The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to an application filed on 2/06/2026. Claims 1-18 are pending.
Response to Amendments
Amendments filed on 2/06/2026 are under consideration. Claims 1, 4-6, 9, 15-16, and 18 are amended. Claim 8 is cancelled. Claim Interpretation using 35 U.S.C. 112(f) is upheld in response to applicant’s arguments.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: control unit is configured to record a sequence step of a sequence control comprising a command to control the actuator based on a manual operation of the human machine interface if a learn mode is active in claims 1, 3, and 9-17.
[0079] – “The control unit 124 comprises a controller 218 and a memory 216”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 16 is made dependent upon Claim 8 which has been cancelled upon filing of this amendment. For examining purposes claim 16 is understood to be dependent upon claim 1 for clear and compact prosecution. Appropriate correction is required. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, 9, 11-15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milender (EP 0 934 562 B2) and in view of Algermissen et al. (DE 102018131748 B4).
Regarding Claim 1 Milender teaches An agricultural machine (Pg. 2 – [0002] - “Agricultural tractors, for example, may include control systems for raising and lowering mounted”) comprising an implement; (Pg. 2 – [0003] – “A farming input may be applied by an implement based upon settings of a lever which controls a hydraulic valve supplying hydraulic fluid to an actuator on the implement.” & See Also Pg. 7 – [0040] – “In one embodiment, vehicle 12 is a tractor equipped with a hitch assembly control system and tool 270 is an implement.” ) an actuator; (Pg. 2 – [0003] – “A farming input may be applied by an implement based upon settings of a lever which controls a hydraulic valve supplying hydraulic fluid to an actuator on the implement.”) a human machine interface for manually controlling the actuator; (Pg. 7 – [0035] – “PCC 220 communicates with an operator through a user interface 228 via a bus 230 (e.g., RS- 232/485 interface). Interface 228 can include, for example, a graphical user interface 232 providing cursor control” & See Also Pg. 22 – Fig. 2 – 26 and 40 & See Also Pg. 3 – [0009] – “The operator may switch the system to a teaching mode in which he manipulates a lever to subsequently move the actuators and to store this sequence of operations in a circuit” (equates to a human machine interface for manually controlling the actuator; as the quote shows a user interface and the last quote shows the ability to control the actuators via operation within the circuit wherein the HMI may be used to actuator said actuator )) a control unit; (Pg. 2 – [0004] – “Modern off-road vehicles are being equipped with a plurality of control systems for controlling many outputs with increased levels of control” ) a vehicle interface (Pg. 2 – [0006] – “The operator can switch to an automatic mode in which a sequence of operations may be triggered by the manual actuation of the hitch raise control.” (equates to a vehicle interface as the spec paragraph [0006] as an actuated hitch and the quote shows the operator of the art being able to manually raise or lower the hitch based on means of control and actuation.)) and at least one sensor; configured to detect an impact due to a collision against an end stop of the vehicle interface, a collision against an end stop of the actuator, or the implement hitting an agricultural field; (Pg. 7 – [0039] – “HCC 274 may also receive other input signals such as draft force and position command signals (not shown) which are also used to set the commanded height of tool 270.” (equates to wherein the at least one sensor is configured to detect an impact due to a collision against an end stop of the vehicle interface; a collision against an end stop of the actuator; or the implement hitting the agricultural field as the quote shows the implementation of a draft force being detected within the tool allowing for the height of the tool to be raised or lowered based on the detected draft force which is signaling the force of the implement with the tool interacting with the earth.) )) wherein the control unit is configured to record a sequence step of a sequence control comprising a command to control the actuator based on a manual operation of the human machine interface if a learn mode is active; (Pg. 4 – [0016] – “a control system 10 for controlling outputs associated with an off-road vehicle 12 can record sequences of commands and then repeat the recorded command sequences. A command control circuit (CCC) 14 receives input signals from three sets of input devices. First, sequence devices 16 generate sequence signals 18 (e.g., record, playback and erase) interfaced to CCC 14 via an input interface circuit 20” & See Also Pg. 7 – [0040] – “Vehicle 12 can also be a combine equipped with a header positioning assembly wherein tool 270 is a header. A header control system” & See Also Pg. 3 – [0011] – “to operate in a record mode in response to the record signal wherein the sequence of commands is recorded in said memory circuit in response to sequential actuations of the command devices” (equates to wherein the control unit is configured to record a sequence step of a sequence control comprising a command to control the actuator based on a manual operation of the human machine interface if a learn mode is active as the first quote shows the control system outputting a sequence of commands via receiving inputs and thus the utilization of the HMI is established for the use of running the sequence. The second quote shows the actuator of the vehicle being control via a control system and thus could be implemented into the sequence of commands, and finally the last quote showing the record mode being equivalent to the learn mode as the sequence is being recorded into a memory.) ) execute the recorded sequence step comprising the command to control the actuator if a replay mode is active; (Pg. 10 – [0059] – “Thus, the sequential command repeater system can playback command sequences recorded by an operator or downloaded via an interface” & See Also Pg. 3 – [0009] – “The operator may switch the system to a teaching mode in which he manipulates a lever to subsequently move the actuators and to store this sequence of operations in a circuit” (equates to execute the recorded sequence step comprising the command to control the actuator if a replay mode is active; as the first quote shows the ability of the system to playback a recorded sequence by the operator’s input wherein the second quote shows the operator being able to input commands to the actuator.) ) control the actuator according to the command of the sequence step; (Pg. 10 – [0059] – “Thus, the sequential command repeater system can playback command sequences recorded by an operator or downloaded via an interface” & See Also Pg. 3 – [0009] – “The operator may switch the system to a teaching mode in which he manipulates a lever to subsequently move the actuators and to store this sequence of operations in a circuit” (equates to control the actuator according to the command of the sequence step as the first quote shows the ability to run sequential commands based on inputted commands and the second quote showing the actuator being used for the operator to input commands into. ) ) compare the at least one sensor signal with a reference value for determining a poor operation of the implement in response to a controlling of the actuator according to the command of the sequence step; (Pg. 7 – [0039] – “Referring to FIGURE 6, tool height control system 106 controls the height of a tool 270 raised and lowered by a positioning assembly 272 supported by vehicle 12. System 106 includes a height control circuit (HCC) 274 which receives intermediate control signals from ACC 200 via bus 70. In response, HCC 274 generates raise and lower control signals 276 and 278 applied to raise and lower coils 280 and 282. HCC 274 can include a pulse-width modulated (PWM) interface to generate PWM control signals for the coils. Coils 280 and 282 control a valve assembly 284 to apply pressurized hydraulic fluid from a pump 286 to positioning assembly 272 (e.g., a hydraulic cylinder) via conduit 288. Thus, assembly 272 raises and lowers tool 270 in response to raise and