Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-9, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jongren (US 2014/0056156).
Regarding claim 1, Jongren teaches how a wireless device reports channel quality information to a cellular network when several CSI-RS reference-signal resources are involved.
Jorgen teaches a wireless device for reporting channel state information (CSI) feedback based on a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) received on a CSI-RS resource of one or more CSI- RS ports (i.e., a wireless terminal for reporting channel state information (CSI) to a wireless communication network. The wireless terminal receives reference symbols on a set of CSI-RS resources, and determines a common transmission rank for the set of CSI-RS resources, based on the reference symbols received on a subset of those CSI-RS resources [abstr.], [0041], [0080]-[0082]), the method comprising: if the wireless device is not configured with a parameter that indicates, for the CSI-RS resource, which sets of one or more CSI- RS port indices are associated with which transmission ranks, assuming, for the CSI-RS resource, that certain sets of one or more CSI-RS port indices are associated with certain transmission ranks (i.e., the wireless terminal 100 receives reference symbols on a first portion of the CSI-RS resources 42 in the set 40 from a first one of the network node(s) 200, and receives reference symbols on a second portion of the CSI-RS resources 42 in the set 40 from a second one of the network node(s) 200…processing at the wireless terminal 100 further entails determining a common transmission rank (r.sub.common) (Block 304). A common transmission rank as used herein is a transmission rank that commonly affects the transmission rank determined in a rank adaptation process (performed by one or more of the network nodes 200) for each CSI-RS resource 42 in the set 40 of K CSI-RS resources… Notably, the wireless terminal 100 determines this common transmission rank based on a subset 41 of the set 40 of CSI-RS resources 42. With the terminal 100 having determined this common transmission rank in this way, processing further includes generating CSI feedback 50 as a function of that common transmission rank (Block 306), and transmitting the feedback 50 to the network node 200 (Block 308) [0081]-[0085]).
Regarding claim 2, Jongren further teaches said assuming, for each of one or more supported transmission ranks except the highest supported transmission rank, that a set of one or more CSI-RS port indices associated with the supported transmission rank is a proper subset of the set of one or more CSI-RS port indices associated with a higher supported transmission rank ([0090]-[0062], [0104]).
Regarding claim 3, Jongren further teaches the processing circuitry is configured to assume, for each rank v of one or more supported transmission ranks, that a set of one or more CSI-RS ports associated with the rank v have one or more respective CSI-RS port indices of 0,...,v- 1 ([0084]-[0085], [0088]).
Regarding claim 4, Jongren further teaches the processing circuitry is further configured to calculate a channel quality indicator (CQ) for a transmission rank, using the one or more CSI-RS ports assumed for that transmission rank for the CSI-RS resource (i.e., the WT determines a precoder and channel quality indicator (CQI) for each CSI-RS resource within the set, based on the transmission rank determined for that CSI-RS resource. Thus, CQI.sub.1 and PMI.sub.1 could be determined by the WT based on r.sub.1 for "CSI-RS Resource 1." In this example, the CSI 50C report is generated by the WT to include the precoder and the CQI determined for each CSI-RS resource within the set [0093]).
Regarding claim 8, Jongren further teaches a method performing by a radio network node, the method comprising: transmitting, to a wireless device, a channel state information reference signal, CSI-RS, on a CSI-RS resource of one or more CSI-RS ports (i.e., the wireless terminal 100 receives reference symbols on a first portion of the CSI-RS resources 42 in the set 40 from a first one of the network node(s) 200, and receives reference symbols on a second portion of the CSI-RS resources 42 in the set 40 from a second one of the network node(s) 200 [0081]-[0082], [0102]); receive from the wireless device channel state information, CSI, feedback based on the CSI-RS transmitted on the CSI-RS resource wherein the CSI feedback includes a transmission rank and a channel quality indicator (CQI) (i.e., the terminal 100 having determined this common transmission rank in this way, processing further includes generating CSI feedback 50 as a function of that common transmission rank (Block 306), and transmitting the feedback 50 to the network node 200 (Block 308)… the CSI feedback associated with one CSI-RS resource 42 inheriting the rank value (or a function thereof) from CSI feedback associated with another CSI-RS resource 42.., Although the CQI values CQI.sub.1, CQI.sub.2, etc. are not included within dotted lines, they are still considered to be part of the CSI data for their given CSI-RS resource [0082]-[0084], [0102]); determining one or more CSI-RS ports in the CSI-RS resource that are assumed to be associated with the transmission rank included in the CSI feedback (i.e., it is the r.sub.k that would be used by the receiving network node 200 when determining precoder and CQI for CSI-RS resource k. In general, the rank r.sub.k assumed for CSI-RS resource k is a function of the common transmission rank (r.sub.common). The dependence on the channels of the other CSI-RS resources is therefore only via that parameter and conditioned on that parameter, and the remaining parts of precoding (e.g., a precoder with a fixed number of columns) and channel quality determination is conducted independently for each CSI-RS resource k [0043]-[0044], [0091], [0093], and [0102]-[0104]).
