NON-FINAL REJECTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. PGPUB 2019/0094648 A1 to Williams et al. (“Williams”).
As to claim 1, Williams discloses:
A semiconductor device, comprising:
a first converter structure configured to modulate an optical light to generate a first modulated light;
a second converter structure configured to modulate the first modulated light to generate a second modulated light;
Williams discloses a semiconductor device. Williams at FIG 2 and at Abstract and ¶2. It includes a first and second convertor structure configured to modulate light to generate a first modulated light and to further modulate the first modulated light to generate a second modulated light, respectively. Id., elements 1211 and 1212, and further at ¶60 (“three modulating subsystems 1211, 1212, and 1213, which may be generally referred to as the modulating sections 121 of the EOM 100. The modulating sections 121 are sequentially disposed one after another in the direction of light propagation from the input optical port 103 of the MZM 110 to its output optical port 104”).
a first waveguide portion configured to transmit the first modulated light from the first converter structure to the second converter structure, and elongated along a first direction; and
a second waveguide portion configured to transmit the first modulated light from the first converter structure to the second converter structure, and split from the first waveguide portion,
Williams discloses a first waveguide structure elongated in a first direction, configured to transmit the first modulated light from the first convertor structure to the second convertor structure, as well as a second waveguide structure for transmitting the first modulated light from the first convertor structure to the second convertor structure, separated and split from the first portion. Williams at FIG 2 elements 101 and 102 and further at ¶60 (“The waveguide arms 101, 102 traverse the modulating sections 1211, 1212, and 1213 in sequence.”). Note that waveguides 101 and 102 extend between the first and second modulating means. Id.
wherein the first converter structure, the first waveguide portion, and the second converter structure are arranged along the first direction in order.
Williams discloses the first structure, first waveguide, and second structure are arranged in the first direction in order. Williams at FIG 2.
Further as to claim 2:
The semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the second waveguide portion is elongated along the first direction.
Williams states that the second waveguide portion is elongated in the first direction. Williams at FIG 2.
Further as to claim 3:
The semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein each of two opposite edges of the first waveguide portion has a length approximately equal to a distance between the first converter structure and the second converter structure along the first direction.
The portions of the waveguides identified above as to claim 1 that connect the first and second converter structures have a length approximately equal to the distance between the structures.
Further as to claim 4:
The semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the first converter structure comprises:
a first doped portion having a first conductive type; and
a second doped portion coupled to the first doped portion and having a second conductive type different from the first conductive type,
wherein each of the first doped portion and the second doped portion are coupled to the first waveguide portion.
Wiliams discloses that the first convertor 1211 comprises a first doped portion of a first type and a second doped portion of a second, different type, both of which are coupled to the first waveguide. Williams at FIG 2 elements 111 and 112 and at FIG 3 and ¶64.
Further as to claim 5:
The semiconductor device of claim 4, wherein the first converter structure further comprises:
a third doped portion having the first conductive type; and
a fourth doped portion coupled to the third doped portion and having the second conductive type,
wherein the second waveguide portion is coupled to each of the third doped portion and the fourth doped portion.
Williams discloses that the first converter 1211 comprises a third doped portion of the first kind and a fourth doped portion of the second kind coupled to the second waveguide. Williams at FIG 2 elements 113 and 114 and at FIG 3 and ¶64.
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. PGPUB 2022/0299836 A1 to Scofield et al. (“Scofield”).
As to claim 18, Scofield discloses:
A semiconductor device, comprising:
a resonator configured modulate an optical light to generate a first modulated light;
Scofield discloses a semiconductor device including a resonator to modulate light. Scofield at Abstract, FIG 4 and at ¶¶21 and 42-44.
wherein the resonator comprises:
at least one first converter structure configured to modulate the optical light to generate a second modulated light; and
at least one second converter structure configured to modulate the second modulated light to generate the first modulated light.
Scofield discloses that the resonator includes a first and second convertor structure 404a and 404b, the first for modulating input light and the second for further modulating it, which reads on generating second modulated light and then first modulated light. Scofield at FIG 4 and at ¶42.
a waveguide structure configured to transmit the optical light to the resonator, and configured to output the first modulated light,
Scofield discloses a waveguide 401 for transmitting the light to the resonator and to output the first modulated light. Scofield at FIG 4 and at ¶¶42-43.
Further as to claim 19:
The semiconductor device of claim 18, wherein at least one first converter structure comprises a third converter structure and a fourth converter structure,
at least one second converter structure comprises a fifth converter structure a sixth converter structure,
the third converter structure, the fourth converter structure, the fifth converter structure and the sixth converter structure are configured to modulate the optical light in order,
each of the third converter structure the fifth converter structure is elongated along a first inclined direction,
each of the fourth converter structure the sixth converter structure is elongated along a second inclined direction,
the waveguide structure is elongated along a first direction, and
the first inclined direction, the second inclined direction and the first direction are different from each other.
