DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Tan et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 10,943,541 (hereinafter Tan).
Consider claim 1, Tan teaches a display device comprising (Figure 5): a display unit including a plurality of pixels (Figure 5, 34); a power supply configured to generate a plurality of driving voltages (Figure 5, 50); a current sensor configured to sense a current amount output from the power supply to the display unit while reference image data is displayed on the display unit and generate a sensing current value corresponding to a sensing result (column 10, lines 7-10 the sensing operation signal 62 may instruct the analog front end 68 to sense current over the diode 40 when the pixel 34 displays the image data 60 when supplied with a certain voltage. The sensed current may be sent as the display sense feedback 70 by the analog front end 68 to the display 5); and a driver configured to generate a data signal and transmit the data signal to a corresponding pixel (Figure 5, 38B), wherein the driver generates the data signal by applying an offset determined for each grayscale of image data input based on the sensing current value (column 10, lines 38-43, the display compensation circuitry 52 may send a voltage adjustment signal 76 to the display 5 that instructs the analog-to-digital converter 66 to adjust the voltage supplied to the pixel 34 that causes the pixel 34 to display the image data 60 and compensate for the current-voltage shift of the pixel 34. Column 9, lines 46-55, the driver integrated circuitry 64 may send signals across gate lines of the display panel 56 to cause a row of pixels 34 to become activated and programmable, at which point the driver integrated circuitry 64 may transmit the image data 60 across data lines to program the pixels 34 to display particular gray levels (e.g., individual pixel brightnesses). By supplying different pixels 34 with the image data 60 to display different gray levels, full-color images may be programmed into the pixels 34 of the display panel 56.).
Consider claim 9, Tan teaches all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Tan teaches a temperature sensor configured to sense a temperature and generate a power control signal corresponding to the sensed temperature (column 11, lines 5-23, temperature correction), wherein the power supply changes a voltage level of the driving voltage based on the power control signal (column 11, lines 5-23 current-voltage shift and correction).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5, 7, 11-13 and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Park et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2011/0057959 (hereinafter Park).
Consider claim 2, Tan teaches all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Tan teaches a memory configured to store a reference current value (column 10, lines 44-67; column 11, lines 1-4: target or expected current and further refers to memory), a plurality of offset lookup tables, and a lookup table (column 10, lines 44-67; column 11, lines 1-4: resulting currents in a memory considered offset lookup tables), wherein the reference current value corresponds to the current amount output from the power supply to the display unit while reference image data determined in advance (column 10, lines 44-67; column 11, lines 1-4) at a reference temperature is displayed on the display unit (column 11, lines 5-23, temperature), and wherein the driver compares the reference current value and the sensing current value, selects one of the plurality of offset lookup tables based on a comparison result (column 9, lines 44-67; column 10, lines 1-4: the current-voltage shift determination circuitry 72 may determine the differences between the multiple voltages (determined at the later age of the pixel 34) and the multiple initial voltages (determined at the initial age of the pixel 34) as current-voltage shift of the pixel 34, and the display compensation circuitry 52 may send the voltage adjustment signal 76 to compensate for these differences and further refers to memory), and corrects the lookup table using the selected offset lookup table (column 9, lines 44-67; column 10, lines 1-4). In addition, Tan refers to gamma in column 9, lines 14-17.
Tan does not appear to specifically disclose a gamma lookup table.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Park teaches a display apparatus with a temperature sensor (abstract) and further teaches a gamma lookup table (Figure 2, 121-122. [0041], gamma correction values. [0045], red look-up table, green look-up table, blue look-up table).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a gamma table the gamma correction values corresponding to the red, green and blue data and the brightness differences are thereby compensated as suggested in [0041].
Consider claim 3, Tan and Park teach all the limitations of claim 2. In addition, Tan teaches wherein the driver comprises: a controller configured to convert input image data to generate image data (Figure 6, 2 and 64); a data converter (Figure 6, 2 and 64) configured to receive the sensing current value, the reference current value, the image data, and the lookup table (column 10, lines 44-67; column 11, lines 1-4, target or expected currents, resulting currents, test image data), and generate a voltage value corresponding to the image data (column 10, lines 44-67; column 11, lines 1-4, voltage adjustment signal); and a data driver connected to the pixel through a data line (Figure 5, 38b and 34), and configured to generate the data signal corresponding to the voltage value and supply the generated data signal to the data line (column 8, lines 11-30). Furthermore, Park teaches a gamma lookup table in [0041], [0045] and figure 2, 121-122.
