DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Application
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in this case and has been examined and addressed below. This communication is a Non-Final Rejection in response to the Amendments to the Claims and Remarks filed on 07/23/2026.
Claims 1-20 are currently amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
Claims 1-11 fall within the statutory category of a process. Claims 12-20 fall within the statutory category of an apparatus.
Step 2A, Prong One
As per Claims 1 and 12, the limitations of obtaining first usage history data describing a number of procedures performed using the first endoscope; obtaining first service history data describing at least one service for the first endoscope; obtaining first age data describing an age of the first endoscope; using the first usage data, first age data, and first service history data to determine first status data describing a suitability of the first endoscope for continued use; and initiating a service activity for the first endoscope, based in part on the first status data, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people as well as commercial interactions such as business relations. The steps of obtaining endoscope data including usage history, history data, and age data to be used to determine a suitability of the endoscope for continued use and initiating a service activity depending on the suitability are concepts performed in the normal activity of managing endoscopes to be used in a medical environment to treat patients. This is a management of personal behavior as well as activity performed by staff of a medical facility in the operation of medical devices. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers the performance of managing personal behaviors or commercial/business interactions, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
As per Claim 17, the limitations of obtaining first usage history data describing a number of procedures performed using the first endoscope; obtaining first service history data describing at least one service for the first endoscope; obtaining first age data describing an age of the first endoscope; receiving the first usage history data, the first age data, and the first service history data; using the first usage data, first age data, and first service history data to determine first status data describing a suitability of the first endoscope for continued use; and updating a database record associated with the first endoscope to indicate the first status data, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people as well as commercial interactions such as business relations. The steps of obtaining endoscope data including usage history, history data, and age data to be used to determine a suitability of the endoscope for continued use and updating a database record to indicate status data are concepts performed in the normal activity of managing endoscopes to be used in a medical environment to treat patients. This is a management of personal behavior as well as activity performed by staff of a medical facility in the operation of medical devices. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers the performance of managing personal behaviors or commercial/business interactions, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong Two
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements and combination of additional elements do not impose meaningful limits on the judicial exception. In particular, the claims recite the additional element – first endoscope and an interface computing device. The first endoscope and the interface computing device in these steps are recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims also recites the additional elements of establishing a first communication link between the first endoscope and the interface computing device which amounts to mere instructions to apply the exception because each computing component performing communication with the other device is the use of the computer in its ordinary capacity for tasks such as receiving and transmitting data which, as per MPEP 2106.05(f)(2) has been found to be mere instructions to apply the exception. The claim recites that the first communication link is a direct wireless communication link between the first endoscope and the interface computing device, which is similar to wireless delivery of out-of-region broadcasting content that has been found by the courts to be an additional element which recites no more than an idea of a solution our outcome that is mere instructions to apply the exception, as per MPEP 2106.05(f)(1). The claim also recites an endoscope servicer system which is recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception. The use of the system to carry out the step of the abstract idea of initiating a service activity applies the abstract idea to the general purpose computing component and thus amounts to mere instructions to apply the exception, as per MPEP 2106.05(f)(2). Because the additional elements do not impose meaningful limitations on the judicial exception, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements when considered both individually and as an ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. As discussed above with the respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of first endoscope, interface computing device, and endoscope servicer system to perform the method of the invention amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computing component. The first endoscope is described by example as an endoscope, which is recited at a high level of generality. The interface computing component is recited as a reader device or user computing device (specification [0066]) and the endoscope servicer system is described as computing devices executing software programs (specification [0031]), which do not add meaningful limitations to the abstract idea beyond mere instructions to apply an exception. The claims also include the additional elements of establishing communication link between the devices and the first communication link is a direct wireless communication link between the first endoscope and the interface computing device, which is shown above to be mere instructions to apply the exception. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of the computer or improves another technology. The claim does not amount to significantly more than the underlying abstract idea.
