DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the amendments filed on 03/06/2026. Claims 1-6 are amended. Claims 7-13 are added. Claims 1-13 are presently pending and examined.
Response to Arguments
112 (a) Rejection
Applicant’s amendment to specification and accompanying arguments, see remarks, filed 03/06/2026, with respect to 112(a) rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112(a) rejection of Claims 5 has been withdrawn.
Prior Art Rejection
Applicant’s amendments and accompanying arguments, see remarks, filed 03/06/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-4 and 6 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Tetsuya Nishino US20160124365 (“Nishino”) and Joseph O. Okoro et. al. US 202000009485 (“Okoro”).
Applicant’s amendments and accompanying arguments, see remarks, filed 03/06/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 5 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Tetsuya Nishino US20160124365 (“Nishino”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atsutomo Komine et. al. US20130325288 (“Komine”) in view of Tetsuya Nishino US20160124365 (“Nishino”)
As per Claim 1 and 6,
Komine discloses,
A shovel management system comprising:
a shovel including a hardware processor (see at least Fig. 3, [0084] FIG. 3 is a block diagram showing the functional structure of a working machine 10. In FIG. 3, the structure of an engine system which comprises a fuel tank 150, an engine 160, a fuel pump 180 and so on, and the structure of a control system which comprises controllers 100 and 110 and so on, are both shown)
a tag attached to a component of the shovel (see at least [0061] wireless tags 5 which are attached to genuine components, and [0069] The wireless tag 5, for example, may be affixed to a genuine component 4 at the component manufacturing facility or the like)
a management device for the shovel (see at least [0077] As the working machines 10, for example, working machines such as hydraulic shovels, wheel loaders, bulldozers, motor graders, cranes and the like, haulage vehicles such as dump trucks or the like, or various types of industrial machines such as crushers or generators or the like may be suggested. To each of these working machines 10 there is mounted a machine management device 10A, which collects various types of state of the working machine 10 periodically or at indeterminate times, and transmits this information to the management center 11)
wherein the hardware processor of the shovel is configured to write machine identification information for identifying the shovel to the tag in which no machine identification information is written (see at least [0098] The control unit 140C controls the operation of the reader/writer 140, [0087] A reader/writer 140 is a device for performing reading out and writing of information to and from the wireless tag 17, [0098] if a write command has been received, then the control unit 140C transmits this information to the wireless tag 17 via the wireless interface unit 140B and the antenna 140A, and writes it into the storage unit 17D in the wireless tag 17, [108] the chassis number management section T13 manages the chassis numbers. A chassis number is identification information for identifying the corresponding working machine, and these are put into correspondence with the serial numbers, [109] At the time point that a component 16 is shipped from the component supply factory 12, it is not possible to put any chassis number into correspondence with the serial number of this component 16, since this component 16 is not yet fitted to any one of the working machines 10. …. Actually, if no chassis number is set in the field for chassis number, then it is understood that this is a component 16 which has a serial number that does not yet correspond to any chassis number. When a component 16 is fitted to a working machine 10, then the chassis number of this working machine 10 to which the component is fitted is set into correspondence with the serial number of this component.)
Komine does not disclose,
wherein the hardware processor of the shovel is configured to write machine identification information for identifying the shovel to the tag in which no machine identification information is written
Nishino teaches,
write machine identification information for identifying the shovel to the tag in which no machine identification information is written (see at least Fig. 3B, Fig. 3C, [0005] with an IC tag having a memory with a use history region, [0005] determine, when the consumable cartridge is loaded, whether or not a second apparatus intrinsic number as a use history is written on the use history region of the memory, [0005] control part is configured to write the first apparatus intrinsic number on the use history region if the second apparatus intrinsic number is not written on the use history region, and [0076] If the result is No, the control part 63 writes the apparatus intrinsic number of the copy machine 1 and color information included in the toner information that is read from the memory 59 b on the above-mentioned loading history number (No. n+1) column (Step 105), and writes the apparatus intrinsic number of the copy machine 1 on the memory 59 b (Step 106)).
