DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) “by the computer system,” but nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed in the human mind with the aid of pen and paper. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 1:
Step 2a, prong 1: The limitations of claim 1 “comparing, by the computer system… generating, by the computer system …” as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the human mind with the aid of pen and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components. Except for the words “by the computer system,” nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed in the human mind with the aid of pen and paper. For example, but for the “by the computer system” language, the steps of “comparing, … generating, …” encompass a user predicting a false positive cybersecurity detection based on a cybersecurity detection and a false positive cybersecurity detection characteristic. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements “by the computer system” to perform the steps “comparing, … generating, …” The computer system of these steps are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic computer performing generic computer functionality) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2b: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using “the computer system” to perform the steps “comparing, … generating, …” amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer cannot provide an inventive concept. Hence, these additional elements do not amount to an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2-5 further recite using machine learning models to implement the abstract idea. These claims merely invokes the use of generic computers to perform the abstract idea and do not include any details about how the generating steps are accomplished. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Furthermore, the recitation of “using a machine learning model” also merely indicates a field of use or technological environment in which the judicial exception is performed. This type of limitation merely confines the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (machine learning) and thus fails to add an inventive concept to the claims. See MPEP 2106.05(h). Note: the further recitation of training a ML model as recited in claim 4 are inherent steps to the training of a ML model to perform such a prediction. Hence, these claims are not patent eligible.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot based on new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ding, publication number: US 2024/0250979.
As per claim 1, Ding teaches a method executed by a computer system that generates a false positive cybersecurity prediction, comprising:
comparing, by the computer system, a cybersecurity detection to [[a]] false positive cybersecurity detection characteristics profile representing false positive kernel activity determined to be normal computer behavior (determining probability of exploitation, [0094-0096]); and
generating, by the computer system, the false positive cybersecurity prediction based on the comparing of the cybersecurity detection to the false positive cybersecurity detection characteristics profile representing the false positive kernel activity determined to be the normal computer behavior (Ranking based on probability, [0097]).
As per claim 2, Ding teaches further comprising generating the false positive cybersecurity prediction using a machine learning model (Machine learning model, [0074]).
As per claim 3, Ding teaches further comprising generating the false positive cybersecurity detection characteristics profile using a machine learning model (Machine learning model, [0074]).
As per claim 4, Ding teaches further comprising generating the false positive cybersecurity prediction using a machine learning model trained using the false positive kernel activity determined to be the normal computer behavior (Prediction, [0096]).
As per claim 5, Ding teaches further comprising generating the false positive cybersecurity prediction using a machine learning model trained using three-dimensional graphical data representing the false positive kernel activity determined to be the normal computer behavior (Knowledge graphs, [0024]).
As per claim 6, Ding teaches at least one computer system that generates a false positive cybersecurity prediction, comprising:
at least one central processing unit; and
at least one memory device storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one central processing unit, perform operations, the operations comprising:
pre-screening a cybersecurity detection by routing the cybersecurity detection to a false positive prediction service (using trained models to determine vulnerability probabilities, [0094][0104]);
comparing the cybersecurity detection to a false positive cybersecurity detection profile associated with the false positive prediction service, the false positive cybersecurity detection profile generated by a machine learning model trained using an entitative batch of false positive kernel activity determined to be normal computer behavior associated with an entity (determining probabilities, [0094-0096]); and
generating the false positive cybersecurity prediction based on the comparing of the cybersecurity detection to the false positive cybersecurity detection profile generated by the machine learning model (Ranking based on probabilities, [0097]).
As per claim 7, Ding teaches wherein the operations further comprise determining the cybersecurity detection conforms to the false positive cybersecurity detection profile (Using machine learning models to determine probabilities, [0095]).
As per claim 8, Ding teaches wherein the operations further comprise categorizing the cybersecurity detection as false positive (Ranking [0097]).
As per claim 9, Ding teaches wherein the operations further comprise determining the cybersecurity detection fails to conform to the false positive cybersecurity detection profile (Ranking, [0097]).
As per claim 10, Ding teaches wherein the operations further comprise categorizing the cybersecurity detection as true positive (Ranking, [0097]).
As per claim 11, Ding teaches wherein the operations further comprise grouping the false positive cybersecurity detections based on the entity (Vendor, [0094], Platform – table 1).
As per claim 12, Ding teaches wherein the operations further comprise grouping the false positive cybersecurity detections based on devices associated with the entity (device, [0045]).
As per claim 13, Ding teaches wherein the operations further comprise grouping the false positive cybersecurity detections based on users associated with the entity (Repositories, [0031], vendors [0094], Table 1).
As per claim 14, Ding teaches wherein the operations further comprise grouping the false positive cybersecurity detections based on an operating system process associated with the entity (Software, [0062]).
As per claim 15, Ding teaches a memory device storing instructions that, when executed by at least one central processing unit, perform operations that generate a false positive cybersecurity prediction, the operations comprising:
pre-screening a cybersecurity detection by routing the cybersecurity detection to a false positive prediction service (determining probability of exploitation, [0094-0096]);
comparing the cybersecurity detection to a false positive cybersecurity detection profile associated with the false positive prediction service, the false positive cybersecurity detection profile generated by a graph machine learning model trained using graphical data representing an entitative batch of false positive kernel activity determined to be normal computer behavior, the graphical data having weighted edges representing false positive cybersecurity detection characteristics associated with an entity (determining probabilities, [0094-0096], data having severity scores, [0064][0071], knowledge graphs, [0024]); and
generating a false positive cybersecurity prediction based on the comparing of the cybersecurity detection to the false positive cybersecurity detection profile generated by the graph machine learning model (Ranking based on probabilities, [0097]).
As per claim 16, Ding teaches wherein the operations further comprise determining the cybersecurity detection conforms to the false positive cybersecurity detection profile (Prediction, [0096]).
As per claim 17, Ding teaches wherein the operations further comprise categorizing the cybersecurity detection as false positive (Prediction, [0096]).
As per claim 18, Ding teaches wherein the operations further comprise grouping the false positive cybersecurity detections based on the entity (vendor, [0094], platforms- table 1).
As per claim 19, Ding teaches wherein the operations further comprise grouping the false positive cybersecurity detections based on devices associated with the entity (devices, [0045][0062]).
As per claim 20, Ding teaches wherein the operations further comprise grouping the false positive cybersecurity detections based on users associated with the entity (Repositories, [0031], vendors [0094], Table 1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OLUGBENGA O IDOWU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2494