FINAL ACTION
This is the second office action on the merits. This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 02/20/2026. Applicant has amended claims 19-34 and 36 and cancelled claim 35. Claims 19-34 and 36 are pending and examined.
Drawings
The drawings were received on February 20, 2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on February 20, 2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of Application Number 19/229,076 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19-34 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 19 and 36, the limitation “a lean burn combustor” is not supported in Applicant’s disclosure. The term “lean burn combustor” is not found in the specification. The specification merely provides “The combustor 16 is configured to utilise staged lean-burn combustion” (page 83, lines 4-5). However, this does not imply that combustor 16 is a “lean burn combustor”. The term “lean burn combustor” implies a device that differs structurally from that of an ordinary combustor. Therefore, the limitation constitutes new matter.
Claims 20-34 depend from claim 19 and are rejected for the same reason.
Claims 19-34 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 19 and 36, the limitation “a lean burn combustor” is indefinite because it is not understood how a lean burn combustor differs structurally from that of an ordinary combustor. The disclosure does not show or describe structural details of a “lean burn combustor”. Rather, the specification merely provides a combustor that is “configured to utilise staged lean-burn combustion” (page 83, lines 4-5).
For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as any combustor that is capable of achieving lean-burn combustion.
Claims 20-34 depend from claim 19 and are rejected for the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-32, 34, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Summerfield (US 2003/0014979 A1), in view of Huang (US 2017/0268782 A1) and Durdina ("Reduction of Nonvolatile Particulate Matter Emissions of a Commercial Turbofan Engine at the Ground Level from the Use of a Sustainable Aviation Fuel Blend" - IDS reference), and as evidenced by Graves (US 5,987,889).
Regarding claim 19, Summerfield teaches (Figs. 1-3) a gas turbine engine (2 – Fig. 1) for an aircraft (Fig. 1 shows a turbofan engine, which is used on aircraft), comprising:
a controller (¶ [0024], ll. 6-7: “a computer control system (not shown)”);
a lean burn combustor (10 – Fig. 2; see *Note below for evidence that combustor 10 is capable of lean-burn combustion), comprising a combustion chamber (Fig. 2: where “10” is pointing to) and a plurality of fuel spray nozzles (18 and 20 – Fig. 3) configured to inject fuel into the combustion chamber (10) to achieve lean combustion (as discussed in *Note below), wherein the plurality of fuel spray nozzles (18 and 20) comprises a first subset of fuel spray nozzles (20) and a second subset of fuel spray nozzles (18),
the lean burn combustor (10) is operable in a condition in which each of the fuel spray nozzles of the first subset of fuel spray nozzles (20) is supplied with fuel at a greater fuel flow rate than each of the fuel spray nozzles of the second subset of fuel spray nozzles (18) – (¶ [0022], ll. 7-10: “In this mode of operation the total mass of fuel delivered per injector 20 via manifold 24 will be greater than that delivered per injector 18 via manifold 22”),
a ratio of the number of fuel spray nozzles in the first subset of fuel spray nozzles (20) to the number of fuel spray nozzles in the second subset of fuel spray nozzles (18) is in the range of 1:2 to 1:5 (Fig. 3 shows a quantity of 2 fuel nozzles 20 and a quantity of 10 fuel nozzles 18. Therefore, the ratio of fuel nozzles in the first subset to the second subset is 2:10, which is equivalent to 1:5).
*Note: Fig. 2 of Summerfield shows a combustor having air intake apertures 15 along liners 17 and 19 of the combustor, which would allow more air into the combustion chamber to burn leaner. Graves teaches in Fig. 1 a combustor having a similar pattern of air intake apertures (28 and 30) along the liner of the combustor. Graves’ invention addresses the problem of preventing lean blowout (col. 2, ll. 17-18), thereby showing that the Graves’ combustor is capable of lean-burn combustion. Since Summerfield’s combustor is structurally similar to that of Graves’, Summerfield’s combustor is also capable of lean-burn combustion. Alternatively, lean-burn combustion can be achieved in any combustor by (1) increasing the amount of air that is used to burn the fuel, and/or (2) decreasing the amount of fuel injected into the combustion chamber, such that there is excess air remaining after the combustion process.
However, Summerfield as evidenced by Graves, does not teach a splitter valve configured to split fuel between the first subset of fuel spray nozzles and the second subset of fuel spray nozzles, wherein
the controller is configured to control the splitter valve so that the lean burn combustor is operable in a condition in which each of the fuel spray nozzles of the first subset of fuel spray nozzles is supplied with fuel at a greater fuel flow rate than each of the fuel spray nozzles of the second subset of fuel spray nozzles.
