DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 10,943,541 (hereinafter Tan) in view of Hyun U.S. Patent Publication No. 2011/0050754 (hereinafter Hyun).
Consider claim 1, Tan teaches a display device comprising (Figure 5): a display unit including a plurality of pixels (Figure 5, 34); a power supply configured to generate a plurality of driving voltages (Figure 5, 50); a current sensor configured to sense a current amount of the display unit while reference image data is displayed on the display unit and generate a sensing current value corresponding to a sensing result (column 10, lines 7-10 the sensing operation signal 62 may instruct the analog front end 68 to sense current over the diode 40 when the pixel 34 displays the image data 60 when supplied with a certain voltage. The sensed current may be sent as the display sense feedback 70 by the analog front end 68 to the display 5); and a driver configured to generate a data signal and transmit the data signal to a corresponding pixel (Figure 5, 38B), wherein the driver generates the data signal by applying one of a plurality of offset values, each of which represents a change in each of grayscales of image data, based on the sensing current value (column 10, lines 38-43, the display compensation circuitry 52 may send a voltage adjustment signal 76 to the display 5 that instructs the analog-to-digital converter 66 to adjust the voltage supplied to the pixel 34 that causes the pixel 34 to display the image data 60 and compensate for the current-voltage shift of the pixel 34. Column 9, lines 46-55, the driver integrated circuitry 64 may send signals across gate lines of the display panel 56 to cause a row of pixels 34 to become activated and programmable, at which point the driver integrated circuitry 64 may transmit the image data 60 across data lines to program the pixels 34 to display particular gray levels (e.g., individual pixel brightnesses). By supplying different pixels 34 with the image data 60 to display different gray levels, full-color images may be programmed into the pixels 34 of the display panel 56.).
Tan does not appear to specifically disclose each of the plurality of offset values corresponds to a different subset of grayscales, and the grayscales of the image data includes a first subset of grayscales having a first offset value, and a second subset of grayscales having a second offset value that is different from the first offset value.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Hyun teaches a display device (abstract) and further teaches each of the plurality of offset values corresponds to a different subset of grayscales (Figure 4 and [0032], delta 1-delta 32), and the grayscales of the image data includes a first subset of grayscales having a first offset value, and a second subset of grayscales having a second offset value that is different from the first offset value (Figure 4 and [0032], delta 1-32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide plurality of subsets or ranges of grayscales as taught by Hyun in order meet design choices since Hyun teaches in [0032] that the number of ranges into which the gray level values are divided may be increased or decreased. Furthermore, ranges or subsets should form a shorter table and thus it occupies less space in the memory.
Consider claim 9, Tan and Hyun teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Tan teaches a temperature sensor configured to sense a temperature and generate a power control signal corresponding to the sensed temperature (column 11, lines 5-23, temperature correction), wherein the power supply changes a voltage level of at least one of the plurality of driving voltages based on the power control signal (column 11, lines 5-23 current-voltage shift and correction).
Claim(s) 2-5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan and Hyun as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Park et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2011/0057959 (hereinafter Park).
Consider claim 2, Tan and Hyun teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Tan teaches a memory configured to store a reference current value (column 10, lines 44-67; column 11, lines 1-4: target or expected current and further refers to memory), a plurality of offset lookup tables, and a lookup table (column 10, lines 44-67; column 11, lines 1-4: resulting currents in a memory considered offset lookup tables), wherein the reference current value corresponds to the current amount of the display unit while reference image data determined in advance (column 10, lines 44-67; column 11, lines 1-4) at a reference temperature is displayed on the display unit (column 11, lines 5-23, temperature), and wherein the driver compares the reference current value and the sensing current value, selects one of the plurality of offset lookup tables based on a comparison result (column 10, lines 44-67; column 11, lines 1-4: the current-voltage shift determination circuitry 72 may determine the differences between the multiple voltages (determined at the later age of the pixel 34) and the multiple initial voltages (determined at the initial age of the pixel 34) as current-voltage shift of the pixel 34, and the display compensation circuitry 52 may send the voltage adjustment signal 76 to compensate for these differences and further refers to memory), and corrects the lookup table using the selected offset lookup table (column 10, lines 44-67; column 11, lines 1-4). In addition, Tan refers to gamma in column 9, lines 14-17.