lower control signals 276 and 278. A feedback sensor 290 is coupled to assembly 272 or tool 270 and is configured to generate a feedback signal 292 representing the height of tool 270. HCC 274 uses feedback signal 292 for closed-loop control over the height of tool 270” & See Also Pg. 10 – [0059] – “For example, an implement manufacturer could predetermine a set of command sequences which provide expert control for commonly repeated command sequences of an implement, and provide the command sequences with the implement” (equates to compare the at least one sensor signal with a reference value for determining a poor operation of the implement in response to a controlling of the actuator according to the command of the sequence step as the first quote shows how a feedback sensor signal is used to adjust the height of the implement and is adjusted within a closed loop control circuit. And thus the feedback signal has to be compared to a reference value as closed loop control has a designated reference value for the implement to work at in order to adjust the implement based on the feedback signal. The second quote shows how the commands sequence can be set for the implement wherein the closed loop control be taking place.) ) and optimize the sequence step of the sequence control in case of a poor operation of the implement. (Pg. 5 – [0022] – “In response to a view signal, CCC 14 produces a signal on bus 56 to cause a recorded command sequence to be displayed to an operator (in text or graphics). Then, in response to edit signals, CCC 14 allows the operator to edit the recorded command sequence. Thus, an operator may make adjustments to optimize the command sequence.” & See Also Pg. 5 – [0017] – “These control signals are converted into control signals 38 which cause the output actuators 40 to actuate commanded outputs 44 via data busses 42. Outputs 44 may be supported by vehicle 12 or implements coupled to vehicle 12. OCCs 36 control outputs 44 in open or closed control loops. For closed loop control, sensors 48 generate feedback signals 50 applied to OCC 36 and, possibly, CCC 14. Sensors 48 may be coupled to actuators 40 or outputs 44. Status or feedback signals may also be provided by OCCs 36 to CCC 14 via a data bus (” (equates to optimize the sequence step of the sequence control in case of a poor operation of the implement as the second quote shows the sensor input being received and generating feedback signals in which a closed loop or open loop control circuit is used to adjust the implement based on the feedback and thus optimize the sequence as the control loop adjusts based on the feedback. The second quote also shows how the implement may be used as an output in the loop and thus the optimization is done for the implement.) )
Yet Milander fails to teach receive at least one sensor signal from the at least one sensor, the at least one sensor signal indicating hydraulic pressure, strain or acoustic noise;
Algermissen teaches receive at least one sensor signal from the at least one sensor, the at least one sensor signal indicating hydraulic pressure, strain or acoustic noise; (Pg. 10 – “In a further advantageous development of the invention, it is provided that the at least one acoustic reference characteristic comprises at least one acoustic reference characteristic which indicates a fault-free operating state of the agricultural machine, and/or comprises at least one acoustic reference characteristic which indicates the presence of an operational fault, and/or comprises at least one acoustic reference characteristic which indicates a specific type of operational fault.” & See Also Pg. 14 – “The plurality of acoustic reference characteristics can include reference characteristics obtained by measurements on the agricultural machine 1 and/or by measurements on at least one identical agricultural machine.” (equates to and wherein the poor operation of the implement is determined if the acoustic signal exceeds the reference value as the first quote shows the malfunctioning vs the fault free state based on acoustic reference characteristics and the second quote showing a measurable value in which the first quote would be used to take in and determine a fault being above a threshold value. )) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Milender to include receive at least one sensor signal from the at least one sensor, the at least one sensor signal indicating hydraulic pressure, strain or acoustic noise as this allows another way of measuring the implements interaction with the ground to be included ensuring the proper height of the tool is attained.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include receive at least one sensor signal from the at least one sensor, the at least one sensor signal indicating hydraulic pressure, strain or acoustic noise as this allows working conditions of the implement to be better monitored.
Regarding Claim 2 Milender- Algermissen teaches (Milander discloses the following limitations:) The agricultural machine of claim 1, wherein the actuator is configured to operate the implement. (Pg. 2 – [0003] – “A farming input may be applied by an implement based upon settings of a lever which controls a hydraulic valve supplying hydraulic fluid to an actuator on the implement.” (equates to wherein the actuator is configured to operate the implement as the quote shows an actuator being controlled by operation of the user wherein the actuator is disposed on the implement to control the movement of the implement. ))
Regarding Claim 3 Milender- Algermissen teaches (Milander discloses the following limitations:)The agricultural machine of claim 1, wherein the sequence step comprises at least one parameter assigned to the command of the sequence step; (Pg. 6 – [0031] – “Command devices 132 include a hitch switch 148 configured to generate RAISE/LOWER signals 150 for tool height control system 106” & See Also Pg. 2 – [0007] – “For effective control, each command sequence step may need to be performed based upon a different event. For example, the operator may have raised the hitch when the tractor was a certain distance from the border of a field”(equates to wherein the sequence step comprises at least one parameter assigned to the command of the sequence step as the first quote shows the parameter to be height of the implement being adjusted, and the second quote showing the height of the implemented being adjusted as a part of a sequence in the control command.) ) and wherein the control unit is configured to adjust the parameter of the sequence step if the at least one sensor signal exceeds the reference value. (Pg. 6 – [0031] – “Command devices 132 include a hitch switch 148 configured to generate RAISE/LOWER signals 150 for tool height control system 106” & See Also Pg. 7 – [0039] – “Referring to FIGURE 6, tool height control system 106 controls the height of a tool 270 raised and lowered by a positioning assembly 272 supported by vehicle 12. System 106 includes a height control circuit (HCC) 274 which receives intermediate control signals from ACC 200 via bus 70. In response, HCC 274 generates raise and lower control signals 276 and 278 applied to raise and lower coils 280 and 282. HCC 274 can include a pulse-width modulated (PWM) interface to generate PWM control signals for the coils. Coils 280 and 282 control a valve assembly 284 to apply pressurized hydraulic fluid from a pump 286 to positioning assembly 272 (e.g., a hydraulic cylinder) via conduit 288. Thus, assembly 272 raises and lowers tool 270 in response to raise and lower control signals 276 and 278. A feedback sensor 290 is coupled to assembly 272 or tool 270 and is configured to generate a feedback signal 292 representing the height of tool 270. HCC 274 uses feedback signal 292 for closed-loop control over the height of tool 270” (equates to and wherein the control unit is configured to adjust the parameter of the sequence step if the at least one sensor signal exceeds the reference value as the first quote shows the ability of the system disclosed to raise or lower the implement based on the need of the vehicle over the current terrain, and the second quote showing the sensor signal of the implement being used to adjust the implement based on feedback control and thus if the height of the tool is exceeding a reference value the feedback loop would then lower the tool accordingly.))
