DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, and a sweetened and flavored water beverage in the reply filed on June 29, 2026 and January 9, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 13-15 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 depends on claim 1 and claim 1 has been canceled. Thus, it is unclear as to if claim 1 was intended to be canceled, or to be amended to depend on another claim which was not canceled. Additionally, it is noted that the term “bitter taste” is a relative term subjective to the taste of the consumer, and thus, the metes and bounds of the claim are further unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by John et al (US 2015/0272184, ‘184). It is noted that as John et al is relied upon based on the filing date of the provisional application 61/970,977 (‘977), filed March 27, 2014, citations for ‘977 have also been included.
Regarding claims 8 and 9, John et al (John) teaches a method of enhancing the sweet taste of a sweetener in a food or beverage product, i.e. consumables including water based drinks, by introducing naringenin in an effective amount to the food or beverage product (‘184 abstract and paragraphs 4-5, 14-15, and 18; ‘977 paragraphs 3, 16-17, and 20). John teaches that the sweetener is selected from steviol glycosides including rebaudioside A (reb A) (‘184 paragraphs 7, 24-27, 31-32 and claims 3, 5, and 6; ‘977 paragraphs 3, 27 and 33-45, claim 10, and Figure 2; note RD37809 is a commercial naringenin product, see paragraph 30 of ‘977). It is additionally noted that as reb A is a sweetener and flavoring (‘184 paragraph 7; ‘977 paragraph 27), and as John teaches of adding reb A to water in the examples, the exemplary product of John is a sweetened and flavored water.
Regarding claim 10, John teaches the method wherein the concentration of naringenin is 100ppm (‘184 paragraph 31; ‘977 paragraphs 33-45).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over John et al (US 2015/0272184, ‘184). It is noted that the 103 rejection of claim 10 is an alternative rejection to the 102 rejection presented above; and as John et al is relied upon based on the filing date of the provisional application 61/970,977 (977), filed March 27, 2014, citations for ‘977 have also been included.
As discussed above, John teaches a method of enhancing the sweet taste of a sweetener in a food or beverage product, i.e. consumables including water based drinks, by introducing naringenin in an effective amount to the food or beverage product (‘184 abstract and paragraphs 4-5, 14-15, and 18; ‘977 paragraphs 3, 16-17, and 20). John teaches in an embodiment an effective amount is up to 0.1% (1000ppm) (‘184 paragraphs 4 and 31 and claims 7 and 16; ‘977 paragraphs 19 and 33-44).
Regarding the naringenin as from 10-150ppm as recited in claim 10, or from 10-25ppm as recited in claim 11, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the naringenin to be used in an amount that provided for the desired taste enhancement in view of John. Thus, the claimed ranges are considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Additionally, as taste is subjective it would have been obvious for each respective user to add an amount of naringenin that suited their desired taste. Furthermore, John discloses an overlapping range, i.e. up to 1000ppm, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portions of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art references, particularly in view of the fact that; "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages" In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003). Also In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549,533 (CCPA 1974) and MPEP 2144.05.
Double Patenting
Claims 8 and 9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11, 19, and 25 of copending Application No. 17/919,627 (‘627) as amended May 14, 2026 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claims result in a product comprising a sweetening composition comprising steviol glycosides including reb A, to which naringenin as added (‘627 claims 11, 19, and 25). ‘627 does not claim the method of enhancing the sweet taste, however as the claims of ‘627 require the addition of the same active ingredient, i.e. naringenin, to a sweetener, i.e. a food and beverage product, the same result would be expected.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 10-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11, 19, and 25 of copending Application No. 17/919,627 (‘627) as amended May 14, 2026 (reference application), further in view of John et al (US 2015/0272184, ‘184). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claims result in a product comprising a sweetening composition comprising steviol glycosides including reb A, to which naringenin as added (‘627 claims 11, 19, and 25). ‘627 does not claim the method of enhancing the sweet taste, however as the claims of ‘627 require the addition of the same active ingredient, i.e. naringenin, to a sweetener, i.e. a food and beverage product, the same result would be expected.
‘627 does not claim the amount of naringenin added to the food product as recited in claims 10 and 11, however, John teaches a method of enhancing the sweet taste of a sweetener in a food or beverage product, i.e. consumables, by introducing naringenin in an effective amount to the food or beverage product (‘184 abstract and paragraphs 4-5, 14-15, and 18). It would have been obvious for the naringenin claimed by ‘627 to be added in amount effective to provide for the desired sweetness enhancement in view of John. Thus, the claimed ranges are considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 8 and 9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 25 of copending Application No. 17/278,072 (‘072) as amended May 6, 2026 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claims result in a beverage product comprising a sweetening composition comprising steviol glycosides including reb A, to which naringenin as added (‘072 claim 25). ‘072 does not claim the method of enhancing the sweet taste, however as the claims of ‘072 require the addition of the same active ingredient, i.e. naringenin, to a beverage comprising a sweetener, i.e. a food and beverage product, the same result would be expected.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 10-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 25 of copending Application No. 17/278,072 (‘072) as amended May 6, 2026 (reference application), further in view of John et al (US 2015/0272184, ‘184). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claims result in a product comprising a sweetening composition comprising steviol glycosides including reb A, to which naringenin as added (‘072 claim 25). ‘072 does not claim the method of enhancing the sweet taste, however as the claims of ‘072 require the addition of the same active ingredient, i.e. naringenin, to a beverage comprising a sweetener, i.e. a food and beverage product, the same result would be expected.
‘072 does not claim the amount of naringenin added to the food product as recited in claims 10 and 11, however, John teaches a method of enhancing the sweet taste of a sweetener in a food or beverage product, i.e. consumables including beverages, by introducing naringenin in an effective amount to the food or beverage product (‘184 abstract and paragraphs 4-5, 14-15, and 18). It would have been obvious for the naringenin claimed by ‘072 to be added in amount effective to provide for the desired sweetness enhancement in view of John. Thus, the claimed ranges are considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2008/0305052 teaches a method of enhancing a sweet taste of a sweetener in food or beverage by introducing about 100ppm naringenin (Table, paragraph 54).
KELLY BEKKER
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1792
/KELLY J BEKKER/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1792