Status of the Claims
Claims 1-16 set forth in the amendment submitted 8/06/2026 form the basis of the present examination.
Response to Arguments
The objection to abstract, set forth to the Non-Final Office action mailed on 5/07/2026 has been withdrawn because of the amendment filed on 8/06/2026.
The interpretation of the claim limitation(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, set forth to the Non-Final Office action mailed on 5/07/2026 has been withdrawn because of the amendment filed on 8/06/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 8-12, filed 8/06/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-16 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by TSUKANO ATSUMI (Hereinafter, “Atsumi”) in the Patent Application Publication Number JP 2015211188 A (Date Published 2015-11-24) have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 10-12, of the remarks, filed on 8/06/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-16 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by TSUKANO ATSUMI (Hereinafter, “Atsumi”) in the Patent Application Publication Number JP 2015211188 A (Date Published 2015-11-24), that “However, Atsumi detects the electronic component EP by using the camera CAM to capture its image, rather than using an optical detection device including a beam emitter and a beam receiver, let alone disclosing the technical means "the beam emitter and the beam receiver are disposed on opposite sides of the recess respectively, to detect whether the chip is correctly placed in the recess based on the beam emitted by the beam emitter being blocked by the chip and being free from being received by the beam receiver," as in the present application (Remarks-Page 10).
…………………..
Therefore, Atsumi is silent on at least the distinguishing limitations "an optical detection device used to detect whether the chip is correctly placed in the recess, wherein the optical detection device includes a beam emitter and a beam receiver, the beam emitter and the beam receiver are disposed on opposite sides of the recess respectively, and a beam emitted by the (Remarks-Page 11) beam emitter is able to be received by the beam receiver," and "wherein when the chip is not correctly placed in the recess, and the beam is blocked by the chip and is free from being received by the beam receiver, the optical detection device sends a trigger signal to drive the vibration table to vibrate the carrier," as recited in amended independent claim 1 of this application. As such, Atsumi fails to disclose each and every element as set forth in amended independent claim 1 of the present application.
Given the above, Applicant respectfully submits that amended independent claim 1 and the dependent claims thereof are patentably novel and distinct over Atsumi.
Amended independent claim 9 and the dependent claims thereof also include the corresponding distinguishing limitations and thus are patentably novel and distinct over Atsumi for at least the same reasons provided above.
Hence, withdrawal of the 35 U.S.C. §102 rejections is respectfully requested (Remarks-Page 12).”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see page 10-12, of the remarks, filed on 8/06/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-16 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by TSUKANO ATSUMI (Hereinafter, “Atsumi”) in the Patent Application Publication Number JP 2015211188 A (Date Published 2015-11-24), as applied to the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 5/07/2026 have been fully considered and is persuasive because applicant has amended the claim 1. Therefore, the rejection of Claim(s) 1-16 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by TSUKANO ATSUMI (Hereinafter, “Atsumi”) in the Patent Application Publication Number JP 2015211188 A (Date Published 2015-11-24), as applied to the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 5/07/2026 has been withdrawn. However, applicant has amended the claim 1, and added the limitation, “a carrier having a recess, wherein the recess is used to accommodate and fix a chip; an optical detection device used to detect whether the chip is correctly placed in the recess, wherein the optical detection device includes a beam emitter and a beam receiver, the beam emitter and the beam receiver are disposed on opposite sides of the recess respectively, and a beam emitted by the beam emitter is able to be received by the beam receiver; and a vibration table driven by a motor, signally connected to the optical detection device, and mechanically connected to the carrier; wherein when the chip is not correctly placed in the recess, and the beam is blocked by the chip and is free from being received by the beam receiver, the optical detection device sends a trigger signal to drive the vibration table to vibrate the carrier, so that the chip is correctly placed in the recess, and vibration parameters of the vibration table correspond to physical specifications of the chip”, which necessitates a new ground of rejection. Therefore, present amendment changes the scope of the claim. BAGGEN et al. (Hereinafter, “Baggen”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20200203118 A1 is applied to meet at least the amended limitation of claim 1. Therefore, the rejection of Claim(s) 1-16 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by TSUKANO ATSUMI (Hereinafter, “Atsumi”) in the Patent Application Publication Number JP 2015211188 A (Date Published 2015-11-24), as applied to the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 5/07/2026 has been withdrawn. Claim 1 is now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TSUKANO ATSUMI (Hereinafter, “Atsumi”) in the Patent Application Publication Number JP 2015211188 A (Date Published 2015-11-24) in view of BAGGEN et al. (Hereinafter, “Baggen”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20200203118 A1, as set forth below. Applicant’s argument is moot in view of newly applied combination of references. See the rejection set forth below.
Similar amendment for independent claim 9. Therefore claim 9 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TSUKANO ATSUMI (Hereinafter, “Atsumi”) in the Patent Application Publication Number JP 2015211188 A (Date Published 2015-11-24) in view of BAGGEN et al. (Hereinafter, “Baggen”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20200203118 A1. Dependent claims 2-8 and 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TSUKANO ATSUMI (Hereinafter, “Atsumi”) in the Patent Application Publication Number JP 2015211188 A (Date Published 2015-11-24) in view of BAGGEN et al. (Hereinafter, “Baggen”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20200203118 A1, as set forth below. Applicant’s argument is moot in view of newly applied combination of references. See the rejection set forth below.
