DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final office action in response to applicant’s preliminary amendment filed on 12/16/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending and being considered.
Priority
The instant application is a continuation of US application 17/545,831 filed on 12/8/2021, now US Patent No. 12,124,587 B2.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/21/2024, 11/7/2024, has been considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, initialed and dated copy of Applicant’s IDS forms 1449 filed as stated above is/are attached to the instant Office Action.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 line 4, “instructions that are executable by the system to …” is suggested to read “instructions that are executed by the system to …”.
Claim 2 line 2, “… with the first contract” may read “… with the first smart contract”.
Similarly claim 13 line 3.
Appropriate correction is suggested.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 9, 12-13, are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being anticipated by the corresponding claims of US Patent No. 12,124,587 B2 (hereinafter “’587”), as seen in the table below.
Claim Comparison
Instant Application 18/892,250
US Patent No. 12,124,587 B2
Claim 12 (similarly claim 1). A computer-implemented method, comprising:
deploying a policy smart contract to analyze a first smart contract, analyzing, by the policy smart contract, the first smart contract
to determine a risk score corresponding to the first smart contract;
and in response to determining that the risk score is above a threshold score, restricting users from accessing the first smart contract.
12 (or claim 1). A computer-implemented method, comprising:
deploying, by a first entity, a policy smart contract on a blockchain to analyze a first smart contract deployed by a second entity, wherein the policy smart contract is governed by a set of rules, wherein the policy smart contract performs a first assessment that includes analyzing one or more functionalities of the first smart contract and detecting for one or more vulnerabilities associated with the first smart contract based on the set of rules;
determining a risk score corresponding to the first smart contract based on the analyzing the one or more functionalities of the first smart contract and the detecting;
based on the determined risk score, determining whether to restrict one or more users of a first platform corresponding to the first entity from accessing the first smart contract by users of a first platform corresponding to the first entity.
Claim 2, 13
Claim 1
Claim 9
Claim 6
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 12, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Diriye et al (US20200118131A1-IDS, hereinafter, "Diriye").
Regarding claim 1, similarly claim 12, Diriye teaches:
A system, a computer-implemented method (Diriye, discloses system and method for executing blockchain transaction based on risk level of smart contract in compliance to rules, see [Abstract]), comprising: a processor; and a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon computer-executable instructions (Fig. 8, Processing unit 804, Memory 806, and [0007] non-transitory computer readable medium including instructions, that when read by a processor) that are executable by the system to cause the system to perform operations comprising:
deploying a policy smart contract to analyze a first smart contract, analyzing, by the policy smart contract, the first smart contract to determine a risk score corresponding to the first smart contract (e.g., Fig. 1, Risk Assessment Nodes/Peers 108 (i.e., policy smart contract). And [0005] The first blockchain node is configured to receive a request to transfer an asset, and generate a blockchain transaction including a smart contract identifier and one or more parameters. The second blockchain node is configured to obtain one or more rules from a smart contract that corresponds to the smart contract identifier and compare the one or more parameters to the one or more rules to obtain a risk level. And [0042] the system may learn what contract configurations to apply or compose for an individual or business, including analyzing characteristics or properties of the requested contract by analyzing the historical configurations of similar contracts and analyzing context information);
and in response to determining that the risk score is above a threshold score, restricting users from accessing the first smart contract (e.g., [0005] In response to the risk level is greater than a threshold, the second blockchain node is configured to not execute the blockchain transaction (i.e., restricting users from accessing the first smart contract). And [0079] If the calculated risk score is greater than a predetermined threshold, the risk assessment node/peer 430 provides a cancel or fix transaction notification 436 to the asset requestor node or peer 420. And [0089] At block 524, the blockchain transaction is declined if the risk level is greater than the predetermined threshold).
Regarding claim 3, similarly claim 14, Diriye teaches the system of claim 1, the method of claim 12,
Diriye further teaches: the operations further comprising: in response to determining that the risk score is below the threshold score, providing users access to the first smart contract (e.g., [0005] In response to the risk level is not greater than the threshold, the second blockchain node is configured to execute the transaction. And [0079] If the calculated risk score is less than the predetermined threshold, the risk assessment node/peer 430 provides an endorsed transaction notification 437 to the asset provider node or peer 440).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diriye as applied above to claim 1, 12 respectively, in view of Park (US20230418951A1, hereinafter, “Park”).