Rather, Summerfield teaches two separate valves (38 and 40) to control the fuel split between the first subset of fuel spray nozzles and the second subset of fuel spray nozzles.
Huang teaches (Figs. 1 and 3) a similar gas turbine engine (10 – Fig. 1) for an aircraft, comprising:
a controller (43 – Fig. 1);
a lean burn combustor (15 – see ¶ [0070], ll. 6-7 which states that “Each fuel injector 32 is a lean burn fuel injector”, thus showing that combustor 15 can achieve lean-burn combustion), comprising a combustion chamber (15 – Fig. 1) and a plurality of fuel spray nozzles (66 and 68 – Fig. 3) configured to inject fuel into the combustion chamber (15) to achieve lean combustion (as discussed above), wherein the plurality of fuel spray nozzles (66 and 68) comprises a first subset of fuel spray nozzles (66) and a second subset of fuel spray nozzles (68), and further teaches:
a splitter valve (41 – Fig. 1) configured to split fuel between the first subset of fuel spray nozzles (68) and the second subset of fuel spray nozzles (66), wherein
the controller (43) is configured to control the splitter valve (41) – (¶ [0077], ll. 9-10: “The control unit 43 uses the appropriate temperature measurements to control the fuel splitter valve 41”) so that the lean burn combustor (15) is operable in a condition in which each of the fuel spray nozzles of the first subset of fuel spray nozzles (66) is supplied with fuel at a greater fuel flow rate than each of the fuel spray nozzles of the second subset of fuel spray nozzles (68) – (¶ [0073], ll. 1-3: “The method of operating the combustion chamber system comprises supplying a greater total amount of fuel to the pilot fuel nozzles 66 than to the main fuel nozzles 64”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Summerfield by replacing the two separate valves (38 and 40) with a splitter valve configured to split fuel between the first subset of fuel spray nozzles and the second subset of fuel spray nozzles, and configuring the controller to control the splitter valve so that the lean burn combustor is operable in a condition in which each of the fuel spray nozzles of the first subset of fuel spray nozzles is supplied with fuel at a greater fuel flow rate than each of the fuel spray nozzles of the second subset of fuel spray nozzles, in order to supply the appropriate amounts of fuel to the first subset of fuel spray nozzles and a second subset of fuel spray nozzles in a selected ratio, thereby providing improved combustion efficiency and/or lower emissions at low exit temperature conditions, as taught by Huang (¶ [0072] and ¶ [0118], ll. 7-10).
However, Summerfield, in view of Huang and as evidenced by Graves, does not teach a thrust nvPM emissions index ratio is:
E
I
m
a
x
T
O
/
F
m
a
x
T
O
E
I
i
d
l
e
/
F
i
d
l
e
EIidle is the nvPM emissions index in mg/kg of the gas turbine engine if operating at around 7% available thrust for given operating conditions;
EImaxTO is the nvPM emissions index in mg/kg of the gas turbine engine if operating at around 100% available thrust for the given operating conditions;
FmaxTO is the thrust of the gas turbine engine at around 100% available thrust in kN for the given operating conditions; and
Fidle is the thrust of the gas turbine engine at around 7% available thrust in kN for the given operating conditions;
the thrust nvPM emissions index ratio is greater than 0.001 and less than or equal to 1.77; and
the gas turbine engine is configured to provide fuel comprising a sustainable aviation fuel (SAF) to the plurality of fuel spray nozzles.
Durdina teaches emissions testing of a gas turbine engine using a sustainable aviation fuel blend (page 14576, Abstract, ll. 4-8). Figure 2(a) shows nvPM mass emission index vs sea level static thrust (reproduced below).
Based on the above chart:
at a thrust of 7%, EIidle = 1.1, and
at a thrust of 100%, EImaxTO = 188.
Note that FmaxTO = 100% and Fidle = 7%, based on the definitions provided in claim 19 (the units of thrust do not matter because they will “cancel out” in the expression below).