Dependent Claims
Claims 2 and 13 include similar elements to Claim 1 and are therefore directed to an abstract idea for the same reasoning. Claims 3 and 14 include accessing service request data and sending a no service request message, which are interactions between people that describe management of interactions between people and are directed to certain methods of organizing human activity. Claims 4 and 15 include generating fleet audit data and sending the fleet audit data to a consumer which are also management of interactions between people and business or commercial activities which fall into the abstract grouping of certain methods of organizing human activity. Claims 5 and 16 include a description of the fleet audit data and is therefore directed to the same abstract idea as Claims 4 and 15. Claim 6 includes determining the age of an endoscope is less than a threshold which is part of managing the maintenance of the endoscope and therefore falls into the grouping of certain methods of organizing human activity. Claim 7 includes determining the endoscope is greater than an age threshold, service is a first service type, and the service was performed while endoscope was below an age threshold which, similar to Claim 6, are part of managing the maintenance of the endoscope and therefore falls into the grouping of certain methods of organizing human activity. Claim 8 further specifies determining the service age threshold and therefore the claim is directed to the same abstract idea as claim 7. Claim 9 is similar to Claim 7 and directed to the same abstract idea. Claim 10 includes prompting a computing device which amounts to mere instructions to apply the exception. Claim 11 includes providing a graphical user interface for detecting an actuation of a button and in response, determining first status data and providing an indication the endoscope is suitable for continued use. The determining of device status and providing an indication that the device is suitable for use is directed to the abstract idea of certain methods of organizing human activity because it involves managing personal interactions or personal behaviors. The use of the graphical user interface for its routine activity of presenting data and receiving input amounts to mere instructions to apply the exception. Claim 18 includes similar elements to claim 1 and is directed to the same abstract idea for the same reasonings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 9-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker et al. (US 2019/0244707 A1), hereinafter Becker, in view of Araki (US 2004/0107113 A1), hereinafter Araki.
As per Claims 1 and 12, Becker discloses a method and system for servicing a first endoscope comprising an onboard memory device, comprising:
an interface computing device, programmed to perform operations ([0005] system with network appliance, user interface, and cloud base service) comprising:
establishing, by an interface computing device, a first communication link between the first endoscope and the interface computing device ([0008] local network appliance receives data from local medical device, [0003] medical device includes endoscopes, [0010-0011] medical device includes transmitter to communicate with local network appliance, [0049] plurality of medical devices in communication with LAN via network appliance), the first communication link being a direct wireless communication link between a transceiver circuit of the first endoscope and the interface computing device ([0123] medical devices communicate with LAN using ZigBee, Bluetooth protocols, which are wireless communication between devices, [0125] communication protocols used for medical device to communicate with wireless access point of LAN includes WiFi; [0010] medical devices include a transmitter to transmit device data to the service through network; [0003] medical device includes endoscopes);
obtaining first usage history data, by the interface computing device via the first communication link ([0013] device data sent by the medical device includes usage data of the medical device, [0017] device data is sent by the medical device and received by the server, [0075] device data sent with data from memory via transceiver, also see [0059]), the first usage history data describing a number of procedures performed using the first endoscope ([0175] usage of the medical device measured based on number of time device used in surgery or other medical procedure, [0003] medical device includes endoscope);
obtaining, by the interface computing device via the first communication link, first service history data describing at least one repair for the first endoscope ([0153]obtaining servicing records for a medical device which includes data of maintenance work, location of maintenance, type of maintenance work performed, data work completed for a particular medical device, also see [0059], [0003] medical device includes endoscope);
obtaining, by the interface computing device via the first communication link, first age data describing an age of the first endoscope ([0012] data for medical device includes age of the device, [0177] medical information for each medical device includes age, [0183] age is the age of the medical device since manufacture or purchase, see Fig. 9 which lists age for each medical device, [0003] medical device includes endoscope);
using the first usage history data, the first age data, and the first service history data to determine first status data describing a suitability of the first endoscope for continued use ([0173-0175] service schedule for each medical device is generated, servicing schedule, i.e. next servicing determined based on time elapsed since purchase, time elapsed since last service, usage of device, examiner interprets the need for servicing to be the status which describes suitability for continued use, [0044] providing medical device status for a selected medical device based on the information about the device including usage, maintenance history); and
initiating, using a endoscope servicer system, a service activity for the first endoscope, the initiating being based at least in part on the first status data ([0212] service indicator provides indication of the service status such as indicating that the device needs service now, [0186] when service request icon is activated, send a message indicating service has been requested for the particular medical device and a service message is forwarded to individuals/groups for service such as technicians, [0003] medical device includes endoscope).
However, Becker may not explicitly disclose the following which is taught by Araki: obtaining the usage history, service history, and age data, by the interface computing device and from the onboard memory device of the first endoscope (see Fig. 2 where the scope information is obtained from the EEPROM of the endoscope; [0033] information about use history of the endoscope is obtained from the obtaining unit; [0046-0048] endoscope comprises an onboard memory (EEPROM) which stores the scope information and the endoscope system obtains the history information from the EEPROM).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the present application to combine the known concept of obtaining endoscope history and usage data from the memory of the endoscope from Araki with the system of determining status of a medical device for service from Becker in order to manage the use of endoscopes for performing endoscopic examinations by ensuring use of clean and well maintained endoscopes with the most accurate data from each device (Araki [0003-0006]).
