DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
The instant claims are directed to beverage comprising water, D-beta hydroxybutyrate, at least 0.5 percent by volume R-1,3-butanediol, and no, or substantially no, S-1,3-butanediol.
The instant specification only discloses D-1,3-butanediol.
The instant specification is silent as to R-1,3-butanediol and S-1,3-butanediol.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 30 and 37 of copending Application No. 18/298,851 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons:
The instant claims are directed to a beverage comprising water, ethanol, at least 0.5 percent by volume R-1,3-butanediol, and no, or substantially no, S-1,3-butanediol.
Claims 30 and 37 of the copending Application No. 18/298,851 are directed to the foodstuff comprising “enantiomerically pure (D)-1,3-butanediol, or wherein the 1,3-butanediol is enriched with respect to (D)-1,3-butanediol” (i.e. R-1,3-butanediol). It is noted that a beverage reads on foodstuff. It is further noted that the instant claims recite the phrase “comprising” . "Comprising" is an open-ended transition term that means "including but not limited to". Hence, the instant claims may further include all components of independent claims of the copending application such as ß-hydroxybutyric acid salts; a ketone ester; and ß-hydroxbutyric acid.
Claims 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,760,963. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The instant claims are directed to a beverage comprising water, ethanol, at least 0.5 percent by volume R-1,3-butanediol, and no, or substantially no, S-1,3-butanediol.
Claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,760,963 are directed to a beverage comprising water and at least 0.5 percent by volume D-1,3-butanediol and no, or substantially no, L-1,3-butanediol, the beverage further optionally comprising one or more additives selected from the group consisting of D ethyl 3-hydroxybutyrate; D beta hydroxybutyrate salts; D beta hydroxybutyrate, D 1,3-butanediol monoester; 3-hydroxy-, 3-ethoxy-l-methyl-3-oxopropyl ester; D hydroxybutyric acid; ethanol; and combinations thereof.
Hence, the claims in both instant application and U.S. Patent No. 11,760,963 read on a beverage comprising water, ethanol, at least 0.5 percent by volume R-1,3-butanediol, and no, or substantially no, S-1,3-butanediol.
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 19/578,476 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The instant claims are directed to a beverage comprising water, ethanol, at least 0.5 percent by volume R-1,3-butanediol, and no, or substantially no, S-1,3-butanediol.
Claims 1-10 of the copending Application No. 19/578,476 are directed to a composition for parenteral or topical delivery comprising 1,3 butanediol, enantiomerically enriched in its R enantiomer, and water. 1,3 butanediol, enantiomerically enriched in its R enantiomer reads on “R-1,3-butanediol and no, or substantially no, S-1,3-butanediol”. The beverage reads on composition. Hence, the claims in both applications read on a composition (beverage) comprising water, and at least 0.5 percent by volume R-1,3-butanediol, and no, or substantially no, S-1,3-butanediol.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 18 of copending Application No. 19/544,257 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons:
The instant claims are directed to a beverage comprising water, ethanol, at least 0.5 percent by volume R-1,3-butanediol, and no, or substantially no, S-1,3-butanediol. Claim 18 of the copending Application No. 19/544,257 is directed to a foodstuff comprising R-1,3-butanediol. It is noted that a beverage reads on foodstuff. It is further noted that the instant claims recite the phrase “comprising” . "Comprising" is an open-ended transition term that means "including but not limited to". Hence, the instant claims may further include all components of independent claim 1 of the co-pending application such as D-ß-hydroxybutyric acid and at least one D-ß- hydroxybutyrate salt.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 21 and 23-25 of copending Application No. 18/678,629 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons:
The instant claims are directed to a beverage comprising water, ethanol, at least 0.5 percent by volume R-1,3-butanediol, and no, or substantially no, S-1,3-butanediol.
Claims 21 and 23-25 of copending Application No. 18/678,629 are directed to a foodstuff comprising a mixture of ß-hydroxybutyric acid and 1,3- butanediol, wherein the ß-hydroxybutyric acid and 1,3-butanediol are each enriched in their D isomers, and-wherein the ß-hydroxybutyric acid and 1,3-butanediol are present in a molar ratio of 5:4, and wherein the foodstuff is free of medium chain fatty acids and esters thereof.
