DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 6 to 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Sasaki (2020/0235234).
The Sasaki reference teaches a gallium oxide layer, note entire reference. The gallium oxide has a thickness of 2um and breakdown voltage higher then 80V/um, note para 0034 and 0035.
With regards to claim 7, the Sasaki reference teaches breakdown over 100v/um, note para 0034.
With regards to claim 8, the Sasaki reference teaches a thickness of 2um, note para 0034.
With regards to claim 9, the gallium oxide layer is similar to that claim and inherently has the same full width at half maximum.
With regards to claim 11, the Sasaki reference teaches depositing gallium oxide on gallium oxide note para 0030-0033.
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al (CN111916341).
The Yang et al reference teaches a method and apparatus for gallium oxide growth, note entire translation. The apparatus consists of a reaction chamber with a substrate disposed in which allows for gallium oxide growth, note figure 2. There is a means for feeding or supplying a gallium element, note , translation embodiment 2. There is an oxygen supply means, note figure 2. The oxygen can be a mixed gas. The mixed gas can include ozone and oxygen. The mixed gas can also be in the form of a plasma, note, translation page 3. The sole difference between the instant claim and the prior art is the setup of the oxygen and mixed gas supply means. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the Yang et al reference to have the a separate mix gas supply means fed into the plasma in order to have a more uniform plasma and oxygen supply for deposition.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al (CN111916341).
The Yang et al reference is relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and fifers from the instant claim in the oxygen to ozone mix. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the Yang et al reference to have the an oxygen to ozone mix in order to increase the amount of plasma.
Claim(s) 3 to 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al (CN111916341) in view of Jp 2016-064691.
The Yang et al reference is relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and fifers from the instant claim in the growth of beta gallium oxide. However, the Jp 2016-064691 reference teaches growing beta gallium oxide by vapor deposition, note, page 4. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the Yang et al reference by the teachings of the Jp 2016-064691 reference to grow the beta gallium oxide in order to have the desired properties in the layer.
With regards to claim 5, the Yang et al reference teaches substrate temperatures under 700c note page 2.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki (2020/0235234)
The Sasaki reference is relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claim in the surface roughness. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the Sasaki reference to have the surface roughness in order to aid in further deposition of layers..
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki (2020/0235234) in view of Jp 2016-064691
The Sasaki reference is relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claim in the surface roughness. However, the Jp 2016-064691 reference teaches growing beta gallium oxide by vapor deposition, note, page 4. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the Sasaki reference by the teachings of the Jp 2016-064691to use beta gallium oxide in order to have the desired lattice structure.
Claim(s) 13 to 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki (2020/0235234) in view of Jp 2016-064691
The Sasaki and Jp 2016-064691 references are relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claim in the orientation of the substrate. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the combined references to have a set orientation in order to grow the further layers with that orientation.
Examiner’s Remarks
The remaining references are merely cited of interest as showing the state of the art in gallium oxide growth.
RMK
/ROBERT M KUNEMUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714