DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
1. The drawings were received on 9/24/2024. These drawings are approved.
Specification
2. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
· “The track tensioning system 300” should be replaced with --The track tensioning system 3000-- for clarity in Para [0034], line 7, on page 8.
· “a first chamber 3022b” should be replaced with --a second chamber 3022b-- for clarity in Para [0035], line 8, on page 8.
· “a rod 3020b” should be replaced with --a rod 3026b-- for clarity in Para [0038], line 12, on page 10.
· “the chamber 3018” should be replaced with --the chamber 3008-- for clarity in Para [0042], lines 1 and 3, on page 12.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1, 4-6, 8, 10, 12-14, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Broms et al (SE447722B; hereinafter “Broms”).
Regarding claim 1, Broms discloses a military vehicle (Para [0001]) comprising: a pair of track assemblies (The track assemblies at the top and bottom of Fig. 1; Para [0011]), each track assembly comprising a belt (10 “belt”; Fig. 1) and a plurality of rollers (18 “support wheels”; Fig. 1) positioned within the belt (10), the pair of track assemblies configured to be driven to transport the military vehicle; and a track tensioning system (Fig. 1) comprising: a pair of dual accumulators (30 “a low-pressure accumulator and 40 “a high-pressure accumulator”), the pair of dual accumulators (30 and 40) configured to adjust a tension of the belt (10; Para [0012]-[0013]) of a corresponding track assembly (The track assemblies at the top and bottom of Fig. 1), wherein each of the pair of dual accumulators (30 and 40) include a first accumulator chamber (chamber 34 and/or 35 of accumulator 30) at a first pressure, and a second accumulator chamber (44 and/or 45 of accumulator 40) at a second pressure, the second pressure being greater than the first pressure (Para [0013]-[0015] and [0020]); wherein each of the pair dual accumulators 30/40 includes a first piston 32 associated with the first accumulator chamber 30 and a second piston 42 associated with the second accumulator chamber 40; wherein the first piston 32 and the second piston 42 are independently translatable relative to one another (evident from at least paragraphs [0014] and [0022] that the first piston 32 translates) such that the second piston 42 is prevented from translating in response to hydraulic fluid received from the corresponding track assembly until the first piston 32 reaches an end of travel (The claimed end of travel corresponds to the end of travel by contacting spacer 38 as is evident from paragraph [0023]); wherein the track tensioning system is configured to provide two-stage control of the tension of the belt (Para [0013]-[0015] and [0022]-[0023]; Claim 1; Broms discloses a track tensioning system including a low-pressure accumulator and a high-pressure accumulator, wherein the low-pressure accumulator maintains the system pressure under normal operating conditions and responds to minor variations in belt tension, and the high-pressure accumulator is engaged when the belt tension increases significantly, such as when an obstacle causes a sudden increase in tension, thereby allowing the system to handle different tension conditions in stages).
Regarding claim 4, Broms further discloses the first accumulator chamber (chamber 34 and/or 35 of accumulator 30) and the second accumulator chamber (44 and/or 45 of accumulator 40) are partially defined by separate housings (31 and 41 “cylindrical container”; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Broms further discloses the military vehicle of Claim 1, wherein a chamber opposite each of the first accumulator chamber (chamber 34 and/or 35 of accumulator 30) and the second accumulator chamber (44 and/or 45 of accumulator 40) is fluidly coupled (The both chambers are connected to the tensioning cylinder 20 through hydraulic line 25) with a compression chamber (a chamber of the cylinder 20) of a corresponding cylinder (20 “hydraulic cylinder”; Fig. 1), the corresponding cylinder (20) comprising a rod (21 “piston”) configured to extend and retract to engage the belt (10) and adjust the tension of the belt (10; Para [0013]-[0015]).
