DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response filed on 05/17/2026 has been entered and considered. Upon entering claims 1-18 were pending; claims 1, 10 and 15 have been amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 05/17/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection as further noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-11, 14-15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being participated by Bangerter (US 6,191,563).
Regarding claim 1, Bangerter teaches A control system (figure 2) comprising: a plurality of power controllers (fig. 2@ 32, 36) arranged in parallel (see figure 2: 32 and 36 connected in parallel); and control circuitry (fig. 2@ 24) configured to: stagger switch-on and switch-off times of the power controllers (32, 36) so the power controllers turn on and turn off in sequence within a cycle of a periodic waveform (see col. 4, line 31- col. 5, line 45); control the plurality of power controllers to switch on at points other than zero crossings (col. 4, line 31- col. 5, line 45; “Consequently, electronic switch 32 is typically turned on during the first 15 to 40 degrees of each half cycle of the AC line voltage sine wave. The switch 32 is turned off thereby blocking current through it when the desired power level is reached, typically near the peak of each half cycle of the AC line voltage sine wave (i.e., near 90 and 270 degrees)”); and combine output waveforms of the power controllers to form the periodic waveform (see col. 4, line 3 - col. 6, line 38).
Regarding claim 6, Bangerter teaches wherein the control circuitry (24) comprises a processor that is a separate component from the power controllers (32, 36), (see col. 6, lines 41-59; “a control circuit 24 comprising a microcomputer 50”).
Regarding claim 7, Bangerter teaches wherein the power controllers (32, 36) are connected, and wherein the control circuitry (24) is configured within the power controllers (see col. 6, lines 41-59).
Regarding claim 8, Bangerter teaches wherein the periodic waveform is a sinusoidal waveform (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 9, Bangerter teaches wherein the control circuitry (24) is configured to control the switch-on and switch-off times of the power controllers so each power controller provides a segment of a cycle of the periodic waveform (see col. 6, line 41 – col. 8, line 21).
Regarding claim 10, Bangerter teaches A method for controlling a plurality of power controllers (fig. 2@ 32, 36) that are arranged in parallel (see figure 2: 32 and 36 connected in parallel), the method comprising: staggering switch-on and switch-off times of the power controllers (32, 36) so the power controllers turn on and turn off in sequence (see col. 4, line 31- col. 5, line 45); controlling the plurality of power controllers (32, 36) to switch on at points other than zero crossings (col. 4, line 31- col. 5, line 45; “Consequently, electronic switch 32 is typically turned on during the first 15 to 40 degrees of each half cycle of the AC line voltage sine wave. The switch 32 is turned off thereby blocking current through it when the desired power level is reached, typically near the peak of each half cycle of the AC line voltage sine wave (i.e., near 90 and 270 degrees)”); and combining waveforms of the power controllers to form a periodic waveform (see col. 4, line 3 - col. 6, line 38).
Regarding claim 11, Bangerter teaches receiving a reference periodic waveform; wherein staggering the switch-on and switch-off times comprises staggering the switch-on and switch-off times so an output waveform the each of the power controllers is a segment of the reference periodic waveform (see figure 3 and col. 4, line 31- col. 5, line 45; “Consequently, electronic switch 32 is typically turned on during the first 15 to 40 degrees of each half cycle of the AC line voltage sine wave. The switch 32 is turned off thereby blocking current through it when the desired power level is reached, typically near the peak of each half cycle of the AC line voltage sine wave (i.e., near 90 and 270 degrees)”).
Regarding claim 14, Bangerter teaches the power controllers provides power to an ohmic-inductive load, and the switch-on and/or switch-off times of the power controllers are shifted to avoid spikes in periodic waveform (see Abstract and col. 5, lines 18-45).