As per Claim 17, Becker discloses a system comprising:
an endoscope comprising a transceiver circuit ([0010] medical devices include a transmitter to transmit device data to the service through network; [0003] medical device includes endoscopes);
an interface computing device, the interface computing device programmed to perform operations ([0005] system with network appliance, user interface, and cloud base service) comprising:
establishing a first communication link between the transceiver circuit of the first endoscope and the interface computing device ([0008] local network appliance receives data from local medical device, [0010-0011] medical device includes transmitter to communicate with local network appliance, [0003] medical device includes endoscope, [0049] plurality of medical devices in communication with LAN via network appliance), the first communication link being a direct wireless communication link between the first endoscope and the interface computing device ([0123] medical devices communicate with LAN using ZigBee, Bluetooth protocols, which are wireless communication between devices, [0125] communication protocols used for medical device to communicate with wireless access point of LAN includes WiFi); and
obtaining first usage history data, by the interface computing device and from the first endoscope via the first communication link ([0013] device data sent by the medical device includes usage data of the medical device, [0017] device data is sent by the medical device and received by the server, [0075] device data sent with data from memory via transceiver, also see [0059]), the first usage history data describing a number of procedures performed using the first endoscope ([0175] usage of the medical device measured based on number of time device used in surgery or other medical procedure; [0003] medical device includes endoscopes); and
obtaining, via the first communication link, first service history data describing at least one service for the first endoscope ([0153]obtaining servicing records for a medical device which includes data of maintenance work, location of maintenance, type of maintenance work performed, data work completed for a particular medical device, also see [0059]; [0003] medical device includes endoscopes);
obtaining, by the interface computing device via the first communication link, first age data describing an age of the first endoscope ([0012] data for medical device includes age of the device, [0177] medical information for each medical device includes age, [0183] age is the age of the medical device since manufacture or purchase, see Fig. 9 which lists age for each medical device; [0003] medical device includes endoscope);
a endoscope servicer system, the endoscope servicer system programmed to perform operations (Abstract medical device management system; [0003] medical device includes endoscopes) comprising:
receiving the first usage history data, the first age data, and the first service history data from the interface computing device ([0052] management service receives the medical device data via a network appliance, [0047-0048] management service communicates with a network/LAN using network appliances);
using the first usage history data, the first age data, and the first service history data to determine first status data describing a suitability of the first endoscope for continued use ([0173-0175] service schedule for each medical device is generated, servicing schedule, i.e. next servicing determined based on time elapsed since purchase, time elapsed since last service, usage of device, examiner interprets the need for servicing to be the status which describes suitability for continued use, [0044] providing medical device status for a selected medical device based on the information about the device including usage, maintenance history; [0003] medical device includes endoscope); and
updating a database record associated with the first endoscope to indicate the first status data, the database record being stored at a computing device remote from the interface computing device ([0051] management service updates device records for each medical device; [0153] receive new data regarding the status of the medical device and update a data repository of the server including the service status records; [0003] medical device includes endoscope).
However, Becker may not explicitly disclose the following which is taught by Araki:
an endoscope comprising an onboard memory device ([0046-0048] endoscope comprises an onboard memory (EEPROM) which stores the scope information and the endoscope system obtains the history information from the EEPROM);
obtaining the usage history, service history, and age data, by the interface computing device and from the onboard memory device of the first endoscope (see Fig. 2 where the scope information is obtained from the EEPROM of the endoscope; [0033] information about use history of the endoscope is obtained from the obtaining unit; [0046-0048] endoscope comprises an onboard memory (EEPROM) which stores the scope information and the endoscope system obtains the history information from the EEPROM).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the present application to combine the known concept of obtaining endoscope history and usage data from the memory of the endoscope from Araki with the system of determining status of a medical device for service from Becker in order to manage the use of endoscopes for performing endoscopic examinations by ensuring use of clean and well maintained endoscopes with the most accurate data from each device (Araki [0003-0006]).
