DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 17, line 2, “comprising;” should read --comprising:--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu (WO Publication No. 2021/129882, as cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Xu folding device, comprising: a support assembly (first and second supports 22, 23), comprising a side support member (22, 23) on each of two opposite sides of the folding device (see Figures 38-46), wherein the side support member (22, 23) comprises a side support plate (221, 231) and a plurality of inserts (222-2210, 232-2310), and each of the plurality of inserts (222-2210, 232-2310) is embedded in a back surface of the side support plate (fixing surface 2212, 2312; see page 15, 54-59); a rotating assembly (comprised of fixing frames 241, 242 and swing arms 243, 244), comprising a rotating member (243, 244) on each of two opposite sides of the folding device (see Figure 23) and a connecting member (241, 242) on each of two opposite sides of the folding device (see Figure 41), wherein the rotating member (243, 244) is rotatably connected to the connecting member (241, 242), and at least one of the plurality of inserts (222-2210, 232-2310) on the side support member (22, 23) is rotatably connected to the connecting member (241, 242); and a linkage assembly (swing arms 245, 246), comprising a linkage member (245, 246) on each of two opposite sides of the folding device (see Figure 23), wherein the linkage member (245, 246) is slidably connected to the connecting member (241, 242), and at least another one of the plurality of inserts (222-2210, 232-2310) on the side support member (22, 23) is slidably and rotatably connected to the linkage member (245, 246); and wherein the connecting member (241, 242) is rotatable to drive the rotating member (243, 244) and the linkage member (245, 246) to rotate, and rotations of the rotating member (243, 244) and the linkage member (245, 246) are able to drive the side support member (22, 23) to move, such that the two side support members (22, 23) on the two opposite sides of the folding device (see Figure 23) and are configured to be synchronously folded or synchronously unfolded with respect to each other (see Figures 23-25).
Regarding claim 2, Xu discloses the folding device as claimed in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the side support plate (22, 23) and the plurality of inserts (222-2210, 232-2310) are integrally moulded (see page 15, 54-59).
Regarding claim 3, Xu discloses the folding device as claimed in claim 2, and further discloses wherein each of the plurality of inserts (222-2210) comprises a connecting portion (portions of 222-2210, 232-2310 connected to 221, 231), the side support plate (221, 231) is made of a plastic material (see page 54), and the connecting portion (portions of 222-2210, 232-2310 connected to 221, 231) is embedded in the side support plate (221, 231).
Regarding claim 4, Xu discloses the folding device as claimed in claim 3, and further discloses whereinor the connecting portion (portions of 222-2210, 232-2310 connected to 221, 231) comprises one or more flanges (see Paragraphs [0038]-[0040]), and the side support plate (221, 231) defines one or more positioning recesses (holes 22110) facing the one or more flanges (see Paragraphs [0038]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 5, Xu discloses the folding device as claimed in claim 4, and further discloses wherein the one or more flanges (see Paragraphs [0038]-[0040]) are continuously or intermittently arranged on a plane substantially parallel to the back surface of the side support plate (surface 2212, 2312 of 221, 231), and the one or more positioning recesses (22110) are continuously or intermittently arranged on a plane substantially parallel to the back surface of the side support plate (surface 2212, 2312 of 221, 231).
Regarding claim 6, Xu discloses the folding device as claimed in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the plurality of inserts (222-2210, 232-2310) of the side support plate (221, 231) comprise a rotating block (222, 232) and a limiting block (224, 234), the rotating block (222, 232) and the limiting block (224, 234) are embedded in the side support plate (221, 231), the rotating block (222, 232) is rotatably connected to the connecting member (241, 242; see Figure 41A), and the limiting block (224, 234) is mated with the linkage member (245, 246) through an engagement between a sliding-limiting groove (2243, 2343) and a sliding-guiding portion (2483, 2484; see Figure 43A).
Regarding claim 7, Xu discloses the folding device as claimed in claim 6, and further discloses wherein the limiting block (224, 234) defines the sliding-limiting groove (2243, 2343), and the sliding-guiding portion (2483, 2484) is arranged in the linkage member (245, 246); 2243, 2343) extends obliquely in a direction away from the side support plate (221, 231); wherein the sliding-limiting groove (2243, 2343) comprises a first limiting section (first end of 2243, 2342) and a second limiting section (second end of 2243, 2343), the first limiting section (first end of 2243, 2342) and the second limiting section (second end of 2243, 2343) are located at opposite ends of the sliding-limiting groove (ends of 2243, 2342), and the first limiting section (first end of 2243, 2342) is disposed farther away from the side support plate (221, 231) than the second limiting section (second end of 2243, 2342); and in response to the two side support members (22, 23) being in a fully folded state, the sliding-guiding portion (2483, 2484) is positioned at the first limiting section (first end of 2243, 2342); and in response to the two side support members (22, 23) being in a flattened state, the sliding-guiding portion (2483, 2484) is positioned at the second limiting section (first end of 2243, 2342).