It is noted that a beverage reads on foodstuff. It is further noted that the instant claims recite the phrase “comprising” . "Comprising" is an open-ended transition term that means "including but not limited to". Hence, the instant claims may further include all components of claims of the co-pending application such as ß-hydroxybutyric acid. It is further noted that “1,3-butanediol are each enriched in their D isomers” read on “R-1,3-butanediol, and no, or substantially no, S-1,3-butanediol”.
Hence, the claims in both applications read on a foodstuff (beverage) comprising water and R-1,3-butanediol, and no, or substantially no, S-1,3-butanediol.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12/703,842. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons:
The instant claims are directed to a beverage comprising water, ethanol, at least 0.5 percent by volume R-1,3-butanediol, and no, or substantially no, S-1,3-butanediol.
Claims of U.S. Patent No. 12/703,842 are directed to a fruit flavored beverage comprising water and at least 0.5 percent by volume D-1,3-butanediol and no, or substantially no, L-1,3-butanediol, wherein the beverage comprises a fruit flavor, and wherein the beverage further optionally comprises one or more additives selected from the group consisting of D-ethyl 3-hydroxybutyrate; D-beta hydroxybutyrate salts; D-beta hydroxybutyrate, D-1,3-butanediol monoester; 3-hydroxy-, 3-ethoxy-1-methyl-3-oxopropyl ester; D-hydroxybutyric acid; ethanol; and combinations thereof.
It is noted that D-1,3-butanediol reads on R-1,3-butanediol and S-1,3-butanediol reads on L-1,3-butanediol.
Hence, the claims in both instant application and U.S. Patent No. US 12/703,842 read on a beverage comprising water, ethanol, at least 0.5 percent by volume R-1,3-butanediol, and no, or substantially no, S-1,3-butanediol.
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 19/534,368 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons:
The instant claims are directed to a beverage comprising water, D-beta hydroxybutyrate, at least 0.5 percent by volume R-1,3-butanediol, and no, or substantially no, S-1,3-butanediol. The claims 18 of the copending Application No. 19/534,368 are directed to a beverage comprising R-1,3-butanediol and water. Hence, the claims in both applications are directed to a beverage comprising R-1,3-butanediol and water.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of copending Application No. 18/894,874 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons:
The instant claims are directed to a beverage comprising water, ethanol, at least 0.5 percent by volume R-1,3-butanediol, and no, or substantially no, S-1,3-butanediol.
Claims 1-12 of copending Application No. 18/894,874 are directed to a beverage comprising water, D-beta hydroxybutyrate, at least 0.5 percent by volume R-1,3-butanediol, and no, or substantially no, S-1,3-butanediol.
Hence the claims in both applications are directed to a beverage comprising water, at least 0.5 percent by volume R-1,3-butanediol, and no, or substantially no, S-1,3-butanediol.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 7-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11-17 of copending Application No. 19/534,368 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons:
The instant claims are directed to a process/method for a consumption of a beverage comprising R-1,3-butanediol, and no, or substantially no, S-1,3-butanediol. The claims 11-17 of the copending Application No. 19/534,368 are also directed to a beverage comprising R-1,3-butanediol and water. Hence, the claims in both applications are directed to a process/method for a consumption of a beverage comprising R-1,3-butanediol.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 7-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of US Patent No. 12,037,567. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons:
The instant claims are directed to a process/method for a consumption of a beverage comprising R-1,3-butanediol, and no, or substantially no, S-1,3-butanediol. The claims 1-18 of US Patent No. 12,037,567 are also directed to a beverage comprising R-1,3-butanediol and water. Hence, the claims in both applications are directed to a process/method for a consumption of a beverage comprising R-1,3-butanediol.