Tan does not appear to specifically disclose a gamma lookup table.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Park teaches a display apparatus with a temperature sensor (abstract) and further teaches a gamma lookup table (Figure 2, 121-122. [0041], gamma correction values. [0045], red look-up table, green look-up table, blue look-up table).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a gamma table the gamma correction values corresponding to the red, green and blue data and the brightness differences are thereby compensated as suggested in [0041].
Consider claim 3, Tan, Hyun and Park teach all the limitations of claim 2. In addition, Tan teaches wherein the driver comprises: a controller configured to convert input image data to generate the image data (Figure 6, 2 and 64); a data converter (Figure 6, 2 and 64) configured to receive the sensing current value, the reference current value, the image data, and the lookup table (column 10, lines 44-67; column 11, lines 1-4, target or expected currents, resulting currents, test image data), and generate a voltage value corresponding to the image data (column 10, lines 44-67; column 11, lines 1-4, voltage adjustment signal); and a data driver connected to the pixel through a data line (Figure 5, 38b and 34), and configured to generate the data signal corresponding to the voltage value and supply the generated data signal to the data line (column 8, lines 11-30). Furthermore, Park teaches a gamma lookup table in [0041], [0045] and figure 2, 121-122.
Consider claim 4, Tan, Hyun and Park teach all the limitations of claim 3.
Tan does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the data converter comprises: a first converter corresponding to red; a second converter corresponding to green; and a third converter corresponding to blue, and wherein the gamma lookup table includes at least one of a first gamma lookup table corresponding to red, a second gamma lookup table corresponding to green, and a third gamma lookup table corresponding to blue.
However, Park teaches wherein the data converter comprises: a first converter corresponding to red ([0041], [0045] and figure 2, 121-122: red); a second converter corresponding to green ([0041], [0045] and figure 2, 121-122: green); and a third converter corresponding to blue ([0041], [0045] and figure 2, 121-122: blue), and wherein the gamma lookup table includes at least one of a first gamma lookup table corresponding to red, a second gamma lookup table corresponding to green, and a third gamma lookup table corresponding to blue ([0041], [0045] and figure 2, 121-122).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide red, green and blue tables as taught by Park red look-up table including a red correction value used to compensate the corrected red data A-RDn, a green look-up table including a green correction value used to compensate the corrected green data A-GDn, and a blue look-up table including a blue correction value used to compensate the corrected blue data A-BDn as suggested in [0045].
Consider claim 5, Tan, Hyun and Park teach all the limitations of claim 4. In addition, Tan teaches wherein the first converter comprises: a comparator configured to receive the reference current value and the sensing current value and output a difference value corresponding to a difference between the reference current value and the sensing current value (column 10, lines 44-67; column 11, lines 1-4: the current-voltage shift determination circuitry 72 may determine the differences between the multiple voltages (determined at the later age of the pixel 34) and the multiple initial voltages (determined at the initial age of the pixel 34) as current-voltage shift of the pixel 34, and the display compensation circuitry 52 may send the voltage adjustment signal 76 to compensate for these differences and further refers to memory); a first offset determiner configured to receive an offset lookup table corresponding to the difference value from the memory (column 10, lines 44-67; column 11, lines 1-4, memory); and a first voltage value generator configured to receive the first lookup table, correct at least one entry value included in the first lookup table based on the offset lookup table (column 10, lines 44-67; column 11, lines 1-4, compensate), generate a corrected first lookup table (column 10, lines 44-67; column 11, lines 1-4, compensate), and generate a voltage value corresponding to the image data using the corrected first lookup table (column 10, lines 44-67; column 11, lines 1-4, voltage adjustment). Furthermore, Park teaches first gamma lookup table ([0041], [0045] and figure 2, 121-122, see motivation to combine in claim 2).
Consider claim 7, Tan, Hyun and Park teach all the limitations of claim 4. In addition, Tan teaches wherein the first converter comprises: a comparator configured to receive the reference current value and the sensing current value and output a difference value corresponding to a difference between the reference current value and the sensing current value (column 10, lines 44-67; column 11, lines 1-4: the current-voltage shift determination circuitry 72 may determine the differences between the multiple voltages (determined at the later age of the pixel 34) and the multiple initial voltages (determined at the initial age of the pixel 34) as current-voltage shift of the pixel 34, and the display compensation circuitry 52 may send the voltage adjustment signal 76 to compensate for these differences and further refers to memory); a first offset determiner configured to receive an offset lookup table corresponding to the difference value from the memory (column 10, lines 44-67; column 11, lines 1-4, memory); a first data adjuster configured to generate adjusted image data by adjusting a value of the image data based on the offset lookup table (column 10, lines 44-67; column 11, lines 1-4, compensate); and a first voltage value generator configured to generate a voltage value corresponding to the adjusted image data using the first lookup table (column 10, lines 44-67; column 11, lines 1-4, voltage adjustment). Furthermore, Park teaches first gamma lookup table ([0041], [0045] and figure 2, 121-122, see motivation to combine in claim 2).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan, Hyun and Park as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Lee et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0143803 (hereinafter Lee).