Regarding Claim 6 Milender teaches The agricultural machine of claim 1, as previously mapped above.
Yet Milender fails to teach wherein the poor operation of the implement is determined if the acoustic signal exceeds the reference value.
Algermissen teaches w wherein the poor operation of the implement is determined if the acoustic noise exceeds the reference value. (Pg. 10 – “In a further advantageous development of the invention, it is provided that the at least one acoustic reference characteristic comprises at least one acoustic reference characteristic which indicates a fault-free operating state of the agricultural machine, and/or comprises at least one acoustic reference characteristic which indicates the presence of an operational fault, and/or comprises at least one acoustic reference characteristic which indicates a specific type of operational fault.” & See Also Pg. 14 – “The plurality of acoustic reference characteristics can include reference characteristics obtained by measurements on the agricultural machine 1 and/or by measurements on at least one identical agricultural machine.” (equates to and wherein the poor operation of the implement is determined if the acoustic signal exceeds the reference value as the first quote shows the malfunctioning vs the fault free state based on acoustic reference characteristics and the second quote showing a measurable value in which the first quote would be used to take in and determine a fault being above a threshold value. )) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Milender to include wherein the at least one sensor signal is an acoustic signal and wherein the poor operation of the implement is determined if the acoustic signal exceeds the reference value as this limitation allows for another sensor reading type to be implemented into the adjustment of the working condition of the machine and thus allows for a wider variety of sensors to be used to best make adjustments to the control sequence based on.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein the at least one sensor signal is an acoustic signal and wherein the poor operation of the implement is determined if the acoustic signal exceeds the reference value as this limitation allows for more than position of the vehicle and a draft force to be used to raise and lower the height of the implement.
Regarding Claim 7 Milender- Algermissen teaches The agricultural machine of claim 6, as previously mapped above.
Yet Milender fails to teach wherein the reference value defines a volume threshold within a frequency band representative for noises caused by the implement hitting the agricultural field or an end stop.
Algermissen teaches wherein the reference value defines a volume threshold within a frequency band representative for noises caused by the implement hitting the agricultural field or an end stop. (Pg. 19 – “and/or the acoustic reference characteristic (9) comprises one or more or all of the following noise parameters which characterize the operating noise of the agricultural machine (1): - a frequency, - a phase, - an amplitude and/or a sound pressure and/or a volume,” & See Also Pg. 10 – “In a further advantageous development of the invention, it is provided that the at least one acoustic reference characteristic comprises at least one acoustic reference characteristic which indicates a fault-free operating state of the agricultural machine, and/or comprises at least one acoustic reference characteristic which indicates the presence of an operational fault, and/or comprises at least one acoustic reference characteristic which indicates a specific type of operational fault.” & See Also Pg. 2 – “A characterizing parameter in this sense can be, for example, a frequency spectrum of an acoustic signal, e.g. a frequency spectrum of an actual operating noise of the agricultural machine recorded in the form of an acoustic signal.” (equates to wherein the reference value defines a volume threshold within a frequency band representative for noises caused by the implement hitting the agricultural field or an end stop as the first quote shows the volume and frequency being taken into account for fault determination and the second quote shows the frequency being within a spectrum or a band of frequency to determine the fault, and the last quote showing the fault being compared relation to a normal operating state and thus when a fault is detected using the reference characteristics of volume and a frequency band a threshold is gone over when a fault is signaled to be detected compared to a normal operating state. )) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Milender to include wherein the reference value defines a volume threshold within a frequency band representative for noises caused by the implement hitting the agricultural field or an end stop as this allows a specific type of data to be considered while filtering out data that is leading to extraneous solutions by way of a specific frequency band.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein the reference value defines a volume threshold within a frequency band representative for noises caused by the implement hitting the agricultural field or an end stop as this limitation allows for a specific data type to be considered when using an acoustic sensor ensuring that the yet another type of data is considered when determining a fault with the operating state of the machine thus ensuring a variety of methods are used to determine if an adjustment is needed in the control sequence.
Regarding Claim 9 Milender- Algermissen teaches (Milander discloses the following limitations:) The agricultural machine of claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to reduce the impact by adjusting the at least one parameter. (Pg. 7 – [0039] – “HCC 274 may also receive other input signals such as draft force and position command signals (not shown) which are also used to set the commanded height of tool 270.” & See Also Pg. 7 – [0039] – “Referring to FIGURE 6, tool height control system 106 controls the height of a tool 270 raised and lowered by a positioning assembly 272 supported by vehicle 12. System 106 includes a height control circuit (HCC) 274 which receives intermediate control signals from ACC 200 via bus 70. In response, HCC 274 generates raise and lower control signals 276 and 278 applied to raise and lower coils 280 and 282. HCC 274 can include a pulse-width modulated (PWM) interface to generate PWM control signals for the coils. Coils 280 and 282 control a valve assembly 284 to apply pressurized hydraulic fluid from a pump 286 to positioning assembly 272 (e.g., a hydraulic cylinder) via conduit 288. Thus, assembly 272 raises and lowers tool 270 in response to raise and lower control signals 276 and 278. A feedback sensor 290 is coupled to assembly 272 or tool 270 and is configured to generate a feedback signal 292 representing the height of tool 270. HCC 274 uses feedback signal 292 for closed-loop control over the height of tool 270”. (equates to wherein the control unit is configured to reduce the impact by adjusting the at least one parameter as the first quote shows the use of the draft force as a decider in determining whether or not to raise or lower the tool with respect to the ground and thus an impact is measured, wherein the second quote shows how the tool is raised or lowered based on feedback data wherein the draft force may be used to determine where to raise the tool to.) )
Regarding Claim 11 Milender- Algermissen (Milander discloses the following limitations:) teaches The agricultural machine of claim 9, wherein the at least one parameter comprises a position parameter of the vehicle interface or the implement; (Pg. 7 – [0039] – “HCC 274 may also receive other input signals such as draft force and position command signals (not shown) which are also used to set the commanded height of tool 270.” (equates to wherein the at least one parameter comprises a position parameter of the vehicle interface or the implement as the position of the vehicle and thus the implement is used to set the height of the implement. )) and wherein the control unit is configured to adjust the position parameter for reducing the impact. (Pg. 7 – [0039] – “HCC 274 may also receive other input signals such as draft force and position command signals (not shown) which are also used to set the commanded height of tool 270.” & See Also Pg. 7 – [0039] – “Referring to FIGURE 6, tool height control system 106 controls the height of a tool 270 raised and lowered by a positioning assembly 272 supported by vehicle 12. System 106 includes a height control circuit (HCC) 274 which receives intermediate control signals from ACC 200 via bus 70. In response, HCC 274 generates raise and lower control signals 276 and 278 applied to raise and lower coils 280 and 282. HCC 274 can include a pulse-width modulated (PWM) interface to generate PWM control signals for the coils. Coils 280 and 282 control a valve assembly 284 to apply pressurized hydraulic fluid from a pump 286 to positioning assembly 272 (e.g., a hydraulic cylinder) via conduit 288. Thus, assembly 272 raises and lowers tool 270 in response to raise and lower control signals 276 and 278. A feedback sensor 290 is coupled to assembly 272 or tool 270 and is configured to generate a feedback signal 292 representing the height of tool 270. HCC 274 uses feedback signal 292 for closed-loop control over the height of tool 270”. (equates to and wherein the control unit is configured to adjust the position parameter for reducing the impact as the tool heigh is set based on the force of the tool into the earth. And thus the position of the tool is being set based on reducing a draft force or impact of the tool with the earth.))
