DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4,7,8,12,14,16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung (US Pub no. 2018/0277590 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Chung et al discloses A semiconductor device, comprising:
an active region(813,[0038], fig.1b) having a first surface and a second surface;
a first semiconductor layer(815, [0043], fg.1b) at the first surface (fig. 1b);
a first metal element-containing structure (40/401, [0039], fig. 1b, fig.1c)covering the first semiconductor layer (815,[0038], fig.1b,fig.1c, Examiner notes 40/401 covers the bottom of the extraction area (801a/801b and therefore covers 813 -see fig. 1c/1b) ) and
comprising a first metal element (40/401,[0061]); a first n-type layer (30, [0060], fig. 1b/fig. 1c)between the first semiconductor layer (815, [0043], fg.1b) and the first metal element-containing structure(40/401, [0039], fig. 1b, fig.1c);
a second semiconductor layer(82,[0037], fig. 1b,fig. 1c) between the first semiconductor layer (815, [0043], fg.1b) and the first p-type or n-
type layer(30, [0060], fig. 1b/fig. 1c); and an insulating layer (50,[0040], fig. 1b,fig. 1c-Examiner notes that 50 covers the outer edge of elements 815 and 82 or passivation layer covering sidewall of semiconductor stacks 80 [0062]))covering a portion of the first semiconductor layer (815, [0043], fg.1b) and a portion of the
second semiconductor(82,[0037], fig. 1b,fig. 1c); and the second semiconductor
layer(82,[0037], fig. 1b,fig. 1c) has a rectangular shape in a sectional view (fig. 1b/1c).
Chung et al discloses a wherein the first n-type layer (30, [0060], fig. 1b/fig. 1c)comprises an oxygen element (O) and a second metal element and has a thickness ( [0060], fig. 1b/fig. 1c)but fails to teach less than or equal to 20 nm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to achieve a thickness of less than or equal to 20 nm through routine experimentation to reduce series resistance and optimize current spreading. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)
Regarding claim 2, Chung et al discloses wherein the first n-type layer (30, [0060], fig. 1b/fig. 1c)physically contacts the second semiconductor layer(82,[0037], fig. 1b,fig. 1c) and the first metal element-containing structure(40/401, [0039], fig. 1b, fig.1c).
Regarding claim 3, Chung et al discloses wherein the first metal element-containing structure(40/401, [0039], fig. 1b, fig.1c) does not physically contact the first semiconductor layer(815, [0043], fg.1b) and the first metal element-containing structure (40/401, [0039], fig. 1b, fig.1c) electrically connects the first semiconductor layer(815, [0043], fg.1b) through the n-type layer(30, [0060], fig. 1b/fig. 1c).
Regarding claim 4, Chung et al discloses wherein the n-type layer(30, [0060], fig. 1b/fig. 1c) comprises only one kind of metal elements(Zn of ZnO [0060]).
Regarding claim 7, Chung et al discloses wherein the insulating layer (50,[0040], fig. 1b,fig. 1c )comprises an oxide compound, a nitride compound or a fluoride compound.
Regarding claim 8, Chung et al discloses wherein the second metal element comprises In, Ti, Zn[0060].’
Regarding claim 12, Chung et al discloses wherein the second semiconductor layer (82 of semiconductor stack 80) has a side wall and a surface, the insulating structure(passivation layer,[0062]) covers the side wall, and a portion of the surface is exposed from the insulating structure (passivation layer, [0062])and physically contacts the first n-type layer(30, [0060], fig. 1b/fig. 1c).
Regarding claim 14, Chung et al discloses wherein the first metal element-containing structure(40/401,[0039-0040], fig. 1b/fig. 1c) is overlapped with the second semiconductor layer(82, [0040] fig. 1b fig. 1c) in a vertical direction.
Regarding claim 16, Chung et al discloses wherein the first metal element-containing structure (40/401,[0039-0040][0061], fig. 1b/fig. 1c)is devoid of Be.
Regarding claim 17, Chung et al discloses wherein the first metal element comprises
Au or Ag[0061].
Regarding claim 18, Chung et al discloses wherein the first n-type layer (30,[0060], fig.1b,fig. 1c)comprises a metal oxide compound.
Regarding claim 19, Chung et al discloses wherein the first semiconductor layer (815, [0043])comprises a group III-V semiconductor material which is a binary compound semiconductor[0043][0034].
Claim(s) 5,6,9,10 , 13 & 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung (US Pub no. 2018/0277590 A1) in view of Nishikawa (US Pub no. 2012/0273793 A1)
Regarding claim 5, Chung et al discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1 but fails to teach wherein the first semiconductor layer has a first
width and the second semiconductor layer has a second width less than the first width.
However, Nishikawa et al discloses first semiconductor layer (34, fig. 1b) having a first width and the second semiconductor layer(32,[0022], fig. 1b) has a second width less than the first width. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chung et al with the teachings of Nishikawa et al to achieve high brightness.
Regarding claim 6, Chung et al discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1 but fails to teach wherein the second semiconductor layer has a
material the same as the material of the first semiconductor layer.
However, Nishikawa et al discloses second semiconductor layer(32,[0016][0033])has a material the same as the material of the first semiconductor layer(34,[0016][0033]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chung et al with the teachings of Nishikawa et al in order to inject carriers through the contact layer into the window layer.