Consider claim 6, Tan, Hyun and Park teach all the limitations of claim 5.
Tan, Hyun and Park do not appear to specifically disclose wherein the first voltage value generator corrects an entry value corresponding to the image data whose gray value is less than a reference value using the offset lookup table among entry values included in the first gamma lookup table, and maintains an entry value corresponding to the image data whose gray value is greater than or equal to the reference value among the entry values included in the first gamma lookup table.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Lee teaches a display with gamma generation and further teaches wherein the first voltage value generator corrects an entry value corresponding to the image data whose gray value is less than a reference value using the offset lookup table among entry values included in the first gamma lookup table ([0103], process grayscale values of remaining parts to be changed… may be applied to be different from the gamma values of grayscale of 1, . . . , 7, . . . , 11 ), and maintains an entry value corresponding to the image data whose gray value is greater than or equal to the reference value among the entry values included in the first gamma lookup table ([0103], process grayscale values of some parts to be equal to each other… to be equal to the gamma values of grayscale of 23, . . . , 35, . . . , 51, . . . , 87, . . . , 151, . . . , 203, . . . , and 255).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide equal or different values based on brightness, or in order to reduce the difference in optical characteristics as suggested in [0103-0105].
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan, Hyun and Park as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Hou et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0054950 (hereinafter Hou).
Consider claim 8, Tan, Hyun and Park teach all the limitations of claim 7. In addition, Tan teaches wherein the first data adjuster corrects a value of the image data using the offset lookup table when the value of the image data is less than a reference value (column 11, lines 5-23, temperature variation)
Tan does not appear to specifically disclose maintains the value of the image data when the value of the image data is greater than or equal to the reference value.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Hou teaches a display compensating device (abstract) and further teaches maintains the value of the image data when the value of the image data is greater than or equal to the reference value ([0150] in a case the operating temperature of the current detection is within the standard operating temperature range: [0151] when the operating temperature of the current detection is equal to an operating temperature of the most recent detection, keeping the gamma look-up table corresponding to the sub-pixel of the first colour unchanged).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to maintain or keep the value of the image data when the operating temperature of the current detection is equal to an operating temperature of the most recent detection as suggested in [0151].
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan, Hyun as applied to claims 1 above, and further in view of Lin U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0213507 (hereinafter Lin).
Consider claim 10, Tan and Hyun teach all the limitations of claim 1.
Tan does not appear to specifically disclose an illuminance sensor configured to sense an illuminance and generate a power control signal corresponding to the sensed illuminance, wherein the power supply changes a voltage level of the driving voltage based on the power control signal.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Lin teaches an image adjustment method (abstract) and further teaches an illuminance sensor configured to sense an illuminance and generate a power control signal corresponding to the sensed illuminance [0016], wherein the power supply changes a voltage level of at least one of the plurality of driving voltages based on the power control signal ([0016], adjust intensity of pixels (and thus corresponding voltage) with specific gray-scale values on the panel unit 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an illuminance sensor as taught by Lin in order to adjusts a backlight brightness of the panel unit 12 according to the current surrounding illumination and adjust intensity of pixels with specific gray-scale values on the panel unit 12 as suggested in [0016].
Claim(s) 11-13 and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan and Park.