Regarding Claim 12 Milender- Algermissen teaches (Milander discloses the following limitations:) The agricultural machine of claim 1, wherein the sequence step of the sequence control comprises a condition for triggering the command of the sequence step; (Pg. 8 – [0048] – “The TRIGGER OR PLAYBACK CONDITION column identifies condition(s) which will trigger playback of a recorded command sequence. In the example, assuming sequence devices 130 of FIGURE 8 are used, playback of EXIT_FIELD can be triggered by manual actuation of playback switch 300 to the EXIT FIELD position when ACC 200 is in MANUAL or AUTO mode, or can be triggered automatically when vehicle 12 is a predetermined distance (e.g., 30 feet) from exiting a field when ACC 200 is in AUTO mode” (equates to wherein the sequence step of the sequence control comprises a condition for triggering the command of the sequence step as the quote showing a distance parameter being used to trigger the sequence of control)) and wherein the control unit is configured to adjust the condition of the sequence step if the sensor signal exceeds the reference value. (Pg. 8 – [0048] – “The TRIGGER OR PLAYBACK CONDITION column identifies condition(s) which will trigger playback of a recorded command sequence. In the example, assuming sequence devices 130 of FIGURE 8 are used, playback of EXIT_FIELD can be triggered by manual actuation of playback switch 300 to the EXIT FIELD position when ACC 200 is in MANUAL or AUTO mode, or can be triggered automatically when vehicle 12 is a predetermined distance (e.g., 30 feet) from exiting a field when ACC 200 is in AUTO mode. The positive GPS number for EXIT_FIELD ("30") indicates that vehicle 12 is in a field and traveling toward the border; the negative GPS number for ENTER_FIELD ("-5")” & See Also Pg. 7 – [0039] – “HCC 274 may also receive other input signals such as draft force and position command signals (not shown) which are also used to set the commanded height of tool 270.” (equates to and wherein the control unit is configured to adjust the condition of the sequence step if the sensor signal exceeds the reference value. As the quote shows the ability to change the condition of the sequence step is exiting or entering and the various parameters associated with the vehicle for of the conditions detected, and does so when the position sensor value exceeds either of the 30 or -5 values as seen by the first quote.))
Regarding Claim 13 Milender- Algermissen (Milander discloses the following limitations:) teaches The agricultural machine of claim 12, wherein the condition for triggering the command of the sequence step comprises a waypoint at which the command of the sequence step is executed; (Pg. 8 – [0048] – “The TRIGGER OR PLAYBACK CONDITION column identifies condition(s) which will trigger playback of a recorded command sequence. In the example, assuming sequence devices 130 of FIGURE 8 are used, playback of EXIT_FIELD can be triggered by manual actuation of playback switch 300 to the EXIT FIELD position when ACC 200 is in MANUAL or AUTO mode, or can be triggered automatically when vehicle 12 is a predetermined distance (e.g., 30 feet) from exiting a field when ACC 200 is in AUTO mode. The positive GPS number for EXIT_FIELD ("30") indicates that vehicle 12 is in a field and traveling toward the border; the negative GPS number for ENTER_FIELD ("-5")” & See Also Pg. 29 – Fig. 10 – enter_field – lower_htich engage, & Exit_field – raise_hitch engage (equates to wherein the condition for triggering the command of the sequence step comprises a waypoint at which the command of the sequence step is executed as the first quote shows the various position for which the vehicle is stated to be within a condition for a particular action to happen wherein the figure shows the changing of the sequence step or the raising and lowering of the hitch based on the waypoint the vehicle is coming into contact with. )) wherein the control unit is configured to adjust the position of the waypoint. (Pg. 8 – [0048] – “The TRIGGER OR PLAYBACK CONDITION column identifies condition(s) which will trigger playback of a recorded command sequence. In the example, assuming sequence devices 130 of FIGURE 8 are used, playback of EXIT_FIELD can be triggered by manual actuation of playback switch 300 to the EXIT FIELD position when ACC 200 is in MANUAL or AUTO mode, or can be triggered automatically when vehicle 12 is a predetermined distance (e.g., 30 feet) from exiting a field when ACC 200 is in AUTO mode. The positive GPS number for EXIT_FIELD ("30") indicates that vehicle 12 is in a field and traveling toward the border; the negative GPS number for ENTER_FIELD ("-5")” (equates to wherein the control unit is configured to adjust the position of the waypoint. As the quote shows two waypoints being used and thus an adjustment of those values or using one or the other may be used to trigger the sequence step.))
Regarding Claim 14 Milender- Algermissen teaches (Milander discloses the following limitations:) The agricultural machine of claim 12, wherein the condition for triggering the command of the sequence step comprises a time point at which the command of the sequence step is executed; (Pg. 2 – [0007] – “For effective control, each command sequence step may need to be performed based upon a different event… Thus, each step may occur in response to an event based upon a geographic position, feedback signal, timer value or other signal.” (Equates to wherein the condition for triggering the command of the sequence step comprises a time point at which the command of the sequence step is executed; as the quote shows a timer value or a time point in which the sequence is triggered.)) wherein the control unit is configured to adjust the time point. (Pg. 8 – [0042] – “For example, an actuation of < 1 second could indicate a playback request, an actuation between 2 and 4 seconds could indicate a record request, and an actuation of > 5 seconds could indicate an erase request.” (equates to wherein the control unit is configured to adjust the time point as the quote shows a variety of actuation times wherein the switch used to set the sequence step may be adjusted to any of these times for use in the sequence.))
