DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species 1 in the reply filed on 23 June 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the difference between the species is not significant. This is not found persuasive because whether or not a difference between species is “significant” is not the criteria for identifying species and requiring an election therebetween. If Applicant were to admit on the record that the species are “patentably obvious” or “patentably indistinct” over one another, withdrawal of the requirement might be in order. Otherwise, rejoinder will be considered if and when appropriate according to the guidelines set forth in the MPEP. Also see requirement mailed on 5 May 2026 which addresses the issue.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
The information disclosure statement filed 1 September 2021 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
The information disclosure statement filed 1 September 2021 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: technological devices and at least one further device in claims 1 and 2 which have been interpreted as a crucible, evaporator, vaporizer, a magnetron, another source of mist, vapor or spirited particles, a curing/hardening/drying device, plasma source, a high-density plasma source, means for oxidation, lamp, laser and equivalents thereto, e.g., as set forth in the specification.
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Any claim not specifically mentioned is rejected based on its dependency.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document for a foreign filing and are replete with wording that is not in line with current US practice.
In order to expedite examination, Examiner has interpreted the claimed invention to the best of their ability and assumed the claims were intended to read as following, or similar, and has examined accordingly. In general, Examiner notes that individual features should be referred to consistently throughout the claim set once introduced in order to conform with U.S. practice. See MPEP 2173.
Claim 1. “A processing line for depositing a thin film on a substrate, comprising: a plurality of rotatable drums said plurality of drums installed on at least one carriage, or a plurality of carriages with at least one rotatable drum installed on each carriage, said plurality of drums or carriages are substantially parallel, respectively, and the distance between respective central axes of said drums is equal to a sum of the radiuses of the plurality of drums plus a minimum clearing distance between said plurality of drums; at least one processing chamber; and a special processing zone applicable to at least two rotatable drums of the plurality of rotatable drums, said special processing zone comprising a technological device for simultaneously deposition coating material on substrates supported on the at least to rotatable drums of the plurality of rotatable drums”
Claim 2 “wherein at least one other technological device is disposed in the special processing zone for further treatment of the substrates, said technological device and said at least one other technological device being disposed at different positions in the special processing zone”
Claim 3 “wherein at least one of said technological device and said at least one other technological device is disposed at a bottom of the special processing zone and the other one of said technological device and said at least one other technological device may disposed at the top of the special processing zone”
Claim 4, “wherein the technological device for depositing coating materials is designed depositing one or more metals”
Claim 5 “wherein the at least one other technological device is for further treatment of the substrate is designed for hardening, curing, or oxidizing”
Claim 6 “wherein the technological device is an evaporator or magnetron, and the at least one other technological device is an activated source of jet gas for generating plasma”
Claim 7 “wherein the technological device and the at least one other technological device are disposed opposite from one another”
Claim 8 “the technological device and the at least one other technological device are capable of treating the substrates simultaneously”
Claim 9 “ the technological device and the at least one other technological device are designed for depositing different coating materials to form composite or multilayer coatings”
Claim 10 “wherein the technological device and the at least one other technological device for depositing coating materials on the substrate are disposed within a single compartment of the processing line”
Claim 11 “wherein the plurality of rotatable drums are configured to allow for flipping of the substrate in one or several positions along the processing line to deposit coatings on different sides of the substrates”
Claim 1 recites “a special processing zone”. The term “special” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “special” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Clarification and/or correction is requested.
Claim 11 includes the phrase “configured to allow for concentric rotation of the substrate”. The function defined by “concentric rotation” is unclear, as is the configuration enabling the same. Clarification and/or correction is requested.
In all instances, clarification and/or correction is requested. Additionally, Applicant is requested to review all claim language for compliance with US practice and consult the MPEP further if further guidance regarding claim construction is necessary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Pub. No. 5,618,388 to Seeser et al. Also see U.S. Patent No. 4,777,908 to Temple et al. which is incorporated in its entirety in Seeser et al.