Regarding claim 6, Broms further discloses the pair of dual accumulators (30 and 40) are configured to maintain a constant position of a rod (21) of a corresponding cylinder (20) when the military vehicle is at ride height across an allowed range of values of the tension of the belt (10; Para [0013] and [0020]-[0022]; Broms discloses that, under normal operating conditions, the cylinder 20 maintains a steady state position corresponding to a nominal pressure level in the system, and that when a disturbance such as temporary slackening of the belt occurs, the piston/rod 21 may extend but returns to its original position once the belt returns to its normal condition, thereby maintaining a stable operating position of the rod across normal operating conditions. Accordingly, Broms discloses maintaining a substantially constant position of the rod within an allowed range of belt tension values. Accordingly, the limitation is met).
Regarding claim 8, Broms further discloses, wherein, in response to an event in which the tension of the belt (10) decreases below a lower limit of the allowed range of values, the first accumulator chamber (chamber 34 and/or 35 of accumulator 30) is configured to drive a rod (21) of a corresponding cylinder (20) to extend to maintain at least a minimum allowable tension in the belt (Para [0020]-[0022]; Broms discloses that when the belt tension decreases (i.e., the belt momentarily slackens), the tensioning cylinder 20 reacts immediately by extending its piston/rod 21 to restore the belt tension. Broms further discloses that this extension is driven by the pressure provided from the low-pressure accumulator 30, which supplies fluid to the cylinder to recover the slack condition and maintain belt engagement. Accordingly, Broms discloses that the low-pressure accumulator chamber drives extension of the cylinder rod in response to a decrease in belt tension to maintain tension).
Regarding claim 10, Broms further discloses wherein, in response to an event in which the tension of the belt (10) increases above an upper limit of the allowed range of values, the second accumulator chamber (44 and/or 45 of accumulator 40) is configured to allow compression of a rod (21) of a corresponding cylinder (20) without allowing the tension in the belt to exceed a maximum allowable tension (Para [0023]; Broms discloses that when the belt tension increases, such as when an object becomes trapped and forces the belt to follow a longer path, the pressure in the system rises until the high-pressure accumulator 40 allows fluid to enter its chamber, thereby permitting the cylinder piston/rod 21 to be compressed while preventing the tension from increasing uncontrollably. Accordingly, Broms discloses that the second accumulator chamber allows compression of the rod in response to increased belt tension while preventing the tension from exceeding a maximum allowable level).
Regarding claim 12, Broms further discloses the track tensioning system further comprises: a reservoir (52 “tank”; Para [0016]-[0017]; Fig. 1) configured to provide hydraulic fluid; a manual pump (50 “hand pump”) fluidly coupled with the reservoir (52); a pair of hydraulic lines (25 and 25’ “line”; Fig. 1) each fluidly coupled with the manual pump (50), a corresponding cylinder (20) configured to adjust the tension in the belt (10), and a corresponding one of the pair of dual accumulators (30 and 40); a pair of shut off valves (54 and 54’ “valve”; Fig. 1), each shut off valve positioned along one of the pair of hydraulic lines (25 and 25’); and a pair of pressure sensors (56 and 56’ “manometer”; Fig. 1), each pressure sensor (56 or 56’) position along one of the pair of hydraulic lines (25 or 25’).
Regarding claim 13, Broms further discloses the manual pump (50) is operably configured to drive hydraulic fluid from the reservoir (52) into at least one of the pair of hydraulic lines (25 or 25’) based on which of the pair of shut off valves (54 or 54’) are in an open position (Para [0016]-[0018] and [0024]).