Consider claim 4, Tan and Park teach all the limitations of claim 3.
Tan does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the data converter comprises: a first converter corresponding to red; a second converter corresponding to green; and a third converter corresponding to blue, and wherein the gamma lookup table includes at least one of a first gamma lookup table corresponding to red, a second gamma lookup table corresponding to green, and a third gamma lookup table corresponding to blue.
However, Park teaches wherein the data converter comprises: a first converter corresponding to red ([0041], [0045] and figure 2, 121-122: red); a second converter corresponding to green ([0041], [0045] and figure 2, 121-122: green); and a third converter corresponding to blue ([0041], [0045] and figure 2, 121-122: blue), and wherein the gamma lookup table includes at least one of a first gamma lookup table corresponding to red, a second gamma lookup table corresponding to green, and a third gamma lookup table corresponding to blue ([0041], [0045] and figure 2, 121-122).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide red, green and blue tables as taught by Park red look-up table including a red correction value used to compensate the corrected red data A-RDn, a green look-up table including a green correction value used to compensate the corrected green data A-GDn, and a blue look-up table including a blue correction value used to compensate the corrected blue data A-BDn as suggested in [0045].
Consider claim 5, Tan and Park teach all the limitations of claim 4. In addition, Tan teaches wherein the first converter comprises: a comparator configured to receive the reference current value and the sensing current value and output a difference value corresponding to a difference between the reference current value and the sensing current value (column 9, lines 44-67; column 10, lines 1-4: the current-voltage shift determination circuitry 72 may determine the differences between the multiple voltages (determined at the later age of the pixel 34) and the multiple initial voltages (determined at the initial age of the pixel 34) as current-voltage shift of the pixel 34, and the display compensation circuitry 52 may send the voltage adjustment signal 76 to compensate for these differences and further refers to memory); a first offset determiner configured to receive an offset lookup table corresponding to the difference value from the memory (column 9, lines 44-67; column 10, lines 1-4, memory); and a first voltage value generator configured to receive the first lookup table, correct at least one entry value included in the first lookup table based on the offset lookup table (column 9, lines 44-67; column 10, lines 1-4, compensate), generate a corrected first lookup table (column 9, lines 44-67; column 10, lines 1-4, compensate), and generate a voltage value corresponding to the image data using the corrected first lookup table (column 9, lines 44-67; column 10, lines 1-4, voltage adjustment). Furthermore, Park teaches first gamma lookup table ([0041], [0045] and figure 2, 121-122, see motivation to combine in claim 2).
Consider claim 7, Tan and Park teach all the limitations of claim 4. In addition, Tan teaches wherein the first converter comprises: a comparator configured to receive the reference current value and the sensing current value and output a difference value corresponding to a difference between the reference current value and the sensing current value (column 9, lines 44-67; column 10, lines 1-4: the current-voltage shift determination circuitry 72 may determine the differences between the multiple voltages (determined at the later age of the pixel 34) and the multiple initial voltages (determined at the initial age of the pixel 34) as current-voltage shift of the pixel 34, and the display compensation circuitry 52 may send the voltage adjustment signal 76 to compensate for these differences and further refers to memory); a first offset determiner configured to receive an offset lookup table corresponding to the difference value from the memory (column 9, lines 44-67; column 10, lines 1-4, memory); a first data adjuster configured to generate adjusted image data by adjusting a value of the image data based on the offset lookup table (column 9, lines 44-67; column 10, lines 1-4, compensate); and a first voltage value generator configured to generate a voltage value corresponding to the adjusted image data using the first lookup table (column 9, lines 44-67; column 10, lines 1-4, voltage adjustment). Furthermore, Park teaches first gamma lookup table ([0041], [0045] and figure 2, 121-122, see motivation to combine in claim 2).