Claims 7-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 19/676,472 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons:
The instant claims are directed to a process/method for a consumption of a beverage comprising R-1,3-butanediol, and no, or substantially no, S-1,3-butanediol. The claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 19/676,472 are also directed to a beverage comprising R-1,3-butanediol and water. Hence, the claims in both applications are directed to a process/method for a consumption of a beverage comprising R-1,3-butanediol.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 7-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/676,494 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons:
The instant claims are directed to a process/method for a consumption of a beverage comprising R-1,3-butanediol, and no, or substantially no, S-1,3-butanediol. The claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 19/676,494 are also directed to a beverage comprising R-1,3-butanediol (D-1,3-butanediol) and water. Hence, the claims in both applications are directed to a process/method for a consumption of a beverage comprising R-1,3-butanediol.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D'Agostino et al (US 20140350105 A1) in view of Clarke et al (Oral 28-day and developmental toxicity studies of (R)-3-hydroxybutyl (R)-3-hydroxybutyrate).
In regard to claims 7, D'Agostino et a discloses a ready-to-drink liquid, comprising 1,3-butanediol ([0041], [0033], claim 2).
D'Agostino et a discloses that 1,3-butanediol is one of available sources of β-hydroxybutyrate ketone. In regard to the presence of 1,3-butanediol as hydroxybutyrate ketone source and the amount of hydroxybutyrate ketone sources in claims 10-11, D'Agostino et a discloses:
[0033] As such, a composition of ketone precursors is disclosed which comprises at least one medium chain fatty acid, or an ester thereof such as a medium chain triglyceride, and a .beta.-hydroxybutyrate ketone source or precursor. There are numerous sources of ketones and ketogenic precursors. Nonlimiting examples of the beta-hydroxybutyrate compound include beta-hydroxybutyrate salts such as sodium beta-hydroxybutyrate and arginine beta-hydroxybutyrate, potassium beta-hydroxybutyrate, calcium beta-hydroxybutyrate, magnesium beta-hydroxybutyrate, lithium beta-hydroxybutyrate, lysine beta-hydroxybutyrate, histidine beta-hydroxybutyrate, ornithine beta-hydroxybutyrate, creatine beta-hydroxybutyrate, agmatine beta-hydroxybutyrate, citrulline beta-hydroxybutyrate, beta-hydroxy butyrate sodium salt, beta-hydroxy butyrate potassium salt, beta-hydroxy butyrate calcium salt, beta-hydroxy butyrate magnesium salt, or a combination of salts. Nonlimiting examples of combinations of beta-hydroxybutyrate salts include sodium beta-hydroxybutyrate and arginine beta-hydroxybutyrate, or beta-hydroxy butyrate sodium salt and beta-hydroxy butyrate potassium salt. Other .beta.-hydroxybutyrate ketone sources include, without limiting the scope, 1,3-butanediol, ethyl acetoacetate, and ethyl beta-hydroxybutyrate. The compounds, are optionally administered between 2 grams and 50 grams, between 5 grams and 30 grams, or between 10 grams and 20 grams. For example, the ketone compounds are optionally administered at 2 grams, 4 grams, 5 grams, 6 grams, 7 grams, 8 grams, 9 grams, 10 grams, 11 grams, 12 grams, 13 grams, 14 grams, 15 grams, 17 grams, 19 grams, 20 grams, 22 grams, 24 grams, 26 grams, 28 grams, 30 grams, 32 grams, 34 grams, 36 grams, 38 grams, 40 grams, 42 grams, 44 grams, 46 grams, 48 grams, or 50 grams.