As per Claims 2 and 13, Becker and Araki discloses the limitations of Claims 1 and 12. Becker also teaches the first status data indicating that the first endoscope is suitable for continued use ([0184] service status identifies whether each device is in need of service or no servicing needed, Examiner interprets no service needed to be suitable for continued use, [0212] service indicator provides indication of the service status; [0003] medical device includes endoscope), the method further comprising:
establishing, by the interface computing device, a second communication link between the interface computing device and a second endoscope ([0008] local network appliance receives data from local medical device, [0010-0011] medical device includes transmitter to communicate with local network appliance, [0049] plurality of medical devices in communication with LAN via network appliance, [0017] device data is received from plurality of medical devices, i.e. a second medical device; [0048-0049] communication between management service and plurality of medical devices using LAN; [0003] medical device includes endoscope);
obtaining second usage history data, by the interface computing device via the second communication link ([0013] device data sent by the medical device includes usage data of the medical device, [0017] device data is sent by the medical device and received by the server, [0075] device data sent with data from memory via transceiver, also see [0059]; [0017] device data is received from plurality of medical devices, i.e. a second medical device; [0048-0049] communication between management service and plurality of medical devices using LAN);
obtaining second service history data describing the second endoscope, the second service history data describing at least one service of the second endoscope and, for each service, a type of service performed ([0173-0175] service schedule for each medical device is generated, servicing schedule, i.e. next servicing determined based on time elapsed since purchase, time elapsed since last service, usage of device, examiner interprets the need for servicing to be the status which describes suitability for continued use, [0044] providing medical device status for a selected medical device based on the information about the device including usage, maintenance history, [0017] device data is received from plurality of medical devices, i.e. a second medical device, [0059] data collected includes types of servicing of the medical devices; [0003] medical device includes endoscope);
obtaining second age data describing an age of the second endoscope ([0012] data for medical device includes age of the device, [0177] medical information for each medical device includes age, [0183] age is the age of each medical device (includes a second device) since manufacture or purchase, see Fig. 9 which lists age for each medical device, [0017] device data is received from plurality of medical devices, i.e. a second medical device; [0003] medical device includes endoscope);
using the second usage history data, the second age data, and the second service history data to determine second status data indicating that the second endoscope is not suitable for additional service ([0173-0175] service schedule for each medical device is generated, servicing schedule, i.e. next servicing determined based on time elapsed since purchase, time elapsed since last service, usage of device, [0044] providing medical device status for a selected medical device based on the information about the device including usage, maintenance history, [0184] service status identifies whether each device, i.e. second device, is in need of service or no servicing needed, Examiner interprets no service needed to be not suitable for additional service, also see [0212; [0003] medical device includes endoscope]); and
using a endoscope servicer system, updating a database record associated with the second endoscope to indicate the second status data ([0051] management service updates device records for each medical device; [0153] receive new data regarding the status of the medical device and update a data repository of the server including the service status records; [0003] medical device includes endoscope).
However, Becker may not explicitly disclose the following which is taught by Araki:
a second endoscope comprising an onboard memory device ([0046-0048] endoscope comprises an onboard memory (EEPROM) which stores the scope information and the endoscope system obtains the history information from the EEPROM);
obtaining the usage history, service history, and age data, by the interface computing device and from the onboard memory device of the second endoscope (see Fig. 2 where the scope information is obtained from the EEPROM of the endoscope; [0033] information about use history of the endoscope is obtained from the obtaining unit; [0046-0048] endoscope comprises an onboard memory (EEPROM) which stores the scope information and the endoscope system obtains the history information from the EEPROM).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the present application to combine the known concept of obtaining endoscope history and usage data from the memory of the endoscope from Araki with the system of determining status of a medical device for service from Becker in order to manage the use of endoscopes for performing endoscopic examinations by ensuring use of clean and well maintained endoscopes with the most accurate data from each device (Araki [0003-0006]).
As per Claims 3 and 14, Becker and Araki discloses the limitations of Claims 2 and 13. Becker also teaches accessing, by the endoscope servicer system, service request data describing a requested service of the second endoscope ([0177] service status and service request data are obtained from a data repository; [0003] medical device includes endoscope); and
sending, by the endoscope servicer system, a no service recommendation message, the no service recommendation message indicating that the second endoscope is not to be serviced ([0177] provide information on a display including a service status column, Examiner interprets a display viewed by a user to be a message sent to the user; [0184] service status identification of no servicing which indicates that the identified medical devices don’t need servicing).