Regarding Claim 15 Milender- Algermissen teaches (Milander discloses the following limitations:) The agricultural machine of claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to reduce the impact by adjusting the condition of the sequence step. (Pg. 8 – [0048] – “The TRIGGER OR PLAYBACK CONDITION column identifies condition(s) which will trigger playback of a recorded command sequence. In the example, assuming sequence devices 130 of FIGURE 8 are used, playback of EXIT_FIELD can be triggered by manual actuation of playback switch 300 to the EXIT FIELD position when ACC 200 is in MANUAL or AUTO mode, or can be triggered automatically when vehicle 12 is a predetermined distance (e.g., 30 feet) from exiting a field when ACC 200 is in AUTO mode. The positive GPS number for EXIT_FIELD ("30") indicates that vehicle 12 is in a field and traveling toward the border; the negative GPS number for ENTER_FIELD ("-5")” & See Also Pg. 29 – Fig. 10 – enter_field – lower_htich engage, & Exit_field – raise_hitch engage (equates to wherein the control unit is configured to reduce the impact by adjusting the condition of the sequence step as the quote shows the condition being entering or exiting to trigger the sequence wherein each different condition has a different height being set for the tool and thus the impact is reduced based on a switch in condition from enter to exit as the impact would be greater when the hitch is engaged and less when disengaged.))
Regarding Claim 17 Milender- Algermissen teaches (Milander discloses the following limitations:) The agricultural machine of claim 1, comprising a vehicle; wherein the control unit is configured to adjust a parameter of the vehicle. (Pg. 7 – [0039] – “Referring to FIGURE 6, tool height control system 106 controls the height of a tool 270 raised and lowered by a positioning assembly 272 supported by vehicle 12. System 106 includes a height control circuit (HCC) 274 which receives intermediate control signals from ACC 200 via bus 70. In response, HCC 274 generates raise and lower control signals 276 and 278 applied to raise and lower coils 280 and 282. HCC 274 can include a pulse-width modulated (PWM) interface to generate PWM control signals for the coils. Coils 280 and 282 control a valve assembly 284 to apply pressurized hydraulic fluid from a pump 286 to positioning assembly 272 (e.g., a hydraulic cylinder) via conduit 288. Thus, assembly 272 raises and lowers tool 270 in response to raise and lower control signals 276 and 278. A feedback sensor 290 is coupled to assembly 272 or tool 270 and is configured to generate a feedback signal 292 representing the height of tool 270. HCC 274 uses feedback signal 292 for closed-loop control over the height of tool 270”. (equates to comprising a vehicle; wherein the control unit is configured to adjust a parameter of the vehicle as the quote shows adjusting a height of the tool and thus the parameter of the vehicle based on a control sequence. ))
Regarding Claim 18 Milender teaches A method for a sequence control comprising: (Pg. 3 – [0013] – “Another embodiment of the present invention provides a method of controlling a plurality of outputs associated with an off-road vehicle, said outputs actuated by respective actuators in response to respective control signals normally generated in response to actuations of a plurality of command devices, said method comprising the steps of” & See Also Pg. 3 – [0010] – “control system for an off-road vehicle which can record a command sequence” ) recording a sequence step of a sequence control comprising a command to control an actuator based on a manual operation of a human machine interface if a learn mode is active; (Pg. 4 – [0016] – “a control system 10 for controlling outputs associated with an off-road vehicle 12 can record sequences of commands and then repeat the recorded command sequences. A command control circuit (CCC) 14 receives input signals from three sets of input devices. First, sequence devices 16 generate sequence signals 18 (e.g., record, playback and erase) interfaced to CCC 14 via an input interface circuit 20” & See Also Pg. 7 – [0040] – “Vehicle 12 can also be a combine equipped with a header positioning assembly wherein tool 270 is a header. A header control system” & See Also Pg. 3 – [0011] – “to operate in a record mode in response to the record signal wherein the sequence of commands is recorded in said memory circuit in response to sequential actuations of the command devices” (equates to wherein the control unit is configured to record a sequence step of a sequence control comprising a command to control the actuator based on a manual operation of the human machine interface if a learn mode is active as the first quote shows the control system outputting a sequence of commands via receiving inputs and thus the utilization of the HMI is established for the use of running the sequence. The second quote shows the actuator of the vehicle being control via a control system and thus could be implemented into the sequence of commands, and finally the last quote showing the record mode being equivalent to the learn mode as the sequence is being recorded into a memory.) ) executing the recorded sequence step comprising the command to control the actuator if a replay mode is active; (Pg. 10 – [0059] – “Thus, the sequential command repeater system can playback command sequences recorded by an operator or downloaded via an interface” & See Also Pg. 3 – [0009] – “The operator may switch the system to a teaching mode in which he manipulates a lever to subsequently move the actuators and to store this sequence of operations in a circuit” (equates to execute the recorded sequence step comprising the command to control the actuator if a replay mode is active; as the first quote shows the ability of the system to playback a recorded sequence by the operator’s input wherein the second quote shows the operator being able to input commands to the actuator.) ) controlling the actuator according to the command; (Pg. 10 – [0059] – “Thus, the sequential command repeater system can playback command sequences recorded by an operator or downloaded via an interface” & See Also Pg. 3 – [0009] – “The operator may switch the system to a teaching mode in which he manipulates a lever to subsequently move the actuators and to store this sequence of operations in a circuit” (equates to control the actuator according to the command of the sequence step as the first quote shows the ability to run sequential commands based on inputted commands and the second quote showing the actuator being used for the operator to input commands into. ) ) receiving at least one sensor signal from at least one sensor; (Pg. 5 – [0017] – “ For closed loop control, sensors 48 generate feedback signals 50 applied to OCC 36 and, possibly, CCC 14. Sensors 48 may be coupled to actuators 40 or outputs 44. Status or feedback signals may also be provided by OCCs 36 to CCC 14 via a data bus” (equates to receive at least one sensor signal from the at least one sensor as the first quote shows sensor signals being used for feedback and thus receiving the sensor signals for use of feedback in the control loop.)) wherein the at least one sensor is configured to detect an impact due to a collision against an end stop of a vehicle interface, a collision against an end stop of the actuator, or an implement hitting an agricultural field (Pg. 7 – [0039] – “HCC 274 may also receive other input signals such as draft force and position command signals (not shown) which are also used to set the commanded height of tool 270.” (equates to wherein the at least one sensor is configured to detect an impact due to a collision against an end stop of the vehicle interface; a collision against an end stop of the actuator; or the implement hitting the agricultural field as the quote shows the implementation of a draft force being detected within the tool allowing for the height of the tool to be raised or lowered based on the detected draft force which is signaling the force of the implement with the tool interacting with the earth.) )) comparing the at least one sensor signal with a reference value for determining a poor operation of an implement in response to a controlling of the actuator according to the command of the sequence step; (Pg. 7 – [0039] – “Referring to FIGURE 6, tool height control system 106 controls the height of a tool 270 raised and lowered by a positioning assembly 272 supported by vehicle 12. System 106 includes a height control circuit (HCC) 274 which receives