.
For expedite prosecution Applicant is invited to call to discuss the present rejection also if any further clarification needed and to discuss any possible amendment to overcome the references to make the claims allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TSUKANO ATSUMI (Hereinafter, “Atsumi”) in the Patent Application Publication Number JP 2015211188 A (Date Published 2015-11-24) in view of BAGGEN et al. (Hereinafter, “Baggen”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20200203118 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Atsumi teaches a positioning device for chip [EP] (A positioning device and a semiconductor inspection device that can position articles without damaging them; Paragraph [0019] Line 1-2; As shown in Figure 1, the semiconductor inspection apparatus 10
according to the first embodiment of the present invention can sequentially transport
rectangular parallelepiped electronic components (examples of articles) EP, such as chip
resistors and chip capacitors, and perform predetermined inspections; Paragraph [0022] Line 1-4; Figure 1-3B), comprising:
a carrier [14] in Figure 3A, B] (a positioning table 14 as the carrier) (The semiconductor inspection apparatus 10 includes an index table 12, a positioning table 14; Paragraph [0023] Line 1-2) having a recess [HL] (a recessed portion HL as the recess) (As shown in Figures 3(A) and 3(B), a recessed portion HL with an open upper side is formed on the upper surface of the positioning base 14; Paragraph [0026] Line 1-2), wherein the recess is used to accommodate and fix a chip [EP] (The electronic component EP as the chip) (The electronic component EP, transported by the index table 12, fits into the recessed area HL; Paragraph [0026] Line 6-7; rectangular parallelepiped electronic components (examples of articles) EP, such as chip resistors and chip capacitors; Paragraph [0022] Line 3-4);
an optical detection device [CAM+18] (a camera CAM and control unit 18 as the optical detection device) (The semiconductor inspection apparatus 10 includes a camera CAM, and a control unit 18; Paragraph [0023] Line 1-2; The camera CAM (see Figure 1) is located downstream of the positioning table 14 in the transport direction of the index table 12, and below the suction collet 124; Paragraph [0030] Line 1-2; The camera CAM is connected to the control unit 18 shown in Figure 1; Paragraph [0030] Line 5) used to detect whether the chip [EP] is correctly placed in the recess [HL] (The camera CAM can image the electronic component EP that is held in place by the suction collet 124; Paragraph [0030] Line 3-4; The captured electronic component EP is monitored by an image processing unit (not shown) provided in the control unit 18 to ensure that it is within a predetermined range of positions; Paragraph [0030] Line 6-7); and
a vibration table [16] (a vibration unit 16 as a vibration table) (The semiconductor inspection apparatus 10 includes a vibration unit 16; Paragraph [0023] Line 1-2; The vibration unit 16 includes an ultrasonic transducer 162 and an ultrasonic horn 164; Paragraph [0027] Line 3) driven by a motor [162+164] (ultrasonic transducer and an ultrasonic horn function as the motor) signally connected to the optical detection device [CAM+18] (The camera CAM (see Figure 1) is located downstream of the positioning table 14 in the transport direction of the index table 12, and below the suction collet 124; Paragraph [0030] Line 1-2; As shown in Figure 2A, the positioning base 14 is fixed to the vibration unit 16 and is subjected to vibration by ultrasonic vibration; Paragraph [0025] Line 3-4; vibration unit is fixed to the positioning base and CAM is located in the downstream of the positioning table and therefore a vibration positioning unit [16] signally connected to the detection unit [CAM+18]); and
mechanically connected to the carrier [14] (A positioning base 14 is attached to the upper side of the ultrasonic horn 164 (of the vibration positioning unit 16). The positioning base 14 is fixed by screwing a male threaded portion (an example of a threaded portion) 142 (see Figure 3(B)) into a female threaded portion formed on the upper surface of the ultrasonic horn 164; Paragraph [0028] Line 7-10);
wherein when the chip [EP] is not correctly placed in the recess [HL] ((Step S7) In the monitoring process, the camera CAM shown in Figure 1 images the electronic component EP that is held in place by the suction collet 124 from below. The imaging data of the electronic component EP is transmitted to an image processing unit (not shown) provided in the control unit 18. The image processing unit confirms, based on the imaging data, that the position of the electronic component EP is within a predetermined tolerance range. If the position of an electronic component EP is outside the tolerance range, that electronic component EP will be transported to a predetermined location in a later process; Paragraph [0038] Line 1-8),
the optical detection device [CAM+18] sends a trigger signal to drive the vibration table [16] to vibrate the carrier [14] (The control unit 18 has a power supply.