Regarding claim 8, Xu discloses the folding device as claimed in claim 6, further comprising a limiting assembly (Figures 20-22, damping component 247), wherein the limiting assembly (247) comprises a pushing member (rotating ends 2451, 2461) arranged on the linkage member (245, 246), an abutting member (retaining member 2472), and an elastic member (elastic members 2475), the elastic member (2475) is configured to provide a pre-elastic force that enables the abutting member (2472) and the pushing member (2451, 2461) to abut against each other (see Figures 20-22); and wherein the pushing member (2451, 2461) comprises a first cam (Figures 19, protrusions 24514, 24614), the abutting member comprises a second cam (protrusions 24724), the elastic member (24751) is configured to elastically push against the abutting member (2472) to enable the first cam (24514, 24614) and the second cam (24724) to rotatably abut against each other, the pushing member (2541, 2461) is rotatable with respect to the abutting member (2472), the elastic member (24751) is elastically deformed by being squeezed by the abutting member (2472), and the linkage member (245, 246) is maintained at a position by a friction resistance between the pushing member (2541, 2461) and the abutting member (2472).
Regarding claim 9, Xu discloses a folding housing, comprising: two frames (Figure 3, housings 11, 12); a folding device (rotating shaft assembly 2), arranged between the two frames (11, 12) and comprising: a support assembly (first and second supports 22, 23), comprising a side support member (22, 23) on each of two opposite sides of the folding device (see Figures 38-46), wherein the side support member (22, 23) comprises a side support plate (221, 231) and a plurality of inserts (222-2210, 232-2310), and each of the plurality of inserts (222-2210, 232-2310) is embedded in a back surface of the side support plate (fixing surface 2212, 2312; see page 15, 54-59); a rotating assembly (comprised of fixing frames 241, 242 and swing arms 243, 244), comprising a rotating member (243, 244) on each of two opposite sides of the folding device (see Figure 23) and a connecting member (241, 242) on each of two opposite sides of the folding device (see Figure 41), wherein the rotating member (243, 244) is rotatably connected to the connecting member (241, 242), and at least one of the plurality of inserts (222-2210, 232-2310) on the side support member (22, 23) is rotatably connected to the connecting member (241, 242); and a linkage assembly (swing arm 245, 246), comprising a linkage member (245, 246) on each of two opposite sides of the folding device (see Figure 23), wherein the linkage member (245, 246) is slidably connected to the connecting member (241, 242), and at least another one of the plurality of inserts (222-2210, 232-2310) on the side support member (22, 23) is slidably and rotatably connected to the linkage member (245, 246); and wherein the connecting member (241, 242) is rotatable to drive the rotating member (243, 244) and the linkage member (245, 246) to rotate, and rotations of the rotating member (243, 244) and the linkage member (245, 246) are able to drive the side support member (22, 23) to move, such that the two side support members (22, 23) on the two opposite sides of the folding device (see Figure 23) and are configured to be synchronously folded or synchronously unfolded with respect to each other (see Figures 23-25); and wherein each of the two frames (11, 12) is connected to the connecting member (241, 242) on a corresponding one of the two opposite sides of the folding device (sides of 2).
Regarding claim 10, Xu discloses the folding housing as claimed in claim 9, and further discloses wherein the side support plate (22, 23) and the plurality of inserts (222-2210, 232-2310) are integrally moulded (see page 15, 54-59).
Regarding claim 11, Xu discloses the folding housing as claimed in claim 9, further discloses wherein each of the plurality of inserts (222-2210) comprises a connecting portion (portions of 222-2210, 232-2310 connected to 221, 231), the side support plate (221, 231) is made of a plastic material (see page 54), and the connecting portion (portions of 222-2210, 232-2310 connected to 221, 231) is embedded in the side support plate (221, 231).
Regarding claim 12, Xu discloses the folding housing as claimed in claim 11, and further discloses whereinor each of the one or more connecting portions (portions of 222-2210, 232-2310 connected to 221, 231) comprises a flange (see Paragraphs [0038]-[0040]), the side support plate (221, 231) defines one or more positioning recesses (holes 22110), and eack of the one or more positioning recesses (holes 22110) faces the flange (see Paragraphs [0038]-[0040]) of a corresponding one of the one or more connecting portions (portions of 222-2210, 232-2310 connected to 221, 231).
Regarding claim 13, Xu discloses the folding housing as claimed in claim 12, and further discloses wherein the one or more flanges (see Paragraphs [0038]-[0040]) are continuously or intermittently arranged on a plane substantially parallel to the back surface of the side support plate (surface 2212, 2312 of 221, 231), and the one or more positioning recesses (22110) are continuously or intermittently arranged on a plane substantially parallel to the back surface of the side support plate (surface 2212, 2312 of 221, 231).
