DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This action is in response to the applicant’s filing on September 23, 2024. Claims 1-20 are pending and are examined below.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 7, 8, 14, and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 12128726 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claimed are a broader recitation of the patented invention of the parent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
The claims do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claims are directed to a computer program product without explicitly defining the computer program product as non-transitory.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 8, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Furuta, US 20210379953 A1, hereinafter referred to as Furuta.
As to claim 1, Furuta discloses a computer-implemented method, comprising:
determining, by a controller operatively coupled to a processor, movement of a front damper of a vehicle, an amount of time between a first time when the movement of the front damper occurs and a second time when a rear damper of the vehicle will experience a condition which caused the movement of the front damper, and a front damping coefficient of the front damper (Front wheel displacement – See at least ¶150; Time between front movement and time when rear will experience condition that caused movement of first – See at least Fig. 4);
determining, by the controller, a rear damping coefficient of the rear damper configured to prevent rear suspension impact with an end stop caused by rear suspension compression or rebound based on the movement of the front damper, the amount of time, and the front damping coefficient (Final target force for rear wheel based on front wheel and time – See at least ¶10-15 and Fig. 4; Damping coefficients used in disclosed suspension control – See at least ¶133; Target control force for when wheel passes position at which disturbance occurs – See at least ¶143; Examiner notes the purpose of a suspension is to prevent bottoming out, or collisions between a vehicle body and wheel/hub structure.);
controlling, by the controller, a damper adjustment of the rear damper based on the rear damping coefficient (Control force sent to actuator – See at least¶143; Determined force includes coefficient – See at least Equation 6 ¶141.).
Independent claims 8, and 15 are rejected under the same rationale as claim 1, because the claims recite nearly identical subject matter but for minor differences due to the claims being directed to different statutory categories.
As to claims 7, and 14, Furuta discloses preventing, by the controller, a full compression or rebound of the rear damper, wherein the preventing is facilitated using the rear damping coefficient (Control force sent to actuator – See at least¶143; Determined force includes coefficient – See at least Equation 6 ¶141; Examiner notes the purpose of a suspension is to prevent bottoming out, or collisions between a vehicle body and wheel/hub structure.)..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 9, 10, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furuta, US 20210379953 A1, in view of Ogawa et al., US 5555500 A, hereinafter referred to as Furuta, and Ogawa, respectively.
As to claims 2, 9, and 16, Furuta fails to explicitly disclose determining, by the controller, a temperature of a fluid inside the rear damper, and wherein the controller determines the rear damping coefficient based further on the temperature of the fluid inside the rear damper. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Furuta and include the feature of determining, by the controller, a temperature of a fluid inside the rear damper, and wherein the controller determines the rear damping coefficient based further on the temperature of the fluid inside the rear damper, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Ogawa teaches it is well-known and routine in the vehicle suspension control arts to control damping characteristics in consideration of damper fluid temperature (See at least Abstract of Ogawa).
As to claims 3, 10, and 17, Furuta fails to explicitly disclose determining, by the controller, a temperature of the rear damper, and wherein the controller determines the rear damping coefficient based further on the temperature of the rear damper. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Furuta and include the feature of determining, by the controller, a temperature of the rear damper, and wherein the controller determines the rear damping coefficient based further on the temperature of the rear damper, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Ogawa teaches it is well-known and routine in the vehicle suspension control arts to control damping characteristics in consideration of damper fluid temperature (See at least Abstract of Ogawa).
The combination of Furuta and Ogawa fails to explicitly performing the above for gas dampers. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Furuta and include the feature of applying the above control to gas dampers, with a reasonable expectation of success, because a person of ordinary skill the art would readily and unquestionably recognize gas and oil dampers are obvious variants given the ubiquity of both gas and fluid shock absorbing components like the suspension components of Furuta and Ogawa.
Claims 5, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furuta, US 20210379953 A1, in view of Sohn, US 20170197485 A1, hereinafter referred to as Furuta, and Sohn, respectively.
As to claims 5, 12, and 19, Furuta fails to explicitly disclose the controller determines the rear damping coefficient based further on at least one of a body corner velocity of the vehicle or a body corner acceleration of the vehicle. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Furuta and include the feature of the controller determines the rear damping coefficient based further on at least one of a body corner velocity of the vehicle or a body corner acceleration of the vehicle, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Sohn teaches it is well-known and routine in the vehicle suspension control arts to control damping characteristics in consideration of rolling vehicle dynamics (See at least Abstract of Sohn).
Claims 6, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furuta, US 20210379953 A1, in view of Fujita, US 20070124051 A1, hereinafter referred to as Furuta, and Fujita, respectively.
As to claims 6, 13, and 20, Furuta fails to explicitly disclose the controller determines the rear damping coefficient based on a process that prioritizes vehicle occupant comfort higher than vehicle stability, and further comprising: in response to detecting that a safety-related system of the vehicle has activated, modifying, by the controller, the process to determine the rear damping coefficient based on prioritizing the vehicle stability higher than the vehicle occupant comfort. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Furuta and include the feature of the controller determines the rear damping coefficient based on a process that prioritizes vehicle occupant comfort higher than vehicle stability, and further comprising: in response to detecting that a safety-related system of the vehicle has activated, modifying, by the controller, the process to determine the rear damping coefficient based on prioritizing the vehicle stability higher than the vehicle occupant comfort, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Fujita teaches it is well-known and routine in the vehicle suspension control arts to control damping characteristics in consideration of emergency situations that requires stiffer, i.e., less comfortable, suspension characteristics (See at least ¶11 and 15 of Fujita)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 11, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/LAIL A KLEINMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668