DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the electronic thermostat" in 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The electronic thermostat is included in claim 3 however claim 5 does not depend from claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meng (CN-213472754) English translation provided as NPL.
In regards to claim 1, Meng teaches thermal management system ( see fig. 1, 2) of a vehicle (for a vehicle engine), comprising:
an engine cooling system (32), the engine cooling system (32) comprising:
an engine (1), the engine (1) comprising an intake manifold (inlet passage) and a supercharger (supercharger),
an intercooler (7), an air outlet end of the intercooler (inlet channel) being in communication with the intake manifold, and an air inlet end of the intercooler(7) being in communication with the supercharger (pipeline 21),
a first radiator (3), the first radiator (3) being connected to the engine (1), and
a first fan (8), the first fan (8) being configured to dissipate heat from the intercooler (7) and the first radiator (3);
an air conditioning system (43), the air conditioning system comprising a condenser (6); and
a low-temperature cooling system (42), the low-temperature cooling system (42) comprising:
a second radiator (4), and
a second fan (2), the second fan (2) being configured to dissipate heat from the second radiator (4).
Meng discloses upper fan 2 is configured to dissipate heat from the second radiator/drive system cooling device 4 and fan 8 is configured to dissipate heat from condenser 6. Meng fails to explicitly teach the second fan configured to dissipate heat from the condenser. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effect filing date to arrange condenser 6 in the airflow path of upper fan 2 so that the same fan dissipates heat from both low-temperature radiator 4 and condenser 6, because Meng teaches a compact cooling module in which fans provide swept airflow across multiple adjacent heat exchangers to improve cooling performance and reduce package size and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
In regards to claim 2, Meng discloses the thermal management system (100) further comprising:
a controller (controller not shown in fig.), the controller being configured to control running of the engine cooling system according to a temperature of a coolant of the engine (controller receives temperature information from a first temperature sensor in the engine water cooling loop and controls the fan 8 according to the coolant temperature of engine 1).
In regards to claim 4, Meng discloses wherein the engine cooling system (100) further comprises: a first temperature sensor ( temperature sensor not shown in the fig.), the first temperature sensor (temperature sensor not shown in fig.) is arranged between the first radiator (3) and the engine (1)(in the cooling loop 40), and the first temperature sensor (temperature sensor) is configured to detect the temperature of the coolant of the engine (“temperature sensor time monitoring temperature of the cooling liquid”); and the controller is configured to adjust a rotation speed of the first fan according to the temperature of the coolant of the engine (the controller connected with the first temperature sensor in the cooling loop 40 receiving the temperature from the sensor and controls the fan 8 to realize the cooling of the engine 1).
In regards to claim 6, Meng teaches the thermal management system (100) further comprising: a controller (controller not shown), the controller being configured to control running of the low-temperature cooling system (42) according to a temperature of a coolant (with a second temperature sensor to real time monitor the temperature of the cooling liquid).
In regards to claim 13, Meng teaches a vehicle, comprising: the thermal management system according to claim 1 (see above), Meng expressly discloses the management system for cooling a vehicle engine, power battery, drive system, and thereby teaches a vehicle including the thermal management system.
Claims 3, 5, 7, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meng (CN-213472754) English translation provided as NPL as applied to claim above, and further in view of LIU (WO-2020186589 ) English translation provided as NPL.
In regards to claim 3, Meng discloses wherein the engine cooling system (100) with engine 1, radiator 3, and engine water cooling loop 40 where coolant flows from the engine outlet, through the radiator 3 and returns to the engine inlet to cool the engine wherein temperature sensors monitors the coolant temperature in a water cooling loop 40. Meng further teaches pumps and temperature based control in other cooling loops, including first water pump 9 and temperature sensor 11 in drive system cooling loop 42. However, Meng does not expressly teach the limitations of the thermostat, first water pump and controller as is recited herein claim 3.
However, LIU teaches a cooling system and control process thereof similar to Meng that further comprises:
an electronic thermostat (4), the electronic thermostat (4) is arranged between a first end of the engine (1) and a third end of the first radiator (3); and
a first water pump (6), the first water pump (6) is arranged between a second end of the engine (1) and a fourth end of the first radiator (3)(see fig. 1);
wherein the controller (2) is configured to adjust a rotation speed of the first water pump (6) and an opening degree of the electronic thermostat (4) according to the temperature of the coolant of the engine (1)(the system places the coolant temperature sensor 7 on the coolant outlet pipeline between engine 1 and carriable temp thermostat 4, and places coolant temp sensor 8 on the coolant pipeline at the radiator outlet).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Mengs cooling loop 40 to include LIU’s variable temperature electronic thermostat and water pump control because both references concern vehicle engine thermal management, and LIU teaches that coordinated control of coolant pump speed and thermostat opening provides real time optimized engine cooling and improved cooling efficiency.