Consider claim 11, Tan teaches a method of operating a display device, the method comprising: sensing an operation current of a display panel while displaying a reference pattern on the display panel (column 10, lines 7-10 the sensing operation signal 62 may instruct the analog front end 68 to sense current over the diode 40 when the pixel 34 displays the image data 60 when supplied with a certain voltage. The sensed current may be sent as the display sense feedback 70 by the analog front end 68 to the display 5); comparing the sensed operation current with a reference current value; selecting an offset lookup table of a plurality of offset lookup tables according to the comparing result (column 10, lines 7-10 the sensing operation signal 62 may instruct the analog front end 68 to sense current over the diode 40 when the pixel 34 displays the image data 60 when supplied with a certain voltage. The sensed current may be sent as the display sense feedback 70 by the analog front end 68 to the display 5. If the current-voltage shift determination circuitry 72 determines that the sensed current is different than an expected (e.g., initially measured) value, then the display compensation circuitry 52 may send additional sensing operation signals 62 while supplying different (e.g., higher and higher) voltages, until the expected current is sensed by the analog front end 68 and received by the current-voltage shift determination circuitry 72. column 10, lines 44-67; column 11, lines 1-4: the current-voltage shift determination circuitry 72 may determine the differences between the multiple voltages (determined at the later age of the pixel 34) and the multiple initial voltages (determined at the initial age of the pixel 34) as current-voltage shift of the pixel 34, and the display compensation circuitry 52 may send the voltage adjustment signal 76 to compensate for these differences and further refers to memory); correcting a lookup table using the selected offset lookup table (column 10, lines 44-67; column 11, lines 1-4, compensate); and generating a voltage value corresponding to image data using the corrected lookup table (column 10, lines 44-67; column 11, lines 1-4, see also figures 5-6), wherein the offset lookup table corresponds to a difference between the sensed operation current and the reference current value (column 10, lines 7-10 the sensing operation signal 62 may instruct the analog front end 68 to sense current over the diode 40 when the pixel 34 displays the image data 60 when supplied with a certain voltage. The sensed current may be sent as the display sense feedback 70 by the analog front end 68 to the display 5. If the current-voltage shift determination circuitry 72 determines that the sensed current is different than an expected (e.g., initially measured) value, then the display compensation circuitry 52 may send additional sensing operation signals 62 while supplying different (e.g., higher and higher) voltages, until the expected current is sensed by the analog front end 68 and received by the current-voltage shift determination circuitry 72).
Tan does not appear to specifically disclose each of the plurality of offset lookup tables corresponding to a same color; a gamma lookup table.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Park teaches a display apparatus with a temperature sensor (abstract) and further teaches each of the plurality of offset lookup tables corresponding to a same color ([0041], sets differences between the reference gamma characteristic and each of the red, green and blue gamma characteristics for every gray scale values as the gamma correction values); correcting a gamma lookup table (Figure 2, 121-122. [0041], gamma correction values. [0045], red look-up table, green look-up table, blue look-up table).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a gamma table as taught by Park with the benefit that the gamma correction values corresponding to the red, green and blue data and the brightness differences are thereby compensated as suggested in [0041].
Consider claim 12, Tan and Park teach all the limitations of claim 11.
Tan does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the selecting one of the plurality of offset lookup tables comprises: selecting a first offset lookup table corresponding to red; selecting a second offset lookup table corresponding to green; and selecting a third offset lookup table corresponding to blue.
However, Park teaches wherein the selecting the offset lookup table of the plurality of offset lookup tables comprises: selecting a first offset lookup table corresponding to red ([0041], [0045] and figure 2, 121-122: red); selecting a second offset lookup table corresponding to green ([0041], [0045] and figure 2, 121-122: green); and selecting a third offset lookup table corresponding to blue ([0041], [0045] and figure 2, 121-122: blue).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide red, green and blue tables as taught by Park red look-up table including a red correction value used to compensate the corrected red data A-RDn, a green look-up table including a green correction value used to compensate the corrected green data A-GDn, and a blue look-up table including a blue correction value used to compensate the corrected blue data A-BDn as suggested in [0045].
Consider claim 13, Tan and Park teach all the limitations of claim 12. In addition, Park teaches wherein the correcting the gamma lookup table comprises: correcting a first gamma lookup table corresponding to red using the first offset lookup table ([0041], [0045] and figure 2, 121-122: red); correcting a second gamma lookup table corresponding to green using the second offset lookup table ([0041], [0045] and figure 2, 121-122: green); and correcting a third gamma lookup table corresponding to blue using the third offset lookup table ([0041], [0045] and figure 2, 121-122: green), see motivation in claim 12.
Consider claim 15, Tan and Park teach all the limitations of claim 12. In addition, Tan teaches after generating the voltage value corresponding to the image data: displaying an image on the display panel using the generated voltage value (column 10, lines 44-67; column 11, lines 1-4, voltage adjustment signal, see also column 8, lines 11-30).