Regarding claim 9, Jongren further teaches determining transmission parameters of a data transmission based on the CSI feedback and transmitting the data transmission with the determined transmission parameters and one or more determined CSI-RS ports (i.e., CSI feedback that includes a common transmission rank determined based on the reference symbols transmitted on a subset of the CSI-RS resources in the set, wherein the common transmission rank in the CSI report is common for the set of CSI-RS resources…, an indication of a subset of the channel state information resources in the reporting set to be used by the wireless device for determining the common rank-affecting parameter for the CSI-RS in the reporting set..., perform rank adaptation for the set of CSI-RS resources based on the common transmission rank. [0102]).
Regarding claim 14, Jongren further teaches wherein the CSI feedback is non-precoder matrix indicator CSI (non-PMI CSI) feedback such that the CSI feedback does not indicate a PMI ([0084], [0093]).
Regarding claims 15-16, Jongren further teaches wherein the CSI-RS resource is dedicated to the wireless device and/or is aperiodically triggered (i.e., n LTE, both periodic and aperiodic CSI reporting is supported. In the case of aperiodic reporting the CSI feedback is transmitted on the physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) at pre-specified time instants after receiving the CSI grant from the base station. With aperiodic CSI reports, the base station can thus request CSI reflecting downlink radio conditions in a particular subframe [0029]).
Regarding claim 17, Jongren further teaches wherein, for each of one or more supported transmission ranks except the highest supported transmission rank, the one or more CSI-RS port indices in the CSI-RS resource that are assumed as associated with the supported transmission rank is a proper subset of one or more CSI-RS port indices in the CSI-RS resource that are assumed as associated with a higher supported transmission rank (i.e., determining different transmission ranks for different CSI-RS resources may include determining, for each CSI-RS resource within the set, a transmission rank for the CSI-RS resource as a minimum between the common transmission rank and a maximum possible transmission rank for the CSI-RS resource [0041]-[0044]).
Regarding claim 18, Jongren further teaches wherein, for each rank v of one or more supported transmission ranks, one or more CSI-RS ports in the CSI-RS resource that are assumed as associated with the rank v have one or more respective CSI-RS port indices of 0,...,v- 1 ([0087]-[0088], [0093], [0098]).
Regarding claim 19, Jongren teaches a wireless device configured to report channel state information (CSI) feedback based on a CSI reference signal, CSI-RS, received on a CSI-RS resource of one or more CSI-RS ports (i.e., a wireless terminal for reporting channel state information (CSI) to a wireless communication network according to one or more embodiments is disclosed. The wireless terminal receives reference symbols on a set of CSI-RS resources, and determines a common transmission rank for the set of CSI-RS resources, based on the reference symbols received on a subset of those CSI-RS resources. The terminal generates CSI feedback as a function of the common transmission rank, and transmits the CSI feedback to the communication network [abstr.], [0041], [0080]-[0082]), the wireless device configured to: if the wireless device is not configured with a parameter that indicates, for the CSI-RS resource, which sets of one or more CSI- RS port indices are associated with which transmission ranks, assume, for the CSI-RS resource, that certain sets of one or more CSI-RS port indices are associated with certain transmission ranks (i.e., the wireless terminal 100 receives reference symbols on a first portion of the CSI-RS resources 42 in the set 40 from a first one of the network node(s) 200, and receives reference symbols on a second portion of the CSI-RS resources 42 in the set 40 from a second one of the network node(s) 200…processing at the wireless terminal 100 further entails determining a common transmission rank (r.sub.common) (Block 304). A common transmission rank as used herein is a transmission rank that commonly affects the transmission rank determined in a rank adaptation process (performed by one or more of the network nodes 200) for each CSI-RS resource 42 in the set 40 of K CSI-RS resources. In some sense, then, r.sub.common is considered to be a "common rank-affecting parameter." Notably, the wireless terminal 100 determines this common transmission rank based on a subset 41 of the set 40 of CSI-RS resources 42. With the terminal 100 having determined this common transmission rank in this way, processing further includes generating CSI feedback 50 as a function of that common transmission rank (Block 306), and transmitting the feedback 50 to the network node 200 (Block 308). In one or more embodiments, this arrangement may be equivalently viewed as the CSI feedback associated with one CSI-RS resource 42 inheriting the rank value (or a function thereof) from CSI feedback associated with another CSI-RS resource 42. In other words, the CSI feedback acts as a rank reference [0081]-[0085]).