Thus, Komine discloses a component monitoring system for a machine and Nishino teaches a component management method of writing the machine identification information on an IC tag having a memory and using the history for detection of used or imitation product.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Komine with the writing of writing the machine identification information on a tag as taught by Nishino with a reasonable expectation of success, to avoid a suspicion against the quality of product (toner cartridge) (0119) and make an identification whether or not the toner cartridge is a certified product (0127).
As per Claim 2
Komine discloses,
shovel management system according to Claim 1 further comprising:
a management device for the shovel, the management device including a hardware processor (see at least [0078] A management server 11A of the management server 11 ascertains and manages the states of the working machines 10 by communicating with the machine management devices 10A of the working machines 10. Moreover, the management server 11A manages information such as the product numbers and the manufacturing serial numbers and so on, which are notified from the component supply management server 12A, in a unified manner, and monitors, for each of the working machines 10, whether the components 16 which are being used are genuine components or not).
wherein the hardware processor of the shovel is further configured to:
read component identification information of the component stored in advance in the tag (see at least [0066] The component ID acquisition means 2B reads out the first component ID stored in the wireless tag 5 via the antenna 2B1)
transmit the read component identification information and the machine identification information to the management device in association with each other (see at least [0066] and transmits this first component ID to the working machine management device 1. And the component ID acquisition means 2B may set up a correspondence between a chassis number which is set for the working machine 2 in advance, and the first component ID, and may transmit this to the working machine management device 1, and [0069] Information such as, for example, a product number and/or a manufacturing serial number may be stored in the wireless tag 5, [0126] And the electronic controller 100 transmits this product number which has been read in, and the chassis number, to the management server 11A (a step S22) and [0127] it would be possible to suggest a plurality of methods as the method for the electronic controller 100 to transmit the product number and the chassis number to the management server 11A.).
As per Claim 3
Komine does not disclose,
shovel management system according to Claim 2 wherein the hardware processor of the shovel is further configured to:
determining whether information read from the tag includes the machine identification information,
write the machine identification information to the tag in response to determining that the information read from the tag does not include the machine identification information
Nishino teaches,
shovel management system according to Claim 2 wherein the hardware processor of the shovel is further configured to:
determining whether information read from the tag includes the machine identification information (see at least [0069] The toner cartridge 59 of the present exemplary embodiment is not intended to be loaded into plural different apparatuses one after another. Thus, when this toner cartridge 59 is an unused toner cartridge, no item is recorded in the address x001 (“----” indicates a space), and [0075] At this stage, the control part 63 confirms whether or not a used apparatus number has been written on the memory 59 b of the IC tag 59 (Step 104)).
write the machine identification information to the tag in response to determining that the information read from the tag does not include the machine identification information (see at least Fig. 3C, [0070] When the unused toner cartridge 59 is loaded into the copy machine 1, and apparatus intrinsic number that is unique for the copy machine 1 is written in the address x001. That is to say, which copy machine 1 uses this toner cartridge 59 is recorded, and [0076] If the result is No, the control part 63 writes the apparatus intrinsic number of the copy machine 1 and color information included in the toner information that is read from the memory 59 b on the above-mentioned loading history number (No. n+1) column (Step 105), and writes the apparatus intrinsic number of the copy machine 1 on the memory 59 b (Step 106)).
Thus, Komine discloses a component monitoring system for a machine and Nishino teaches a component management method of writing the machine identification information on an IC tag having a memory and using the history for detection of used or imitation product.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Komine with the writing of writing the machine identification information on a tag as taught by Nishino with a reasonable expectation of success, to avoid a suspicion against the quality of product (toner cartridge) (0119) and make an identification whether or not the toner cartridge is a certified product (0127).