Regarding claim 15, Bangerter teaches A non-transitory processor-readable medium encoded with instructions to control power controllers (fig. 2@ 32, 36), the instructions comprising instructions to: set switch-on and switch-off times for each power controller within a cycle of a periodic waveform (see col. 4, line 31- col. 5, line 45), wherein the switch-on times are at points other than zero crossings (col. 4, line 31- col. 5, line 45; “Consequently, electronic switch 32 is typically turned on during the first 15 to 40 degrees of each half cycle of the AC line voltage sine wave. The switch 32 is turned off thereby blocking current through it when the desired power level is reached, typically near the peak of each half cycle of the AC line voltage sine wave (i.e., near 90 and 270 degrees)”); stagger switch-on and switch-off times such that the power controllers (32, 36) turn on and turn off in sequence within the cycle of the periodic waveform (see col. 4, line 31- col. 5, line 45); sum output waveforms of the power controllers to form a summed output waveform, wherein the summed output waveform corresponds to periodic waveform (see col. 4, line 3 - col. 6, line 38); and generate output waveforms from the power controllers that are segments of the cycle of the periodic waveform (see col. 6, line 41 – col. 8, line 21).
Regarding claim 17, Bangerter teaches wherein the instructions comprise instructions to: receive a reference periodic waveform that defines the periodic waveform; wherein staggering the switch-on and switch-off times comprises staggering the switch-on and switch-off times so an output waveform the each of the power controllers is a segment of the reference periodic waveform (see figure 3 and col. 4, line 31- col. 5, line 45; “Consequently, electronic switch 32 is typically turned on during the first 15 to 40 degrees of each half cycle of the AC line voltage sine wave. The switch 32 is turned off thereby blocking current through it when the desired power level is reached, typically near the peak of each half cycle of the AC line voltage sine wave (i.e., near 90 and 270 degrees)”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5, 12-13, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bangerter (US 6,191,563) in view of Schaffarra et al. (US 2023/0170816).
Regarding claim 2, Bangerter teaches wherein each of the power controllers (32, 36) comprises a switchable power component (the electronic switch 32 and switch circuit 36) configured to be switched on or off at any time and configured to conduct current (col. 4, line 31- col. 5, line 45).
However, Bangerter does not explicitly teach a switchable power component configured to conduct current in both forward and reverse directions when switched on.
Schaffarra teaches a switchable power component (figure 5: bi-directional cut-off switch assembly 501) configured to conduct current in both forward and reverse directions when switched on (see Abstract and par. [0030-0043], “The power controller circuit 500 includes a bi-directional cut-off switch assembly 501 having multiple controllable switches 502, 503 that are controllable by a controller 504 into a conduction mode and into a non-conduction mode”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bangerter with the teachings of Schaffarra by having a switchable power component configured to conduct current in both forward and reverse directions when switched on in order to using a switchable power component that conducts in both forward and reverse directions allows for efficient and precise control over power flow, enabling the regulation of voltage, current, or the complete switching on/off of a circuit at high speeds.
Regarding claim 3, Bangerter teaches the control system above, but does not explicitly teach wherein each of the power controllers comprises: a first switchable power component paired with a first diode for conducting current in a forward direction; and a second switchable power component paired with a second diode for conducting current in a reverse direction.
Schaffarra teaches a first switchable power component paired with a first diode (figure 5: 506) for conducting current in a forward direction; and a second switchable power component paired with a second diode (figure 5: 506) for conducting current in a reverse direction, (see Abstract and par. [0030-0043], “The power controller circuit 500 includes a bi-directional cut-off switch assembly 501 having multiple controllable switches 502, 503 that are controllable by a controller 504 into a conduction mode and into a non-conduction mode”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bangerter with the teachings of Schaffarra by having the power controllers comprises: a first switchable power component paired with a first diode for conducting current in a forward direction; and a second switchable power component paired with a second diode for conducting current in a reverse direction in order to using a switchable power component that conducts in both forward and reverse directions allows for efficient and precise control over power flow, enabling the regulation of voltage, current, or the complete switching on/off of a circuit at high speeds.
Regarding claim 4, Bangerter teaches the control system above, but does not explicitly teach wherein the control circuitry is configured to optimize the switch-on and switch-off times of the power controllers by using the combined output waveform as feedback.
Schaffarra teaches the control circuitry is configured to optimize the switch-on and switch-off times of the power controllers by using the combined output waveform as feedback, (see par. [0040] and [0043], optimize the control to reduce harmonics and correct/shift switch on/off times to correct energy delivery offsets).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bangerter with the teachings of Schaffarra by having the control circuitry is configured to optimize the switch-on and switch-off times of the power controllers by using the combined output waveform as feedback in order to determine, control and maintain, i.e. optimize, an average energy delivery per branch/load in the two-branch converter.
