DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ebata et al. (US 2013/0221351).
Regarding claim 1, Ebata teaches (FIG. 10 – 16):
An oxide semiconductor film having crystallinity over a substrate, comprising:
indium (In) ([0014]); and
a first metal element (M1) selected from the group consisting of aluminum (Al), gallium (Ga), yttrium (Y), scandium (Sc), and lanthanoid elements, wherein the oxide semiconductor film comprises a plurality of crystal grains ([0014]), each of the plurality of crystal grains comprising at least one of a crystal orientation <001>, a crystal orientation <101>, and a crystal orientation <111> obtained by an electron backscatter diffraction (EBSD) method ([0061]), and
wherein in occupancy rates of crystal orientations calculated based on measurement points having crystal orientations with a crystal orientation difference greater than or equal to 0 degrees and less than or equal to 15 degrees with respect to a normal direction of a surface of the substrate, an occupancy rate of the crystal orientation <111> is greater than an occupancy rate of the crystal orientation <001> and an occupancy rate of the crystal orientation <101> ([0067] – [0069], [0239]).
Regarding claim 6, Ebata teaches (FIG. 15):
The oxide semiconductor film according to claim 1, wherein one crystal grain forms a part of a lower surface and a part of an upper surface of the oxide semiconductor film.
Regarding claim 7, Ebata teaches ([0014]):
The oxide semiconductor film according to claim 1, wherein an atomic ratio of the indium and metal elements (M) other than the indium satisfies formula (1). 0.01<[M]/(In+[M])<0.5.
Regarding claim 8, Ebata teaches ([0099]):
The oxide semiconductor film according to claim 1, wherein the first metal element is gallium, wherein the oxide semiconductor film further comprises a second metal element selected from the group consisting of aluminum, yttrium, scandium, and lanthanoid, and wherein atomic ratios of the indium, the gallium, and the second metal element satisfy formulas (2), (3), and (4). 0.7≤[In]/([In]+[Ga]+[M2])≤0.98 ・・・(2) 0.01≤[Ga]/([In]+[Ga]+[M2])<0.2 ・・・(3) 0.01≤[M2]/[In]+[Ga]+[M2])<0.1 ・・・(4).
Regarding claim 9, Ebata teaches:
A thin film transistor comprising the oxide semiconductor film according to claim 1 as a channel ([0001]).
Regarding claim 10, Ebata teaches:
An electronic device comprising the thin film transistor according to claim 9 ([0001]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 – 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ebata et al. (US 2013/0221351).
Regarding claim 2, Ebata fails to expressly disclose:
The oxide semiconductor film according to claim 1, wherein the occupancy rate of the crystal orientation <101> is greater than the occupancy rate of the crystal orientation <001>.
However, Ebata teaches the film formation process parameters in [0047] – [0068] for improving oxide semiconductor operating characteristics due to specific crystal orientation and grain size parameters of the resulting film [0011] – [0020], which overlap with the film formation process parameters of the instant application.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the crystal size, orientation, and occupancy rate to maximize device performance characteristics, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 3, Ebata fails to expressly disclose:
The oxide semiconductor film according to claim 1, wherein the occupancy rate of the crystal orientation <101> is greater than or equal to 4.5 times the occupancy rate of the crystal orientation <001>.
However, Ebata teaches the film formation process parameters in [0047] – [0068] for improving oxide semiconductor operating characteristics due to specific crystal orientation and grain size parameters of the resulting film [0011] – [0020], which overlap with the film formation process parameters of the instant application.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the crystal size, orientation, and occupancy rate to maximize device performance characteristics, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 4, Ebata fails to expressly disclose:
The oxide semiconductor film according to claim 1, wherein the occupancy rate of the crystal orientation <111> is greater than or equal to 4.5 times the occupancy rate of the crystal orientation <001>.
However, Ebata teaches the film formation process parameters in [0047] – [0068] for improving oxide semiconductor operating characteristics due to specific crystal orientation and grain size parameters of the resulting film [0011] – [0020], which overlap with the film formation process parameters of the instant application.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the crystal size, orientation, and occupancy rate to maximize device performance characteristics, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 5, Ebata fails to expressly disclose:
The oxide semiconductor film according to claim 1, wherein an average GOS of the plurality of crystal grains is greater than or equal to 2 degrees.
However, Ebata teaches the film formation process parameters in [0047] – [0068] for improving oxide semiconductor operating characteristics due to specific crystal orientation and grain size parameters of the resulting film [0011] – [0020], which overlap with the film formation process parameters of the instant application.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the crystal size, orientation, and occupancy rate to maximize device performance characteristics, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
/CORY W ESKRIDGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898