Regarding claim 14, Xu discloses the folding housing as claimed in claim 9, and further discloses wherein the plurality of inserts (222-2210, 232-2310) of the side support plate (221, 231) comprise a rotating block (222, 232) and a limiting block (224, 234), the rotating block (222, 232) and the limiting block (224, 234) are embedded in the side support plate (221, 231), the rotating block (222, 232) is rotatably connected to the connecting member (241, 242; see Figure 41A), and the limiting block (224, 234) is mated with the linkage member (245, 246) through an engagement between a sliding-limiting groove (2243, 2343) and a sliding-guiding portion (2483, 2484; see Figure 43A).
Regarding claim 15, Xu discloses the folding housing as claimed in claim 14, and further discloses wherein the limiting block (224, 234) defines the sliding-limiting groove (2243, 2343), and the sliding-guiding portion (2483, 2484) is arranged in the linkage member (245, 246); 2243, 2343) extends obliquely in a direction away from the side support plate (221, 231); wherein the sliding-limiting groove (2243, 2343) comprises a first limiting section (first end of 2243, 2342) and a second limiting section (second end of 2243, 2343), the first limiting section (first end of 2243, 2342) and the second limiting section (second end of 2243, 2343) are located at opposite ends of the sliding-limiting groove (ends of 2243, 2342), and the first limiting section (first end of 2243, 2342) is disposed farther away from the side support plate (221, 231) than the second limiting section (second end of 2243, 2342); and in response to the two side support members (22, 23) being in a fully folded state, the sliding-guiding portion (2483, 2484) is positioned at the first limiting section (first end of 2243, 2342); and in response to the two side support members (22, 23) being in a flattened state, the sliding-guiding portion (2483, 2484) is positioned at the second limiting section (first end of 2243, 2342).
Regarding claim 16, Xu discloses the folding housing as claimed in claim 14, further comprising a limiting assembly (Figures 20-22, damping component 247), wherein the limiting assembly (247) comprises a pushing member (rotating ends 2451, 2461) arranged on the linkage member (245, 246), an abutting member (retaining member 2472), and an elastic member (elastic members 2475), the elastic member (2475) is configured to provide a pre-elastic force that enables the abutting member (2472) and the pushing member (2451, 2461) to abut against each other (see Figures 20-22); and wherein the pushing member (2451, 2461) comprises a first cam (Figures 19, protrusions 24514, 24614), the abutting member comprises a second cam (protrusions 24724), the elastic member (24751) is configured to elastically push against the abutting member (2472) to enable the first cam (24514, 24614) and the second cam (24724) to rotatably abut against each other, the pushing member (2541, 2461) is rotatable with respect to the abutting member (2472), the elastic member (24751) is elastically deformed by being squeezed by the abutting member (2472), and the linkage member (245, 246) is maintained at a position by a friction resistance between the pushing member (2541, 2461) and the abutting member (2472).
Regarding claim 17, Xu discloses an electronic device (electronic device 1000), comprising: a folding housing (housing device 100), comprising: two frames (Figure 3, housings 11, 12); and a folding device (rotating shaft assembly 2), arranged between the two frames (11, 12) and comprising: a support assembly (first and second supports 22, 23), comprising a side support member (22, 23) on each of two opposite sides of the folding device (see Figures 38-46), wherein the side support member (22, 23) comprises a side support plate (221, 231) and a plurality of inserts (222-2210, 232-2310), and each of the plurality of inserts (222-2210, 232-2310) is embedded in a back surface of the side support plate (fixing surface 2212, 2312; see page 15, 54-59); a rotating assembly (comprised of fixing frames 241, 242 and swing arms 243, 244), comprising a rotating member (243, 244) on each of two opposite sides of the folding device (see Figure 23) and a connecting member (241, 242) on each of two opposite sides of the folding device (see Figure 41), wherein the rotating member (243, 244) is rotatably connected to the connecting member (241, 242), and at least one of the plurality of inserts (222-2210, 232-2310) on the side support member (22, 23) is rotatably connected to the connecting member (241, 242); and a linkage assembly (swing arm 245, 246), comprising a linkage member (245, 246) on each of two opposite sides of the folding device (see Figure 23), wherein the linkage member (245, 246) is slidably connected to the connecting member (241, 242), and at least another one of the plurality of inserts (222-2210, 232-2310) on the side support member (22, 23) is slidably and rotatably connected to the linkage member (245, 246); and wherein the connecting member (241, 242) is rotatable to drive the rotating member (243, 244) and the linkage member (245, 246) to rotate, and rotations of the rotating member (243, 244) and the linkage member (245, 246) are able to drive the side support member (22, 23) to move, such that the two side support members (22, 23) on the two opposite sides of the folding device (see Figure 23) and are configured to be synchronously folded or synchronously unfolded with respect to each other (see Figures 23-25); and wherein each of the two frames (11, 12) is connected to the connecting member (241, 242) on a corresponding one of the two opposite sides of the folding device (sides of 2); and a flexible member (screen 200), arranged on the folding housing (100).