Consider claim 11, Tan teaches a method of operating a display device, the method comprising: sensing an operation current of a display panel while displaying a reference pattern on the display panel (column 10, lines 7-10 the sensing operation signal 62 may instruct the analog front end 68 to sense current over the diode 40 when the pixel 34 displays the image data 60 when supplied with a certain voltage. The sensed current may be sent as the display sense feedback 70 by the analog front end 68 to the display 5); comparing the sensed operation current with a predetermined reference current value; selecting one of a plurality of offset lookup tables according to the comparing result (column 9, lines 44-67; column 10, lines 1-4: the current-voltage shift determination circuitry 72 may determine the differences between the multiple voltages (determined at the later age of the pixel 34) and the multiple initial voltages (determined at the initial age of the pixel 34) as current-voltage shift of the pixel 34, and the display compensation circuitry 52 may send the voltage adjustment signal 76 to compensate for these differences and further refers to memory); correcting a lookup table using the selected offset lookup table (column 9, lines 44-67; column 10, lines 1-4, compensate); and generating a voltage value corresponding to image data using the corrected lookup table (column 9, lines 44-67; column 10, lines 1-4, see also figures 5-6).
Tan does not appear to specifically disclose a gamma lookup table.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Park teaches a display apparatus with a temperature sensor (abstract) and further teaches a gamma lookup table (Figure 2, 121-122. [0041], gamma correction values. [0045], red look-up table, green look-up table, blue look-up table).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a gamma table the gamma correction values corresponding to the red, green and blue data and the brightness differences are thereby compensated as suggested in [0041].
Consider claim 12, Tan and Park teach all the limitations of claim 11.
Tan does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the selecting one of the plurality of offset lookup tables comprises: selecting a first offset lookup table corresponding to red; selecting a second offset lookup table corresponding to green; and selecting a third offset lookup table corresponding to blue.
However, Park teaches wherein the selecting one of the plurality of offset lookup tables comprises: selecting a first offset lookup table corresponding to red ([0041], [0045] and figure 2, 121-122: red); selecting a second offset lookup table corresponding to green ([0041], [0045] and figure 2, 121-122: green); and selecting a third offset lookup table corresponding to blue ([0041], [0045] and figure 2, 121-122: blue).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide red, green and blue tables as taught by Park red look-up table including a red correction value used to compensate the corrected red data A-RDn, a green look-up table including a green correction value used to compensate the corrected green data A-GDn, and a blue look-up table including a blue correction value used to compensate the corrected blue data A-BDn as suggested in [0045].
Consider claim 13, Tan and Park teach all the limitations of claim 12. In addition, Park teaches wherein the correcting the gamma lookup table comprises: correcting a first gamma lookup table corresponding to red using the first offset lookup table ([0041], [0045] and figure 2, 121-122: red); correcting a second gamma lookup table corresponding to green using the second offset lookup table ([0041], [0045] and figure 2, 121-122: green); and correcting a third gamma lookup table corresponding to blue using the third offset lookup table ([0041], [0045] and figure 2, 121-122: green), see motivation in claim 12.
Consider claim 15, Tan and Park teach all the limitations of claim 12. In addition, Tan teaches after generating the voltage value corresponding to the image data: displaying an image on the display panel using the generated voltage value (column 10, lines 44-67; column 11, lines 1-4, voltage adjustment signal, see also column 8, lines 11-30).
Consider claim 16, Tan and Park teach all the limitations of claim 11. In addition, Tan teaches before sensing the operation current of the display panel while displaying the reference pattern on the display panel: sensing the operation current of the display panel while displaying the reference pattern on the display panel under a reference environment (column 11, lines 5-23, temperature at an initial age); and storing a reference current value corresponding to the sensed operation current in a memory (column 11, lines 5-23, memory).