intermediate control signals from ACC 200 via bus 70. In response, HCC 274 generates raise and lower control signals 276 and 278 applied to raise and lower coils 280 and 282. HCC 274 can include a pulse-width modulated (PWM) interface to generate PWM control signals for the coils. Coils 280 and 282 control a valve assembly 284 to apply pressurized hydraulic fluid from a pump 286 to positioning assembly 272 (e.g., a hydraulic cylinder) via conduit 288. Thus, assembly 272 raises and lowers tool 270 in response to raise and lower control signals 276 and 278. A feedback sensor 290 is coupled to assembly 272 or tool 270 and is configured to generate a feedback signal 292 representing the height of tool 270. HCC 274 uses feedback signal 292 for closed-loop control over the height of tool 270” & See Also Pg. 10 – [0059] – “For example, an implement manufacturer could predetermine a set of command sequences which provide expert control for commonly repeated command sequences of an implement, and provide the command sequences with the implement” (equates to compare the at least one sensor signal with a reference value for determining a poor operation of the implement in response to a controlling of the actuator according to the command of the sequence step as the first quote shows how a feedback sensor signal is used to adjust the height of the implement and is adjusted within a closed loop control circuit. And thus the feedback signal has to be compared to a reference value as closed loop control has a designated reference value for the implement to work at in order to adjust the implement based on the feedback signal. The second quote shows how the commands sequence can be set for the implement wherein the closed loop control be taking place.) ) and optimizing the sequence step of the sequence control in case of a poor operation of the implement. (Pg. 5 – [0022] – “In response to a view signal, CCC 14 produces a signal on bus 56 to cause a recorded command sequence to be displayed to an operator (in text or graphics). Then, in response to edit signals, CCC 14 allows the operator to edit the recorded command sequence. Thus, an operator may make adjustments to optimize the command sequence.” & See Also Pg. 5 – [0017] – “These control signals are converted into control signals 38 which cause the output actuators 40 to actuate commanded outputs 44 via data busses 42. Outputs 44 may be supported by vehicle 12 or implements coupled to vehicle 12. OCCs 36 control outputs 44 in open or closed control loops. For closed loop control, sensors 48 generate feedback signals 50 applied to OCC 36 and, possibly, CCC 14. Sensors 48 may be coupled to actuators 40 or outputs 44. Status or feedback signals may also be provided by OCCs 36 to CCC 14 via a data bus (” (equates to optimize the sequence step of the sequence control in case of a poor operation of the implement as the second quote shows the sensor input being received and generating feedback signals in which a closed loop or open loop control circuit is used to adjust the implement based on the feedback and thus optimize the sequence as the control loop adjusts based on the feedback. The second quote also shows how the implement may be used as an output in the loop and thus the optimization is done for the implement.) )
Yet Milander fails to teach and the at least one sensor signal indicates hydraulic pressure, strain or acoustic noise;
Algermissen teaches receive at least one sensor signal from the at least one sensor, the at least one sensor signal indicating hydraulic pressure, strain or acoustic noise; (Pg. 10 – “In a further advantageous development of the invention, it is provided that the at least one acoustic reference characteristic comprises at least one acoustic reference characteristic which indicates a fault-free operating state of the agricultural machine, and/or comprises at least one acoustic reference characteristic which indicates the presence of an operational fault, and/or comprises at least one acoustic reference characteristic which indicates a specific type of operational fault.” & See Also Pg. 14 – “The plurality of acoustic reference characteristics can include reference characteristics obtained by measurements on the agricultural machine 1 and/or by measurements on at least one identical agricultural machine.” (equates to and wherein the poor operation of the implement is determined if the acoustic signal exceeds the reference value as the first quote shows the malfunctioning vs the fault free state based on acoustic reference characteristics and the second quote showing a measurable value in which the first quote would be used to take in and determine a fault being above a threshold value. )) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Milender to include receive at least one sensor signal from the at least one sensor, the at least one sensor signal indicating hydraulic pressure, strain or acoustic noise as this allows another way of measuring the implements interaction with the ground to be included ensuring the proper height of the tool is attained.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include receive at least one sensor signal from the at least one sensor, the at least one sensor signal indicating hydraulic pressure, strain or acoustic noise as this allows working conditions of the implement to be better monitored.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milender- Algermissen as previously mapped above and in view of Prull et al. (EP 4473818 A2).
Regarding Claim 5 Milender- Algermissen teaches The agricultural machine of claim 1, as previously mapped above.
Yet Milender- Algermissen fails to teach wherein the poor operation of the implement is determined if the strain signal exceeds the reference value.
Prull teaches wherein the poor operation of the implement is determined if the strain signal exceeds the reference value. ( Pg. 4 – “It is also conceivable that the first detection device detects a mechanical force acting on the tool unit and/or the carrier, for example by using strain gauges as sensor devices.” & See Also Pg. 4 – “The agricultural machine used or advantageously used for the method described here comprises a machine frame with at least one support mounted thereon so that its height and/or angle can be adjusted by means of an adjustment mechanism. At least one tool unit is attached to this support, the contact pressure of which on the soil to be worked and/or its working depth (e.g. seeding depth) can be changed depending on the position of the carrier relative to the machine frame, which can be adjusted by means of the adjustment mechanism” & See Also Pg. 3 – “machine frame can be specified by control signals specified by the signal processing and control device for the adjustment mechanism, which enables the working depth and/or the contact pressure to approach the desired setpoint values.” (equates to and wherein the poor operation of the implement is determined if the strain signal exceeds the reference value as the second and third quotes shows the adjustment of the agricultural machine being done based on setpoint readings of a pressure sensor and the first quote shows the use of a strain may be utilized instead of a pressure sensor.)) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Milender to include wherein the at least one sensor signal is a strain signal and wherein the poor operation of the implement is determined if the strain signal exceeds the reference value as this limitation allows for another sensor reading type to be implemented into the adjustment of the working condition of the machine and thus allows for a wider variety of sensors to be used to best make adjustments to the control sequence based on.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein the at least one sensor signal is a strain signal and wherein the poor operation of the implement is determined if the strain signal exceeds the reference value as this limitation allows for more than position of the vehicle and a draft force to be used to raise and lower the height of the implement.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milender-Algermissen as previously mapped above and in view of Lee (KR 10-2255422 B1).
Regarding Claim 10 Milender- Algermissen teaches The agricultural machine of claim 9, as previously mapped above.
Yet Milender fails to teach wherein the at least one parameter comprises a speed or acceleration parameter; and wherein the control unit is configured to reduce the at least one parameter for reducing the impact.
