Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 21, 33 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claims include the following language – “wherein the third to seventh transistor are between the first wire and the second wire in a plan view”. However the specification does not include any “plan views” as discussed below.
The term “plan” does not exist in the applicant’s specification. The common dictionary definition of “plan view” is a noun: the appearance of an object as seen from above1.
Applicant’s specification - [0037] In the following detailed description, only certain example embodiments have been shown and described, simply by way of illustration. …. the drawings and description are to be regarded as illustrative in nature and not restrictive. Like reference numerals designate like elements throughout the specification. Claim 21 and 33 are drawn to a scan driver” and claim 38 is drawn to a “display device which comprises a scan driver” yet none of the drawings described by the applicant are a “plan view” of a scan driver and /or display. None of the drawings describe an orientation and as noted above, even the applicant discounts the accuracy of the drawings. The Office requests a correction is made to either the claim language or the specification and drawings. The Office suggests using the words in “a layout view” to correct the deficiency.
Claims 22-32; 34-37 and 39-40 depend from claims 21, 33 and 38 and as such suffer from the same deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 21, 33 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claims each claim that a “plan view” exists of an object. There are no drawings in the application which are “plan views”. The Office requests appropriate action is taken to clarify the drawings and or specification.
Claims 22-32; 34-37 and 39-40 depend from claims 21, 33 and 38 and as such suffer from the same deficiencies.
Double Patenting
Claims 21 and 38 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,943,538. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because as shown by the table below the present application subject matter as presently claimed is disclosed the cited patent.
Application #: 18/895,328 US Patent #: 10,943,538
A scan driver comprising:
A scan driver comprising:
a plurality of unit scan driving circuits, at least one of the plurality of unit scan driving circuits comprising:
a plurality of unit scan driving circuits, at least one of the plurality of unit scan driving circuits comprising:
a first transistor configured to receive an input signal in response to a first clock signal and output a second clock signal based on an enable level of the input signal;
a first transistor configured to receive an input signal in synchronization with a first clock signal and to respond to an enable level of the input signal to output a second clock signal as a corresponding scan signal during one cycle of the first clock signal;
a second transistor electrically connected between the first transistor and a first voltage;
a second transistor electrically connected between the first transistor and a first voltage;
a third transistor electrically connected between a gate of the second transistor and a second voltage;
a third transistor electrically connected between a gate of the second transistor and a second voltage;
and a fourth transistor electrically connected between a gate of the first transistor and the first voltage;
a first capacitor and a second capacitor;
first wire configured to transfer the first clock signal;
a second wire configured to transfer the second clock signal;
a first wire configured to transfer the first voltage;
a third wire configured to transfer the first voltage;
and a second wire configured to transfer the second voltage,
and a fourth wire configured to transfer the second voltage,
wherein the first wire and the second wire are on a first side of the first transistor and the second transistor in a plan view.
See Fig. 1 (the Office also notes as discussed above there is no “plan view” of the applicant’s invention in the present application)
wherein a width of the third wire is larger than a width of the fourth wire, wherein the first voltage and the second voltage are DC voltages and the first voltage is higher than the second voltage, wherein the first, second, third, and fourth transistor are p-channel transistors.
Possible Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 33 -37 are allowable if the applicant traverses or otherwise overcomes the above rejection of base claims as cited above. After a search the Office was unable to find prior art which disclosed Claim 33. The representative closest prior art is Park US Patent Application (20120182283) found to date, which alone, or in combination, does not provide a teaching, a suggestion or a motivation that could be found either in the art or within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify or combine the prior art to disclose the cited claim limitations above and more specifically ““a fourth transistor electrically connected between a gate of the first transistor and the first voltage. a fifth transistor electrically connected between the fourth transistor and the gate of the first transistor. a sixth transistor electrically connected between a gate of the second transistor and a gate of the third transistor. a seventh transistor for transferring the input signal to a gate of the first transistor in response to the first clock signal” of the claimed invention. Claims 34-37 depend from claim 33 and similarly would be allowed when the independent claims are in position for allowance, if the applicant traverses or otherwise overcomes the above rejection of base claim 33.
5. Claims 24-27 and 39 and 40 would be allowable if the applicant traverses or otherwise overcomes the above rejection of base claims 21 and 38. The applicant must properly traverse the double patenting rejection prior to any final disposition can be determined regarding the application, however the claims as presently presented are not disclose or suggested by any prior art or combination any prior art, to found to date.
