0012 and 0017)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the Kälberer reference to include performing mathematical operations and/or pattern recognition, as taught by Waschulzik, in order to assess the object recognition reliability of the result (Waschulzik, Paragraph 0017).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Abbott et al US 2024/0281988 A1 discloses a deep neural network (DNN) is used to generate (e.g., per-point) classifications of measured 3D points (e.g., classified LiDAR points), and a representation of the shape of one or more detected landmarks is regressed from the classifications.
Wang et al US 2023/0078721 A1 discloses acquiring an image of a scene where a vehicle is located, the image comprising a semantic element; determining an element category corresponding to the semantic element; matching the semantic element with a map element to acquire a matching result by a matching method corresponding to the element category; and determining localization information of the vehicle according to the matching result.
/RAMI KHATIB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3669