Algermissen teaches wherein the at least one parameter comprises a speed or acceleration parameter (Pg. 11 – “In a further advantageous development of the invention, it is provided that the operating state information comprises one or more or all of the following operating state parameters: - a speed of the agricultural machine”)
Yet both Milender-Algermissen fail to teach and wherein the control unit is configured to reduce the at least one parameter for reducing the impact.
Lee teaches and wherein the control unit is configured to reduce the at least one parameter for reducing the impact. (Pg. 2 – “Further, the control unit 200, when the clutch 100 is released to reduce the rotational speed (rpm) or output of the engine 20, and then the clutch 100 is reconnected, the control unit 200 May automatically increase the rotational speed (rpm) or output of the engine 20. By the above-described configuration, the present invention is to change the front and rear lever 12 to neutral or the operator stepping on the clutch pedal 11 while the agricultural vehicle 1 is performing a work that requires a large load such as plowing work. When stopping the driving of the agricultural work vehicle 1, the clutch pressure is gradually reduced according to a predetermined pressure profile so that the power is gradually reduced while slipping the clutch 100 so that the agricultural work vehicle 1 is slowly By stopping, it has the effect of effectively preventing the impact that may occur instantaneously on the agricultural work vehicle (1).” (equates to and wherein the control unit is configured to reduce the at least one parameter for reducing the impact as the quote shows a decrease in engine speed being actualized when the impact is too great upon the vehicle and thus allowing for the vehicle’s engine to not be overloaded at a point of high impact.)) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Milender-Algermissen to include and wherein the control unit is configured to reduce the at least one parameter for reducing the impact as this allows for another operational parameter of the vehicle to be controlled in order to reduce the impact being experienced by the machine allows for a variety of maneuvering tactics for the vehicles to exit the high stress/impact situation.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include and wherein the control unit is configured to reduce the at least one parameter for reducing the impact as this allows for a parameter other than raising and lowering the implement to be realized in order to successfully reduce the impact experienced by the vehicle.
Claim 4 and 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milender- Algermissen as previously mapped above and in view of Byttebier (BE 1024691 A1).
Regarding Claim 4 Milender- Algermissen teaches The agricultural machine of claim 1, as previously mapped above.
Yet Milender- Algermissen fails to teach the poor operation of the implement is determined if the pressure signal exceeds the reference value.
Byttebier teaches the poor operation of the implement is determined if the hydraulic pressure signal exceeds the reference value. (Pg. 11 – “According to the embodiment shown, in such an embodiment, for example as shown in Figures 5 to 7, the sensor is formed by a set of guide rollers 24 or pressure rollers 24 coupled to the ground shares 22 and configured to make contact with the ground 2 during the harvesting process. The pressure that the unit 20 exerts on the ground 2 can be determined with any suitable sensor that can determine the pressure and/or force exerted by the unit on the ground, such as a sensor for measuring a force, a torque, a deformation, such as a force cell or also load cell, strain gauge, etc. According to a preferred embodiment, the pressure can also be determined by means of the force and/or pressure exerted by the actuators 200, such as, for example, a suitable sensor for determining the pressure in the hydraulic fluid of the hydraulic cylinders, etc.” (equates to and wherein the poor operation of the implement is determined if the pressure signal exceeds the reference value as the quote shows the contact with the ground and thus the proper height of the working tool being measured by the hydraulic pressure sensor. )) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Milender to include wherein the at least one sensor signal is a pressure signal and wherein the poor operation of the implement is determined if the pressure signal exceeds the reference value as this limitation allows for another sensor reading type to be implemented into the adjustment of the working condition of the machine and thus allows for a wider variety of sensors to be used to best make adjustments to the control sequence based on.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein the at least one sensor signal is a pressure signal and wherein the poor operation of the implement is determined if the pressure signal exceeds the reference value as this limitation allows for more than position of the vehicle and a draft force to be used to raise and lower the height of the implement.
Regarding Claim 16 Milender-Algermissen (Milander discloses the following limitations:) teaches The agricultural machine of claim 1, comprising a first actuator; (Pg. 2 – [0002] – “an engine speed actuator” ) a second actuator; (Pg. 2 – [0003] – “A farming input may be applied by an implement based upon settings of a lever which controls a hydraulic valve supplying hydraulic fluid to an actuator on the implement.” ) wherein the control unit is configured to record a first sequence step of the sequence control comprising a command to control the first actuator; (Pg. 3 – [0009] – “The operator may switch the system to a teaching mode in which he manipulates a lever to sequently move the actuators and to store this sequence of operations in a circuit” (equates to wherein the control unit is configured to record a first sequence step of the sequence control comprising a command to control the first actuator as the quote shows a sequence being initiated for a plurality of actuators and thus the engine speed actuator may be the first sequence step to control the first actuator.) ) record a second sequence step of the sequence control comprising a command to control the second actuator; (Pg. 3 – [0009] – “The operator may switch the system to a teaching mode in which he manipulates a lever to sequently move the actuators and to store this sequence of operations in a circuit” (equates to record a second sequence step of the sequence control comprising a command to control the second actuator as the quote shows a plurality of actuators being part of a control sequence wherein the second step of the control sequence may be for the fluid used for the actuator of the implement. ))
Yet Milender- Algermissen fails to teach and reduce an impact caused by the second actuator by optimizing the first sequence step.
Byttebier teaches and reduce an impact caused by the second actuator by optimizing the first sequence step. (Pg. 2 – “- calculate one or more first control signals for the one or more actuators to achieve and/or maintain the desired depth and/or pressure for ground penetration of the unit based on the at least one ground signal; - calculate one or more second control signals for the one or more actuators, based on the at least one vehicle signal, to limit a change in the orientation of the vehicle frame with respect to the desired orientation of the vehicle frame by means of a change in the position and/or orientation of the unit relative to the vehicle frame; - generate one or more control signals for the one or more actuators on the basis of the one or more first control signals and the one or more second control signals” (equates to and reduce an impact caused by the second actuator by optimizing the first sequence step as the quote shows the ability to generate an actuator signal based on a vehicle signal wherein the second actuator is then controlled based on the first actuator being controlled and thus a second actuator is control based on optimizing the control of the first actuator.)) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Milender to include and reduce an impact caused by the second actuator by optimizing the first sequence step as this allows for multiple actuators existing in the control circuit to be controlled and specifically to adjust the second actuators based on the movement of the first allowing f or a dynamic system that takes in multiple outputs ensuring proper functions of the working device is maintain based on control of various actuators.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include and reduce an impact caused by the second actuator by optimizing the first sequence step as this allows for control of a multi actuator system being done with response to a first actuator.