Claim 2. The composition of claim 1, wherein the at least one beta-hydroxybutyrate compound comprises one or more of: a beta-hydroxybutyrate salt comprising sodium beta-hydroxybutyrate, arginine beta-hydroxybutyrate, potassium beta-hydroxybutyrate, calcium beta-hydroxybutyrate, magnesium beta-hydroxybutyrate, lithium beta-hydroxybutyrate, lysine beta-hydroxybutyrate, histidine beta-hydroxybutyrate, ornithine beta-hydroxybutyrate, creatine beta-hydroxybutyrate, agmatine beta-hydroxybutyrate, or citrulline beta-hydroxybutyrate; a salt mixture further comprising beta-hydroxy butyrate sodium salt, beta-hydroxy butyrate potassium salt, beta-hydroxy butyrate calcium salt, beta-hydroxy butyrate magnesium salt or combination thereof; or a combination of a beta-hydroxybutyrate salt and 1,3-butanediol, beta-hydroxybutyrate salt and ethyl acetoacetate, beta-hydroxybutyrate salt and ethyl beta-hydroxybutyrate, a salt mixture and 1,3-butanediol, a salt mixture and ethyl acetoacetate, or a salt mixture and ethyl beta-hydroxybutyrate.
Since, D'Agostino et al discloses a ready-to-drink liquid, D'Agostino et al inherently discloses water. In any case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include water in the hydroxybutyrate ketone composition in order to obtain a ready-to-drink liquid as disclosed by D'Agostino et al.
D'Agostino et al does not disclose that 1,3-butanediol is R-1,3-butanediol, and no, or substantially no, S-1,3-butanediol.
Clarke et al also discloses that “most (R)-1,3-butanediol is metabolized to the ketones, (R)-3-hydroxybutyrate and acetoacetate, while only approximately one-third of (S)-1,3-butanediol is converted to ketone bodies (4. Discussion).
In regard to the recitation of R-1,3-butanediol and substantially no S-1,3-butanediol, it is noted that this limitation reads on the presence of both R-1,3-butanediol and S-1,3-butanediol.
In any case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify D'Agostino et al in view of Clarke et al and to employ (R)-1,3-butanediol instead of (S)-1,3-butanediol because most (R)-1,3-butanediol is metabolized to the ketones while only approximately one-third of (S)-1,3-butanediol is converted to ketone bodies as disclosed by Clarke et al.
Further in regard to the amount/ concentration of 1,3-butanediol, it is noted that:
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05, II A).
Further, regarding the 1,3-butanediol ranges as examined above, it is noted that in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
In regard to claims 8-9, D'Agostino et al discloses flavoring agents ([0041]).
Claims 1-6 and 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D'Agostino et al (US 20140350105 A1) in view of Clarke et al (Oral 28-day and developmental toxicity studies of (R)-3-hydroxybutyl (R)-3-hydroxybutyrate) hereinafter Clarke et al as applied to claims 7-11 above and further in view of Clarke et al (US 20150065571 A1) hereinafter Clarke’571.
In regard to claims 1 and 13, D'Agostino et a discloses a ready-to-drink liquid, comprising 1,3-butanediol ([0041], [0033], claim 2).
D'Agostino et a discloses that 1,3-butanediol is one of available sources of β-hydroxybutyrate ketone. In regard to the presence of 1,3-butanediol as hydroxybutyrate ketone source and the amount of hydroxybutyrate ketone sources in claims 4-5 and 16-17, D'Agostino et a discloses:
[0033] As such, a composition of ketone precursors is disclosed which comprises at least one medium chain fatty acid, or an ester thereof such as a medium chain triglyceride, and a .beta.-hydroxybutyrate ketone source or precursor. There are numerous sources of ketones and ketogenic precursors. Nonlimiting examples of the beta-hydroxybutyrate compound include beta-hydroxybutyrate salts such as sodium beta-hydroxybutyrate and arginine beta-hydroxybutyrate, potassium beta-hydroxybutyrate, calcium beta-hydroxybutyrate, magnesium beta-hydroxybutyrate, lithium beta-hydroxybutyrate, lysine beta-hydroxybutyrate, histidine beta-hydroxybutyrate, ornithine beta-hydroxybutyrate, creatine beta-hydroxybutyrate, agmatine beta-hydroxybutyrate, citrulline beta-hydroxybutyrate, beta-hydroxy butyrate sodium salt, beta-hydroxy butyrate potassium salt, beta-hydroxy butyrate calcium salt, beta-hydroxy butyrate magnesium salt, or a combination of salts. Nonlimiting examples of combinations of beta-hydroxybutyrate salts include sodium beta-hydroxybutyrate and arginine beta-hydroxybutyrate, or beta-hydroxy butyrate sodium salt and beta-hydroxy butyrate potassium salt. Other .beta.-hydroxybutyrate ketone sources include, without limiting the scope, 1,3-butanediol, ethyl acetoacetate, and ethyl beta-hydroxybutyrate. The compounds, are optionally administered between 2 grams and 50 grams, between 5 grams and 30 grams, or between 10 grams and 20 grams. For example, the ketone compounds are optionally administered at 2 grams, 4 grams, 5 grams, 6 grams, 7 grams, 8 grams, 9 grams, 10 grams, 11 grams, 12 grams, 13 grams, 14 grams, 15 grams, 17 grams, 19 grams, 20 grams, 22 grams, 24 grams, 26 grams, 28 grams, 30 grams, 32 grams, 34 grams, 36 grams, 38 grams, 40 grams, 42 grams, 44 grams, 46 grams, 48 grams, or 50 grams.
