DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lakhamraju et al. (US 2021/0198986, hereafter Lakhamraju)
With respect to claim 1, Lakhamraju teaches a system comprising: a receiver (surface processing unit 50) positionable at a surface of a wellbore (borehole 14); and a flow sensor (sensing assembly 74) positionable downhole in the wellbore (borehole 14), wherein the flow sensor comprises: a wire (conductor 76) positionable within a flow path of downhole fluid in the wellbore, the wire being configurable to oscillate based on flow of the downhole fluid; and a sensor (magnetic device 84) configurable to detect an electrical signal generated by oscillation of the wire and to transmit the electrical signal to the receiver. (par. 21-22, 27-34, Figs. 1-4)
Lakhamraju does not explicitly teach wherein the sensor is a variable reluctance sensor, however this is a common and well-understood type of sensor and therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the magnetic device as a variable reluctance sensor in order to provide the measure data in a predictable manner.
With respect to claim 2, Lakhamraju teaches the receiver is configurable to: receive the electrical signal from the variable reluctance sensor; determine, based on the electrical signal, a first resonant frequency of the wire; and determine, based on the first resonant frequency, a fluid velocity of the downhole fluid. (par. 32-34)
With respect to claim 3, Lakhamraju teaches the electrical signal is a first electrical signal, and wherein the flow sensor further comprises: a resonant circuit comprising: a capacitor positionable to contact the downhole fluid and configurable to generate a second resonant frequency based on an electrical pulse transmitted from the surface of the wellbore, wherein the resonant circuit is configurable to transmit the second resonant frequency to the receiver. (par. 32-34)
With respect to claim 4, Lakhamraju teaches the receiver is further configurable to: receive the second resonant frequency from the resonant circuit; and determine, based on the second resonant frequency, a composition of the downhole fluid. (par. 32-34)
With respect to claims 5-6, although Lakhamraju does not teach the particulars of the wire composition, the optimum parameters would vary based on system parameters, such as dimensions, and therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to determine the ideal wire composition and shape through routine experimentation.
With respect to claim 7, Lakhamraju teaches the flow sensor does not include downhole electronics. (par. 32-34)
With respect to claim 8, Lakhamraju teaches a method comprising: positioning a flow sensor (sensing assembly 74) downhole in a wellbore (borehole 14); exposing a wire (conductor 76) of the flow sensor to a flow path of downhole fluid in the wellbore; oscillating the wire based on flow of the downhole fluid; detecting, by a sensor (magnetic device 84) of the flow sensor, an electrical signal generated by oscillation of the wire; and transmitting, by the variable reluctance sensor, the electrical signal to a receiver (surface processing unit 50) positioned at a surface of the wellbore. (par. 21-22, 27-34, Figs. 1-4)
Lakhamraju does not explicitly teach wherein the sensor is a variable reluctance sensor, however this is a common and well-understood type of sensor and therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the magnetic device as a variable reluctance sensor in order to provide the measure data in a predictable manner.
With respect to claim 9, Lakhamraju teaches the receiver is configured to: receive the electrical signal from the variable reluctance sensor; determine, based on the electrical signal, a first resonant frequency of the wire; and determine, based on the first resonant frequency, a fluid velocity of the downhole fluid. (par. 32-34)
With respect to claim 10, Lakhamraju teaches the electrical signal is a first electrical signal, and the method further comprises: contacting a capacitor of a resonant circuit in the flow sensor with downhole fluid; receiving, by the resonant circuit, an electrical pulse transmitted from the surface of the wellbore; generating, by the capacitor, a second resonant frequency based on the electrical pulse; and transmitting, by the resonant circuit, the second resonant frequency to the receiver. (par. 32-34)
With respect to claim 11, Lakhamraju teaches the receiver is further configured to: receive the second resonant frequency from the resonant circuit; and determine, based on the second resonant frequency, a composition of the downhole fluid. (par. 32-34)
With respect to claims 12-13, although Lakhamraju does not teach the particulars of the wire composition, the optimum parameters would vary based on system parameters, such as dimensions, and therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to determine the ideal wire composition and shape through routine experimentation.
With respect to claim 14, Lakhamraju teaches the flow sensor does not include downhole electronics. (par. 32-34)
With respect to claim 15, Lakhamraju teaches a flow sensor (sensing assembly 74) comprising: a wire (conductor 76) positionable within a flow path of downhole fluid in a wellbore (borehole 14), the wire being configurable to oscillate based on flow of the downhole fluid; and a sensor (magnetic device 84) configurable to detect an electrical signal generated by oscillation of the wire and to transmit the electrical signal to a receiver (surface processing unit 50) positionable at a surface of the wellbore. . (par. 21-22, 27-34, Figs. 1-4)
Lakhamraju does not explicitly teach wherein the sensor is a variable reluctance sensor, however this is a common and well-understood type of sensor and therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the magnetic device as a variable reluctance sensor in order to provide the measure data in a predictable manner.
With respect to claim 16, Lakhamraju teaches the receiver is configurable to: receive the electrical signal from the variable reluctance sensor; determine, based on the electrical signal, a first resonant frequency of the wire; and determine, based on the first resonant frequency, a fluid velocity of the downhole fluid. (par. 32-34)
With respect to claim 17, Lakhamraju teaches the electrical signal is a first electrical signal, and wherein the flow sensor further comprises: a resonant circuit comprising: a capacitor positionable to contact the downhole fluid and configurable to generate a second resonant frequency based on an electrical pulse transmitted from the surface of the wellbore, wherein the resonant circuit is configurable to transmit the second resonant frequency to the receiver. (par. 32-34)
With respect to claim 18, Lakhamraju teaches the receiver is further configurable to: receive the second resonant frequency from the resonant circuit; and determine, based on the second resonant frequency, a composition of the downhole fluid. (par. 32-34)
With respect to claim 19, although Lakhamraju does not teach the particulars of the wire composition, the optimum parameters would vary based on system parameters, such as dimensions, and therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to determine the ideal wire composition through routine experimentation.
With respect to claim 20, Lakhamraju teaches the flow sensor does not include downhole electronics. (par. 32-34)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2011/0001474; and US 2016/0245680 each teach an invention having similarities to the claimed subject matter.
/JILL E CULLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853