The control unit 18 can control the amplitude of vibrations generated by the ultrasonic
transducer 162, i.e., the amplitude of vibrations of the positioning table 14, by having the
power supply unit output voltage or current to the ultrasonic transducer 162; Paragraph [0031] Line 1-4), so that the chip [EP] is correctly placed in the recess [HL] ((Step S4) The electronic component EP, which has partially fallen into the recessed portion HL, is excited by the vibration unit 16 with ultrasonic vibrations having an amplitude of, for example, 1 μm or less, for a period of, for example, 5 to 50 msec. The vibrated electronic component EP fits entirely into the recess HL and is positioned accordingly (see Figure 4(C)); Paragraph [0035] Line 1-5), and vibration parameters (amplitude) of the vibration table [16] (The control unit 18 can control the amplitude of vibrations generated by the ultrasonic transducer 162, i.e., the amplitude of vibrations of the positioning table 14, by having the power supply unit output voltage or current to the ultrasonic transducer 162; Paragraph [0031] Line 2-4) correspond to physical specifications (size) of the chip [EP] ((Step S4) The electronic component EP, which has partially fallen into the recessed portion HL, is excited by the vibration unit 16 with ultrasonic vibrations having an amplitude of, for example, 1 μm or less, for a period of, for example, 5 to 50 msec. The vibrated electronic component EP fits entirely into the recess HL and is positioned accordingly (see Figure 4(C)); Paragraph [0035] Line 1-5; The sizes of these electronic components (EP) are, for example, 0403 size and 0603 size; Paragraph [0022] Line 5; therefore, the physical specification is the size of the chip as depending on size chip is placed in the recess).
Atsumi teaches camera as an optical detection device.
However Atsumi fails to teach that the optical detection device includes a beam emitter and a beam receiver, the beam emitter and the beam receiver are disposed on opposite sides of the recess respectively, and a beam emitted by the beam emitter is able to be received by the beam receiver; wherein when the chip is not correctly placed in the recess, and the beam is blocked by the chip and is free from being received by the beam receiver.
Baggen teaches a stage positioning device for an electron beam inspection apparatus configured to inspect a specimen. The present description relates to an electron-beam (e-beam) inspection tool as can be applied to inspect semiconductor devices (paragraph [0002] Line 1-5), wherein
the optical detection device [200] in Figure 2 includes a beam emitter [212] (electron source 212 as the Schottky emitter as the beam emitter) (FIG. 2 schematically depicts an embodiment of an electron optics system 200 as can be applied in an embodiment of an e-beam inspection tool or system; Paragraph [0035] Line 1-3; The electron optics system 200 comprises an e-beam source, referred to as the electron gun 210 and an imaging system 240; Paragraph [0035] Line 4-6; The electron gun 210 comprises an electron source 212, suppressor 214, an anode 216, a set of apertures 218, and a condenser 220. The electron source 212 can be a Schottky emitter; Paragraph [0036] Line 1-5) and a beam receiver [250, 252, 254, and 256] (deflectors 250, 252, 254, and 256 as the receiver as it receives the signal and reflects back) (four sets of deflectors 250, 252, 254, and 256; Paragraph [0037] Line 3),
the beam emitter [212] and the beam receiver [250, 252, 254, and 256] are disposed on opposite sides of the recess respectively (sample 300, which is held on support 280; Paragraph [0037] Line 7-8; Figure 2 shows that the beam emitter [212] and the beam receiver [250, 252, 254, and 256] are disposed on opposite sides of the recess as the support 280. Baggen does not show any recess however in view of Atsumi, Baggen discloses the beam emitter [212] and the beam receiver [250, 252, 254, and 256] are disposed on opposite sides of the recess), and a beam emitted by the beam emitter [212] is able to be received by the beam receiver [250, 252, 254, and 256] (The deflectors 250 and 256 are applied to scan the electron beam 202 within a large field of view, and the deflectors 252 and 254 are used for scanning the electron beam 202 within a small field of view. All the deflectors 250, 252, 254, and 256 can control the scanning direction of the electron beam 202. The deflectors 250, 252, 254, and 256 can be electrostatic deflectors or magnetic deflectors. The opening of the yoke 260 faces toward the sample 300, which immerses the magnetic field into the sample 300. On the other hand, the electrode 270 is placed beneath the opening of the yoke 260, and therefore the sample 300 will not be damaged. In order to correct the chromatic aberration of the electron beam 202, the retarder 270, the sample 300, and the upper pole piece form a lens to eliminate the chromatic aberration of the electron beam 202; paragraph [0039] Line 1-15);
wherein when the chip [300] (sample 300) is not correctly placed in the recess [280], and the beam is blocked by the chip [300] and is free from being received by the beam receiver (When the electron beam 202 bombards into the sample 300, a secondary electron will be emanated from the surface of the sample 300. The secondary electron is directed to the detector 244 by the filter 246; Paragraph [0040] Line 1-4; In the embodiment as shown, the vacuum chamber 160 comprises an electron optics system 170 configured to project an e-beam onto an object to be inspected, e.g. a semiconductor substrate. The EBI system 100 further comprises a positioning device 180 that is configured to displace the object 190 relative to the e-beam generated by the electron optics system 170; Paragraph [0031] Line 11-24; If the chip is placed correctly in the recess then the beam is reflected by the chip and received by the deflector and if the chip is not placed in the recess properly then beam will not be reflected). The purpose of doing so is to reliably monitor defects, to monitor even smaller defects, to provide a high throughput which typically requires increasing a velocity of a movement of the specimen, as well as accelerations and decelerations thereof, to, to allow to decrease settling times during which the inspection apparatus may be allowed to settle after a movement of the specimen has stopped, to enhance the accuracy and dynamics of the positioning of the specimen.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the optical detection device of Atsumi by including beam emitter and beam receiver as disclosed by Baggen, because Baggen teaches to include a beam emitter and a beam receiver and to emit a beam emitted by the beam emitter reliably monitors defects, monitors even smaller defects, provides a high throughput which typically requires increasing a velocity of a movement of the specimen, as well as accelerations and decelerations thereof, to, allows to decrease settling times during which the inspection apparatus may be allowed to settle after a movement of the specimen has stopped, enhances the accuracy and dynamics of the positioning of the specimen (Paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 2, Atsumi teaches a positioning device for chip,
wherein the physical specifications of the chip [EP] include at least one of a size and a weight of the chip [EP] (The size of the recess HL (viewed from above) is set to be larger than the size of the electronic component EP by a predetermined tolerance, and the electronic component EP fitted into the recess HL is positioned within the predetermined tolerance range. Furthermore, positioning stands with different recessed shapes are prepared to correspond to the shape of the target electronic component EP. In other words, by simply changing the positioning base, it can accommodate a wide variety of electronic component Eps; Paragraph [0026] Line 8-14; The sizes of these electronic components (EP) are, for example, 0403 size and 0603 size; Paragraph [0022] Line 5; therefore, the physical specification is the size of the chip).