Regarding claim 14, Broms discloses a track tensioning system (Fig. 1) comprising: a pair of dual accumulators (30 “a low-pressure accumulator and 40 “a high-pressure accumulator”), the pair of dual accumulators (30 and 40) configured to adjust a tension of a belt (10; Para [0012]-[0013]) of a corresponding track assembly (The track assemblies at the top and bottom of Fig. 1), wherein the pair of dual accumulators (30 and 40) include a first accumulator chamber (chamber 34 and/or 35 of accumulator 30) at a first pressure, and a second accumulator chamber (44 and/or 45 of accumulator 40) at a second pressure, the second pressure being greater than the first pressure (Para [0013]-[0015] and [0020]); wherein a first piston 32 associated with the first accumulator chamber 30 translates in response to hydraulic fluid received from the corresponding track assembly before a second piston 42 associated with the second accumulator chamber 40 translates (evident from at least paragraphs [0014], [0022], and [0023]); wherein the track tensioning system is configured to: maintain a rod of a corresponding cylinder at a substantially constant position across an allowed range of values of the tension of the belt (The limitation is disclosed as discussed above with respect to claim 6); extend the rod, via the first accumulator chamber, when the tension of the belt decreases below a lower limit of the allowed range (The limitation is disclosed as discussed above with respect to claim 8); and permit compression of the rod, via the second accumulator chamber, when the tension of the belt increases above an upper limit of the allowed range (The limitation is disclosed as discussed above with respect to claim 10).
Regarding claim 17, Broms further discloses the track tensioning system of Claim 14, wherein the first accumulator chamber and the second accumulator chamber are partially defined by separate housings (The limitations are disclosed as discussed above with respect to claim 4).
Regarding claim 18, Broms further discloses the track tensioning system of Claim 14, wherein a chamber opposite each of the first accumulator chamber and the second accumulator chamber is fluidly coupled with a compression chamber of a corresponding cylinder, the corresponding cylinder comprising a rod configured to extend and retract to engage the belt and adjust the tension of the belt (The limitations are disclosed as discussed above with respect to claim 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 7, 9, 11, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Broms as applied to claims 1, 4-6, 8, 10, 12-14, and 17-18 above.
Regarding claims 7 and 19, Broms fails to disclose the allowed range of values of the tension of the belt (10) comprise a range spanning 15% of a maximum belt tension limit and 60% of the maximum belt tension limit.
Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to select an appropriate operating range for the belt tension, since belt tension is a result-effective variable that directly affects system performance, including maintaining stability of the tensioning mechanism (e.g., position of the cylinder rod) and preventing over load or slack conditions. The determination of a suitable range, including values 15% to 60% of a maximum belt tension limit, would have been achieved through routine experimentation and optimization based on design needs and operating conditions.
Regarding claim 9, Broms discloses the military vehicle of Claim 8, but fails to disclose the minimum allowable tension in the belt is 7% of a maximum belt tension limit.
Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to select a minimum allowable tension, since belt tension is a result-effective variable affecting system performance. The determination of a suitable minimum value, including approximately 7%, would have been achieved through routine experimentation and optimization.
Regarding claim 11, Broms discloses the military vehicle of Claim 10, but fails to disclose the maximum allowable tension is 80% of a maximum belt tension limit.
Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to select a minimum allowable tension, since belt tension is a result-effective variable that directly impacts system performance, including preventing excessive loading and avoiding structural damage. The determination of a suitable minimum value, including approximately 80% of a maximum belt tension limit, would have been achieved through routine experimentation and optimization based on design requirements and operating conditions.
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant's arguments filed 9/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
· In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention (i.e., “Accordingly, during a compression event Broms’ lower-pressure piston (32) does not translate at all. Instead, the low-pressure piston is parked against its stop before the event, and the compression is absorbed entirely by the high-pressure piston (42). Broms thus does not teach a first piston that translates “in response to hydraulic fluid received from the corresponding track assembly” and reaches “an end of travel” before the second piston begins to translate.” on pages 10-12), it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., operating conditions: “When the belt momentarily slackens”, “during a compression event”, “compression stroke”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). The limitation is broadly drafted and does not limit the independent translation of the first and second pistons to any particular operating condition. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Applicant is suggested to amend the claim to more clearly define the operational relationship between the first and second pistons under different operating conditions to distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Conclusion
9. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAEKWON CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/Kip T Kotter/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615