Regarding claim 2, similarly claim 13, Diriye teaches the system of claim 1, the method of claim 12,
While Diriye does not specifically teach the following, in the same field of endeavor Park teaches:
wherein the analyzing the first smart contract comprises detecting a set of vulnerabilities of at least one of policies or functionalities associated with the first contract (Park, discloses apparatus and method for analyzing vulnerabilities of smart contract code, see [Abstract]. And [0033] the method including: a first step of extracting meta-information about input code (i.e., functionalities associated with the first contract), which is source code of a smart contract; a second step of converting the input code into an intermediate representation language based on the meta-information extracted in the first step; a third step of detecting whether there is vulnerable code or a rule violation case …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have employed the teachings of Park in the database transaction compliance of Diriye by analyzing vulnerabilities of smart contract code. This would have been obvious because the person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for generating a final vulnerability model by detecting a vulnerability based on the vulnerable code or the rule violation case detected (Park, [Abstract], [0012]).
Claims 4, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diriye as applied above to claim 1, 12 respectively, in view of Braghin et al (US20210049281A1-IDS, hereinafter, “Braghin”).
Regarding claim 4, similarly claim 15, Diriye teaches the system of claim 1, the method of claim 12,
Diriye further teaches: the operations further comprising: analyzing: a set of smart contracts (e.g., [0042] In some sense, the system may learn what contract configurations to apply or compose for an individual or business, including analyzing characteristics or properties of the requested contract by analyzing the historical configurations of similar contracts and analyzing context information);
While Diriye does not specifically teach the following, in the same field of endeavor Braghin teaches:
analyzing … attacks on a subset of the set of smart contracts (Braghin, discloses system and method for reducing risk of smart contracts in blockchains, see [Abstract]. And [0024] The one or more smart contracts may be accepted or rejected from the secondary blockchain to the primary blockchain according to a risk assessment (i.e., analyzing) to recursive call attack vulnerabilities); and assessing a set of vulnerabilities of the set of smart contracts (e.g., [0071] The smart contract component 440, in association with the blockchain component 460, may accept or reject one or more smart contracts from a secondary blockchain to a primary blockchain according to a risk assessment to recursive call attack vulnerabilities).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have employed the teachings of Braghin in the database transaction compliance of Diriye by accepting or rejecting smart contracts based on a risk assessment of attack vulnerabilities. This would have been obvious because the person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for reducing risk of smart contracts in blockchains (Braghin, [Abstract]).
Claims 5-8, 11, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diriye as applied above to claim 1, 12 respectively, in view of Karia et al (US20200364358A1, hereinafter, “Karia”).
Regarding claim 5, similarly claim 16, Diriye teaches the system of claim 1, the method of claim 12,
While Diriye does not specifically teach the following, in the same field of endeavor Karia teaches:
the operations further comprising: determining, using a machine learning algorithm, one or more recommendations corresponding to the first smart contract; and providing the one or more recommendations to an entity associated with the first smart contract (Karia, discloses cognitive system and method for managing consent to user data, see [Title]/[Abstract]. And [0049] The system also includes a cognitive engine 140 (also referred to as a cognitive decision engine) which is a cognitive learning and feedback system (i.e., machine learning algorithm). The cognitive engine 140 includes an artificial intelligence (AI) engine 142 that takes input from the entities 130, the blockchain 110, and other sources 150 …, and predicts whether consent and access to user data is allowed based on context Here, the cognitive engine 140 may create or otherwise dynamically control the smart contract 112 to retrieve data from the blockchain (database system 114) based on the context. Furthermore, the cognitive engine 140 may suggest improvements (i.e., recommendations) to the smart contract 112 via an admin blockchain node).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have employed the teachings of Karia in the database transaction compliance of Diriye by including an artificial intelligence engine in a cognitive decision engine. This would have been obvious because the person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for predicting whether consent and access to user data is allowed based on context and providing implicit consent to user data stored on the blockchain based on context associated with the consent (Karia, [Abstract], [0001], [0049]).
Regarding claim 6, similarly claim 17, Diriye-Karia combination teaches the system of claim 5, the method of claim 16,
Karia further teaches: the operations further comprising: determining whether the first smart contract has been updated based on the one or more recommendations ([0051] The cognitive engine 140 may predict whether consent (implied consent) is given to an entity 130 based on context surrounding a given situation. The prediction of data sharing may also be performed for new participants thus enabling intelligent onboarding of various participants adding new nodes and updating the smart contract 112 accordingly); and in response to determining that the first smart contract has been updated based on the one or more recommendations, analyzing, by the policy smart contract, the first smart contract to determine a new risk score ([0051] For example, based on parental control set by a customer, advertisements that have not been expressly blocked by a child may be prevented such that only appropriate content is shared with the child. The cognitive engine 140 may also include a feedback loop that takes user feedback in contextual cases where implicit consent has been offered & there is some feedback that has been provided by the user for the same). Same motivation as presented in claim 5, 16 would apply.