As per Claims 4 and 15, Becker and Araki discloses the limitations of Claims 2 and 13. Becker also teaches generating, by the endoscope servicer system, fleet audit data describing suitability of a plurality of endoscopes for continued use, the plurality of endoscopes comprising the first endoscope and the second endoscope (see Fig. 9 and Fig. 13 which show a list of all the devices and their service status, [0167] in response to a user request, generate summary of data for all devices, i.e. fleet, [0177] generated data includes use, age, service status for each device, [0184] service status identifies whether device needs servicing/replacement or does not need servicing, Examiner interprets this to describe suitability for continued use; [0003] medical device includes endoscope); and
sending, by the endoscope servicer system, the fleet audit data to a consumer system associated with an operator of the first endoscope and the second endoscope ([0052] management service analyzes and processes the device data and forwards the information to computer devices, [0053-0054] computer devices include a user interface for display of data accessible by users of the computer device; [0003] medical device includes endoscope s).
As per Claims 5 and 16, Becker and Araki discloses the limitations of Claims 4 and 15. Becker also teaches the fleet audit data comprising the first status data, the second status data, and third status data describing a third endoscope, the third status data indicating that the third endoscope is not suitable for continued use (see Fig. 9 and Fig. 13 which show a list of all the devices and their service status (display includes at least three separate devices), [0167] in response to a user request, generate summary of data for all devices, i.e. fleet, [0177] generated data includes use, age, service status for each device, [0184] service status identifies whether device needs servicing/replacement or does not need servicing, [0003] medical device includes endoscope Examiner interprets this to describe suitability/not suitable for continued use, as needing a replacement indicates a device is not suitable for continued use).
As per Claim 9, Becker and Araki discloses the limitations of Claim 1. Becker also teaches determining, by the endoscope servicer system, that the first endoscope is of a first endoscope type ([0106] determine the type/model of a medical device based on the unique identifier for the particular medical device; [0003] medical device includes endoscope);
determining, by the endoscope servicer system, that a first service of the at least one service of the first endoscope is a first service type ([0059] data from the device includes time/date/type of service performed on a medical device); and
determining, by the endoscope servicer system, that the first service was performed while the first endoscope was greater than a first service type age threshold ([0183] age of each of the medical devices is determined for display, [0020] determine when a medical device needs repair based on usage of the device, [0172] devices determined to be past servicing date threshold are determined to be due now for service, [0174] the service date threshold is set based on time or usage of the medical device such as time since purchase, i.e. age), the first status data indicating that the first endoscope is not to be further serviced ([0184] service status of the device indicates whether the device needs no servicing now or soon).
As per Claim 10, Becker and Araki discloses the limitations of Claim 1. Becker also teaches prompting, by the endoscope servicer system, the interface computing device to interrogate the first endoscope ([0005-0007] user interface receives a data request for a medical device from the user which is forwarded to a service and in response, the medical device transmits device to the service and forwarded to the user interface), the establishing of the first communication link being in response to the prompting ([0083] communication is initiated based on a device making initial contact/prompt; [0003] medical device includes endoscope).
As per Claim 11, Becker and Araki discloses the limitations of Claim 1. Becker also teaches providing, by the endoscope servicer system, a graphical user interface to a user computing device, the graphical user interface comprising a endoscope status button (see Fig. 9 and 13; [0134] local user interfaces displayed on computer devices, [0177] selection of a category results in display of the category on the user interface where the category includes medical device status; [0003] medical device includes endoscope);
detecting, by the endoscope servicer system, an actuation of the endoscope status button, the determining of the first status data being responsive to the actuation of the endoscope status button ([0137] display detects a user touching the screen to manipulate and control the data displayed, where touching indications on the screen actuates what is shown on the screen, [0177] selection of a category results in display of the category on the user interface where the category includes medical device status; [0003] medical device includes endoscope); and
providing, by the endoscope servicer system and at the graphical user interface, an indication that the first endoscope is suitable for continued use ([0184] where the status which is displayed can include no servicing or replacement needed indication on the interface which indicates the device is suitable for continued use; [0003] medical device includes endoscope).
As per Claim 18, Becker and Araki discloses the limitations of Claim 17. Becker also teaches initiating a service activity for the first endoscope, the initiating being based at least in part on the first status data ([0212] service indicator provides indication of the service status such as indicating that the device needs service now, [0186] when service request icon is activated, send a message indicating service has been requested for the particular medical device and a service message is forwarded to individuals/groups for service such as technicians; [0003] medical device includes endoscope).
Claims 6-8 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker et al. (US 2019/0244707 A1), in view of Araki (US 2004/0107113 A1), in view of Duckert et al. (US 2005/0080596 A1), hereinafter Duckert.