Regarding claim 20, Jongren teaches wherein the one or more supported transmission ranks include ranks 1, 2,...,v, where v > 2, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to assume that the CSI-RS port associated with rank 1 has a CSI-RS port index of 0, wherein the processing circuity is configured to assume that the set of CSI-RS ports associated with rank 2 have respective CSI-RS port indices of 0 and 1, and wherein the processing circuity is configured to assume that the set of CSI-RS ports associated with rank v have respective CSI-RS port indices of 0, 1,..., v-1 (i.e., inherently present in: one or more processing circuits are further configured to perform rank adaptation for the set of CSI-RS resources based on the common transmission rank [0048], [0052], [0097], [0102]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jongren (US 2014/0056156) in view of Song et al. (US 2021/0067215).
Regarding claim 10, Jongren teaches all the limitations above except beamforming the CSI-RS specifically for the wireless device.
However, the preceding limitations is known in the art of communications. Song teaches the gNB may send, at 400, downlink beamformed CSI-RS to UE(s). Each of the UE(s) may, at 401, determine the receive beamformer, estimate the Tx effective/beamformed channel, H.sub.eff.sup.Tx-Rx=H.sub.kF.sub.k, and evaluate its receive combining W.sub.k assuming, for example, the MRC receiver in equation 3. On the one side, at 402, each of the UE(s) may feedback the CSI, including CQI, RI, PMI, where PMI is used for the determination of the linear precoding matrix F= [F.sub.1, F.sub.2, . . . , F.sub.K] for the scheduled UE(s) ([0040]). a gNB (network) node is controlled by memory and processor to send beamformed CRI-RS to one or more UEs and to receive specific CSI from the UEs ([0061], [0075], [0079]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Song within the system of Jongren in order to recognize, by the gNB, the UE(s) capability of being linearly or non-linearly precoded, determine precoding types based on CSI, carry out scheduling, and determine the Tx linear precoder.
Regarding claim 11, Jongren teaches all the limitations above except determining a precoder for the CSI-RS from an uplink sounding reference signal received from the wireless device and apply the precoder to the CSI-RS.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Song teaches apparatus 20 may be controlled by memory 24 and processor 22 to receive unprecoded CSI-RS or beamformed CSI-RS from a network node (e.g., gNB). According to one embodiment, apparatus 20 may be controlled by memory 24 and processor 22 to transmit explicit CSI feedback to the network node. Optionally, in certain example embodiments, apparatus 20 may also be controlled by memory 24 and processor 22 to transmit at least one of its preferred CQI, RI, and/or PMI to the network node ([0075]). The CSI may include one or more of: (a) a combination of channel quality indicator (CQI), rank indicator (RI), and explicit transmit channel covariance; (b) a combination of channel quality indicator (CQI), rank indicator (RI), precoding matrix indicator (PMI), and explicit effective/beamformed channel; or (c) channel quality indicator (CQI), rank indicator (RI), precoding matrix indicator (PMI), and the CSI directly estimated via transmit-receive beamformed uplink sounding based on reciprocity ([0031], [0076], [0081], [0084]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Song within the system of Jongren in order to recognize, by the gNB, the UE(s) capability of being linearly or non-linearly precoded, determine precoding types based on CSI, carry out scheduling, and determine the Tx linear precoder.
Regarding claim 12, Jongren teaches all the limitations above except the processing circuitry is further configured to determine, from an uplink sounding reference signal received from the wireless device, a number of the one or more CSI-RS ports of the CSI-RS resource on which to transmit the CSI-RS.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Song teaches apparatus 20 may be further controlled by memory 24 and processor 22 to concatenate linear and non-linear receivers based on the dual DMRS, to demodulate the data. In certain embodiments, apparatus 20 may be further controlled by memory 24 and processor 22 to estimate UE receive weights per stream using a first of the two types of DMRS (DMRS1) that is used for linear receive combining, to combine antenna ports at the apparatus to form the per stream output, and to equalize the per stream output with channel estimates obtained using a second type of the two types of DMRS (DMRS2) that is used for non-linearly precoded data (e.g., the second type ([0078]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Song within the system of Jongren in order to recognize, by the gNB, the UE(s) capability of being linearly or non-linearly precoded, determine precoding types based on CSI, carry out scheduling, and determine the Tx linear precoder.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,101,140. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-17 encompass claims 1-20 of the US patent.