In regards to claim 5, Meng discloses that the controller receives engine coolant temperature from the first temperature sensor in the engine cooling loop 40, and controls lower fan 8 based on the engine coolant temperature to carry heat away from radiator 3 and intercooler 7. Meng further teaches fan speed request control wherein when engine water temperature exceeds a set value, a controller outputs a lower fan speed request, and the controller outputs a maximum requested fan speed based on engine coolant temperature and air conditioning pressure but fails to explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured to: first adjust a rotation speed of the first water pump and an opening degree of the electronic thermostat according to the temperature of the coolant, and then adjust the rotation speed of the first fan according to the temperature of the coolant.
LIU teaches that the controller (ECU) first reads coolant temperature and, when the coolant is outside the target range, reads a thermostat opening degree and cooling water pump speed and then cooperatively controls the thermostat opening degree and water pump speed to bring coolant temperature to a target value, thereby adjusting a rotation speed of the first water pump and an opening degree of the electronic thermostat according to the temperature of the cooling (set a target temperature) and then adjust the fan speed according to what the temperature of the coolant is. Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use LI staged control strategy in Meng’s engine cooling system such that the controller first adjust a rotation speed of the first water pump and an opening degree of the electronic thermostat according to the temperature of the coolant, and then adjust the rotation speed of the first fan according to the temperature of the coolant, since LIU teaches that this staged control can optimize coolant flow and cooling air flow while reducing cooling system energy consumption.
In regards to claim 7, Meng teaches wherein the low-temperature cooling system (42) further comprises:
a second water pump (9);
a second temperature sensor (11), the second temperature sensor (11) is connected in series with the second water pump (9) and the second radiator (4)(see fig. 1);
a drive motor (18); and
a motor controller (10), the motor controller (10) is electrically connected to the drive motor (18), and
wherein the controller is configured to adjust a rotation speed of the second water pump (9) and a rotation speed of the second fan (2) according to the temperature of the coolant (the controller controls upper fan 2 according to the temperature detected by the sensor to remove heat from the coolant and cool the drive system, when the temperature exceeds a first set value the controller outputs an upper fan speed request and that the controller controls the fan speed according to cooling demand).
Meng fails to teach the low temperature cooling system (42) is formed with a first branch and a second branch arranged in parallel, and the drive motor connected to the first branch, and the motor controller connected to the second branch.
LIU teaches a low temperature stage cooling system in a thermal management system similar to Meng’s having a pump 21, a radiator 25, a fan 24, and drive motor 28, including thermometers/sensors, and parallel branch coolant paths in the low-temperature cooling system. LIU teaches that the low temperature electric water pump (the second water pump) and the fan operate in different modes according to coolant temperatures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to have modified Meng’s low temperature system cooling loop to arrange the drive motor, and drive motor controller in respective parallel branches as suggested by the branched low temperature coolant architecture of LIU in order to distribute coolant to electric drive components having different heat loads, and improve temperature regulation of the drive motor and motor controller.
In regards to claim 10, Meng teaches wherein the air conditioning system (43) comprises: a compressor (17); connected with the condenser (6) with pipe 20. But fails to teach an evaporator; and a first control valve, the first control valve is connected in series with the compressor, the evaporator, and the condenser.
However, LIU teaches a similar temperature control system having an air condition cooling system, with a compressor (18), an evaporator (10); and a first control valve (19), the first control valve (19) is connected in series with the compressor (18), the evaporator (19), and the condenser (17).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to include LIU’s evaporator and throttle control valve in Meng’s air conditioning refrigerant loop, because Meng already teaches an air conditioning system with condenser 6 and compressor 17, in a conventional refrigerant circuit including a compressor, condenser, throttle/control valve, and evaporator for vehicle air conditioning cooling. The modification would complete the air condition circuit and provide evaporative cooling functionality.