As per Claims 6 and 19, Becker and Araki discloses the limitations of Claims 1 and 17. However, Becker and Araki may not explicitly disclose the following which is taught by Duckert: determining, based on the first age data, that the first endoscope is less than an age threshold ([0044] based on the age of the device, compare the age to the age level which is considered high reliability or, i.e. a threshold level, see Fig. 7 where the usage data of the device is compared to the usage/age curve and determine if above or below the threshold levels which make the 110 range).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the present application to combine the known concept of determining a medical device is below an age threshold from Duckert with the system of determining status of a medical device for service from Becker and Araki in order to provide a high degree of reliability and operability in device operation by providing proper service and repair (Duckert [0002]).
As per Claims 7 and 20, Becker and Araki discloses the limitations of Claims 1 and 17. Becker also teaches determining, by the endoscope servicer system, that a first service of the at least one service of the first endoscope is a first service type ([0059] data from the device includes time/date/type of service performed on a medical device; [0003] medical device includes endoscope; [0003] medical device includes endoscope); and
determining, by the endoscope servicer system, that the first service was performed while the first endoscope was less than a first service type age threshold ([0183] age of each of the medical devices is determined for display, [0020] determine when a medical device needs repair based on usage of the device, [0171] determine medical device service due soon which means device will need servicing within a predefined time window but not yet due, [0174] the service date threshold is set based on time or usage of the medical device such as time since purchase, i.e. age; [0003] medical device includes endoscope), the first status data indicating that the first endoscope is suitable for continued use ([0184] service status of the device indicates whether the device needs no servicing now or soon).
However, Becker and Araki may not explicitly disclose the following which is taught by Duckert: determining, by the endoscope servicer system and based on the first age data, that the first endoscope is greater than an age threshold ([0044] based on the age of the device, compare the age to the age level which is considered high reliability, i.e. a threshold level, see Fig. 7 where the usage data of the device is compared to the usage/age curve and determine if above or below the threshold levels which make the 110 range).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the present application to combine the known concept of determining a medical device is above an age threshold from Duckert with the system of determining status of a medical device for service from Becker and Araki in order to provide a high degree of reliability and operability in device operation by providing proper service and repair (Duckert [0002]).
As per Claim 8, Becker, Araki, and Duckert discloses the limitations of Claim 7. However, Becker and Araki may not explicitly disclose the following which is taught by Duckert: determining the first service type age threshold based at least in part on the first usage history data ([0044] based on the usage level of the device, compare the usage to the level which is considered high reliability or, i.e. a threshold level, see Fig. 7 where the usage data of the device is compared to the usage/age curve and determine if above or below the threshold levels which make the 110 range).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the present application to combine the known concept of determining a medical device is above an age threshold based on device usage data from Duckert with the system of determining status of a medical device for service from Becker in order to provide a high degree of reliability and operability in device operation by providing proper service and repair (Duckert [0002]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 10-12, “The Rejection of Claims Under §101”, filed 07/23/2026 with respect to claims 1-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that claim 1 is similar to USPTO Example 4 because the claims integrate the abstract ide into a practical application for the same reasons as Example 4, Claim 2 by the interface computing device and endoscope servicer system acting in concert to obtain data from a particular endoscope and the apply the result in the recited environment. Examiner respectfully disagrees that claim 1 integrates the abstract idea into a practical application similar to Example 4, Claim 2. Example 4, Claim 2 is found eligible due to the calculation of absolute position using data from remote satellites to improve the technology of global positioning by improving the signal-acquisition sensitivity of the receiver. The present claims do not provide similar elements. The present claims do not provide an improvement to a technology similar to the improvement to global positioning provided in Example 4, Claim 2. Instead, the present claims use data obtained from memory of an endoscope to determine status data describing suitability of the endoscope for continued use (Claim 1 as exemplary). The use of data from plurality of sources does not provide an improvement to technology.
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 12, “The Rejection of Claims Under §112”, filed 07/23/2026 with respect to claims 7-9 and 20 have been fully considered and they are persuasive. Based on the amendments to the claims, the rejections are moot and are therefore withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 12-14, “The Rejection of Claims Under §103”, filed 07/23/2026 with respect to claims 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of 04/23/2026 have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration and based on the amendments to the claims, which limit the medical device to an endoscope, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Araki.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Amling et al. (US 2007/0030345 A1) teaches an endoscope with an onboard memory device which tracks maintenance data.
/EVANGELINE BARR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3682