As per Claim 7
Komine discloses,
The shovel management system according to claim 1, wherein the hardware processor of the shovel is further configured to:
read information from the tag attached to the component for the shovel (see at least [0066] The component ID acquisition means 2B reads out the first component ID stored in the wireless tag 5 via the antenna 2B1, )
Komine does not disclose,
write the machine identification information to the tag in response to determining that only component identification information of the component is read from the tag in the reading of the information
Nishino teaches,
write the machine identification information to the tag in response to determining that only component identification information of the component is read from the tag in the reading of the information (see at least Fig. 3C, [0069] The toner cartridge 59 of the present exemplary embodiment is not intended to be loaded into plural different apparatuses one after another. Thus, when this toner cartridge 59 is an unused toner cartridge, no item is recorded in the address x001 (“----” indicates a space), [0070] When the unused toner cartridge 59 is loaded into the copy machine 1, and apparatus intrinsic number that is unique for the copy machine 1 is written in the address x001. That is to say, which copy machine 1 uses this toner cartridge 59 is recorded, and [0076] If the result is No, the control part 63 writes the apparatus intrinsic number of the copy machine 1 and color information included in the toner information that is read from the memory 59 b on the above-mentioned loading history number (No. n+1) column (Step 105), and writes the apparatus intrinsic number of the copy machine 1 on the memory 59 b (Step 106), and [0075] At this stage, the control part 63 confirms whether or not a used apparatus number has been written on the memory 59 b of the IC tag 59 (Step 104)).
Thus, Komine discloses a component monitoring system for a machine and Nishino teaches a component management method of writing the machine identification information on an IC tag having a memory and using the history for detection of used or imitation product.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Komine with the writing of writing the machine identification information on a tag as taught by Nishino with a reasonable expectation of success, to avoid a suspicion against the quality of product (toner cartridge) (0119) and make an identification whether or not the toner cartridge is a certified product (0127).
As per Claim 10
Komine discloses,
The shovel management system according to claim 7,
wherein the hardware processor of the shovel is further configured to output a notification indicating that a component of a different type from a component removed from the shovel is about to be attached to the shovel in response to determining that information other than component identification information of the component is read from the tag in the reading of the information ( see at least [0018] to decide whether or not the components which are used for a working machine are genuine components, and to detect the use of components other than genuine components; and moreover to detect the use of a wireless tag to which component identification information has been illegally copied by checking component identification information which has been used once, and to issue a warning in that event, and [0093] As the output unit, for example, a display device or an audio output device or the like may be suggested, and [0093] If some component 16 has been judged by the management server 11A as not being a genuine component, then the UI unit 130 outputs a warning message as a display or by audio).
As per Claim 11
Komine discloses,
The shovel management system according to claim 1,
further comprising:
a management device for the shovel, the management device including a hardware processor configured to manage maintenance information of the shovel, wherein (see at least [0078] A management server 11A of the management server 11 ascertains and manages the states of the working machines 10 by communicating with the machine management devices 10A of the working machines 10. Moreover, the management server 11A manages information such as the product numbers and the manufacturing serial numbers and so on, which are notified from the component supply management server 12A, in a unified manner, and monitors, for each of the working machines 10, whether the components 16 which are being used are genuine components or not).
the hardware processor of the shovel is further configured to:
read information from the tag attached to the component for the shovel,(see at least [0066] The component ID acquisition means 2B reads out the first component ID stored in the wireless tag 5 via the antenna 2B1)
determine that the component is a genuine product and write the machine identification information to the tag in response to determining that only component identification information of the component is read from the tag in the reading of the information (see at least [0070] If the component 4 is a genuine component, the first component ID within its wireless tag 5 and some second component ID which is stored in the component ID storage means 1C will agree with one another).
determine that the component is a non-genuine product in response to determining that information other than component identification information of the component is read from the tag in the reading of the information (see at least [0071] If the component 4 is not a genuine component but is a counterfeit product or the like, then it is considered to be very likely that either from the start no wireless tag 5 will be provided thereto, or that, even if a wireless tag 5 is provided, a correct component ID will not be written therein)
transmit a notification indicating completion of replacement with the component to the management device in response to determining that the replacement is completed, (see at least see at least [0066] and transmits this first component ID to the working machine management device 1, and [0112] the component ID transfer processing 213 is processing for transmitting the product numbers and serial numbers and so on of a component group which has been shipped to the management server 11A of the management center 11.)