Scofield discloses a plurality of convertor structures which would necessarily include a third through sixth convertor making up an overall first and second structure. Scofield at Abstract and ¶8. These are in different directions as shown in FIG 4, and operate in a different direction than the waveguide. Id.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willimas as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of U.S. Pat. 11,106,061 B2 to Ayazi et al. (“Ayazi”).
As to claim 6:
The semiconductor device of claim 5, further comprising:
a fifth doped portion having the first conductive type, coupled to each of the third doped portion and the fourth doped portion, and disposed above the fourth doped portion.
While disclosing claim 5 above, Williams does not disclose a fifth doped portion above the fourth. Ayazi discloses an analogous invention, namely a semiconductor optical modulator. Ayazi at 2:16-46. Ayazi discloses the modulators may comprise P and N type doped silicon adjacent to a waveguide. Id. Lastly, Ayazi discloses a fifth doped region above said doped silicon. Id. at claim 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to modify Williams in such a manner. One of ordinary skill in the art would have appreciated that such was merely an example of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP § 2143 I. A., citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willimas as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Pat. PGPUB 2024/0369896 A1 to Menezo (“Menezo”).
As to claim 7:
The semiconductor device of claim 1, further comprising:
a third converter structure configured to modulate the optical light to generate a third modulated light;
a fourth converter structure configured to modulate the third modulated light to generate a fourth modulated light; and
a third waveguide portion configured to receive each of the fourth modulated light and the second modulated light.
While disclosing claim 1 above, Williams does not disclose a third and fourth structure i.e. another parallel modulator further in parallel to the first one such as in applicant’s FIG 4B.
Menezo discloses an analogous invention, namely a MZM similar to that of Williams, wherein further a second MZM is placed parallel to a first one. Menezo at FIG 6 and at ¶¶15 and 72-78.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to modify Williams in such a manner. One of ordinary skill in the art would have appreciated that such was merely an example of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP § 2143 I. A., citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Further as to claim 8:
The semiconductor device of claim 7, further comprising:
a fourth waveguide portion configured to transmit the third modulated light from the third converter structure to the fourth converter structure, and elongated along the first direction,
wherein the third converter structure, the fourth waveguide portion, and the fourth converter structure are arranged along the first direction in order.
Menezo discloses a fourth waveguide portion in this arrangement as well as the claimed direction in order. Menezo at FIG 6.
As to claim 9:
The semiconductor device of claim 8, further comprising:
a fifth waveguide portion configured to transmit the third modulated light from the third converter structure to the fourth converter structure, and separated from the fourth waveguide portion.
Menezo discloses a fifth waveguide portion as claimed. Menezo at FIG 6.
As to claim 10:
The semiconductor device of claim 1, further comprising:
a first converter structure group configured to modulate the optical light to generate a plurality of first modulated lights; and
a second converter structure group configured to modulate the plurality of first modulated lights to generate a third modulated light,
wherein the first converter structure is included in the first converter structure group, and the second converter structure is included in the second converter structure group.
While disclosing claim 1 above, Williams does not disclose a third and fourth structure i.e. another parallel modulator further in parallel to the first one such as in applicant’s FIG 4B.
Menezo discloses an analogous invention, namely a MZM similar to that of Williams, wherein further a second MZM is placed parallel to a first one. Menezo at FIG 6 and at ¶¶15 and 72-78.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to modify Williams in such a manner. One of ordinary skill in the art would have appreciated that such was merely an example of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP § 2143 I. A., citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
In adding another MZM of Williams in parallel as suggested by Menezo, the left hand convertors and the right hand convertors make a first and second group, respectively, as claimed.
Claims 11, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams in view of U.S. Pat. PGPUB 20230314896 A1 to Pishvaibasargani et al. (“Pishvaibazargani”).
As to claim 11, Williams discloses:
A method, comprising:
forming a substrate;
[…]
forming a first doped portion, a second doped portion, a third doped portion and a fourth doped portion […] and arranged along a first direction in order; and
forming a first waveguide portion and a second waveguide portion […] and split from each other along the first direction,
Williams discloses forming an MZM including forming a substrate and forming a plurality of doped portions in a first direction as well as a first and second waveguide portion split along the first direction. Williams at ¶¶60 63-65 and at FIG 2. See elements 101 and 102 as to the formed waveguides as well as elements 111 and 112 (left upper branch along 101) as to the first and second doped portions and elements 113 and 114 as to the third and fourth doped portions (left lower branch along 102).
wherein the first waveguide portion is coupled to each of the first doped portion and the second doped portion,
the second waveguide portion is coupled to each of the third doped portion and the fourth doped portion,
Williams shows the first waveguide 101 is coupled to the first and second doped portions and the second waveguide is coupled to the third and fourth doped portions. Williams at FIG 2 and ¶60.
each of the first doped portion and the fourth doped portion has a first conductive type, and
each of the second doped portion and the third doped portion has a second conductive type different from the first conductive type.
Williams discloses the doped portions may be P or N type, and that the electrodes may be of different types. Williams at ¶64. Note that the behavior of the first and fourth portions is the same in FIG 2, as is the behavior of the second and third portions.
Williams discloses SOI and thus the elements are fabricated over an insulator, but does not specify that it is an oxide.