Regarding claim 7, similarly claim 18, Diriye-Karia combination teaches the system of claim 6, the method of claim 17,
Diriye further teaches: wherein if the new risk score is below the threshold score, providing users access to the first smart contract (e.g., [0088] At block 520, the blockchain transaction is approved if the risk level is less than a predetermined threshold).
Regarding claim 8, similarly claim 19, Diriye-Karia combination teaches the system of claim 5, the method of claim 16,
Karia further teaches: the operations further comprising automatically updating the first smart contract based on the one or more recommendations ([0051] The cognitive engine 140 may predict whether consent (implied consent) is given to an entity 130 based on context surrounding a given situation. The prediction of data sharing may also be performed for new participants thus enabling intelligent onboarding of various participants adding new nodes and updating the smart contract 112 accordingly. For example, based on parental control set by a customer, advertisements that have not been expressly blocked by a child may be prevented such that only appropriate content is shared with the child. The cognitive engine 140 may also include a feedback loop that takes user feedback in contextual cases where implicit consent has been offered & there is some feedback that has been provided by the user for the same). Same motivation as presented in claim 5, 16 would apply.
Regarding claim 11, Diriye-Karia combination teaches the system of claim 5,
Karia further teaches: wherein the entity is a decentralized entity (e.g., [0049] Furthermore, the cognitive engine 140 may suggest improvements (i.e., recommendations) to the smart contract 112 via an admin blockchain node (i.e., decentralized entity)). Same motivation as presented in claim 5 would apply.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diriye-Park as applied above to claim 2, further in view of Park et al (US20230102756A1, hereinafter, “Park2”).
Regarding claim 9, Diriye-Park combination teaches the system of claim 2,
The combination of Diriye-Park does not specifically teach, in the same field of endeavor Park2 teaches:
wherein the detecting a set of vulnerabilities includes detecting one or more decentralized finance (DeFi) related vulnerabilities associated with the first smart contract (Park2, discloses system and method for card-originated payment transaction to the smart contract for processing the transaction, see [Abstract]. And [0090] In addition to utilizing the payment configurations 410 to select from the decentralized finance platforms 416a-416n, in one or more embodiments, the aggregator layer 408 also communicates with the cryptocurrency monitoring manager 412 to select from the decentralized finance platforms 416a-416n. Specifically, the cryptocurrency monitoring manager 412 monitors a market volatility of specific cryptocurrencies. The aggregator layer 408 can obtain volatility measures from the cryptocurrency monitoring manager 412 and determine a risk profile of cryptocurrencies or decentralized finance platforms based on the volatility measures).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have employed the teachings of Park2 in the database transaction compliance of Diriye-Park by determining risk profile of cryptocurrencies or decentralized finance platforms based on the volatility measures. This would have been obvious because the person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for card transaction rerouting system to select a decentralized finance platform for a particular payment transaction based on the payment configurations (Park2, [Abstract], [0090-91]).
Claims 10, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diriye-Braghin as applied above to claim 4, 15 respectively, further in view of Karia et al (US20200364358A1, hereinafter, “Karia”).
Regarding claim 10, similarly claim 20, Diriye-Braghin combination teaches the system of claim 4, the method of claim 15,
The combination of Diriye-Braghin does not specifically teach, in the same field of endeavor Karia teaches:
the operations further comprising: determining, using a machine learning algorithm, one or more recommendations corresponding to the first smart contract based on the assessed vulnerabilities of the set of smart contracts; and providing the one or more recommendations to an entity associated with the first smart contract (Karia, discloses cognitive system and method for managing consent to user data, see [Title]/[Abstract]. And [0049] The system also includes a cognitive engine 140 (also referred to as a cognitive decision engine) which is a cognitive learning and feedback system (i.e., machine learning algorithm). The cognitive engine 140 includes an artificial intelligence (AI) engine 142 that takes input from the entities 130, the blockchain 110, and other sources 150 …, and predicts whether consent and access to user data is allowed based on context Here, the cognitive engine 140 may create or otherwise dynamically control the smart contract 112 to retrieve data from the blockchain (database system 114) based on the context. Furthermore, the cognitive engine 140 may suggest improvements (i.e., recommendations) to the smart contract 112 via an admin blockchain node).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have employed the teachings of Karia in the database transaction compliance of Diriye-Braghin by including an artificial intelligence engine in a cognitive decision engine. This would have been obvious because the person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for predicting whether consent and access to user data is allowed based on context and providing implicit consent to user data stored on the blockchain based on context associated with the consent (Karia, [Abstract], [0001], [0049]).
Citation of References
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references are cited but not been replied upon for this office action:
Kim (US20210334363A1) discloses secure authentication on a source code for smart contract.
Ragnoli et al (US20200050768A1) discloses system and method for risk assessment of asset leaks in a blockchain.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL M LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2436