In regards to claim 11, Meng teaches wherein the air conditioning system (43) further comprises: a second control valve (16); and a heat exchanger (15), the heat exchanger (15) and the second control valve (16) are arranged in series and the heat exchanger is adapted to exchange heat with a battery pack (13). Meng fails to teach and the heat exchanger and the second control valve are arranged in parallel with the evaporator. However in combination with LIU (see claim 10 above, evaporator 10 and a first and second control valve) it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to have modified Meng’s refrigerant side battery heat exchanger branch with the second control valve and arrange that branch in parallel with Liu’s evaporator branch because, as Meng teaches (see claim 8, paragraphs 0038-40), using the air conditioning refrigerant circuit to cool battery coolant through heat exchanger and Liu teaches conventional evaporator branch in the air conditioning system. Providing separate control valves for evaporator and heat exchanger would provide selective cooling to the passenger compartment.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meng (CN-213472754) and LIU (WO-2020186589), English translation provided as NPL as applied to claims above, and further in view of Yang (CN-105549442).
In regards to claim 8, Meng and LIU teach in combination wherein the low-temperature cooling system (42) further comprises: a generator (19), the generator (19) is electrically connected to the motor controller (10), but fails to teach the generator is connected in series with the motor controller on the second branch; and a direct current distributor, the direct current distributor is electrically connected to the motor controller, and the direct current distributor is connected in series with the drive motor on the first branch.
However, Liu teaches a hybrid vehicle thermal management system in which the low temperature stage cooling system is used for electric derive components having different thermal requirements, including low temp water pump 21, radiator 25, fan 24, batter 20, and motor 28 with coolant paths of different branches. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Meng to include branched coolant paths to cool electric drive components having different thermal loads as LIU teaches to improve flow distribution and temperature regulation.
Yang teaches an electric vehicle control system including a high voltage power distribution unit with a direct current distributor (high power distribution unit) electrically connected with a drive motor controller and integrated with a heat radiator/water cooling. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Meng including the direct current distributor, as Yang teaches, in the cooling system Meng and LIU in combination teach with a reasonable expectation of success before the effective filing date since Yang teaches that integrating high voltage components with shared liquid cooling reduces wiring, installation space, and improves cooling efficiency (see Yang abstract).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meng (CN-213472754) and LIU (WO-2020186589), English translation provided as NPL as applied to claims above, and further in view of Marsh (US 6230668).
In regards to claim 9, Meng and LIU fail to teach further comprising: an expansion kettle as claimed. However, Marsh teaches a cooling system similar to Meng with an expansion kettle (coolant tank 46) , the expansion kettle (46) being provided with a water inlet (98) and a water outlet (70), the water outlet being connected to a liquid inlet of the second water pump (50), and the water inlet being in communication with the second radiator (48) (see fig. 1). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Meng and LIU further in view of Marsh with an expansion kettle having an outlet connected to the inlet of a water pump 9 and an inlet in communication with Meng’s second radiator 4, as taught by Marsh, in order to provide coolant storage, accommodate expansion, and maintain pump supply permitting proper circulation in the low temperature cooling loop with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meng (CN-213472754) and LIU (WO-2020186589), English translation provided as NPL as applied to claims above, and further in view of Nemesh (US 20090249802).
In regards to claim 12, Meng and Liu teaches the thermal management system (100) further comprising: a controller (controller not shown in the figure), and the controller being configured to control switching of the first control valve and the second control valve (see claim 10 above, first and second control valve as LIU teaches) according to a temperature of the battery pack (13) and the controller being configured to adjust a rotational speed of the compressor (17) and the rotation speed of the second fan (2). Meng and LIU fail to teach controller switching a first and second control valve according to a temperature of a passenger compartment. However, Nemesh teaches a vehicle HVAC and Battery Thermal Management similar to that of Meng and LIU wherein the systems controller includes switching a first and second valve (34, 36) based on the temperatures of the first leg (including evaporator to cool the cabin 44) and a second leg (the battery 54), the controller detects a level of cooling requested for the cabin and level of cooling required by the battery pack and accordingly adjusts the valves (see fig. 4) . It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to configure the controller of Meng, in view of LIU, to control switching of a first and second valve according to the temperature of the battery and the passenger compartment respectively. Nemesh teaches selectively supplying cooling to a respective branch according to demands for a more efficient system (see abstract, para. 0012, 0020).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for a list of prior art that teach similar thermal management systems in vehicles.
/C.A.M./ Examiner, Art Unit 3614
/JASON D SHANSKE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614