Regarding claim 9, Chung et al discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1 but fails to teach wherein the first semiconductor layer has a first dopant concentration, the second semiconductor layer has a second dopant concentration higher than the first dopant concentration.
However, Nishikawa et al discloses first semiconductor layer(34, [0038], fig. 1b) has a first dopant concentration, the second semiconductor layer (32,[0038], fig. 1b)has a second dopant concentration higher than the first dopant concentration. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chung et al with the teachings of Nishikawa et al to influence contact resistance.
Regarding claim 10, Nishikawa et al discloses wherein the second dopant concentration is higher than or equal to 1x10¹⁹/cm³[0038].
Regarding claim 13, Chung et al discloses wherein and the active region (813, [0038]) but fails to teach comprises a group III-V semiconductor material contains elements of Al, Ga, As, P, N or In.
However, Nishikawa et al discloses an active region(light emitting layer (40, [0025]) comprises a group III-V semiconductor material contains elements of Al, Ga, As, P, or In[0025]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chung et al with the teachings of Nishikawa et al to emit light in aw wavelength range of red light region.
Regarding claim 15, Chung et al discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1 but fails to teach wherein the second semiconductor layer has a
thickness larger than the thickness of the first p-type or n-type layer.
However, Nishikawa et al discloses a thickness of a second semiconductor layer(contact layer 32,[0047]) and a thickness of a first n-type layer (transparent conductive film 26,[0027] [0046])but fails to teach that the second semiconductor layer has a thickness larger than the thickness of the first p-type or n-type layer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to achieve second semiconductor layer has a
thickness larger than the thickness of the first p-type or n-type layer through routine experimentation to optimize contact resistance and brightness. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Chung et al with the teachings of Nishikawa et al to optimize emission efficiency.
Claim(s) 11 & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung (US Pub no. 2018/0277590 A1) in view of Jeong (US Pub no. 2011/0089452 A1)
Regarding claim 11, Chung et al discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1 but fails to teach wherein the insulating layer has a thickness greater than the thickness of the first p-type or n-type layer.
Jeong et al discloses insulating layer(channel layer-140/240[0049-0051] formed to a thickness of 0.02 microns to about 5 microns and a n-type layer(ohmic contact ITO or IZO-280, [0114]) having a thickness less than several nanometers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the thicknesses in Chung et al with the teachings of Jeong et al such that the insulating layer has a thickness greater
than the thickness of the first p-type or n-type layer results to optimize the prevention of interlayer shorts in the sidewalls of the light emitting structure and to aid in adhesion.
Regarding claim 20, Chung et al discloses A semiconductor component, comprising: the semiconductor device comprising: an active region (813,[0038], fig.1b) having a first surface and a second surface; a first semiconductor layer (815, [0043], fg.1b) at the first surface; a first metal element-containing structure (40/401, [0039], fig. 1b, fig.1c)covering the first semiconductor layer (815, [0043], fg.1b) and
comprising a first metal element;
a first p-type or n-type layer (30, [0060], fig. 1b/fig. 1c)between the first semiconductor layer (815, [0043], fg.1b) and the first metal
element-containing structure(40/401, [0039], fig. 1b, fig.1c);
a second semiconductor layer(82,[0037], fig. 1b,fig. 1c) between the first semiconductor layer (815, [0043], fg.1b)and the first p-
type or n-type layer(30, [0060], fig. 1b/fig. 1c); and
an insulating layer(50,[0040], fig. 1b,fig. 1c-Examiner notes that 50 covers the outer edge of elements 815 and 82)) covering a portion of the first semiconductor layer (815, [0043], fg.1b)and a portion of
the second semiconductor(82,[0037], fig. 1b,fig. 1c);
wherein the first p-type or n-type layer comprises an oxygen element (O) and a second
metal element and has a thickness less than or equal to 20 nm, and the second
semiconductor layer has a trapezoid shape or a rectangular shape in a sectional
view; and
Chung et al discloses a wherein the first p-type or n-type layer (30, [0060], fig. 1b/fig. 1c)comprises an oxygen element (O) and a second metal element and has a thickness ( [0060], fig. 1b/fig. 1c)but fails to teach less than or equal to 20 nm; a package substrate; a semiconductor device located on the package substrate; and an encapsulation structure covers the semiconductor device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to achieve a thickness of less than or equal to 20 nm through routine experimentation to reduce series resistance and optimize current spreading. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)
However, Jeong et al discloses a package substrate(20)[0161-0163]; and an encapsulation structure (40) to cover a semiconductor device[0160]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Chung et al with the teachings of a package substrate and encapsulation structure of Jeong et al such that a package substrate; a semiconductor device located on the package substrate; and an encapsulation structure covers the semiconductor device of results to package the structure for electrical connection and protect the light emitting device.
Related Art
Park et al (US Pub no. 2018/0219131 A)(fig. 20) discloses A semiconductor device of claim 1 and claim 20 but fails to teach an insulating layer covering a portion of the first semiconductor layer and a portion of the second semiconductor; and wherein the first p-type or n-type layer has a thickness less than or equal to 20 nm.
Conclusion
/LATANYA N CRAWFORD EASON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813