Regarding claim 18, Xu discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 17, and further discloses wherein each of the plurality of inserts (222-2210) comprises a connecting portion (portions of 222-2210, 232-2310 connected to 221, 231), the side support plate (221, 231) is made of a plastic material (see page 54), and the connecting portion (portions of 222-2210, 232-2310 connected to 221, 231) is embedded in the side support plate (221, 231).
Regarding claim 19, Xu discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 17, and further discloses whereinor the connecting portion (portions of 222-2210, 232-2310 connected to 221, 231) comprises one or more flanges (see Paragraphs [0038]-[0040]), and the side support plate (221, 231) defines one or more positioning recesses (holes 22110) facing the one or more flanges (see Paragraphs [0038]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 20, Xu discloses the electronic device as claimed in claim 17, and further discloses wherein the plurality of inserts (222-2210, 232-2310) of the side support plate (221, 231) comprise a rotating block (222, 232) and a limiting block (224, 234), the rotating block (222, 232) and the limiting block (224, 234) are embedded in the side support plate (221, 231), the rotating block (222, 232) is rotatably connected to the connecting member (241, 242; see Figure 41A), and the limiting block (224, 234) is mated with the linkage member (245, 246) through an engagement between a sliding-limiting groove (2243, 2343) and a sliding-guiding portion (2483, 2484; see Figure 43A).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Liao (US Publication No 2024/0206093) discloses a folding device, comprising: a support assembly (comprised of support plates 171, 172; rotation parts 1711, 1721; tracks 1712, 1722; and stoppers 1713, 1723), comprising a side support member (comprised of support plates 171, 172; rotation parts 1711, 1721; tracks 1712, 1722; and stoppers 1713, 1723) on each of two opposite sides of the folding device (see Figures 37-39), wherein the side support member (comprised of support plates 171, 172; rotation parts 1711, 1721; tracks 1712, 1722; and stoppers 1713, 1723) comprises a side support plate (171, 172) and a plurality of inserts (1711, 1712; 1712, 1722; 1713, 1723), and each of the plurality of inserts (1711, 1712; 1712, 1722; 1713, 1723) is embedded in a back surface of the side support plate (rear surface of 171, 172; see Figures 7-9 and 37-39); a rotating assembly (comprised of swing arms 121, 122 and brackets 111, 112), comprising a rotating member (121, 122) on each of two opposite sides of the folding device (see Figure 10) and a connecting member (brackets 111, 112) on each of two opposite sides of the folding device (see Figure 10), wherein the rotating member (121, 122) is rotatably connected (see Paragraph [0143]) to the connecting member (111, 112), and at least one of the plurality of inserts (1711, 1712; 1712, 1722; 1713, 1723) on the side support member (comprised of support plates 171, 172; rotation parts 1711, 1721; tracks 1712, 1722; and stoppers 1713, 1723) is rotatably connected (see Paragraph [0181]-[0185]) to the connecting member (111, 112); and a linkage assembly (connecting rod assembly 13), comprising a linkage member (131, 132) on each of two opposite sides of the folding device (see Figure 10), wherein the linkage member (131, 132) is slidably connected (see Paragraph [0149]) to the connecting member (111, 112), and at least another one of the plurality of inserts (1713, 1723) on the side support member (comprised of support plates 171, 172; rotation parts 1711, 1721; tracks 1712, 1722; and stoppers 1713, 1723) is slidably and rotatably (see Paragraphs [0184]-[0187]) connected to the linkage member (131, 132); and wherein the connecting member (111, 112) is rotatable to drive the rotating member (121, 122) and the linkage member (131, 132) to rotate, and rotations of the rotating member (121, 122) and the linkage member (131, 132) are able to drive the side support member (comprised of support plates 171, 172; rotation parts 1711, 1721; tracks 1712, 1722; and stoppers 1713, 1723) to move, such that the two side support members (comprised of support plates 171, 172; rotation parts 1711, 1721; tracks 1712, 1722; and stoppers 1713, 1723) on the two opposite sides of the folding device (see Figures 7-9 and 37-39) and are configured to be synchronously folded or synchronously unfolded with respect to each other (see Paragraph [0199]-[0204]).
US Patent/Publications Nos. 20200409427 20210355988 20210267076 10659576 20220197346 20220303371 11681335 11977421 20240302864 20210165466 also disclose folding devices similar to the claimed device.
/GAGE CRUM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841
gsc