Regarding claim 3, Atsumi teaches a positioning device for chip,
wherein the vibration parameters of the vibration table [16] include at least one of an amplitude and a frequency (The control unit 18 can control the amplitude of vibrations generated by the ultrasonic transducer 162, i.e., the amplitude of vibrations of the positioning table 14, by having the power supply unit output voltage or current to the ultrasonic transducer 162; Paragraph [0031] Line 2-4; The user can use this setting unit to set the amplitude of the positioning table 14 in increments of a few micrometers or less (for example, every 0.1 micrometer). Furthermore, the user can set the time for driving the ultrasonic transducer 162 (the time for vibrating the positioning table 14) in increments of a few milliseconds (for example, every 1 ms) via the settings unit; Paragraph [0031] Line 6-10).
Regarding claim 4, Atsumi teaches a positioning device for chip,
further comprising an information device (an image processing unit (not shown) as the information device to set the chip in the recess) for setting the physical specifications of the chip [EP] and outputting the physical specifications of the chip to the vibration table [16] (The imaging data of the electronic component EP is transmitted to an image processing unit (not shown) provided in the control unit 18. The image processing unit confirms, based on the imaging data, that the position of the electronic component EP is within a predetermined tolerance range. If the position of an electronic component EP is outside the tolerance range, that electronic component EP will be transported to a predetermined location in a later process. If the position of the electronic component EP is not within the tolerance range, the operation of the semiconductor inspection device 10 may be stopped; Paragraph [0038] Line 3-10; Furthermore, positioning stands with different recessed shapes are prepared to correspond to the shape of the target electronic component EP. In other words, by simply changing the positioning base, it can accommodate a wide variety of electronic component Eps; Paragraph [0026] Line 8-14; The sizes of these electronic components (EP) are, for example, 0403 size and 0603 size; Paragraph [0022] Line 5), so that the vibration parameters of the vibration table [16] correspond to the physical specifications of the chip [EP] ((Step S4) The electronic component EP, which has partially fallen into the recessed portion HL, is excited by the vibration unit 16 with ultrasonic vibrations having an amplitude of, for example, 1 μm or less, for a period of, for example, 5 to 50 msec. The vibrated electronic component EP fits entirely into the recess HL and is positioned accordingly (see Figure 4(C)). Furthermore, the amplitude of the vibration applied to the electronic component EP may be, for example, 10 μm or less; Paragraph [0035] Line 107).
Regarding claim 5, Atsumi teaches a positioning device for chip,
wherein the information device is a computer or a human-machine interface (The control unit 18 is provided with a setting unit (not shown). The user can use this setting unit to set the amplitude of the positioning table 14 in increments of a few micrometers or less (for example, every 0.1 micrometer). Furthermore, the user can set the time for driving the ultrasonic transducer 162 (the time for vibrating the positioning table 14) in increments of a few milliseconds (for example, every 1 ms) via the settings unit; Paragraph [0031] Line 6-10; user set the values in the setting unit and control unit does the function and therefore human-machine interface).
Regarding claim 6, Atsumi teaches a positioning device for chip,
further comprising a driver interface card (power supply as the s driver interface card as it adjusts the vibration) signally connected to the information device and the vibration table [16] (power supply is in the control unit and image processing unit as the information device is also in the control unit 18 and the control unit is connected with the vibration table), so that an output of the information device is converted into a driving signal to drive the vibration table to adjust its vibration (The control unit 18 has a power supply. The control unit 18 can control the amplitude of vibrations generated by the ultrasonic transducer 162, i.e., the amplitude of vibrations of the positioning table 14, by having the power supply unit output voltage or current to the ultrasonic transducer 162. The control unit 18 is provided with a setting unit (not shown). The user can use this setting unit to set the amplitude of the positioning table 14 in increments of a few micrometers or less (for example, every 0.1 micrometer). Furthermore, the user can set the time for driving the ultrasonic transducer 162 (the time for vibrating the positioning table 14) in increments of a few milliseconds (for example, every 1 ms) via the settings unit; Paragraph [0031] Line 1-9).