the hardware processor of the management device is further configured to display the maintenance information of the shovel on a display (see at least [0093] As the output unit, for example, a display device or an audio output device or the like may be suggested, and [0093] If some component 16 has been judged by the management server 11A as not being a genuine component, then the UI unit 130 outputs a warning message as a display or by audio)
update the displayed maintenance information in a mode that differs between when the component is the genuine product and when the component is the non-genuine product, in response to receiving the notification from the shovel (see at least [0067] And the abnormal state control means 2C performs predetermined operations on the basis of notification from the working machine management device 1. As such predetermined operations, for example, operations such as prohibiting the starting of the engine 2D, limiting the rotational speed of the engine 2D, and so on may be cited, [0118] In this component monitoring processing 313, if a first component ID does not agree with any second component ID, then the occurrence of an abnormal state is notified to the machine management device 10A).
As per Claim 12
Komine discloses,
The shovel management system according to claim 11, wherein
the hardware processor of the management device is further configured to update the displayed maintenance information such that a period up to a next maintenance date is displayed as being shorter when the component is the non-genuine product than when the component is the genuine product (see at least [0073] it is possible to suppress the usage of any counterfeit product or the like other than a genuine component, and thereby to prevent deterioration of the performance or the life of the working machine 2, so that it is possible to maintain the reliability of the working machine 2.)
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komine in view of Nishino as applied to Claim 2 above, and further in view of Joseph O. Okoro et. al. US 202000009485 (“Okoro”)
Komine discloses,
The shovel management system according to claim 2,
Wherein the hardware processor of the shovel is further configured to:
read the component identification information of the component before the component is attached to the shovel (see at least [0020] the checking timing detection means detects the checking timing if either the component is exchanged, or starting of the engine is requested, [0065] The checking timing detection means 2A detects whether or not the timing has arrived for deciding whether or not a component 4 is a genuine component. As this checking timing, for example, the time to exchange the component 4 or the time that the engine switch is actuated or the like may be cited, and [0068] The component supply information management means 3A manages various types of information related to the supply of the components 4, such as, for example, the product numbers, the manufacturing serial numbers, the buyers, the types of applicable device, the numbers manufactured, the day of manufacture, the day of shipment, and so on of these components 4. And the component supply information management means 3A transmits information related to components 4 which have been newly shipped to the working machine management device 1)
Komine does not disclose,
read the component identification information of the component before the component is attached to the shovel, and
write the machine identification information to the tag after the component is attached to the shovel.
Nishino teaches,
write the machine identification information to the tag after the component is attached to the shovel (see at least Fig. 3C, [0070] When the unused toner cartridge 59 is loaded into the copy machine 1, and apparatus intrinsic number that is unique for the copy machine 1 is written in the address x001. That is to say, which copy machine 1 uses this toner cartridge 59 is recorded, and [0076] If the result is No, the control part 63 writes the apparatus intrinsic number of the copy machine 1 and color information included in the toner information that is read from the memory 59 b on the above-mentioned loading history number (No. n+1) column (Step 105), and writes the apparatus intrinsic number of the copy machine 1 on the memory 59 b (Step 106)).
Thus, Komine discloses a component monitoring system for a machine and Nishino teaches a component management method of writing the machine identification information on an IC tag having a memory and using the history for detection of used or imitation product.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Komine with the writing of writing the machine identification information on a tag as taught by Nishino with a reasonable expectation of success, to avoid a suspicion against the quality of product (toner cartridge) (0119) and make an identification whether or not the toner cartridge is a certified product (0127).
Okoro teaches,
read the component identification information of the component before the component is attached to the shovel (see at least [0015] In some other arrangements, a code (e.g., barcode, two-dimensional barcode, holographic code, RFID tag, etc.) on the filter element or packaging is scanned via a computing device by a technician installing the filter element in a filtration system. The information gathered from the code is then transmitted by the computing device to a remote diagnostic system to determine if a genuine (i.e., authorized, OEM approved, etc.) filter element is installed or not).