Plugging the numbers above into the expression
E
I
m
a
x
T
O
/
F
m
a
x
T
O
E
I
i
d
l
e
/
F
i
d
l
e
yields a thrust nvPM emissions index ratio of 12.0.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Summerfield, in view of Huang and as evidenced by Graves, by having a thrust nvPM emissions index ratio be greater than 0.001; and providing a fuel comprising sustainable aviation fuel (SAF) to the plurality of fuel spray nozzles, in order to provide an engine that can operate with sustainable aviation fuel (SAF), which reduces the carbon footprint of the fuel and reduces volatile and nonvolatile particulate matter emissions, which will ultimately reduce aviation’s adverse effects on the environment, as taught by Durdina (page 14576, paragraph titled “INTRODUCTION”).
However, Summerfield, in view of Huang and Durdina, and as evidenced by Graves, does not teach the thrust nvPM emissions index ratio is less than or equal to 1.77.
Note that the expression for the thrust nvPM emissions index ratio reduces to:
0.07
E
I
m
a
x
T
O
E
I
i
d
l
e
because FmaxTO = 100% and Fidle = 7%, and
1
/
F
m
a
x
T
O
1
/
F
i
d
l
e
=
1
/
100
%
1
/
7
%
=
0.07
.
Furthermore, Durdina’s Figure 2(a) teaches that EIidle and EImaxTO may vary (as evidenced by the spread of values shown by the box and whisker plots), and EIidle and EImaxTO are result-effective variables, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977); MPEP 2144.05(II)(B).
In this case, the recognized result is that the emissions indices EIidle and EImaxTO will vary based on the fuel composition (Figure 2(a) shows that a fuel having no SAF content, such as Jet A-1, will have a higher emissions index than a fuel blended with SAF, such as HEFA-SPK blend).
Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. that the emissions indices will vary based on the % of SAF in the fuel, and thus, the ratio of emissions indices (i.e., EImaxTO / EIidle) will also vary based on the % of SAF in the fuel, were disclosed in the prior art by Durdina, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to vary the emissions indices, and thus the ratio of emissions indices, by varying the SAF content in the fuel to provide a thrust nvPM emissions index ratio that is less than or equal to 1.77, as taught by Durdina, in order to provide a target emissions index (in this case, to lower the emissions index to reduce the carbon footprint of the aircraft). It has been held that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Intended use:
The limitation “the thrust nvPM emissions index ratio is greater than 0.001 and less than or equal to 1.77” is a statement of intended use because the parameters used to calculate the thrust nvPM emissions index ratio (in this case, emissions indices and thrust values) are purely functional and do not add any structure to the apparatus. It has been held that “While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function”, In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997); see also In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 212-13, 169 USPQ 226, 228-29 (CCPA 1971); In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959); “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does” Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990), MPEP 2114 (I). “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established, In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding claim 20, Summerfield, in view of Huang and Durdina, and as evidenced by Graves, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 19, and the combination further teaches (Durdina, Figure 2(a)) the thrust nvPM emissions index ratio is greater than 0.00115 (calculated to be 12.0, which is greater than 0.00115).
Regarding claim 21, Summerfield, in view of Huang and Durdina, and as evidenced by Graves, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 19, and the combination further teaches (Durdina, Figure 2(a)) the thrust nvPM emissions index ratio is greater than 0.0644 (calculated to be 12.0, which is greater than 0.0644).
Regarding claim 22, Summerfield, in view of Huang and Durdina, and as evidenced by Graves, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 19, and the combination further teaches (Durdina, Figure 2(a)) the thrust nvPM emissions index ratio is greater than or equal to 0.003 (calculated to be 12.0, which is greater than 0.003).
Regarding claim 23, Summerfield, in view of Huang and Durdina, and as evidenced by Graves, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 19, and the combination further teaches (Durdina, Figure 2(a)) the thrust nvPM emissions index ratio is greater than or equal to 0.00776 (calculated to be 12.0, which is greater than 0.00776).
Regarding claim 24, Summerfield, in view of Huang and Durdina, and as evidenced by Graves, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 19, and the combination further teaches (Durdina, Figure 2(a)) wherein the thrust nvPM emissions index ratio is greater than or equal to 0.434 (calculated to be 12.0, which is greater than 0.434).
Regarding claim 25, Summerfield, in view of Huang and Durdina, and as evidenced by Graves, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 19, and the combination further teaches (Durdina, Figure 2(a)) the thrust nvPM emissions index ratio is less than or equal to 1.62 (intended use – see rejection of claim 19).