Regarding claim 7, Atsumi teaches a positioning device for chip,
further comprising a vibration measuring instrument (a monitoring unit is configured by the camera (CAM) and the image processing unit) for monitoring an action of the vibration table [16] (The captured electronic component EP is monitored by an image processing unit (not shown) provided in the control unit 18 to ensure that it is within a predetermined range of positions. Furthermore, at least one example of a monitoring unit is configured by the camera (CAM) and the image processing unit; Paragraph [0030] Line 6-9).
Regarding claim 8, Atsumi teaches a positioning device for chip,
wherein the vibration measuring instrument is signally connected to the vibration table [16] (The camera CAM is connected to the control unit 18 shown in Figure 1; Paragraph [0030] Line 5; The imaging data of the electronic component EP is transmitted to an image processing unit (not shown) provided in the control unit 18; Paragraph [0038] Line 3-4; As shown in Figure 2A, the positioning base 14 is fixed to the vibration unit 16 and is subjected
to vibration by ultrasonic vibration; Paragraph [0025] Line 3-4; The camera CAM (see Figure 1) is located downstream of the positioning table 14 in the transport direction of the index table 12, and below the suction collet 124; Paragraph [0030] Line 1-2; Therefore the vibration measuring instrument is signally connected to the vibration positioning unit [16]), so that the vibration positioning unit [16] automatically adjusts or stops its vibration based on a data measured by the vibration measuring instrument ((Step S7) In the monitoring process, the camera CAM shown in Figure 1 images the electronic component EP that is held in place by the suction collet 124 from below. The imaging data of the electronic component EP is transmitted to an image processing unit (not shown) provided in the control unit 18. The image processing unit confirms, based on the imaging data, that the position of the electronic component EP is within a predetermined tolerance range. If the position of an electronic component EP is outside the tolerance range, that electronic component EP will be transported to a predetermined location in a later process. If the position of the electronic component EP is not within the tolerance range, the operation of the semiconductor inspection device 10 may be stopped; Paragraph [0038] Line 1-10; Claim 7: A positioning device according to claim 6, further comprising a control unit that outputs a voltage or current for controlling the amplitude of vibrations generated by the ultrasonic transducer).
Regarding claim 9, Atsumi teaches a positioning method for chip [EP] (A positioning device and a semiconductor inspection device that can position articles without damaging them; Paragraph [0019] Line 1-2; As shown in Figure 1, the semiconductor inspection apparatus 10
according to the first embodiment of the present invention can sequentially transport
rectangular parallelepiped electronic components (examples of articles) EP, such as chip
resistors and chip capacitors, and perform predetermined inspections; Paragraph [0022] Line 1-4; Figure 1-3B), comprising:
receiving and fixing a chip [EP] (The electronic component EP as the chip) (The electronic component EP, transported by the index table 12, fits into the recessed area HL; Paragraph [0026] Line 6-7; rectangular parallelepiped electronic components (examples of articles) EP, such as chip resistors and chip capacitors; Paragraph [0022] Line 3-4) in a recess [HL] (a recessed portion HL as the recess) (As shown in Figures 3(A) and 3(B), a recessed portion HL with an open upper side is formed on the upper surface of the positioning base 14; Paragraph [0026] Line 1-2) of acarrier [14] in Figure 3A, B] (a positioning table 14 as the carrying unit) (The semiconductor inspection apparatus 10 includes an index table 12, a positioning table 14; Paragraph [0023] Line 1-2) having a recess [HL] (a recessed portion HL as the recess) (As shown in Figures 3(A) and 3(B), a recessed portion HL with an open upper side is formed on the upper surface of the positioning base 14; Paragraph [0026] Line 1-2);
detecting whether the chip [EP] is correctly placed in the recess [HL] (The camera CAM can image the electronic component EP that is held in place by the suction collet 124; Paragraph [0030] Line 3-4; The captured electronic component EP is monitored by an image processing unit (not shown) provided in the control unit 18 to ensure that it is within a predetermined range of positions; Paragraph [0030] Line 6-7) by an optical detection device [CAM+18] (a camera CAM and control unit 18 as the optical detection device) (The semiconductor inspection apparatus 10 includes a camera CAM, and a control unit 18; Paragraph [0023] Line 1-2; The camera CAM (see Figure 1) is located downstream of the positioning table 14 in the transport direction of the index table 12, and below the suction collet 124; Paragraph [0030] Line 1-2; The camera CAM is connected to the control unit 18 shown in Figure 1; Paragraph [0030] Line 5);
wherein if a detection result is incorrect ((Step S7) In the monitoring process, the camera CAM shown in Figure 1 images the electronic component EP that is held in place by the suction collet 124 from below. The imaging data of the electronic component EP is transmitted to an image processing unit (not shown) provided in the control unit 18. The image processing unit confirms, based on the imaging data, that the position of the electronic component EP is within a predetermined tolerance range. If the position of an electronic component EP is outside the tolerance range, that electronic component EP will be transported to a predetermined location in a later process; Paragraph [0038] Line 1-8),