As the claims are presently present the representative closest prior art is Park US Patent Application (20120182283), alone, or in combination, do not provide a teaching, a suggestion or a motivation that could be found either in the art or within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify or combine the prior art to disclose the cited claim limitations above and more specifically “a fourth transistor electrically connected between a gate of the first transistor and the first voltage. a fifth transistor electrically connected between the fourth transistor and the gate of the first transistor. a sixth transistor electrically connected between a gate of the second transistor and a gate of the third transistor. a seventh transistor for transferring the input signal to a gate of the first transistor in response to the first clock signal” of the claimed invention. Claims 34-37 depend from claim 33 and similarly would be allowed when the independent claims are in position for allowance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
invention.
8. Claim(s) 21-24 and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al US Patent Application
Regarding claim 21 Park teaches a scan driver comprising: a plurality of unit scan driving circuits, at least one of the plurality of unit scan driving circuits the scan driver 200 of FIG. 1 includes a plurality of stages ST1-STn [Park para 0060 and see Fig. 2] comprising: a first transistor configured to receive an input signal in response to a first clock signal and output a second clock signal based on an enable level of the input signal The first transistor is connected between a first control terminal supplied with a voltage of a first level or a second level and an output terminal for outputting a scan signal having a voltage according to the voltage of the first control terminal, and the first transistor has a gate connected to a first node. [Park para 0024 and see Fig. 3]; a second transistor electrically connected between the first transistor and a first voltage The third transistor is connected to a first voltage terminal supplied with a first voltage and the output terminal, and the first transistor has a gate connected to a second node [Park para 0024 and see Fig. 3]; a third transistor electrically connected between a gate of the second transistor and a second voltage The second transistor is connected between a second control terminal supplied with the voltage of the first level or the second level and the first node, and the second transistor has a gate connected to the second control terminal. [Park para 0024 and see Fig. 3]; a first wire configured to transfer the first voltage receives a high voltage VGH, a low voltage VGL [Park para 0024 and see Fig. 3]; and a second wire configured to transfer the second voltage the first voltage receives a high voltage VGH, a low voltage VGL [Park para 0024 and see Fig. 3];, wherein the first wire and the second wire are on a first side of the first transistor and the second transistor in a plan view. [Park see Fig. 2] The Office note as that both transistors are inside each stage and that the wires run to the left of each stage;
Regarding claim 22 Park teaches everything above see claim 21 in addition Park teaches further comprising: a third wire for transferring the first clock signal and on the first side of the first transistor and the second transistor. wire extending from line SCK1 to CK1 input [Park see Fig. 2]
Regarding claim 23 Park teaches everything above see claim 22 in addition Park teaches further comprising: a fourth wire for transferring the second clock signal and on the first side of the first transistor and the second transistor. wire extending from line SCK3 to CK3 input [Park see Fig. 2]
Regarding claim 24 Park teaches everything above see claim 23, in addition Park teaches wherein the first wire is between the third wire and the first and second transistor. M1 & M3 are between and VGHT and CLK1 [Park see Fig. 3]
Regarding claim 38 Park teaches a display device comprising: a scan driver a scan driver [Park para 0051] for generating a plurality of scan signals The display signal lines S1-Sn and D1-Dm include a plurality of scan lines S1-Sn for transmitting scan signals (referred to as "gate signals") and a plurality of data lines D1-Dm for transmitting data signals. [Park para 0054]; and a plurality of pixels for receiving a plurality of data voltages according to the plurality of scan signals, display signal lines S1-Sn and D1-Dm and a plurality of pixels PX connected thereto [Park para 0053] wherein the scan driver comprises: a plurality of unit scan driving circuits, the scan driver 200 of FIG. 1 includes a plurality of stages ST1-STn [Park para 0060 and see Fig. 2] at least one of the plurality of unit scan driving circuits comprising: a first transistor configured to receive an input signal in response to a first clock signal and output a second clock signal based on an enable level of the input signal The first transistor is connected between a first control terminal supplied with a voltage of a first level or a second level and an output terminal for outputting a scan signal having a voltage according to the voltage of the first control terminal, and the first transistor has a gate connected to a first node. [Park para 0024 and see Fig. 3]; a second transistor electrically connected between the first transistor and a first voltage; a third transistor electrically connected between a gate of the second transistor and a second voltage The third transistor is connected to a first voltage terminal supplied with a first voltage and the output terminal, and the first transistor has a gate connected to a second node [Park para 0024 and see Fig. 3]; a first wire configured to transfer the first voltage the first voltage receives a high voltage VGH, a low voltage VGL [Park para 0024 and see Fig. 3]; and a second wire configured to transfer the second voltage, wherein the first wire and the second wire are on a first side of the first transistor and the second transistor in a plan view. [Park see Fig. 2] The Office note as that both transistors are inside each stage and that the wires run to the left of each stage.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT J MICHAUD/Examiner, Art Unit 2622
1 https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/plan%20view