Response to Arguments
Response to 35 U.S.C. § 102 rejection of claims 1-3, 8-9, 11-15 and 17-18 applicant’s amendments to the claim changes the scope. Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 1, “In the Office Action claims 1-3, 8-9, 11-15 and 17-18 were rejected under35 U.S.C. § 102 as being anticipated by European Patent No. EP 0 934 562 B2 (hereinafter "Milender"). Office Action, page 4.
Applicant initially notes that a "claim is anticipated only if each and every element as set forth in the claim is found, either expressly or inherently described, in a single prior art reference." Verdegaal Bros. v. Union Oil Co. of California, 814 F.2d 628, 631, 2 USPQ2d 1051, 1053 (Fed. Cir. 1987).
Regarding the rejection of claim 1, claim 1 is presently amended and recites, inter alia, "at least one sensor, wherein the at least one sensor is configured to detect an impact due to a collision against an end stop of the vehicle interface, a collision against an end stop of the actuator, or the implement hitting the agricultural field" and that "the at least one sensor signal indicates hydraulic pressure, strain or acoustic noise." The amendments to claim 1 are supported in the original specification at least in claims 4-6 and 8. The invention of claim 1 includes a sensor configured to detect a particular type of impact and generate a signal indicating hydraulic pressure, strain or acoustic noise. The prior art does not teach or suggest this aspect of the invention.
Milender discloses a tool height control system 106 that controls the height of a tool (270) using a feedback sensor (290) coupled to a positioning assembly (272) or tool (270). The feedback sensor generates a feedback signal (292) representing the height of tool, and a height control circuit (274) uses the feedback signal for closed-loop control over the height of tool. Milender, paragraph [0039]. However, Milender's feedback sensor merely monitors the position or height of the tool for maintaining a desired height setpoint-it does not detect an impact due to a collision against an end stop or the implement hitting the agricultural field as recited by claim 1. Furthermore, the feedback sensor of Milender generates a signal indicating a position, not indicating hydraulic pressure, strain or acoustic noise.
Milender further discloses that height control circuit (274) may receive other input signals such as draft force and position command signals which are used to "set the commanded height of tool 270". Milender, paragraph [0039]. Milender does not explain how these signals may be generated or used, but the ordinary meaning of the language used indicates that neither signal relates to detecting an impact.
For at least these reasons the prior art fails to teach or suggest the invention of claim 1. Independent claim 18 is currently amended and recites language similar to that of claim 1, therefore the arguments set forth above in support of claim 1 also apply to claim 18.” - As to point A the examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant asserts that Milander does not teach “at least one sensor, wherein the at least one sensor is configured to detect an impact due to a collision against an end stop of the vehicle interface, a collision against an end stop of the actuator, or the implement hitting the agricultural field”. During Patent Examination, pending claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification (see MPEP 2111). The broadest reasonable interpretation of the aforementioned amendment is detection of a tool attached to an agricultural vehicle in which the field that the vehicle is working on is in contact. Milander teaches a draft force being detected in which the implement is then in contact with the field and a force upon the implement is then being measured and thus the hitting of the implement upon the field is detected. (as mapped above in claim 1 & 18). Therefor the Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicants arguments and assert that Milander teaches “at least one sensor, wherein the at least one sensor is configured to detect an impact due to a collision against an end stop of the vehicle interface, a collision against an end stop of the actuator, or the implement hitting the agricultural field”. wherein the at least one sensor is configured to detect an impact due to a collision against an end stop of a vehicle interface, a collision against an end stop of the actuator, or an implement hitting an agricultural field (Pg. 7 – [0039] – “HCC 274 may also receive other input signals such as draft force and position command signals (not shown) which are also used to set the commanded height of tool 270.” (equates to wherein the at least one sensor is configured to detect an impact due to a collision against an end stop of the vehicle interface; a collision against an end stop of the actuator; or the implement hitting the agricultural field as the quote shows the implementation of a draft force being detected within the tool allowing for the height of the tool to be raised or lowered based on the detected draft force which is signaling the force of the implement with the tool interacting with the earth.) ))
Similarly, Applicant asserts that Milander does not teach “the at least one sensor signal indicates hydraulic pressure, strain or acoustic noise”. During Patent Examination, pending claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification (see MPEP 2111). The broadest reasonable interpretation of the aforementioned amendment is using an acoustic noise sensor. Algermissen teaches an acoustic noise sensor to detect a working condition of the implement. (as mapped above in claim 1 & 18). Therefor the Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicants arguments and assert that Milander- Algermissen teaches “the at least one sensor signal indicates hydraulic pressure, strain or acoustic noise”. receive at least one sensor signal from the at least one sensor, the at least one sensor signal indicating hydraulic pressure, strain or acoustic noise; (Pg. 10 – “In a further advantageous development of the invention, it is provided that the at least one acoustic reference characteristic comprises at least one acoustic reference characteristic which indicates a fault-free operating state of the agricultural machine, and/or comprises at least one acoustic reference characteristic which indicates the presence of an operational fault, and/or comprises at least one acoustic reference characteristic which indicates a specific type of operational fault.” & See Also Pg. 14 – “The plurality of acoustic reference characteristics can include reference characteristics obtained by measurements on the agricultural machine 1 and/or by measurements on at least one identical agricultural machine.” (equates to and wherein the poor operation of the implement is determined if the acoustic signal exceeds the reference value as the first quote shows the malfunctioning vs the fault free state based on acoustic reference characteristics and the second quote showing a measurable value in which the first quote would be used to take in and determine a fault being above a threshold value. ))
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
EP 4385298 A1 - A system and a method (600) for controlling an agricultural vehicle (12) includes receiving sensor information for the agricultural vehicle (12) from one or more sensors (120), determining a change in a state of the agricultural vehicle (12) based on the sensor information, determining a change in a physical parameter of the agricultural vehicle (12) based on the change in the state of the agricultural vehicle (12), updating an auto-guidance controller for the agricultural vehicle (12) based on the change in the physical parameter of the agricultural vehicle (12), and controlling an operation of the agricultural vehicle (12) based on the updated auto-guidance controller.
CN118210255A - The present disclosure relates to automatic guidance control for agricultural vehicles. A system and method for controlling an agricultural vehicle, comprising: the method includes receiving sensor information for an agricultural vehicle from one or more sensors, determining a change in a state of the agricultural vehicle based on the sensor information, determining a change in a physical parameter of the agricultural vehicle based on the change in the state of the agricultural vehicle, updating an automatic guidance controller for the agricultural vehicle based on the change in the physical parameter of the agricultural vehicle, and controlling operation of the agricultural vehicle based on the updated automatic guidance controller.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.A.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/Hitesh Patel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667
2/24/26