Claim 2. The composition of claim 1, wherein the at least one beta-hydroxybutyrate compound comprises one or more of: a beta-hydroxybutyrate salt comprising sodium beta-hydroxybutyrate, arginine beta-hydroxybutyrate, potassium beta-hydroxybutyrate, calcium beta-hydroxybutyrate, magnesium beta-hydroxybutyrate, lithium beta-hydroxybutyrate, lysine beta-hydroxybutyrate, histidine beta-hydroxybutyrate, ornithine beta-hydroxybutyrate, creatine beta-hydroxybutyrate, agmatine beta-hydroxybutyrate, or citrulline beta-hydroxybutyrate; a salt mixture further comprising beta-hydroxy butyrate sodium salt, beta-hydroxy butyrate potassium salt, beta-hydroxy butyrate calcium salt, beta-hydroxy butyrate magnesium salt or combination thereof; or a combination of a beta-hydroxybutyrate salt and 1,3-butanediol, beta-hydroxybutyrate salt and ethyl acetoacetate, beta-hydroxybutyrate salt and ethyl beta-hydroxybutyrate, a salt mixture and 1,3-butanediol, a salt mixture and ethyl acetoacetate, or a salt mixture and ethyl beta-hydroxybutyrate.
Since, D'Agostino et al discloses a ready-to -drink liquid, D'Agostino et al inherently discloses water. In any case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include water in the hydroxybutyrate ketone composition in order to obtain a ready-to-drink liquid as disclosed by D'Agostino et al.
D'Agostino et al does not disclose that 1,3-butanedio is R-1,3-butanediol, and no, or substantially no, S-1,3-butanediol. D'Agostino et al does not disclose that the beverage comprises ethanol.
Clarke et al also discloses that “most (R)-1,3-butanediol is metabolized to the ketones, (R)-3-hydroxybutyrate and acetoacetate, while only approximately one-third of (S)-1,3-butanediol is converted to ketone bodies (4. Discussion).
In regard to the recitation of R-1,3-butanediol and substantially no S-1,3-butanediol, it is noted that this limitation reads on the presence of both R-1,3-butanediol and S-1,3-butanediol.
In any case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify D'Agostino et al in view of Clarke et al and to employ (R)-1,3-butanediol instead of (S)-1,3-butanediol because most (R)-1,3-butanediol is metabolized to the ketones while only approximately one-third of (S)-1,3-butanediol is converted to ketone bodies as disclosed by Clarke et al.
Further in regard to the amount/concentration of 1,3-butanediol, it is noted that:
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05, II A).
Further, regarding the 1,3-butanediol ranges as examined above, it is noted that in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
D'Agostino et al is silent as to the carbonated (claims 6, 12 and 18) alcoholic beverages (comprising ethanol) (claims 1 and 13).
Clarke’571 discloses a beverage comprising water and a ketone body ester comprising a monoester of D-.beta.-hydroxybutyrate with R-1,3-butanediol (Abstract, [0001]).