Seeser et al. discloses a processing line for depositing a thin film on a substrate, comprising: a plurality of rotatable drums (see, e.g., Fig. 36, 14) said plurality of drums installed on at least one carriage (16)), or a plurality of carriages with at least one rotatable drum installed on each carriage, said plurality of drums or carriages are substantially parallel, respectively, and the distance between respective central axes of said drums is equal to a sum of the radiuses of the plurality of drums plus a minimum clearing distance between said plurality of drums; at least one processing chamber (232); and a special processing zone (e.g. inside 232 and areas fluidically connected therewith) applicable to at least two rotatable drums of the plurality of rotatable drums, said special processing zone comprising a technological device (231) for simultaneously deposition coating material on substrates supported on the at least to rotatable drums of the plurality of rotatable drums.
With respect to claim 2, in Seeser et al., at least one other technological device (e.g. 236 and 234) is disposed in the special processing zone for further treatment of the substrates, said technological device and said at least one other technological device being disposed at different positions in the special processing zone.
With respect to claim 3, in Seeser et al., at least one of said technological device and said at least one other technological device may be disposed at a bottom of the special processing zone and the other one of said technological device and said at least one other technological device may be disposed at the top of the special processing zone. See, e.g., Fig. 38 for alternative arrangement with respect to Fig. 36.
With respect to claim 4, in Seeser et al., the technological device for depositing coating materials is designed for (i.e. capable of) depositing one or more metals. See, e.g., column 24, rows 20-66. Regarding intended use, it is noted that the courts have ruled that a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987); and expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim. Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969).
With respect to claim 5, in Seeser et al., the at least one other technological device is for further treatment of the substrate is designed for (i.e. capable of) hardening, curing, or oxidizing. See, e.g., column 24, rows 20-66. Regarding intended use, it is noted that the courts have ruled that a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987); and expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim. Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969).
With respect to claim 6, in Seeser et al., the technological device is an evaporator or magnetron, and the at least one other technological device is an activated source of jet gas for generating plasma. See, e.g., column 24, rows 20-66.
With respect to claim 7, in Seeser et al., the technological device and the at least one other technological device are disposed opposite from one another (i.e. on opposite sides of the processing chamber). See., e.g., Fig. 36.
With respect to claim 8, in Seeser et al., the technological device and the at least one other technological device are capable of treating the substrates simultaneously (i.e. on opposite sides of the processing chamber). See., e.g., Fig. 36. Regarding intended use, it is noted that the courts have ruled that a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
With respect to claim 9, in Seeser et al., the technological device and the at least one other technological device is designed for (i.e. capable of) depositing different coating materials to form composite or multilayer coatings. See, e.g., column 24, rows 20-66. Regarding intended use, it is noted that the courts have ruled that a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987); and expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim. Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969).
With respect to claim 10, in Seeser et al., the technological device and the at least one other technological device for depositing coating materials on the substrate are disposed within a single compartment (i.e. the processing chamber volume) of the processing line.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seeser et al. as applied to claims 1-10 above in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2003/0003767 to Kim et al.
Seeser et al. discloses the processing line substantially as claimed and as described above.
However, Seeser et al. fails to explicitly disclose the plurality of rotatable drums are configured to allow for flipping of the substrate in one or several positions along the processing line to deposit coatings on different sides of the substrates.
Kim et al. discloses a processing line including drums configured to allow for flipping of the substrate in one or several positions along the processing line to deposit coatings on different sides of the substrates for the purpose of providing for increased throughput (see, e.g., abstract, Fig. 6 and paras. 35-37).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided the plurality of rotatable drums are configured to allow for flipping of the substrate in one or several positions along the processing line to deposit coatings on different sides of the substrates in order to provide increased throughput as taught by Kim et al.
Conclusion
The (prior) art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patent Pub. No. 6,485,616 disclose a processing line with an in-line configuration for improved capacity and uniformity. USP 10,385,446 and USP Pubs. 2016/0333467; 2022/0145450 disclose similar processing lines processing line with a plurality of paths.
/KARLA A MOORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716