the optical detection device [CAM+18] sends a trigger signal to drive a vibration table [16] (a vibration unit 16 as a vibration table) (The semiconductor inspection apparatus 10 includes a vibration unit 16; Paragraph [0023] Line 1-2; The vibration unit 16 includes an ultrasonic transducer 162 and an ultrasonic horn 164; Paragraph [0027] Line 3) to vibrate the carrying unit [14] (The control unit 18 has a power supply. The control unit 18 can control the amplitude of vibrations generated by the ultrasonic transducer 162, i.e., the amplitude of vibrations of the positioning table 14, by having the power supply unit output voltage or current to the ultrasonic transducer 162; Paragraph [0031] Line 1-4) to correctly place the chip [EP] in the recess [HL] ((Step S4) The electronic component EP, which has partially fallen into the recessed portion HL, is excited by the vibration unit 16 with ultrasonic vibrations having an amplitude of, for example, 1 μm or less, for a period of, for example, 5 to 50 msec. The vibrated electronic component EP fits entirely into the recess HL and is positioned accordingly (see Figure 4(C)); Paragraph [0035] Line 1-5), and wherein vibration parameters (amplitude) of the vibration table [16] (The control unit 18 can control the amplitude of vibrations generated by the ultrasonic transducer 162, i.e., the amplitude of vibrations of the positioning table 14, by having the power supply unit output voltage or current to the ultrasonic transducer 162; Paragraph [0031] Line 2-4) correspond to physical specifications (size) of the chip [EP] ((Step S4) The electronic component EP, which has partially fallen into the recessed portion HL, is excited by the vibration unit 16 with ultrasonic vibrations having an amplitude of, for example, 1 μm or less, for a period of, for example, 5 to 50 msec. The vibrated electronic component EP fits entirely into the recess HL and is positioned accordingly (see Figure 4(C)); Paragraph [0035] Line 1-5; The sizes of these electronic components (EP) are, for example, 0403 size and 0603 size; Paragraph [0022] Line 5; therefore, the physical specification is the size of the chip as depending on size chip is placed in the recess).
Atsumi teaches camera as an optical detection device.
However Atsumi fails to teach that the optical detection device includes a beam emitter and a beam receiver, the beam emitter and the beam receiver are disposed on opposite sides of the recess respectively, and a beam emitted by the beam emitter is able to be received by the beam receiver; wherein when the chip is not correctly placed in the recess, and the beam is blocked by the chip and is free from being received by the beam receiver.
Baggen teaches a stage positioning device for an electron beam inspection apparatus configured to inspect a specimen. The present description relates to an electron-beam (e-beam) inspection tool as can be applied to inspect semiconductor devices (paragraph [0002] Line 1-5), wherein
the optical detection device [200] in Figure 2 includes a beam emitter [212] (electron source 212 as the Schottky emitter as the beam emitter) (FIG. 2 schematically depicts an embodiment of an electron optics system 200 as can be applied in an embodiment of an e-beam inspection tool or system; Paragraph [0035] Line 1-3; The electron optics system 200 comprises an e-beam source, referred to as the electron gun 210 and an imaging system 240; Paragraph [0035] Line 4-6; The electron gun 210 comprises an electron source 212, suppressor 214, an anode 216, a set of apertures 218, and a condenser 220. The electron source 212 can be a Schottky emitter; Paragraph [0036] Line 1-5) and a beam receiver [250, 252, 254, and 256] (deflectors 250, 252, 254, and 256 as the receiver as it receives the signal and reflects back) (four sets of deflectors 250, 252, 254, and 256; Paragraph [0037] Line 3),
the beam emitter [212] and the beam receiver [250, 252, 254, and 256] are disposed on opposite sides of the recess respectively (sample 300, which is held on support 280; Paragraph [0037] Line 7-8; Figure 2 shows that the beam emitter [212] and the beam receiver [250, 252, 254, and 256] are disposed on opposite sides of the recess as the support 280. Baggen does not show any recess however in view of Atsumi, Baggen discloses the beam emitter [212] and the beam receiver [250, 252, 254, and 256] are disposed on opposite sides of the recess), and a beam emitted by the beam emitter [212] is able to be received by the beam receiver [250, 252, 254, and 256] (The deflectors 250 and 256 are applied to scan the electron beam 202 within a large field of view, and the deflectors 252 and 254 are used for scanning the electron beam 202 within a small field of view. All the deflectors 250, 252, 254, and 256 can control the scanning direction of the electron beam 202. The deflectors 250, 252, 254, and 256 can be electrostatic deflectors or magnetic deflectors. The opening of the yoke 260 faces toward the sample 300, which immerses the magnetic field into the sample 300. On the other hand, the electrode 270 is placed beneath the opening of the yoke 260, and therefore the sample 300 will not be damaged. In order to correct the chromatic aberration of the electron beam 202, the retarder 270, the sample 300, and the upper pole piece form a lens to eliminate the chromatic aberration of the electron beam 202; paragraph [0039] Line 1-15);