As stated in the rejection of claim 19, the emissions indices will vary based on the % of SAF in the fuel, and thus, the ratio of emissions indices (i.e., EImaxTO / EIidle) will also vary based on the % of SAF in the fuel, as disclosed in the prior art by Durdina. It is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to vary the emissions indices, and thus the ratio of emissions indices, by varying the SAF content in the fuel to provide a thrust nvPM emissions index ratio that is less than or equal to 1.62, as taught by Durdina, in order to provide a target emissions index (in this case, to lower the emissions index to reduce the carbon footprint of the aircraft).
Regarding claim 26, Summerfield, in view of Huang and Durdina, and as evidenced by Graves, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 19, and the combination further teaches (Durdina, Figure 2(a)) the thrust nvPM emissions index ratio is less than or equal to 0.0553 (intended use – see rejection of claim 19).
As stated in the rejection of claim 19, the emissions indices will vary based on the % of SAF in the fuel, and thus, the ratio of emissions indices (i.e., EImaxTO / EIidle) will also vary based on the % of SAF in the fuel, as disclosed in the prior art by Durdina. It is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to vary the emissions indices, and thus the ratio of emissions indices, by varying the SAF content in the fuel to provide a thrust nvPM emissions index ratio that is less than or equal to 0.0553, as taught by Durdina, in order to provide a target emissions index (in this case, to lower the emissions index to reduce the carbon footprint of the aircraft).
Regarding claim 27, Summerfield, in view of Huang and Durdina, and as evidenced by Graves, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 19, and the combination further teaches (Durdina, Figure 2(a)) the thrust nvPM emissions index ratio is in the range of 0.00776 to 1.77 (intended use – see rejection of claim 19).
As stated in the rejection of claim 19, the emissions indices will vary based on the % of SAF in the fuel, and thus, the ratio of emissions indices (i.e., EImaxTO / EIidle) will also vary based on the % of SAF in the fuel, as disclosed in the prior art by Durdina. It is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to vary the emissions indices, and thus the ratio of emissions indices, by varying the SAF content in the fuel to provide a thrust nvPM emissions index ratio that is in the range of 0.00776 to 1.77, as taught by Durdina, in order to provide a target emissions index (in this case, to lower the emissions index to reduce the carbon footprint of the aircraft).
Regarding claim 28, Summerfield, in view of Huang and Durdina, and as evidenced by Graves, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 19, and the combination further teaches (Durdina, Figure 2(a)) wherein:
a) FmaxTO is in the range 85.4 kN to 172 kN (page 14577, paragraph titled “Engine Emission Tests” teaches Foo = 117 kN); and/or
b) Fidle is in the range 5.98 kN to 12.1 kN (7% of 117 kN is 8.19 kN).
Regarding claim 29, Summerfield, in view of Huang and Durdina, and as evidenced by Graves, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 19, and Summerfield further teaches (Fig. 4) the ratio of the number of fuel spray nozzles in the first subset of fuel spray nozzles (20) to the number of fuel spray nozzles in the second subset of fuel spray nozzles (18) is in the range of 1:3 to 1:4 (Fig. 4 shows a quantity of 2 fuel nozzles 20 and a quantity of 8 fuel nozzles 18. Therefore, the ratio of fuel nozzles in the first subset to the second subset is 2:8, which is equivalent to 1:4).
Regarding claim 30, Summerfield, in view of Huang and Durdina, and as evidenced by Graves, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 19, and Summerfield further teaches (Fig. 3) the first subset of fuel spray nozzles (20) includes between 1 and 10 fuel spray nozzles (Fig. 3 shows a quantity of 2 fuel nozzles 20).
Regarding claim 31, Summerfield, in view of Huang and Durdina, and as evidenced by Graves, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 19, and Summerfield further teaches (Fig. 3) the second subset of fuel spray nozzles (18) includes between 10 and 25 fuel spray nozzles (Fig. 3 shows a quantity of 10 fuel nozzles 18).
Regarding claim 32, Summerfield, in view of Huang and Durdina, and as evidenced by Graves, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 19, and Summerfield further teaches (Fig. 2) the lean burn combustor (10) comprises one or more ignitors (26).
Regarding claim 34, Summerfield, in view of Huang and Durdina as discussed so far, and as evidenced by Graves, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 19, except for the fuel provided to the combustor comprises a %SAF in the range of 50% to 100%.