In regard to a ketone body (claims 21-22, 32-33), Clarke’571 discloses:
[0040] Examples of suitable ketone body or ketone body esters or compounds which provide a ketone body in situ include hydroxybutyrates and derivatives thereof, for example esters and oligomers of hydroxybutyrate including D-.beta.-hydroxybutyrate and derivatives thereof, including esters derived from alcohols and compounds containing one or more free hydroxyl groups. The-D .beta.-hydroxybutyrate moiety is preferably monomeric. Monoesters are especially preferred and esters where two or more hydroxyl groups have been esterified but the esterified hydroxyl groups are not in a "beta-relationship, in which the hydroxyl groups are not attached to adjacent carbon atoms.
[0041] Suitable alcohols include butanediol, especially, 1,3-butanediol, altrose, arabinose, dextrose, erythrose, fructose, galactose, glucose, glycerol, gulose, idose, lactose, lyxose, mannose, ribitol, ribose, ribulose, sucrose, talose, threose, xylitol, xylose. Preferably the alcohol is selected from R-1,3-butanediol and glycerol.
In regard to the beverage, substrate, flavorings, etc (claims 2-, and 14-15), Clarke’571 discloses:
[0052] Suitably the composition comprises water and a ketone body ester. Preferably, the composition further comprises a flavouring and optionally one or more of a protein, carbohydrate, sugars, fat, fibre, vitamins and minerals.
[0055] The composition in liquid form suitably comprises the dry composition diluted with a suitable liquid, for example water, fruit juice or milk, preferably at a ratio of 1:1 to 1:10, more preferably 1:3 to 1:7 of dry composition to liquid. The level of ketone body which is organoleptically acceptable will vary according to the precise composition and its form and the effect of other components of the composition.
[0056] The composition may be solid, for example a powder, tablet, bar, confectionary product or a granule and intended for use as a solid oral dose form. In another embodiment, the solid composition may be mixed before use with a liquid, preferably water, fruit based liquid or a dairy product, for example milk and yoghurt, to provide a liquid drink for the user. Milk, fruit juice and water are especially preferred as a carrier for the composition. The composition may be provided, as desired, as a liquid product in a form ready for consumption or as a concentrate or paste suitable for dilution on use. The diluent for use with the liquid composition is preferably milk, fruit juice or water.
[0074] The composition may be in the form of a solid or in the form of a liquid composition or a gel. Suitable solid forms of the composition include a bar or powder suitable for mixing with a liquid, for example water, milk or fruit juice at the point of use. Suitable forms of liquid composition include for example a syrup, an emulsion and a suspension. Suitably, in the form of a syrup, the composition further may contain as carrier, for example, saccharose or saccharose with glycerol and/or mannitol and/or sorbitol. In the form of a suspension or emulsion, the composition may contain as a carrier, for example, a natural gum, agar, sodium alginate, pectin, methylcellulose, carboxymethylcellulose or polyvinyl alcohol.
[0075] The composition may also be a food product, food supplement, dietary supplement, functional food or a nutraceutical or a component thereof.
[0077] Examples of food products into which the composition may be incorporated as an additive include snack bars, cereals, confectionery and probiotic formulations including yoghurts. Examples of beverages include soft beverages, alcoholic beverages, energy beverages, dry drink mixes, nutritional beverages and herbal teas for infusion or herbal blends for decoction in water.
Clarke’571 discloses a beverage comprising water and a ketone body ester comprising a monoester of D-.beta.-hydroxybutyrate with R-1,3-butanediol (Abstract, [0001]). Clarke et al discloses “[e]xamples of beverages include soft beverages, alcoholic beverages, energy beverages, dry drink mixes, nutritional beverages and herbal teas for infusion or herbal blends for decoction in water” ([0077]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify D'Agostino et al in view of Clarke’571 and to employ ketone body composition into any conventional beverage including carbonated, alcoholic beverages based on a personal preference of a consumer.
In regard to claims 2-3 and 8-9, D'Agostino et al discloses flavoring agents ([0041]).
Conclusion
/VERA STULII/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791