Current Application 18/893,008
US Patent No. 12,101,140
1. A method performed by a wireless device for reporting channel state information (CSI) feedback based on a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) received on a CSI-RS resource of one or more CSI-RS ports, the method comprising: if the wireless device is not configured with a parameter that indicates, for the CSI-RS resource, which sets of one or more CSI-RS port indices are associated with which transmission ranks, assuming, for the CSI-RS resource, that certain sets of one or more CSI-RS port indices are associated with certain transmission ranks.
16. A method performed by a wireless device for reporting channel state information (CSI) feedback based on a CSI reference signal, CSI-RS, received on a CSI-RS resource of one or more CSI-RS ports, the method comprising: if the wireless device is not configured with a parameter that indicates, for the CSI-RS resource, which sets of one or more CSI-RS port indices are associated with which transmission ranks, assuming, for the CSI-RS resource, that certain sets of one or more CSI-RS port indices are associated with certain transmission ranks.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein said assuming comprises assuming, for each of one or more supported transmission ranks except the highest supported transmission rank, that a set of one or more CSI-RS port indices associated with the supported transmission rank is a proper subset of the set of one or more CSI-RS port indices associated with a higher supported transmission rank.
2. The wireless device of claim 1, assume, for each of one or more supported transmission ranks except the highest supported transmission rank, that a set of one or more CSI-RS port indices associated with the supported transmission rank is a proper subset of the set of one or more CSI-RS port indices associated with a higher supported transmission rank.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein said assuming comprises assuming, for each rank v of one or more supported transmission ranks, that a set of one or more CSI-RS ports associated with the rank v have one or more respective CSI-RS port indices of 0, . . . , v−1.
1. It is the apparatus of claim 3, processing configured to assume, for each rank v of one or more supported transmission ranks, that a set of one or more CSI-RS ports associated with the rank v have one or more respective CSI-RS port indices of 0, . . . , v−1.
4. The method of claim 1, further comprising calculating a channel quality indicator (CQI) for a transmission rank, using the one or more CSI-RS ports assumed for that transmission rank for the CSI-RS resource.
3. The wireless device of claim 1, wherein configured to calculate a channel quality indicator (CQI) for a transmission rank, using the one or more CSI-RS ports assumed for that transmission rank for the CSI-RS resource.
5. The method of claim 1, further comprising: selecting a transmission rank from a plurality of ranks and selecting a CQI calculated for that rank to report for the CSI-RS resource; and transmitting to a radio network node CSI feedback for the CSI-RS resource, wherein the CSI feedback includes the selected transmission rank and CQI.
4. The wireless device of claim 1, wherein further configured to: select a transmission rank from a plurality of ranks and selecting a CQI calculated for that rank to report for the CSI-RS resource; and transmit to a radio network node CSI feedback for the CSI-RS resource, wherein the CSI feedback includes the selected transmission rank and CQI.
6. The method of claim 5, wherein the CSI feedback is non-precoder matrix indicator, non-PMI, CSI feedback such that the CSI feedback does not indicate a PMI.
5. The wireless device of claim 4, wherein the CSI feedback is non-precoder matrix indicator CSI (non-PMI CSI) feedback such that the CSI feedback does not indicate a PMI.
7. The method of claim 5, further comprising receiving from the radio network node a data transmission whose transmission parameters are determined based on the CSI feedback and the one or more CSI-RS ports that are associated with the transmission rank included in the CSI feedback.
6. The wireless device of claim 4, configured to receive from the radio network node a data transmission whose transmission parameters are determined based on the CSI feedback and the one or more CSI-RS ports that are associated with the transmission rank included in the CSI feedback.
8. A method performed by a radio network node, the method comprising: transmitting, to a wireless device, a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) on a CSI-RS resource of one or more CSI-RS ports; receiving from the wireless device channel state information (CSI) feedback based on the CSI-RS transmitted on the CSI-RS resource, wherein the CSI feedback includes a transmission rank and a channel quality indicator (CQI); and determining one or more CSI-RS ports in the CSI-RS resource that are assumed to be associated with the transmission rank included in the CSI feedback.
17. A method performed by a radio network node, the method comprising: transmitting, to a wireless device, a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) on a CSI-RS resource of one or more CSI-RS ports; receiving from the wireless device channel state information, CSI, feedback based on the CSI-RS transmitted on the CSI-RS resource, wherein the CSI feedback includes a transmission rank and a channel quality indicator (CQI); determining one or more CSI-RS ports in the CSI-RS resource that are assumed to be associated with the transmission rank included in the CSI feedback.
9. The method of claim 8, further comprising: determining transmission parameters of a data transmission based on the CSI feedback; and transmitting the data transmission with the determined transmission parameters and on the one or more determined CSI-RS ports.