Durdina further teaches the fuel provided to the combustor comprises a %SAF in the range of 50% to 100% (page 14580, 1st paragraph: “A 50% HEFA blend”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Summerfield, in view of Huang and Durdina as discussed so far, and as evidenced by Graves, by providing a fuel to the combustor comprising a %SAF in the range of 50% to 100%, in order to reduce the geometric mean diameter of the emissions particles, thereby reducing total emissions, as taught by Durdina (page 14580, 1st paragraph).
Regarding claim 36, Summerfield teaches (Figs. 1-3) a method of operating a gas turbine engine (2 – Fig. 1), the gas turbine engine (2) comprising:
a controller (¶ [0024], ll. 6-7: “a computer control system (not shown)”);
a lean burn combustor (10 – Fig. 2; see *Note below for evidence that combustor 10 is capable of lean-burn combustion), comprising a combustion chamber (Fig. 2: where “10” is pointing to) and a plurality of fuel spray nozzles (18 and 20 – Fig. 3) configured to inject fuel into the combustion chamber (10) to achieve lean combustion (as discussed in *Note below), wherein the plurality of fuel spray nozzles (18 and 20) comprises a first subset of fuel spray nozzles (20) and a second subset of fuel spray nozzles (18),
the lean burn combustor (10) is operable in a condition in which each of the fuel spray nozzles of the first subset of fuel spray nozzles (20) is supplied with fuel at a greater fuel flow rate than each of the fuel spray nozzles of the second subset of fuel spray nozzles (18) – (¶ [0022], ll. 7-10: “In this mode of operation the total mass of fuel delivered per injector 20 via manifold 24 will be greater than that delivered per injector 18 via manifold 22”),
a ratio of the number of fuel spray nozzles in the first subset of fuel spray nozzles (20) to the number of fuel spray nozzles in the second subset of fuel spray nozzles (18) is in the range of 1:2 to 1:5 (Fig. 3 shows a quantity of 2 fuel nozzles 20 and a quantity of 10 fuel nozzles 18. Therefore, the ratio of fuel nozzles in the first subset to the second subset is 2:10, which is equivalent to 1:5).
*Note: Fig. 2 of Summerfield shows a combustor having air intake apertures 15 along liners 17 and 19 of the combustor, which would allow more air into the combustion chamber to burn leaner. Graves teaches in Fig. 1 a combustor having a similar pattern of air intake apertures (28 and 30) along the liner of the combustor. Graves’ invention addresses the problem of preventing lean blowout (col. 2, ll. 17-18), thereby showing that the Graves’ combustor is capable of lean-burn combustion. Since Summerfield’s combustor is structurally similar to that of Graves’, Summerfield’s combustor is also capable of lean-burn combustion. Alternatively, lean-burn combustion can be achieved in any combustor by (1) increasing the amount of air that is used to burn the fuel, and/or (2) decreasing the amount of fuel injected into the combustion chamber, such that there is excess air remaining after the combustion process.
However, Summerfield as evidenced by Graves, does not teach a splitter valve configured to split fuel between the first subset of fuel spray nozzles and the second subset of fuel spray nozzles, wherein
the controller is configured to control the splitter valve so that the lean burn combustor is operable in a condition in which each of the fuel spray nozzles of the first subset of fuel spray nozzles is supplied with fuel at a greater fuel flow rate than each of the fuel spray nozzles of the second subset of fuel spray nozzles.
Rather, Summerfield teaches two separate valves (38 and 40) to control the fuel split between the first subset of fuel spray nozzles and the second subset of fuel spray nozzles.