Thus, Komine discloses a component monitoring system for a machine and Okoro teaches a genuine product recognition system for a filter.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Komine with the identification of the genuine component by the technician installing the component as taught by Okoro with a reasonable expectation of success, to determining whether an authorized or genuine product installed (0015).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komine in view of Nishino as applied to Claim 2 above, and further in view of Toshio Yamagiwa US 20040206810 (“Yamagiwa”) and Yuzawa Takashi et. al. JP2012048287A (“Takashi”).
As per Claim 5,
Komine discloses,
The shovel management system according to claim 2,
wherein the hardware processor of the shovel is further configured to, when information other than the component identification information is included in information read from the tag (see at least [0019] acquires the first component identification information from the wireless tag via an information reading means, and transmits the first component identification information which has been acquired to the management device via the communication network, [0060] if the first component identification information and the second component identification information do not agree with one another, this abnormal state detection means 1B may notify to the abnormal state control means 2C the fact that some component other than a genuine component is being used)
Komine does not disclose,
wherein the hardware processor of the shovel is further configured to, when information other than the component identification information is included in information read from the tag,
transmit a notification indicating a fact that the information other than the component identification information is included in the information read from the tag to the management device
wherein the hardware processor of management device is configured to change a next replacement timing included in maintenance information for the component to which the tag is attached in response to receiving the notification.
Nishino teaches,
wherein the hardware processor of the shovel is further configured to, when information other than the component identification information is included in information read from the tag (see at least [0005] determine, when the consumable cartridge is loaded, whether or not a second apparatus intrinsic number as a use history is written on the use history region of the memory, and [0005] control part is configured to write the first apparatus intrinsic number on the use history region if the second apparatus intrinsic number is not written on the use history region
Thus, Komine discloses a component monitoring system for a machine and Nishino teaches a component management method of writing the machine identification information on an IC tag having a memory and using the history for detection of used or imitation product.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Komine with the writing of writing the machine identification information on a tag as taught by Nishino with a reasonable expectation of success, to avoid a suspicion against the quality of product (toner cartridge) (0119) and make an identification whether or not the toner cartridge is a certified product (0127). Takashi teaches,
transmit a notification indicating a fact that the information other than the component identification information is included in the information read from the tag to the management device (see at least [0063] The replacement presence / absence determination unit 45 determines whether or not the part is an unused part based on the life index information (in the part identification information of the IC tag) of the attached part (S2041), [0064] If the part being mounted is an unused part (“YES” in step S2041), the replacement presence / absence determining unit 45 initializes the use history information of the record in the mounting part information DB 46 related to the part being mounted (S2042), and [0065] If the part being mounted is a part that has already been used in a machine tool to which the own apparatus is connected or another machine tool ("NO" in step S2041), the replacement presence / absence determining unit 45 performs step S202 (FIG. Based on the life index information (usage history information) of the component identification information read in 4), the usage history information of the record of the component being mounted in the mounted component information DB 46 is recorded (S2043)).
Thus, Komine discloses a component monitoring system for a machine and Takashi teaches a component management system and method.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Komine with the writing of new or used part information on a tag as taught by Takashi, with a reasonable expectation of success, to obtain information useful for deriving the remaining life of the consumable part, such as the accumulated time used at the same time (0067).
Yamagiwa teaches,
wherein the hardware processor of management device is configured to change a next replacement timing included in maintenance information for the component to which the tag is attached in response to receiving the notification.
((see at least [0132] means for storing product information which includes product identification information and transmitting this product information to the outside by reading out the product information. For example, the life (exchange timing), maintenance timing, or the like of a component of an automobile, a motorcycle, or the like can be detected.)
Thus, Komine discloses a component monitoring system for a machine and Yamagiwa teaches storing product information, including maintenance timing.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Komine with the writing of maintenance information on the tag as taught by Yamagiwa, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide an article management system which can manage part configuration information, registration information of an owner and the like, and detailed history information related to an article and can use the information for various purposes (0014).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 and dependent Claim 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668