Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-3,5-9, and 11 in the reply filed on 7/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 4, 10, and 12-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/20/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/13/2024, 12/17/2024, 12/18/2024, 3/7/2025, 4/2/2025, and 9/18/2026 were filed after the mailing date of the Non-final rejection on 8/17/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The formal drawings filed on 9/24/2024 have been approved by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Hu et al. (US 2013/0126081).
With respect to Claim 1, Hu teaches transferring selected micro devices 150 in an array of micro devices each of which is bonded to a donor substrate 302 with a donor force. Aligning the donor substrate 302 and a receiver substrate 400 that each of the selected micro devices 150 is in line with a contact pad 410 on the receiver substrate 400. Moving the donor substrate 302 and the receiver substrate 400 together until each of the selected micro devices is in contact or proximity with a respective contact pad 410 on the receiver substrate. Generating by force modulation elements 412 a receiver force that acts to hold each of the selected micro devices 150 to their respective contact pads. Each of the selected micro devices 150 corresponds to one of the force modulation elements 412. Moving the donor substrate 302 and the receiver substrate 400 apart leaving the selected micro devices on the receiver substrate. The force modulation elements412 are on the receiver substrate and in direct contact
with the contact pads 410 (see paragraphs 127, 133-139 and 168; Figs. 17, 18, 27, and 28).
With respect to Claim 2, Hu teaches weakening the donor force
bonding the micro devices 150 to the donor substrate to assist micro device transfer (see paragraphs 127 and 133-135).
With respect to Claim 3, Hu teaches the donor force for the selected micro
Devices 150 is weakened to improve selectivity in micro device transfer (see paragraphs 127, and 133-135).
With respect to Claims 5 and 7, Hu teaches weakening the donor force by
heating (i.e.. by 602) an area of the donor substrate (see paragraph 133).
With respect to Claim 6, Hu teaches the receiver force is generated selectively
to improve selectivity in micro device transfer (see paragraph 170; Figs. 25-28, 31A, 31B, and 32B).
With respect to Claim 8, Hu teaches the heating is performed by passing a current through the contact pads 410 (see paragraph 170 .
With respect to Claim 9, Hu teaches the receiver force is generated by
mechanical grip (see paragraph 141; Figs. 14, 17, 18, and 35-37).
With respect to Claim 10, Hu teaches the receiver force is generated by
electrostatic attraction between the selected micro devices 150 and the receiver substrate 400 (see paragraphs 127 and 141).
Conclusion
8. Any inquiry concerning the communication or earlier communications from the
examiner should be directed to Alonzo Chambliss whose telephone number is (571)
272-1927.
supervisor, Jacob Y. Choi can be reached on (469) 295-9060. The fax phone number
for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system Status information for published
applications may be obtained from either Private PMR or Public PMR.
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PMR
only. For more information about the PMR system see hittp://pair-dkect.usptol gov.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PMR system contact the
Electronic Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
AC/August 18, 2026 /Alonzo Chambliss/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897