Regarding claim 5, the combination teaches Bangerter power controller provides power to an ohmic-inductive load; and the control circuitry is configured to shift the switch-on and/or switch-off times of the power controllers to avoid spikes in the periodic waveform (see Abstract and col. 5, lines 18-45; Bangerter).
Regarding claim 12, Bangerter teaches setting the switch-on and switch-off times by a switchable power component (the electronic switch 32 and switch circuit 36) configured to be switched on or off at any time and configured to conduct current (col. 4, line 31- col. 5, line 45).
However, Bangerter does not explicitly teach setting the switch-on and switch-off times by a switchable power component configured to conduct current in both forward and reverse directions when switched on.
Schaffarra teaches setting the switch-on and switch-off times by a switchable power component (figure 5: bi-directional cut-off switch assembly 501) configured to conduct current in both forward and reverse directions when switched on (see Abstract and par. [0030-0043], “The power controller circuit 500 includes a bi-directional cut-off switch assembly 501 having multiple controllable switches 502, 503 that are controllable by a controller 504 into a conduction mode and into a non-conduction mode”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bangerter with the teachings of Schaffarra by having setting the switch-on and switch-off times by a switchable power component configured to conduct current in both forward and reverse directions when switched on in order to using a switchable power component that conducts in both forward and reverse directions allows for efficient and precise control over power flow, enabling the regulation of voltage, current, or the complete switching on/off of a circuit at high speeds.
Regarding claim 13, Bangerter teaches the method above, but does not explicitly teach optimizing the switch-on and switch-off times of the power controllers by using the periodic waveform as feedback.
Schaffarra teaches optimizing the switch-on and switch-off times of the power controllers by using the periodic waveform as feedback, (see par. [0040] and [0043], optimize the control to reduce harmonics and correct/shift switch on/off times to correct energy delivery offsets).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bangerter with the teachings of Schaffarra by having optimizing the switch-on and switch-off times of the power controllers by using the periodic waveform as feedback in order to determine, control and maintain, i.e. optimize, an average energy delivery per branch/load in the two-branch converter.
Regarding claim 16, Bangerter teaches wherein the instructions comprise instructions to: set the switch-on and switch-off times by a switchable power component (the electronic switch 32 and switch circuit 36) configured to be switched on or off at any time and configured to conduct current (col. 4, line 31- col. 5, line 45).
However, Bangerter does not explicitly teach set the switch-on and switch-off times by a switchable power component configured to conduct in both forward and reverse directions when switched on.
Schaffarra teaches set the switch-on and switch-off times by a switchable power component (figure 5: bi-directional cut-off switch assembly 501) configured to conduct in both forward and reverse directions when switched on (see Abstract and par. [0030-0043], “The power controller circuit 500 includes a bi-directional cut-off switch assembly 501 having multiple controllable switches 502, 503 that are controllable by a controller 504 into a conduction mode and into a non-conduction mode”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bangerter with the teachings of Schaffarra by having set the switch-on and switch-off times by a switchable power component configured to conduct in both forward and reverse directions when switched on in order to using a switchable power component that conducts in both forward and reverse directions allows for efficient and precise control over power flow, enabling the regulation of voltage, current, or the complete switching on/off of a circuit at high speeds.
Regarding claim 18, Bangerter teaches the non-transitory processor-readable medium above, but does not explicitly teach wherein the instructions comprise instructions to optimize the switch-on and switch-off times of the power controllers by using the periodic waveform as feedback.
Schaffarra teaches instructions to optimize the switch-on and switch-off times of the power controllers by using the periodic waveform as feedback (see par. [0040] and [0043], optimize the control to reduce harmonics and correct/shift switch on/off times to correct energy delivery offsets).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bangerter with the teachings of Schaffarra by having instructions comprise instructions to optimize the switch-on and switch-off times of the power controllers by using the periodic waveform as feedback.
Schaffarra teaches instructions to optimize the switch-on and switch-off times of the power controllers by using the periodic waveform as feedback in order to determine, control and maintain, i.e. optimize, an average energy delivery per branch/load in the two-branch converter.
Conclusion
/XUAN LY/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836