Consider claim 17, Tan teaches a method of operating a display device, the method comprising: sensing an operation current of a display panel while displaying a reference pattern on the display panel (column 10, lines 7-10 the sensing operation signal 62 may instruct the analog front end 68 to sense current over the diode 40 when the pixel 34 displays the image data 60 when supplied with a certain voltage. The sensed current may be sent as the display sense feedback 70 by the analog front end 68 to the display 5); comparing the sensed operation current with a predetermined reference current value ; selecting one of a plurality of offset lookup tables according to the comparing result (column 9, lines 44-67; column 10, lines 1-4: the current-voltage shift determination circuitry 72 may determine the differences between the multiple voltages (determined at the later age of the pixel 34) and the multiple initial voltages (determined at the initial age of the pixel 34) as current-voltage shift of the pixel 34, and the display compensation circuitry 52 may send the voltage adjustment signal 76 to compensate for these differences and further refers to memory); generating adjusted image data from image data using the selected offset lookup table (column 9, lines 44-67; column 10, lines 1-4, compensate); and generating a voltage value corresponding to the adjusted image data using a lookup table ((column 9, lines 44-67; column 10, lines 1-4, voltage adjustment).
Tan does not appear to specifically disclose a gamma lookup table.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Park teaches a display apparatus with a temperature sensor (abstract) and further teaches a gamma lookup table (Figure 2, 121-122. [0041], gamma correction values. [0045], red look-up table, green look-up table, blue look-up table).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a gamma table the gamma correction values corresponding to the red, green and blue data and the brightness differences are thereby compensated as suggested in [0041].
Consider claim 18, it includes the limitations of claim 12 and thus rejected by the same reasoning.
Consider claim 19, it includes the limitations of claim 13 and thus rejected by the same reasoning.
Claim(s) 6, 8, 14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan and Park as applied to claims 5, 7 above, and further in view of Hou et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0054950 (hereinafter Hou).
Consider claim 6, Tan and Park teach all the limitations of claim 5. In addition, Tan teaches wherein the first voltage value generator corrects an entry value of which a gray value is less than a reference value using the offset lookup table among entry values included in the first gamma lookup table (column 11, lines 5-23, temperature variation. Column 9, lines 14-17, The resulting brightness or gamma level (gray value) emitted by the diode 40, which is dependent on the current across the diode 40, may thus be different (e.g., lower) than expected or evidenced in previous measurements).
Tan does not appear to specifically disclose maintains an entry value of which the gray value is greater than or equal to the reference value among the entry values included in the first gamma lookup table.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Hou teaches a display compensating device (abstract) and further teaches maintains an entry value of which the gray value is greater than or equal to the reference value among the entry values included in the first gamma lookup table ([0150] in a case the operating temperature of the current detection is within the standard operating temperature range: [0151] when the operating temperature of the current detection is equal to an operating temperature of the most recent detection, keeping the gamma look-up table corresponding to the sub-pixel of the first colour unchanged).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to maintain or keep the value of the image data when the operating temperature of the current detection is equal to an operating temperature of the most recent detection as suggested in [0151].
Consider claim 8, Tan and Park teach all the limitations of claim 7. In addition, Tan teaches wherein the first data adjuster corrects a value of the image data using the offset lookup table when the value of the image data is less than a reference value (column 11, lines 5-23, temperature variation)
Tan does not appear to specifically disclose maintains the value of the image data when the value of the image data is greater than or equal to the reference value.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Hou teaches a display compensating device (abstract) and further teaches maintains the value of the image data when the value of the image data is greater than or equal to the reference value ([0150] in a case the operating temperature of the current detection is within the standard operating temperature range: [0151] when the operating temperature of the current detection is equal to an operating temperature of the most recent detection, keeping the gamma look-up table corresponding to the sub-pixel of the first colour unchanged).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to maintain or keep the value of the image data when the operating temperature of the current detection is equal to an operating temperature of the most recent detection as suggested in [0151].
Consider claim 14, Tan and Park teach all the limitations of claim 13. In addition, Tan teaches when correcting the first lookup table, an entry of which a gray value is less than a predetermined reference value among entries of the first lookup table is corrected using an offset value included in the first offset lookup table (column 11, lines 5-23, temperature variation. Column 9, lines 14-17, The resulting brightness or gamma level (gray value) emitted by the diode 40, which is dependent on the current across the diode 40, may thus be different (e.g., lower) than expected or evidenced in previous measurements). In addition, Park teaches first lookup table corresponding to red ([0041], [0045] and figure 2, 121-122: red).