wherein when the chip [300] (sample 300) is not correctly placed in the recess [280], and the beam is blocked by the chip [300] and is free from being received by the beam receiver (When the electron beam 202 bombards into the sample 300, a secondary electron will be emanated from the surface of the sample 300. The secondary electron is directed to the detector 244 by the filter 246; Paragraph [0040] Line 1-4; In the embodiment as shown, the vacuum chamber 160 comprises an electron optics system 170 configured to project an e-beam onto an object to be inspected, e.g. a semiconductor substrate. The EBI system 100 further comprises a positioning device 180 that is configured to displace the object 190 relative to the e-beam generated by the electron optics system 170; Paragraph [0031] Line 11-24; If the chip is placed correctly in the recess then the beam is reflected by the chip and received by the deflector and if the chip is not placed in the recess properly then beam will not be reflected). The purpose of doing so is to reliably monitor defects, to monitor even smaller defects, to provide a high throughput which typically requires increasing a velocity of a movement of the specimen, as well as accelerations and decelerations thereof, to, to allow to decrease settling times during which the inspection apparatus may be allowed to settle after a movement of the specimen has stopped, to enhance the accuracy and dynamics of the positioning of the specimen.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the optical detection device of Atsumi by including beam emitter and beam receiver as disclosed by Baggen, because Baggen teaches to include a beam emitter and a beam receiver and to emit a beam emitted by the beam emitter reliably monitors defects, monitors even smaller defects, provides a high throughput which typically requires increasing a velocity of a movement of the specimen, as well as accelerations and decelerations thereof, to, allows to decrease settling times during which the inspection apparatus may be allowed to settle after a movement of the specimen has stopped, enhances the accuracy and dynamics of the positioning of the specimen (Paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 10, Atsumi teaches a positioning method for chip,
wherein the physical specifications of the chip [EP] include at least one of a size and a weight of the chip [EP] (The size of the recess HL (viewed from above) is set to be larger than the size of the electronic component EP by a predetermined tolerance, and the electronic component EP fitted into the recess HL is positioned within the predetermined tolerance range. Furthermore, positioning stands with different recessed shapes are prepared to correspond to the shape of the target electronic component EP. In other words, by simply changing the positioning base, it can accommodate a wide variety of electronic component Eps; Paragraph [0026] Line 8-14; The sizes of these electronic components (EP) are, for example, 0403 size and 0603 size; Paragraph [0022] Line 5; therefore, the physical specification is the size of the chip).
Regarding claim 11, Atsumi teaches a positioning method for chip,
wherein the vibration parameters of the vibration table [16] include at least one of an amplitude and a frequency (The control unit 18 can control the amplitude of vibrations generated by the ultrasonic transducer 162, i.e., the amplitude of vibrations of the positioning table 14, by having the power supply unit output voltage or current to the ultrasonic transducer 162; Paragraph [0031] Line 2-4; The user can use this setting unit to set the amplitude of the positioning table 14 in increments of a few micrometers or less (for example, every 0.1 micrometer). Furthermore, the user can set the time for driving the ultrasonic transducer 162 (the time for vibrating the positioning table 14) in increments of a few milliseconds (for example, every 1 ms) via the settings unit; Paragraph [0031] Line 6-10).
Regarding claim 12, Atsumi teaches a positioning method for chip,
further comprising: setting the physical specifications of the chip [EP] by an information device (an image processing unit (not shown) as the information device to set the chip in the recess) and outputting the physical specifications of the chip to the vibration table [16] by the information device (The imaging data of the electronic component EP is transmitted to an image processing unit (not shown) provided in the control unit 18. The image processing unit confirms, based on the imaging data, that the position of the electronic component EP is within a predetermined tolerance range. If the position of an electronic component EP is outside the tolerance range, that electronic component EP will be transported to a predetermined location in a later process. If the position of the electronic component EP is not within the tolerance range, the operation of the semiconductor inspection device 10 may be stopped; Paragraph [0038] Line 3-10; Furthermore, positioning stands with different recessed shapes are prepared to correspond to the shape of the target electronic component EP. In other words, by simply changing the positioning base, it can accommodate a wide variety of electronic component Eps; Paragraph [0026] Line 8-14; The sizes of these electronic components (EP) are, for example, 0403 size and 0603 size; Paragraph [0022] Line 5), so that the vibration parameters of the vibration table [16] correspond to the physical specifications of the chip [EP] ((Step S4) The electronic component EP, which has partially fallen into the recessed portion HL, is excited by the vibration unit 16 with ultrasonic vibrations having an amplitude of, for example, 1 μm or less, for a period of, for example, 5 to 50 msec. The vibrated electronic component EP fits entirely into the recess HL and is positioned accordingly (see Figure 4(C)). Furthermore, the amplitude of the vibration applied to the electronic component EP may be, for example, 10 μm or less; Paragraph [0035] Line 107).
Regarding claim 13, Atsumi teaches a positioning method for chip,
wherein the information device is a computer or a human-machine interface (The control unit 18 is provided with a setting unit (not shown). The user can use this setting unit to set the amplitude of the positioning table 14 in increments of a few micrometers or less (for example, every 0.1 micrometer). Furthermore, the user can set the time for driving the ultrasonic transducer 162 (the time for vibrating the positioning table 14) in increments of a few milliseconds (for example, every 1 ms) via the settings unit; Paragraph [0031] Line 6-10; user set the values in the setting unit and control unit does the function and therefore human-machine interface).