Consider claim 16, Tan and Park teach all the limitations of claim 11. In addition, Tan teaches before sensing the operation current of the display panel while displaying the reference pattern on the display panel: sensing the operation current of the display panel while displaying the reference pattern on the display panel under a reference environment (column 11, lines 5-23, temperature at an initial age); and storing a reference current value corresponding to the sensed operation current in a memory (column 11, lines 5-23, memory).
Consider claim 17, Tan teaches a method of operating a display device, the method comprising: sensing an operation current of a display panel while displaying a reference pattern on the display panel (column 10, lines 7-10 the sensing operation signal 62 may instruct the analog front end 68 to sense current over the diode 40 when the pixel 34 displays the image data 60 when supplied with a certain voltage. The sensed current may be sent as the display sense feedback 70 by the analog front end 68 to the display 5); comparing the sensed operation current with a reference current value; selecting an offset lookup table of a plurality of offset lookup tables according to the comparing result (column 10, lines 7-10 the sensing operation signal 62 may instruct the analog front end 68 to sense current over the diode 40 when the pixel 34 displays the image data 60 when supplied with a certain voltage. The sensed current may be sent as the display sense feedback 70 by the analog front end 68 to the display 5. If the current-voltage shift determination circuitry 72 determines that the sensed current is different than an expected (e.g., initially measured) value, then the display compensation circuitry 52 may send additional sensing operation signals 62 while supplying different (e.g., higher and higher) voltages, until the expected current is sensed by the analog front end 68 and received by the current-voltage shift determination circuitry 72. column 10, lines 44-67; column 11, lines 1-4: the current-voltage shift determination circuitry 72 may determine the differences between the multiple voltages (determined at the later age of the pixel 34) and the multiple initial voltages (determined at the initial age of the pixel 34) as current-voltage shift of the pixel 34, and the display compensation circuitry 52 may send the voltage adjustment signal 76 to compensate for these differences and further refers to memory); generating adjusted image data from image data using the selected offset lookup table (column 10, lines 44-67; column 11, lines 1-4, compensate); and generating a voltage value corresponding to the adjusted image data using a lookup table ((column 10, lines 44-67; column 11, lines 1-4, voltage adjustment), wherein the offset lookup table corresponds a difference between the sensed operation current and the reference current value (column 10, lines 7-10 the sensing operation signal 62 may instruct the analog front end 68 to sense current over the diode 40 when the pixel 34 displays the image data 60 when supplied with a certain voltage. The sensed current may be sent as the display sense feedback 70 by the analog front end 68 to the display 5. If the current-voltage shift determination circuitry 72 determines that the sensed current is different than an expected (e.g., initially measured) value, then the display compensation circuitry 52 may send additional sensing operation signals 62 while supplying different (e.g., higher and higher) voltages, until the expected current is sensed by the analog front end 68 and received by the current-voltage shift determination circuitry 72).
Tan does not appear to specifically disclose each of the plurality of offset lookup tables corresponding to a same color; a gamma lookup table.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Park teaches a display apparatus with a temperature sensor (abstract) and further teaches each of the plurality of offset lookup tables corresponding to a same color ([0041], sets differences between the reference gamma characteristic and each of the red, green and blue gamma characteristics for every gray scale values as the gamma correction values); a gamma lookup table (Figure 2, 121-122. [0041], gamma correction values. [0045], red look-up table, green look-up table, blue look-up table).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a gamma table as taught by Park with the benefit that the gamma correction values corresponding to the red, green and blue data and the brightness differences are thereby compensated as suggested in [0041].
Consider claim 18, it includes the limitations of claim 12 and thus rejected by the same reasoning.
Consider claim 19, it includes the limitations of claim 13 and thus rejected by the same reasoning.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan and Park as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Lee.
Consider claim 14, it includes the limitations of claim 6 and thus rejected by the same reasoning.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan, and Park as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Hou.
Consider claim 20, it includes the limitations of claim 8 and thus rejected by the same reasoning.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 08/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 13, Applicant argues that “Tan is totally silent with regard that each of the sensed currents or the target currents of Tan is related to a same color, as required by Claims 11 and 17 (emphasis added).” The Office respectfully disagrees for the following reasons.
Park teaches in [0041], sets differences between the reference gamma characteristic and each of the red, green and blue gamma characteristics for every gray scale values as the gamma correction values. Consequently, these arguments have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERTO W FLORES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621