Huang teaches (Figs. 1 and 3) a similar gas turbine engine (10 – Fig. 1) for an aircraft, comprising:
a controller (43 – Fig. 1);
a lean burn combustor (15 – see ¶ [0070], ll. 6-7 which states that “Each fuel injector 32 is a lean burn fuel injector”, thus showing that combustor 15 can achieve lean-burn combustion), comprising a combustion chamber (15 – Fig. 1) and a plurality of fuel spray nozzles (66 and 68 – Fig. 3) configured to inject fuel into the combustion chamber (15) to achieve lean combustion (as discussed above), wherein the plurality of fuel spray nozzles (66 and 68) comprises a first subset of fuel spray nozzles (66) and a second subset of fuel spray nozzles (68), and further teaches:
a splitter valve (41 – Fig. 1) configured to split fuel between the first subset of fuel spray nozzles (68) and the second subset of fuel spray nozzles (66), wherein
the controller (43) is configured to control the splitter valve (41) – (¶ [0077], ll. 9-10: “The control unit 43 uses the appropriate temperature measurements to control the fuel splitter valve 41”) so that the lean burn combustor (15) is operable in a condition in which each of the fuel spray nozzles of the first subset of fuel spray nozzles (66) is supplied with fuel at a greater fuel flow rate than each of the fuel spray nozzles of the second subset of fuel spray nozzles (68) – (¶ [0073], ll. 1-3: “The method of operating the combustion chamber system comprises supplying a greater total amount of fuel to the pilot fuel nozzles 66 than to the main fuel nozzles 64”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Summerfield by replacing the two separate valves (38 and 40) with a splitter valve configured to split fuel between the first subset of fuel spray nozzles and the second subset of fuel spray nozzles, and configuring the controller to control the splitter valve so that the lean burn combustor is operable in a condition in which each of the fuel spray nozzles of the first subset of fuel spray nozzles is supplied with fuel at a greater fuel flow rate than each of the fuel spray nozzles of the second subset of fuel spray nozzles, in order to supply the appropriate amounts of fuel to the first subset of fuel spray nozzles and a second subset of fuel spray nozzles in a selected ratio, thereby providing improved combustion efficiency and/or lower emissions at low exit temperature conditions, as taught by Huang (¶ [0072] and ¶ [0118], ll. 7-10).
However, Summerfield, in view of Huang and as evidenced by Graves, does not teach a thrust nvPM emissions index ratio is:
E
I
m
a
x
T
O
/
F
m
a
x
T
O
E
I
i
d
l
e
/
F
i
d
l
e
EIidle is the nvPM emissions index in mg/kg of the gas turbine engine if operating at around 7% available thrust for given operating conditions;
EImaxTO is the nvPM emissions index in mg/kg of the gas turbine engine if operating at around 100% available thrust for the given operating conditions;
FmaxTO is the thrust of the gas turbine engine at around 100% available thrust in kN for the given operating conditions; and
Fidle is the thrust of the gas turbine engine at around 7% available thrust in kN for the given operating conditions;
the thrust nvPM emissions index ratio is greater than 0.001 and less than or equal to 1.77; and
the method comprises providing fuel comprising a sustainable aviation fuel to the plurality of fuel spray nozzles.
Durdina teaches emissions testing of a gas turbine engine using a sustainable aviation fuel blend (page 14576, Abstract, ll. 4-8). Figure 2(a) shows nvPM mass emission index vs sea level static thrust (reproduced below).
Based on the above chart:
at a thrust of 7%, EIidle = 1.1, and
at a thrust of 100%, EImaxTO = 188.
Note that FmaxTO = 100% and Fidle = 7%, based on the definitions provided in claim 36 (the units of thrust do not matter because they will “cancel out” in the expression below).
Plugging the numbers above into the expression
E
I
m
a
x
T
O
/
F
m
a
x
T
O
E
I
i
d
l
e
/
F
i
d
l
e
yields a thrust nvPM emissions index ratio of 12.0.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Summerfield, in view of Huang and as evidenced by Graves, by having a thrust nvPM emissions index ratio be greater than 0.001; and providing a fuel comprising sustainable aviation fuel to the plurality of fuel spray nozzles, in order to provide an engine that can operate with sustainable aviation fuel (SAF), which reduces the carbon footprint of the fuel and reduces volatile and nonvolatile particulate matter emissions, which will ultimately reduce aviation’s adverse effects on the environment, as taught by Durdina (page 14576, paragraph titled “INTRODUCTION”).
However, Summerfield, in view of Huang and Durdina, and as evidenced by Graves, does not teach the thrust nvPM emissions index ratio is less than or equal to 1.77.
Note that the expression for the thrust nvPM emissions index ratio reduces to:
0.07
E
I
m
a
x
T
O
E
I
i
d
l
e
because FmaxTO = 100% and Fidle = 7%, and
1
/
F
m
a
x
T
O
1
/
F
i
d
l
e
=
1
/
100
%
1
/
7
%
=
0.07
.
Furthermore, Durdina’s Figure 2(a) teaches that EIidle and EImaxTO may vary (as evidenced by the spread of values shown by the box and whisker plots), and EIidle and EImaxTO are result-effective variables, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977); MPEP 2144.05(II)(B).
In this case, the recognized result is that the emissions indices EIidle and EImaxTO will vary based on the fuel composition (Figure 2(a) shows that a fuel having no SAF content, such as Jet A-1, will have a higher emissions index than a fuel blended with SAF, such as HEFA-SPK blend).
Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. that the emissions indices will vary based on the % of SAF in the fuel, and thus, the ratio of emissions indices (i.e., EImaxTO / EIidle) will also vary based on the % of SAF in the fuel, were disclosed in the prior art by Durdina, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to vary the emissions indices, and thus the ratio of emissions indices, by varying the SAF content in the fuel to provide a thrust nvPM emissions index ratio that is less than or equal to 1.77, as taught by Durdina, in order to provide a target emissions index (in this case, to lower the emissions index to reduce the carbon footprint of the aircraft). It has been held that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Desired result:
The recitation “a thrust non-volatile particulate matter (nvPM) emissions index ratio is defined as…the thrust nvPM emissions index ratio is greater than 0.001 and less than or equal to 1.77” is a statement of desired result flowing implicitly from a process step of “providing fuel comprising a sustainable aviation fuel to the plurality of fuel spray nozzles”. It has been held that a “whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.” Id. (quoting Minton v. Nat’l Ass’n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614, 1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003)), MPEP 2111.04 (I).
In this case, the “whereby clause” includes all the limitations (claim 36, lines 12-23) that are not positively recited method steps. Note that claim 36 comprises only one method step (“the method comprises providing fuel…”).
Furthermore, it is noted that the parameters used to calculate the thrust nvPM emissions index ratio (in this case, emissions indices and thrust values) are purely functional and do not add any structure to the apparatus.
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Summerfield (US 2003/0014979 A1), in view of Huang (US 2017/0268782 A1) and Durdina ("Reduction of Nonvolatile Particulate Matter Emissions of a Commercial Turbofan Engine at the Ground Level from the Use of a Sustainable Aviation Fuel Blend"), and in further view of Kopecek (US 2012/0131926 A1 - IDS reference), and as evidenced by Graves (US 5,987,889).
Regarding claim 33, Summerfield, in view of Huang and Durdina, and as evidenced by Graves, teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 32, except for each of the first subset of fuel spray nozzles is located nearer a respective one or more of the ignitors than the second subset, and/or one or more of the ignitors is arranged diametrically opposite another one or more of the ignitors.
Kopecek teaches (Figs. 1 and 8) a similar gas turbine engine (¶ [0029], l. 7) comprising a combustor (202), a first subset of fuel spray nozzles (28), a second subset of fuel spray nozzles (28 – note that ¶ [0044], ll. 1-2 teaches “a plurality of fuel nozzles 28”), and one or more ignitors (each ignitor comprising 12, 14, and 16), and further teaches:
each of the first subset of fuel spray nozzles (28) is located nearer a respective one or more of the ignitors (12, 14, and 16) than the second subset (for example, the fuel nozzles shown in Figs. 1-2 are located nearer the ignitors than the fuel nozzles shown in Figs. 6-7 are), and/or one or more of the ignitors (12, 15, and 16) is arranged diametrically opposite another one or more of the ignitors (shown in Fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Summerfield, in view of Huang and Durdina, and as evidenced by Graves, such that each of the first subset of fuel spray nozzles is located nearer a respective one or more of the ignitors than the second subset, and/or wherein one or more of the ignitors is arranged diametrically opposite another one or more of the ignitors, in order to provide optimized laser ignition and/or enhance mixing and flame stabilization, as taught by Kopecek (¶ [0007]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the new limitations in claims 19 and 36 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection, necessitated by Applicant's amendments. To the extent possible, Applicant's arguments have been addressed in the body of the rejections at the appropriate locations.
It is noted that Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s arguments that “Summerfield does not disclose a lean burn combustor” and “The disclosure from Durdina that is relied upon in the rejection is for the CFM56 engine, which includes a rich burn combustor”, for the reasons stated in the 35 U.S.C. 112 section and the prior-art rejections section above. Applicant has not shown how a “lean burn combustor” differs structurally from an ordinary combustor. Furthermore, combustors can achieve lean-burn combustion by lowering the fuel-to-air ratio to be less than the stochiometric fuel-to-air ratio. This can be achieved by either increasing the amount of air into the combustion zone, or decreasing the amount of fuel injected into the combustion zone. The combustors of both Summerfield and Durdina are capable of achieving rich-burn combustion, as well as lean-burn combustion.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: see attached form PTO-892 “Notice of References Cited”.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HENRY NG/ /GERALD L SUNG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741 Examiner, Art Unit 3741