9. The radio network node of claim 8, configured to: determine transmission parameters of a data transmission based on the CSI feedback; and transmit the data transmission with the determined transmission parameters and on the one or more determined CSI-RS ports.
10. The method of claim 8, further comprising beamforming the CSI-RS specifically for the wireless device.
10. The radio network node of claim 8, wherein configured to beamform the CSI-RS specifically for the wireless device.
11. The method of claim 8, further comprising determining a precoder for the CSI-RS from an uplink sounding reference signal received from the wireless device and applying the precoder to the CSI-RS.
11. The radio network node of claim 8, wherein configured to determine a precoder for the CSI-RS from an uplink sounding reference signal received from the wireless device and apply the precoder to the CSI-RS.
12. The method of claim 8, further comprising determining, from an uplink sounding reference signal received from the wireless device, a number of the one or more CSI-RS ports of the CSI-RS resource on which to transmit the CSI-RS.
12. The radio network node of claim 8, wherein configured to determine, from an uplink sounding reference signal received from the wireless device, a number of the one or more CSI-RS ports of the CSI-RS resource on which to transmit the CSI-RS.
13. The method of claim 8, comprising, for each of the one or more supported transmission ranks, refraining from configuring the wireless device via control signaling with a parameter indicating one or more CSI-RS ports in the CSI-RS resource that are associated with each of the supported transmission ranks.
14. The method of claim 8, wherein the CSI feedback is non-precoder matrix indicator, non-PMI, CSI feedback such that the CSI feedback does not indicate a PMI.
13. The radio network node of claim 8, wherein the CSI feedback is non-precoder matrix indicator CSI (non-PMI CSI) feedback such that the CSI feedback does not indicate a PMI.
15. The method of claim 8, wherein the CSI-RS resource is dedicated to the wireless device.
14. The radio network node of claim 8, wherein the CSI-RS resource is dedicated to the wireless device.
16. The method of claim 8, wherein the CSI-RS resource is aperiodically triggered.
14. The radio network node of claim 8, wherein the CSI-RS resource is aperiodically triggered.
17. The method of claim 8, wherein, for each of one or more supported transmission ranks except the highest supported transmission rank, the one or more CSI-RS port indices in the CSI-RS resource that are assumed as associated with the supported transmission rank is a proper subset of one or more CSI-RS port indices in the CSI-RS resource that are assumed as associated with a higher supported transmission rank.
15. The radio network node of claim 8, wherein, for each of one or more supported transmission ranks except the highest supported transmission rank, the one or more CSI-RS port indices in the CSI-RS resource that are assumed as associated with the supported transmission rank is a proper subset of one or more CSI-RS port indices in the CSI-RS resource that are assumed as associated with a higher supported transmission rank.
18. The method of claim 8, wherein, for each rank v of one or more supported transmission ranks, one or more CSI-RS ports in the CSI-RS resource that are assumed as associated with the rank v have one or more respective CSI-RS port indices of 0, . . . , v−1.
16. the wireless device is not configured with the port indication parameter, assuming, for each rank v of one or more supported transmission ranks that a set of one or more CSI-RS ports associated with the rank v have one or more respective CSI-RS port indices of 0, . . . , v−1
19. A wireless device configured to report channel state information (CSI) feedback based on a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) received on a CSI-RS resource of one or more CSI-RS ports, the wireless device configured to: if the wireless device is not configured with a parameter that indicates, for the CSI-RS resource, which sets of one or more CSI-RS port indices are associated with which transmission ranks, assume, for the CSI-RS resource, that certain sets of one or more CSI-RS port indices are associated with certain transmission ranks.
1. A wireless device configured to report channel state information (CSI) feedback based on a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) received on a CSI-RS resource of one or more CSI-RS ports, the wireless device configured to, if the wireless device is not configured with a parameter that indicates, for the CSI-RS resource, which sets of one or more CSI-RS port indices are associated with which transmission ranks, assume, for the CSI-RS resource, that certain sets of one or more CSI-RS port indices are associated with certain transmission ranks.
20. The wireless device of claim 19, wherein said assuming comprises assuming, for each of one or more supported transmission ranks except the highest supported transmission rank, that a set of one or more CSI-RS port indices associated with the supported transmission rank is a proper subset of the set of one or more CSI-RS port indices associated with a higher supported transmission rank.
2. The wireless device of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to assume, for each of one or more supported transmission ranks except the highest supported transmission rank, that a set of one or more CSI-RS port indices associated with the supported transmission rank is a proper subset of the set of one or more CSI-RS port indices associated with a higher supported transmission rank.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and overcome the double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/JEAN A GELIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643