Regarding claim 14, Atsumi teaches a positioning method for chip,
converting an output of the information device into a driving signal to drive the vibration table to adjust its vibration by a driver interface card (power supply as the driver interface card as it adjusts the vibration) (The control unit 18 has a power supply. The control unit 18 can control the amplitude of vibrations generated by the ultrasonic transducer 162, i.e., the amplitude of vibrations of the positioning table 14, by having the power supply unit output voltage or current to the ultrasonic transducer 162. The control unit 18 is provided with a setting unit (not shown). The user can use this setting unit to set the amplitude of the positioning table 14 in increments of a few micrometers or less (for example, every 0.1 micrometer). Furthermore, the user can set the time for driving the ultrasonic transducer 162 (the time for vibrating the positioning table 14) in increments of a few milliseconds (for example, every 1 ms) via the settings unit; Paragraph [0031] Line 1-9) signally connected to the information device and the vibration table [16] (power supply is in the control unit and image processing unit as the information device is also in the control unit 18 and the control unit is connected with the vibration positioning unit).
Regarding claim 15, Atsumi teaches a positioning method for chip,
further comprising monitoring an action of the vibration table [16] by a vibration measuring instrument (a monitoring unit is configured by the camera (CAM) and the image processing unit) (The captured electronic component EP is monitored by an image processing unit (not shown) provided in the control unit 18 to ensure that it is within a predetermined range of positions. Furthermore, at least one example of a monitoring unit is configured by the camera (CAM) and the image processing unit; Paragraph [0030] Line 6-9).
Regarding claim 16, Atsumi teaches a positioning method for chip,
wherein the vibration measuring instrument is signally connected to the vibration table [16] (The camera CAM is connected to the control unit 18 shown in Figure 1; Paragraph [0030] Line 5; The imaging data of the electronic component EP is transmitted to an image processing unit (not shown) provided in the control unit 18; Paragraph [0038] Line 3-4; As shown in Figure 2A, the positioning base 14 is fixed to the vibration unit 16 and is subjected
to vibration by ultrasonic vibration; Paragraph [0025] Line 3-4; The camera CAM (see Figure 1) is located downstream of the positioning table 14 in the transport direction of the index table 12, and below the suction collet 124; Paragraph [0030] Line 1-2; Therefore the vibration measuring instrument is signally connected to the vibration table [16]), so that the vibration table [16] automatically adjusts or stops its vibration based on a data measured by the vibration measuring instrument ((Step S7) In the monitoring process, the camera CAM shown in Figure 1 images the electronic component EP that is held in place by the suction collet 124 from below. The imaging data of the electronic component EP is transmitted to an image processing unit (not shown) provided in the control unit 18. The image processing unit confirms, based on the imaging data, that the position of the electronic component EP is within a predetermined tolerance range. If the position of an electronic component EP is outside the tolerance range, that electronic component EP will be transported to a predetermined location in a later process. If the position of the electronic component EP is not within the tolerance range, the operation of the semiconductor inspection device 10 may be stopped; Paragraph [0038] Line 1-10; Claim 7: A positioning device according to claim 6, further comprising a control unit that outputs a voltage or current for controlling the amplitude of vibrations generated by the ultrasonic transducer).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Perry et al. (US 20050030524 A1) discloses, “System And Method For Integrated Multi-use Optical Alignment- [0002] This invention relates generally to optical alignment, and more particularly to integrated multi-use optical alignment for interferometric and reflectometer based endpoint and optical metrology systems. [0024] FIG. 2 is a diagram showing an etch system 200 having an integrated multi-use optical alignment system based on reflectance, in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. [0025] In the embodiment of FIG. 2, a small reflective alignment feature 212 is formed in the center region of the wafer chuck 204. The reflective alignment feature 212 is parallel with the surface of the wafer chuck 204, thus mimicking the effect of having a wafer on the wafer chuck 204. The reflective alignment feature 212 can be created using a plurality of different techniques. In one embodiment, the reflective alignment feature 212 is formed by polishing a small region on the surface of the wafer chuck 204 to be smooth. In this embodiment, the reflective alignment feature 212 can be polished as one contiguous region or as a checkerboard pattern of sub-regions. In this manner, no foreign material is added to the surface of the wafer chuck 204, thus reducing contamination risk. In addition, polishing of the wafer chuck surface requires a minimum number of additional steps during fabrication. Further, because chuck materials have been extensively tested, the reflective alignment feature 212 can be fabricated to have a long effective life. [0027] To properly align the optical beam 210 emitted from the beam-forming system 208, the optical beam 210 is emitted onto the reflective alignment feature 212 on the surface of the wafer chuck 204 and the signal reflected back to the beam-forming system is examined. The beam-forming system 208 general includes a light source and a light detection mechanism. For example, an optical fiber can be used to provide light to the beam-forming system, and another optical fiber can be used to receive the light reflected from the reflective alignment feature 212 and provide the received light to a light detector. The beam-forming system 208 then is adjusted until the reflected light signal is maximized at all wavelengths being utilized-However Perry does not disclose a vibration table driven by a motor, signally connected to the optical detection device, and mechanically connected to the carrier; wherein when the chip is not correctly placed in the recess, and the beam is blocked by the chip and is free from being received by the beam receiver, the optical detection device sends a trigger signal to drive the vibration table to vibrate the carrier, so that the chip is correctly placed in the recess, and vibration parameters of the vibration table correspond to physical specifications of the chip.”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858