Tan does not appear to specifically disclose an entry of which the gray value is greater than or equal to the reference value among the entries of the first gamma lookup table is maintained.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Hou teaches a display compensating device (abstract) and further teaches an entry of which the gray value is greater than or equal to the reference value among the entries of the first gamma lookup table is maintained ([0150] in a case the operating temperature of the current detection is within the standard operating temperature range: [0151] when the operating temperature of the current detection is equal to an operating temperature of the most recent detection, keeping the gamma look-up table corresponding to the sub-pixel of the first colour unchanged).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to maintain or keep the value of the image data when the operating temperature of the current detection is equal to an operating temperature of the most recent detection as suggested in [0151].
Consider claim 20, it includes the limitations of claim 14 and thus rejected by the same reasoning.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan as applied to claims 1 above, and further in view of Lin U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0213507 (hereinafter Lin).
Consider claim 10, Tan teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Tan does not appear to specifically disclose an illuminance sensor configured to sense an illuminance and generate a power control signal corresponding to the sensed illuminance, wherein the power supply changes a voltage level of the driving voltage based on the power control signal.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Lin teaches an image adjustment method (abstract) and further teaches an illuminance sensor configured to sense an illuminance and generate a power control signal corresponding to the sensed illuminance [0016], wherein the power supply changes a voltage level of the driving voltage based on the power control signal ([0016], adjust intensity of pixels (and thus corresponding voltage) with specific gray-scale values on the panel unit 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an illuminance sensor as taught by Lin in order to adjusts a backlight brightness of the panel unit 12 according to the current surrounding illumination and adjust intensity of pixels with specific gray-scale values on the panel unit 12 as suggested in [0016].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 10, with respect to claim 1, Applicant argues that “For example, column 10 and lines 38-43 of Tan, which is quoted below, only discloses that "the voltage adjustment signal 76 is sent to the display to adjust the voltage supplied to the pixel and compensate for the current-voltage shift of the pixel 34," but does not provide 34 a suggestion that the voltage adjustment signal 76 may have multiple values corresponding to each grayscale of image data 60.” The Office respectfully disagrees for the following reasons.
Claim 1 does not appear to require voltage adjustment signal 76 may have multiple values corresponding to each grayscale of image data 60. In addition, Tan suggests in Column 9, lines 46-55, the driver integrated circuitry 64 may send signals across gate lines of the display panel 56 to cause a row of pixels 34 to become activated and programmable, at which point the driver integrated circuitry 64 may transmit the image data 60 across data lines to program the pixels 34 to display particular gray levels (e.g., individual pixel brightnesses). By supplying different pixels 34 with the image data 60 to display different gray levels, full-color images may be programmed into the pixels 34 of the display panel 56. Column 9, lines 14-17 suggests the resulting brightness or gamma level (considered gray values) emitted by the diode 40, which is dependent on the current across the diode 40, may thus be different (e.g., lower) than expected or evidenced in previous measurements. Column 10, lines 38-43, the display compensation circuitry 52 may send a voltage adjustment signal 76 to the display 5 that instructs the analog-to-digital converter 66 to adjust the voltage supplied to the pixel 34 that causes the pixel 34 to display the image data 60 and compensate for the current-voltage shift of the pixel 34. In other words, the current-voltage shift determination circuitry 72 in figure 6 may determine and/or quantify current-voltage shift of the different pixels 34 (and thus multiple values) based on receiving the display sense feedback 70 corresponding to the image data 60 comprising different gray levels. Consequently, these arguments have been considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 11, Applicant argues that “Tan only teaches multiple voltages which are clearly distinct from the "current" recited in Claims 11 and 17.” The Office respectfully disagrees for the following reasons.
Tan teaches column 10, lines 7-10 the sensing operation signal 62 may instruct the analog front end 68 to sense current over the diode 40 when the pixel 34 displays the image data 60 when supplied with a certain voltage. The sensed current may be sent as the display sense feedback 70 by the analog front end 68 to the display 5, and further refers to current-voltage shift. Consequently, these arguments have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERTO W FLORES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621