Pishvaibazargani discloses an analogous invention, namely a MZM and fabrication thereof. Pishvaibazargani at FIG 7 and ¶¶49-54. Pishvaibazargani specifies that as a POI product, the insulator is an oxide. Id. at ¶¶50 and 53.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to modify Williams in such a manner. One of ordinary skill in the art would have understood how notoriously well-known using an oxide layer in SOI fabrication was, and would have appreciated that such was merely an example of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP § 2143 I. A., citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
As to claim 16:
The method of claim 11, wherein the first doped portion, the second doped portion, the third doped portion and the fourth doped portion are included in a first converter structure,
the first waveguide portion and the second waveguide portion are coupled between the first converter structure and a second converter structure, and
each of two opposite edges of the first waveguide portion has a length approximately equal to a distance between the first converter structure and the second converter structure.
Williams discloses that the first through fourth portions are part of a first structure (1211) in FIG 2, and he portions of the waveguides identified above as to claim 11 in Willams that connect the first and second converter structures have a length approximately equal to the distance between the structures.
Further as to claim 17:
The method of claim 11, wherein a distance between the first waveguide portion and the second waveguide portion is approximately equal to a distance between the second doped portion and the third doped portion.
Willams that connect the first and second converter structures have a length approximately equal to the distance between the structures.
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams in view Pishvaibazargani as applied to claim 11 and further in view of Ayazi and Scofield.
As to claim 12:
The method of claim 11, further comprising:
forming a fifth doped portion between and separated from the second doped portion and the third doped portion; and
forming a silicon portion between and separated from the first waveguide portion and the second waveguide portion,
wherein the fifth doped portion contacts the silicon portion.
Williams in view of Pishvaibazargani disclose claim 11 above, but fail to disclose a fifth doped portion and a silicon portion as claimed.
Ayazi discloses an analogous invention, namely a semiconductor optical modulator. Ayazi at 2:16-46. Ayazi discloses the modulators may comprise P and N type doped silicon adjacent to a waveguide. Id. Lastly, Ayazi discloses a fifth doped region above said doped silicon. Id. at claim 1.
As to the silicon portion, Scofield discloses a MZM like that of Williams with several convertor units. Scofield at ¶¶21 and 42-44. Scofield specifies including a silicon portion between two waveguides for a ground electrode. Scofield at ¶38-40, element 309.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to modify Williams in view of Pishvaibazargani in such a manner. One of ordinary skill in the art would have appreciated that such was merely an example of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP § 2143 I. A., citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
As to claim 13:
The method of claim 12, wherein the silicon portion, the first waveguide portion and the second waveguide portion are formed by the same material.
Williams discloses that the portions of the device may be formed of silicon. Williams at ¶103.
Further as to claim 14:
The method of claim 12, wherein the fifth doped portion has the second conductive type and has a first carrier density, and
each of the second doped portion and the third doped portion has a second carrier density lower than the first carrier density.
Williams discloses that various materials, conductive types, and combinations may be used. Williams at ¶103. These different materials have different carrier densities (e.g. Silicon’s is 9.65x109, GaAs’s is 2.1X106, etc.).
Claim 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams in view Pishvaibazargani as applied to claim 11 and further in view of Ayazi.
As to claim 15:
The method of claim 11, further comprising:
forming a fifth doped portion above the second doped portion and has the first conductive type,
wherein the fifth doped portion is coupled to each of the first doped portion and the second doped portion.
Williams in view of Pishvaibazargani disclose claim 11 above, but fail to disclose a fifth doped portion as claimed.
Ayazi discloses an analogous invention, namely a semiconductor optical modulator. Ayazi at 2:16-46. Ayazi discloses the modulators may comprise P and N type doped silicon adjacent to a waveguide. Id. Lastly, Ayazi discloses a fifth doped region above said doped silicon. Id. at claim 1.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to modify Williams in view of Pishvaibazargani in such a manner. One of ordinary skill in the art would have appreciated that such was merely an example of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP § 2143 I. A., citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scofield as applied to claim 18 and further in view of U.S. Pat. PGPUB 2011/0293216 A1 to Lipson et al. (“Lipson”).
As to claim 20:
The semiconductor device of claim 18, further comprising:
a resonator group comprising a plurality of resonators,
wherein the plurality of resonators are arranged along a first direction and configured to modulate the optical light in order, and
the waveguide structure is elongated along the first direction.
Scofield does not disclose multiple resonators in a row.
Lipson discloses a plurality of resonators along a waveguide structure so that each resonator modulates the light in order. Lispon at FIG 1d and at ¶¶34-35.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to modify Scofield in such a manner. One of ordinary skill in the art would have appreciated that such was merely an example of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP § 2143 I. A., citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Conclusion
Examiner should be directed to Charles Craver whose telephone number is (571) 272-
7849. The Examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Friday 8:30-5:30 PT Pacific
Time.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s
supervisor, Andrew J. Fischer can be reached on 571-272-6779. The fax phone
number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-
273-8300.
Signed,
/CHARLES R CRAVER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992